Time of Eve Movie

Alt title: Eve no Jikan Movie

Time of Eve Movie
sort
Add review
MasutaRob's avatar
Jun 7, 2019

This was a half hearted anime that I went into, because i am normally not into movies. But this changed my perspective about them just alittle. The story and character developement was alittle rushed but was smoothed out later on in the anime. The animes story about unity was the strong focus of the movie and added hints of comedy and romance/slice of life for the time period. Overall it is a decent anime and well developes the character to watcher putting everyone into key rolls that are necessary for the story to develope and move accordingly, it brings a sense of self satisfaction and it leaves a feeling of relief. It actually has and ending that could leave question and what more you too see.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Epimondas's avatar
Dec 19, 2016

So this is an anime version of "I, Robot" essentially though perhaps with a greater focus on the slice of life angle and lacking the action oriented ending in the original story and movie versions.  The theme of "What if they become self aware?" or "Were more than mere machines" is prevelent in "I, Robot" as it is in this movie.  It is this subtle under the radar theme you see early on which gradually leads to the epic action ending and all the problems and solutions if you will there-in.  The story, like "I, Robot" seems to stem from one of the early developers and instigators of the mass use and acceptance of robots.  It is a rather telling and deep drama but it does not deliver a powerful enough grip equivalent to what is nominally expected in a movie.  It is more like a made for TV movie or just a really long television episode of some anime TV series.  There is nothing significant or profound about the movie.  It's lack of the "I, Robot" ending robs it of what would have made the story gripping enough to deserve a movie format.  Even if it were a TV series it also suffers since the story feels incomplete.  It is almost as if there is no ending.  There is nothing that demonstrates with any great satisfaction gratifying in an average movie or TV anime series.  Other than the future sci fi element, it is a bit too mundane, slice of life and ordinary to really feel deserving of a story.  It could have been however as it certainly had elements of a good story there but too much is left hanging and you will probably walk away feeling a bit unsatisfied.

The story itself is essentially "I, Robot" but the setting is somewhat changed to center around a cafe mostly rather than say a police station, an entire city, or the office and factory where the androids are manufactured as it was done for example in the Will Smith movie version of the "I, Robot" story.  "I, Robot" has been frequently used as a story baseline or major inspiration for many movies and a few TV series.  Westworld while fairly original itself and a good story does have some similiarities with "I, Robot" as seen in the danger and potential humanziation of artificial life.  "D.A.R.R.Y.L." is another example though the story pushes into the humanity and acceptance of what life is a bit more.  "Bicentennial Man" is another example that somewhat immitates "I, Robot" and mimics a similar pattern with how the story flows and the potential future offered by the Asimov story.  Several episodes of Outer Limits mirror the tale and other similar shows have put similarly themed episodes.  These are just a few examples of movies and TV that closely resemble the ideas behind the Asimov story.  It is paced fairly well for a drama and a TV movie but not so much for a movie made for cable or theater or direct to video.

Animation is exceptional and well above average.  The characters all looked good and well proportioned and realistic compared to most anime.  Expressions looked pretty good but the child character, Chie, looked a bit less realistic especially in her emotions than the other characters.  In some regards, androids had broader emotional expressions and more realistic ones than human characters which I find rather ironic, especially compared to the crew on that anti robot council.

Reflecting on the theme however, I felt something was missing to delve a bit deeper into how, what, or why it happened.  In "I, Robot" the last movie version made with Will Smith, you were treated to a fairly well reasoned cause behind it and more importantly the inventor of the modern robot/android in that movie himself was a lead contributor predicting the event and it's causality.  This movie however, was a bit murky on that part so in that respect it was not as good as the original and very similar story by Asimov.  While I may not be able to say for sure this was directly inspired by or even a more slice of life version of "I, Robot", after seeing it I can not help but ponder just how similar they are and the strong likelihood of major influence if not a direct but slightly modified adaption of the story itself.

I can not say much for sound given the nature, setting, and flow of the movie centered around a cafe and somewhat a school because there was just not much in the manner of range or differientiation among characters other mainly than voices and very sublte moderate muted background noises.  

