Memories - Reviews

Alt title: Kanojo no Omoide...

bunda6662's avatar
Nov 30, 2022

This is a manga composed of the following stories:

[1]. Flower (1979)
[two]. Memories (1980)
[3]. Sound of Sand (1979)
[4]. Farewell to Weapons (1981)
[5]. Hair (1979)
[6]. Electric Bird Land (1980)
[7]. Minor Swing (1977)
[8]. Chronicle of the Planet Tako:
a/ Chronicle of the Planet TAKO, I-II (1981)
b/ Chronicle of The Planet TAKO, Chapter of Dawnlight (1982)
[9]. Fire Ball, I-II (1979)
[10]. That's Amazing World:
a/ Magic Pot of Aladdin (1981)
b/ Noah's Ark (1981)
w/ The Old Man and the Sea (1981)
d/ Knights of the Round Table (1981)

The stories are quite varied in terms of length, quality and mood, some very short (Flower), others very long (Fire Ball), some very good, some average and two very bad ones that are the Chronicle of the Planet Tako, even Otomo in the foreword doesn't seem to remember who drew these two stories (implying he didn't). That said with the exception of Chronicle of the Planet Tako (which you might like) they are all fun and interesting in their own way. Art is something that remains consistent throughout all the stories and, of course, it is Otomo tier, that is, impeccable. Something interesting to say is that Fire Ball is like a prelude to Akira and some similarities can be seen.

That said, I would recommend this manga to anyone who is sure to have a lot of fun.

8/10 story
9/10 art
8/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful