Leviathan (Gyeong-tak LEE) - Reviews

Alt title: Simhaesu

Leviathan (Gyeong-tak LEE)
sort
alfa's avatar
Jul 23, 2020

Can't believe there's still no review for this masterpiece, I'll keep it brief.

A young boy with his sister are on a ship living with his dad, the whole world seems to be submerged in water and sea monsters have taken over the sea, one day the boy and his sister spot a building while roaming through the sea and his dad decides to explore it (they hadn't found any buildings on the surface for quite a while so it was a big deal) and when he comes back Bota, the young boy spotted a figure that resembled a human being waving at them asking for help, his dad quickly realized that that was no human being and that under them was a huge sea monster. What will happen is something I will let you find out yourself, the whole plot revolves around the young boy and his sister and their journey throughout this water-submerged world, about the hardships they face and how they overcome them and how crucial it is to stay attentive to your surroundings. Beware that this manhwa contains very graphic content such as torn off limbs of monsters and blood spread everywhere, not forgetting the disturbing look of some sea monsters of this world and the fact that everything is fully colored with a lot of detail.

If you want a story where you are on the edge of your seat eager to see what's gonna happen in the next chapter or even while you're reading that very chapter, where you go from feeling disturbed by the sea monsters to amazed by the beautiful artstyle of some characters and scenes and where you end up feeling truly immersed in the story and characters forgetting the outside world, then this is your manhwa

10/10 story
10/10 art
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
ShineiiKakyoin's avatar
Aug 16, 2020

This is a fucking good read bruh. It has the same hype as Attack on Titan. The only difference between the two is that this is a little bit lower than AoT but fuck it's so good. I recommend people to read this, it's a great read for those seeking the same feeling towards AoT. 10/10

10/10 story
9.5/10 art
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
Shadowdark10's avatar
Feb 6, 2024

This Manhwa is too good to describe, it is certainly an excellent horror and post apocalyptic story.

Story: (no spoilers) The story manages to involve you right away, the whole staging of how the protagonists find themselves in a post-apocalyptic world surrounded by the sea is simply fantastic to discover. The story is mainly divided into 2 parts divided by a time skip of a few years, the first which introduces you to the world in which the protagonists are living and the second part which tries to involve you in helping the characters survive that world, I must say that the story was very interesting to see, sure there are some flaws like some things not well integrated and others that seemed a bit forced in the way the characters survived, but other than that it was a story worth reading in its entirety in a breath, I would say very good even if many things could have been handled and explored better.

Characters: I will mainly talk about the protagonists to avoid spoilers, but I must say that unfortunately not many are developed and described as they should despite the fact that they present many that you would like to know
Bota Ma = protagonist who fits well into this story, he follows the stereotype of classic shonen protagonists a bit, but he is not as annoying as some of them, he is not very developed as a protagonist but he does his job
Kana = you could say the co-protagonist of the story, she is strong, beautiful and interesting but also a little cold and detached at times, she also seems to be a stereotype of the classic strong but reserved female characters, but she is an extremely interesting character to see as well as its evolution
Lita Ma = Good character too especially in the 1st part of the story, in the 2nd part she becomes a bit too deux ex machina, but seeing her evolution was perhaps the most interesting part of the show
Clark Miller = Character who will appear in the final part of the story, but who I couldn't not include since he was the most interesting character to see, he will reserve many nice surprises, although I would have preferred him to have a more central role

Art: The art was perhaps the worst part regarding the character designs which were quite banal in terms of drawings and not exactly the best, but the monster and wordbuilding drawings were very good instead, I would say good but not excellent

Worldbuilding: Really good, it builds you well on how humanity managed to survive on a planet destroyed by water and delves into the various structures that humanity has created in order to survive, my favorite is the city New York

Conclusion: This manhwa was very nice to read, it wasn't perfect as other reviewers claim, but it was still very interesting, I recommend it to everyone especially those looking for a good post apocalyptic story to read

8.5/10 story
7.5/10 art
7.5/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
Isaiahrollen's avatar
Jul 11, 2022

My review may seem exaggerated, but go and see for yourself. The story is unique, intriguing, and the way they made the story flow made it seem like this is something that would happen in real life if this situation would occur. The characters are well designed, though there are times that the main character does act 'quirky' like how other authors would write their 'muscle head, but big heart' characters, but he was actually more life-like than what I expected.

The author took their time showing the main character's different experiences which made him who he is and didn't just made him a lead who just had a strong sense of justice which is appealing to me. The female characters are also made well and the author didn't  made the story annoying by adding obnoxiously extra girls who tries to get into MC's pants. The female characters also weren't just made for fan service and were given equal chances in character development and they also weren't stereotyped. The art is absolutely amazing. The amount of details, study, and expertise thats shown in every panel makes every chapter something to look forward to, so I highly recommend reading it. I gave this an Overall 10/10 since this story is genuinely gold and binging it is definitely worth it. 

10/10 story
10/10 art
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
AcceleraThor's avatar
Dec 6, 2021

If you Enjoy Attack on Titan you will enjoy this Master Piece.

8/10 story
8/10 art
10/10 characters
9/10 overall