What Does the Fox Say? - Reviews

What Does the Fox Say?
sort
Kaori98's avatar
Nov 12, 2017

WDTFS is a yuri webtoon comic with explicit mature content that involves plenty of embarrassing scenes that is definitely NSFW or anyone under the legal age of 18. But let's be honest, everyone ignores that! One of the more appealing and attrative plot I have ever come across.

 For all those hardcore yuri fans out there WDTFS is a definite must-read as it invites a sort of new heart-throbbing experience for you. Especially those who enjoy a little dirty content. WDTFS focuses mainly on sex,romance and heart-gutting moments. However if you're only looking for a fluffy shoujo-ai comic WDTFS isn't quite for you.

Plot/Story: WDTFS has an intriguing plot that sweeps its readers off their feets for one very good reason, the quality. The story/arc arrangement is one of the best as we see proper growth in the story alongside some very erotic portions of it. The story mainly focuses on a broken-hearted playgirl with a complicated & hurtful past (Sung Sumin) with a slightly more innocent although seemingly cold girl (Ju Sungji). WDTFS explores many office-related 'forbidden' love story but as it progresses shifts to the more mysterious and painful past of Sung Sumin. There is a very very strong love triangle here and can even be considered the main part of the plot. As complicated as that sounds the artist is still able to balance out the sweet & cute interactions found between both characters. I rate 9/10. [This series has been completed]

Art: As many praises as I would generously give to this webtoon the art however, is genuinely lacking in many aspect. For example, this webtoon doesn't focus so much on the scenery and surroundings of the characters, thus leading them to re-use the same background in multiple chapters (the office, sumin's personal office, sumin's house etc...) However they do very much focus on the characters facial expression but the art in itself is not very good (strictly based on my opinion) as there are plenty of parts of the characters that are not very refine like their hair. It seems they rely heavily on the colouring to help reduce the workload of adding realism to the hair waves and lines. I rate 6.5/10.

Characters: The first 40+ or so chapters focuses on the development of Sungji's character rather than Sumin's which i personally think is fine. Over the chapters both characters had equal amount of character development as we see changes of their personality to fit one another. We are also able to connect with the characters and feel the pain they go through just to be together. For character development they have done an amazing job. I rate 8.5/10.

Overall: WDTFS has the proper build up for a good comic and let's all agree that art honestly isn't everything. The short-comings of the art has been overpowered by the intensive strong and attractive plot alongside amazing characters. I rate 7.5/10.

Personal Opinion: This has been an amazing read for me, i absolutely enjoyed it. To top it all off, its even completed. Some scenes of this comic are better enjoyed alone as they can get quite heated. WDTFS's story doesn't drag too long so you don't feel any repetitive moments or scenes in the comic which is good.

9/10 story
6.5/10 art
8.5/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
Manlyquin's avatar
Jan 18, 2020

A Masterpiece. Good buildup and scenes. One can read it over and over again. The art style is superb. The translations are great. Lots of elements implimented into it and RL events that happen around it. I would hope to see another manga of the same art style and story structure. Even an anime would be epic.

9/10 story
10/10 art
9/10 characters
9/10 overall
OtakuMaki's avatar
May 24, 2020

A mature lesbian history with unapologetic real sex scene is very hard to find. Just for that this work have my approval. I like very much the fact that both main characters are well balance when it comes to the "power" within the relationship, both seduced snd are seduced.

The plot of a love ending while a new one is starting is a very adult realistic approach, is especially refreshing on a Yuri Manhwa. Also very refreshing the fact that many characters are actual lesbians, not girls in love with someone who happens to be a woman :v 

The history is hard to follow at the beginning for the time jumping without any context or explanation whatsoever, it took me 'till ch 35 to understand those messy flashbacks. 

I'm sad 'cus  female and lgnt issuess weren't approach, but I guess this work was all about love, uh?

The art is pretty but a little too generic for my taste, all the girls were ridiculous flawless, none was a real life like women.

Even though the art and the history could be better I still recommend it 'cus a history like this isn't common on the yuri tag.

8/10 story
6/10 art
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
SgtAnonymous's avatar
Jan 30, 2021

This is how you do romance drama!

What does the Fox say is a very welcoming change in the romance Manhua/Manhwa/Manga (MMM) space. We see the lives of the characters evolve in front of our eyes while also looking back to their history together. Slowly but surely the drama developed in such a frustration free manner that it almost feels pleasant. It's extremely refreshing. 

I can't count the number of times where the drama was introduced by 'a misunderstanding', 'a love rival' or just outright snail's pace romance (yes, I'm looking at you Kimi ni Todoke). This show has none of that. No character annoyed me, no character was difficult to understand. I was genuinely looking for a solution, together with the characters, but keeping their interests in mind, it became very difficult to find a way out. 

What does the Fox Say is a mature lesbian romance story that shows us that romance can be front and center. We don't need comedy or a slice of life. We want mature characters and a heartfelt story. Thanks again, authors. 

9/10 story
8/10 art
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
Curiousmadra's avatar
Apr 14, 2020

Terrible art, characters look the exact same except with different coloured hair as well as having unlikable personalities.I think reading chapter one blinded me enough thanks....


In fact, I would rather hear Ylvis' song than reading more of this crap I'm afraid......very disappointing..

1/10 story
1/10 art
1/10 characters
1/10 overall