Girl Friends - Reviews

Girl Friends
sort
ASmolGayTree's avatar
Dec 26, 2019

This was the first yuri I've ever read, and it opened up a lot of doors for me (very gay doors). I thought it was a good story to start with for not reading any other yuri before. It deals with actual problems and thoughts that a girl coming to terms with loving another girl would have. It's not all about NSFW with minor story like a lot of yuri is. The fact that it continues past them becoming a couple is really great and something I really love about this story!

The story is nice to follow and there's really never a dull moment; something is always happening, but nothing too much. Having the story switch from Mari to Akko's POV is one of my favorite parts. I always like seeing the same story from different eyes.

Overall I would reccomend this to anyone being introduced to yuri/interested in the genre! I just finished reading it again at the time of this review (and will probably visit again later down the line)

9/10 story
8.5/10 art
10/10 characters
9/10 overall
Grach's avatar
Jan 7, 2014

Time for another review...

Storyline: Originally a meekish, friendless, and introverted person, this all changes for Mariko is fatefully asked by one of her classmates if they could travel home with her.

After that, the manga follows Mariko and her newfound friends (Sugi, Tamarin, and Akko) as they go about their [somewhat] daily lives in high school. Along the way, Mariko comes to shed her once introveredness through the help of these new friends. As this happens, though, Mari soon comes to have feelings for Akko - which leads to conflict in her mind. Akko eventually develops the same feelings; also leading to coflict.

Much more happens, but anything else would spoil the touching, realistic portayal of not only most everyday life (I think) but also of people in love.

Art: While it does change from the first volume to the last (apparently there were quite a few breaks inbetween the volumes/chapters), it is not too noticeable. If anything, it adds to the sense of "change" that is experianced by time.

Characters: The most for this that will be put is: there is excellent development for each of the characters as they go throughout the year that is seen in the manga. Anything else would be spoliers; or would take too long to write.

8.5/10 story
9/10 art
9/10 characters
9/10 overall
iSuckAtWriting's avatar
Aug 7, 2014

Girl Friends was one of the first manga I read when I started getting into yuri. Strangely, rereading it made me realize I lost my passion for a romance with no guys. I don’t dislike yuri, but I can’t be bothered to read something anymore just because it’s a girl-on-girl romance. I say this because my mistake reading it the first time was expecting yuri right away, leaving me disappointed. Don’t do that.

Part of the reason Girl Friends can disappoint impatient readers who expect yuri right away is its story. It’s the classic tale of a popular fashionista—Akko—bringing an unassuming bookworm—Mari—out of her shell. But the more this bookworm steps out of her shell, the more she steps into feelings she’s never experienced. Much of the story focuses on Mari’s growing feelings for the oblivious Akko, so actual yuri events—whatever it might be—won’t be there to instantly satisfy readers.

Instead, readers will confront an emotional gauntlet. It’s easy to feel frustrated when Mari rationalizes wanting to kiss Akko by thinking of her as a cute pet, and there’s a certain hilarity in their friend Sugi who has a habit of stripping. Basically, Girl Friends teases out every emotion from jealousy to bliss. And that’s how it should go. People experience a variety of feelings, especially when dealing with teenagers, and moreso with a teenager who loves someone of the same sex.

The story itself smoothly flows from one emotion to the next. Partly because the story never hangs on the inner musings of a character for too long, and partly because the characters themselves show considerable maturation to resolve conflicts a little easier. Early in the story, Mari worries about something she did, and Akko casually breaks the ice saying it’s a natural thing for friends to do. Later on, a conflict between Mari and Akko involving college is resolved by the former’s own, indirect way.

And it’s moments like these that emphasize how far a character has come. Mari starts out introverted, tongue-tied, and not too worried about her looks. But by the end, she’s outgoing, speaks smoothly, and becomes a fashionista in her own right when she helps an old friend. The development itself is fantastic, not once going too fast. The blush crossing Mari’s face resulting from Akko’s honesty slowly becomes a flush of love, hidden behind a series of questions wondering about her own anxiety over Akko’s friends and lovelife.

There’s not much else going on with Mari, but it makes sense since Akko essentially gives her a social life. As for Akko, she’s got it going on being the center of attention, a fashionista, and generally outgoing, determined to bring Mari out of her shell. Later on, Akko’s backstory gives a sense of WHY she wanted to bring Mari out of her shell. But it isn’t until after a certain event a little under halfway through that Akko starts to change. She becomes noticeably more tongue-tied as she questions her feelings for Mari, and this change makes sense considering the suddenness of this certain event.

That said, the story doesn’t give a definite reason for why either character ends up feeling the way she does, nor does it draw a line—at least not until the end—for when friendship ends and love begins. But why does it have to be that way? One of the central conflicts on Mari’s side of the story is how she can’t tell if what she’s doing, what she’s feeling, is normal for friends. And it’d diminish their feelings if there was a definite reason. Love doesn’t happen because of one reason, but from a multitude of things unique to each person. In other words, Akko and Mari are believably compelling characters.

Rolling the third wheel from the side characters is Sugi. She doesn’t change much throughout the story, but she doesn’t need to. Beneath her extensive line-up of boyfriends is a maturity to match the body that unveils itself every time she strips. She’s very much learned a lot of harsh lessons in love, shown when she’s giving up-front and blunt advice for Akko on more than one occasion, or when reminiscing about how she used to act. Jaded but well-meaning, she’s Girl Friends’ most developed (ahem) side character.

