Azur Lane

I used to play this A LOT, so as a former player, this is a need to watch. xddd
I'm ready to see my dear Akagi once again.
Edit: I started playing AL again-

Last edited:
So it's basically just Kancolle again. The premise and the aesthetic is literally the exact same.
This doesn't look as good overall as Kancolle did, having that really cheap look to it, but there is a noticeable difference in the CG shots having had some more years of advancement it seems.
These waifu franchises not only have internal waifu wars, but now cross-franchise waifu wars where there's two different characters for each name since everyone is named after WW2 warships.

Oh shit, this is actually this studio's first TV anime.

As someone who's been playing AL for over a year now I'm quite positively surprised. For a studio's very first anime this is looking pretty good. The opening and ending sound nice and the voices were instantly recognizable (why shouldn't they though). Not only because they are obviously the same voice actresses as in the game but also their characters are portrayed and acted out like you would've imagined them. I was also fearing bad CGI after the PV but everything is looking good on that side as well. I can't say much about the story though. I'm still pretty influenced from the game and seeing my waifus fight each other is something I have to get used to first. That we have actual ships transforming into the gear is a cool addition, too. I would like to see ship models in-game in the future. The only thing I don't really know what to think about is U-chan being a real unicorn and the CGI used for the fighting scene. I'm excited about future episodes. Maybe I'll have to get rid of my fan boyishness because I think my opinion is still very biased.