Characters were developed slightly above average but not by a great deal.  Not as much attention was really paid to that as other aspects and most of the character development centered around about 5 characters.  The cafe owner, the two male students, and two girl androids.  The development centered mostly around the theme of the movie so it lacked a certain depth you might see in most stories, movies, and TV shows.  It is well worth watching though nonetheless but don't expect to be blown away by it either.

6.5/10 story
8.8/10 animation
4.5/10 sound
7/10 characters
6.3/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
chanachan's avatar
Apr 29, 2016

Well, i dont know if it was intentional that after you finish the movie you feel like you need (want?) more or if the story is incomplete.

I didnt get that into the story,  and the main character is really MEH !

Really forgettable movie because it is lacking something and should i be honest i dont really know WHAT is lacking, but it's my feeling

Even if there are some highlights , i dont know... i just didnt feel it.

5/10 story
6/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
5.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Tetsuaya's avatar
Aug 21, 2015

I only watched the movie.. not the ONAs.

This is definitely a master piece... a wonderful production of artistic creativity!! It belongs among the top of the Anime list next to Akira and Ghost in a shell.  Just like those Anime, it has the power to convert new Anime fans.

watching through it.. I felt the meaning and feelings that I felt from Bicentennial Man with Robin Williams (R.I.P.)

10/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
4L3x's avatar
Jul 11, 2015

Eve no Jikan fue primero una serie de 6 Onas (ósea que fue un anime distribuido por internet), más tarde saldría una película que contendría una animación mejorada y escenas extras agregadas ya en la historia para expandirla aún más. Así que recomiendo ver la película en lugar de sus onas. Volviendo al lio la película es del género ciencia ficción ubicada en un Japón futurista donde ya los androides son reales y estos sirven a sus amos. En este mundo nos encontraremos con dos jóvenes colegiales Rikuo y Masaki, ambos descubren un café que suele ser visitado por los androides en este café ellos pueden comportarse de una manera más humana dejando de lado su realidad de máquinas. La trama básicamente se mueve en este café, en el descubrimiento de los androides como seres más allá de máquinas, la lucha moral del cómo deben ser estos considerados, lo cual por supuesto dará paso a grupos moralistas que abogan por mantenerse completamente distanciados de los androides y solo usarlos como una maquina más, diseñada únicamente para seguir órdenes.

Su trama quiere abordar temas de moralidad de que está bien y que está mal, pero no lo hace de una forma que sea empática, las relaciones de los protagonistas con los androides son muy superficiales y la historia de estos no son para nada reflexivas. Dicho estos la interacción de los personajes es amena, entretenida y por momentos tiene sus ratos de comedia, lo que la hace una película bastante disfrutable. Sus personajes son genéricos y tampoco sufren de un desarrollo en la trama, bastante deficiente en este aspecto.

 La película toma mucha inspiración en maestros de la ciencia ficción como lo es Asimov y sus reglas de la robótica, reglas por la cual cualquier robot deberá ser regida como así lo estipula Asimov, también encontramos referencias de “Blade Runner” la película de culto de Ridley Scott y su visión de las réplicas, maquinas que podían pasar como humanos por lo cual el humano debía ser muy cuidadoso (Este es un tema que también toca la película “Ex Machina” que recién vi jaja).

Su animación y arte es posiblemente su punto alto, el café esta estéticamente bien creado, con un diseño bastante minimalista y que se apoya en muchos momentos a la animación 3D, algo que emplean de muy buena manera e impregna realismo, y así en varias otras escenas (que tampoco es que nos ofrezcan muchos escenarios). Sus personajes están bien diseñados, que si bien estos no son muy detallados, son estéticamente llamativos. La música si y no, algunos temas son bastantes agradables y van bien con la temática futurística, sin embargo por momentos la música desaparece por completo.

Eve no jikan es una pelicula para pasar el rato, con una historia entretenida, en especial si se es fan de la tematica de "androides y su impacto en el mundo". pero que esta lejos de llegar a ser un film innolvidable o con capacidad de convertise en un favorito.