The other side characters aren’t explored much, but it does show how the world still moves regardless of what Akko and Mari are feeling. They have their own aspirations (tennis), their own hobbies (cosplay), their own delusions (‘I’m going to see my Prince!’), basically their own things going on from ghost stories to boyfriend talk. When Akko, Mari, or Sugi can’t do it, anyone of the other characters will basically break the ice to stop the story from staying serious for too long. The story isn’t afraid to be heavy, but it knows when to lighten up.

Oops, I mentioned guys in a yuri story. In a breath of fresh air, Girl Friends isn’t afraid to fully explore sexuality by bringing guys into the mix. From Akko and Mari’s side, it explores the complicated feelings of loving someone of the same sex, while the male part of the equation poses a problem for Mari especially. That isn’t to say the story uses guys as antagonists but, for the two major guys it brings in, they are simply two, genuinely well-meaning people. Signs of deviancy still show from them, especially with one of their backstories, but the same can be said for Akko, Mari, and Sugi.

See, when I say Girl Friends explores sexuality, I mean that in every sense of the word. It very much addresses what lovers do, and doesn’t play cloyingly with its subject. It knows infatuation can create fantasy, as Mari can attest. It knows the cluelessly curious will look things up to not be clueless, as Akko will admit. And it also knows being drunk can cause strange behavior, as Sugi unwittingly demonstrates with Tama. Because of this, Girl Friends is a case where fanservice makes sense (save for that one moment in chapter two...); love is a sweet thing carried out by saucy actions.

Carrying every moment from the sweet to the saucy is Morinaga Milk’s artwork. Apart from being the most aesthetically pleasing thing you’ll ever see, character designs are distinct. Akko and Sugi are both fashionistas, but the curves greatly favor the latter. Tama and Mari are petite, but there’s a sense of energy only the former has. And when the lovely art isn’t sensually and sensitively expressing any of their feelings, it becomes a veritable fashion show for all the stylish outfits the characters wear. If nothing else, the story can’t be knocked for having school uniforms all the time.

Not that there wasn’t much to knock down the story over anyway. Even in its final volume worth of chapters, Girl Friends manages to stay fresh. It brings in new angles, commitment, and addresses the real amount of effort any relationship needs to last. That said, if the pacing was a little tighter, or if the story did something crucial that Akko and Mari need to eventually face, I’d have no qualms about calling Girl Friends a masterpiece.

But as it stands, it’s still an excellent, heartfelt story with a dash of honest naughtiness, not to mention easy on the eyes. Readers who don’t mind a slow but deliberate pace will find a lot to like, while people new to yuri expecting yuri right away might want to look elsewhere. It might not be a story everyone loves, but for these girlfriends, loving each other would be enough.

9/10 story
8/10 art
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
Galadriel's avatar
Sep 1, 2010

Oh Oh! Been a while and im really sad that i neglected this masterpiece. Among all the shoujo-ai/yuri mangas I've been reading this one impressed me alot. I was hooked from the begining until the end.

Concidering that most of the shoujo-ai mangas I've read until had the habit of ruining the ending completely, this one actualy had an ending that i think worths getting an anime adaptation without dissapointing the shoujo-ai/yuri audience at all.

The story of this manga is centered on two high school girls, Kumakura Marika and Akko Oohashi, two girls with very different personalities, Mari is a quiet girl with very few friends, she likes spending her time studying, reading books or eating alone at the cafeteria, she is shy and she seemed unexperienced when it comes to being approached by other people. However one day, the cheerful, careless and beatiful Akko approches her, Mari's attitude, life style and her habits change drasticaly as she is completely dragged by Akko's personality. They quickly become best friends and she is introduced to her group of friends. Nice up until here, however as time passed, Akko and Mari became closer and closer, so close that sometimes they started to become something more than just mere friends. Since Mari never had best friends or more exactly she never had true friends, she became so attached to Akko, to the point that she fell in love with her. When she realized it, Mari tried her best to deny her feelings and bury them in herself however easy to say hard to do since she interracts daily with her both at school and out of school. On one hand she had to suppress her feelings, on the other hand she had to act normal in front of Akko and her friends so that they wont become aware of her true feelings. I think the words "If you still keep them in yourself, one day they will eventually leak" are indeed true. Will Mari be able to move on denying her feelings towards Akko, without letting her know, or will she become true to herself and confess to her? And what about Akko, is she in love with Mari as well? Typical for a slice of life shoujo-ai manga, drama always exists since these types of relationships are denied by society.

While reading this manga i kinda think that this one is inspired from real life since the events and the way the things progressed are way too realistic, i did a bit of research to find that the author actualy mentioned that this reflects her life when she was in high school as well.

In conclusion, Girl Friends indeed worths reading, shoujo-ai fans will definitely find it interesting, since this is not another failure like other shoujo-ai mangas are. To compare it with another one, i think that Aoi Hana and Sasameki Koto come to my mind but i concider this one abit superior. The characters were very well developed, the story was briliantly tied up and the art is absolutely amazing. I really have nothing to complain, and i'm also pleased with the lenght of it, the fact that it might've been long would've killed me since i am a person that gets quickly hooked up by something but i dun possess a virtue called patience.

10/10 story
10/10 art
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
MrAnimeAMVmaker's avatar
Sep 5, 2016

As a Yuri fan I can say this is in my top 10 Yuri Manga but as a critic I can't say it doesn't have flaws. Its Art is good compared to the average manga but it ist not amazing. I'm not wowed by the art style. The Story is Amazing not the best by any stretch of the imagination but its still a must read for any Yuri fan. Now where this manga exceeds expectations is the incredibly realistic characters. I mean you can tell exactly how they feel and understand there thought process. Its hard to find manga with realistic characters but this manga has nothing but realistic characters.

7.9/10 story
8/10 art
10/10 characters
8.2/10 overall