6/10 story
8/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
6/10 overall
Aranneas's avatar
Dec 25, 2014

Secret Santa 2014 Review: Eve no Jikan Movie

Story 8/10

Androids live alongside humans as their partners in day-to-day-life; but their burgeoning sentience is not recognized by the populace at large, so they're mostly still treated as menial labourers. And at least one radical group with some influence has an interest in keeping things this way. But where do those robots go when they're... for lack of a better term, off-duty? In Time of Eve, we take numerous visits to a special cafe wherein androids and humans are held as equals, and the androids seem to be developing their own personalities to fit the new role.

Focusing on events in the cafe, Time of Eve is very much a slow build, and unfortunately the payoff isn't quite strong enough to warrant the journey. Said journey, on the other hand, is relaxing, clever thought-provoking, surprisingly funny, and highly engaging, and makes interesting use of the laws of robotics in an unexpected context. The feel of the story having been made to use an episodic structure comes through, but in and of itself this doesn't detract from the flow of the film. 

Animation 8.5/10

Understated, but fluid and very well done overall. Colour palette is muted, which seems to fit the overall style of the film. The main set, the cafe, is appropriately unassuming for a subversive locale of clandestine meetings, but all of the elements come together well. The robot designs are excellent, and what little we see of the androids makes me curious as to their inner workings as well, which I would term a success.

Sound 7/10

The score is very sparse and spare overall. Kind of disappointing, particularly in a feature-length film; I can sort of understand in a fairly contemplative and dialogue-heavy show not wanting to overpower the discourse, but you can try a bit harder than this. The voice acting fluctuates in quality as well, but there are some definite emotional moments which are successfully hit. Overall, the production takes a hit here, but not enough to spoil the fun.

Characters 8/10

Quite strong overall. Both the android and the human cast members have a lot going for them, and it says a lot that it's often difficult to tell the two groups apart. The biggest flaw in this category is that the show mainly takes the form of 'snapshots' of life among the cafe-goers, and most of them don't get to develop too much in the course of the story. Those that do have satisfying arcs, however - even one robot with less than 20 minutes of screentime manages to make his final moments meaningful, and both of the main characters grow a good deal over the course of the show.

Overall 8/10

Sci-fi slice-of-life is something I haven't experienced a lot of, but Time of Eve pulls off the idea well, exploring hard sci-fi concepts with surprising finesse in a very compact format- almost like the visual application of the concept of the short story collection, which puts me in mind of I, Robot immediately - a positive connotation for a work in this genre. Yes, I enjoyed the time of EVE.

8/10 story
8.5/10 animation
7/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall
Atsinganoi's avatar
Dec 25, 2013

I've seen quite a few movies and shows that deal with the interactions between humans and androids and what happens when those androids start becoming self-conscious, but none have done so in a way as thoughtful, mature, and nuanced as Eve no Jikan, and in only 105 minutes. There's no extremist apocalypse or dystopia like you'd find in A.I., I, Robot, Blade Runner, or any other Hollywood sci-fi films. No hyperbole, but no sugar-coating as well.

The animation and music do a serviceable job. They neither detract nor distract from the story or the characters, which is where it really shines.

I loved the story. As I already said, the themes aren't new, but the way it's handled was refreshing. There are no gunfights and battles between humans and androids, no android revolt against their human oppressors. In fact, this is simply a story of Asimov's Three Laws of Robotics taken to their uniquely logical conclusion.

The way the main characters dealt with what they saw at the Time of Eve café and how it impacted their wordlviews seemed very real and genuine. By that, I mean that how they reacted, the things they did and said, their prejudices and how they changed, came across as how I myself and the people I know would behave faced with the same situation. 

As for the characters themselves, all had something hidden or secret about them that brought you in. Just like how I'd love to see how the larger story plays out, I really want to see how the two main characters and all of the secondary characters continue their lives and work through the little bits of them we're introduced to during the film.

I don't want to say too much and spoil anything, but I only have one real complaint about the story and it's characters: this movie left me wanting to know so much more about them and the world they inhabit. In short, the story is too short. I want sequels. Lots and lots of sequels.

10/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
10/10 characters
9/10 overall
Mofroman007's avatar
Feb 2, 2013

Story:

The story of Time of Eve is a simple, yet quite satisfying tale that plays in a future in which many households have servant androids that appear human save for a glowing ring above their heads. The main character, Rikuo stumbles upon a cafe where the only rule is that the patrons of the cafe, whether Human or Android may not discriminate or treat each other differently based on that difference. In classic Asimov-esque style, this raises questions about wha it really means to be human, what it mean to discriminate, and can be used as a metaphor for discrimination in our own world. Love it or hate it, the story at the very least is unique and surprisingly thought-provoking. The only complaint that I have is that the ending seems a bit cliche. I do not wish to spoil anything, however the last 15 minutes or so are definitely not the strongest part of the movie and almost take away from the earlier parts, which are positively captivating.

Animation:

Time of Eve is a beautiful movie. There is an amazing contrst achieved here, where the outside is portrayed in more pastel shades as well as grays, and pale beiges, whereas the inside of the cafe is an explosion of light and color, with lush greens and warm brown tones, as well as dynamic pieces such as cieling fans that give the atmosphere of an organic and living envoronment. This subtle, yet important attention to detail makes Time of Eve a great pice of art and a fantastic piece of visual media

Sound:

While truly not lacking in the audio department, Time of Eve does little to amaze. It has a very distinctive sound, especially when characters enter the cafe, however most of the music serves as an ambience to the dialouge, rather than to be featured on its own. There are a few truly great musical moments though, as the teme of music comes up several times, as a secondary plot device. Over all, the distictive sound of the movie does it justice and helps support the work.

Characters:

As expected from a movie that revolves around what it means to be human or not, all the characters are well-made and symbolic in one sense or another. From the overly perky girl Akiko, to the friendly old man, Shimei, the cast is a very likable group that you will care for. At times it will seem as though the cast is limiting in its sixe, as there seems to be a small number of characters actually involved in the story, however by the end it turns out that is is just right, giving the viewer a wonderful sense of personal connection to the characters.

Overall:

If you saw and liked movies/ovas like Pale Cocoon, then this movie is a no-brainer. It is a fabulous piece that is Beautful and simply a joy to watch. For everyone else, I still highly recommend it, especially if you like your movies a little more thought-provoking than most.

8/10 story
10/10 animation
8/10 sound
9/10 characters
9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Doomoo's avatar
Oct 25, 2012

Story: 9
Well this anime does a very fine job of exploring the fine line between humans and robots. It explores the idea that eventually robots and computers in general could develop very human like emotions and even freewill. It shows that as our technology progresses the line will become more and more blurred.

Animation: 9
The animation was about what you would expect from a high end production nothing to complain about here. The everything from character movement to lighting was done excellently.

Sound: 8
The voice acting was spot on. I think that some of the background music could have been a bit better but the sound effects were right on par.

Characters: 10
Due to the whole premise of this movie the characters are what makes or breaks this anime and boy oh boy does it make this anime excellent. It does an amazing job with not only character development but also character diversity. There are many lovable characters and most of the main and secondary characters are well fleshed out.

Overall: 9
This anime is for those of you who like psychological anime. This is a shining example of how to do psychological anime correctly. It's not only very engaging but it's also psychologically realistic. If you are looking for a happy go lucky anime that is easy going and fun this isn't for you but if you are looking for an anime that explores deep and interesting questions regarding what makes humans human and love psychological anime then this is an absolute must see.

9/10 story
9/10 animation
8/10 sound
10/10 characters
9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Oolas's avatar
Sep 19, 2010

This movie is just all the anime episodes stucked together, therefore it doesnt add much to the entire 'eve no jikan' thing.

 So if you have watched the anime, no need to watch this movie. If you havn't, the movie is better if you want the whole story in one pice.

The animation is very nice, with detailed backgrounds and fluid character movements.

I gave the story an 9 because after it was finished I was a bit in a 'we want more' mood, so no 10 here. The story is done so you realy feel along with the characters, which is good of course.

The characters got an 8 because some of them didnt develop as much as others.

Sound was very nice, credits were compared to the anime a bit worse, so hence the 9.

EDIT: Review edited after being called retarded. After I saw the entry about the movie I was very happy, "finaly, more eve no jikan!". So once I found out that it was exactly the same I was angry and wrote this review, I hope its a bit more 'normal' now.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall