The Highschool Life of a Fudanshi - Reviews

Alt title: Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu

sort
veggiecat's avatar
Nov 7, 2018

I'm a bit sad about the fact that other people aren't enjoying this as much as I did.  Usually ratings don't steer me wrong, but I took a chance on this and I'm so glad I did!  I found it hilarious!

For the jokes to hit, though, you have to be:

  1. In the BL fandom (Fujo/Fudanshi)
  2. Somewhat self aware and able to laugh at yourself/the community

It's also short, so don't expect a serious story arc.  The episodes tend to center around concepts familiar to the BL audience, so they can trim out a lot of explanation and just focus on landing jokes.  I think the short format really works for comedy, because it's unnecessary to drag a joke out longer than a few minutes anyway.

Overall, definitely worth the watch for fujos.

6/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
9/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
ShoumaTaka's avatar
Sep 6, 2016

**** spoilers maybe , read at your own advantage ****

Story : there is really no story what so ever. Ryou a Fudanshi who's obsessed with "gay porn" you can say. He has a otaku friend named Rumi,  a conservative friend named Toshiaki, and a gay friend named akira.  It's a pretty funny show,  I laughed at the first five episodes (:

Animation : Best thing about the show, each character has a different design 

Sound : no so much there for me.  I Always skip the ED 

Characters : They each have different designs, which is pretty unique although the main character Ryou looks like a typical " Mai Yaoi Character "

-

Would I recommend this to a friend?  : it's a 50/50 for me 

8/10 story
9/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
8/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
KoRecs's avatar
Jan 12, 2018

Alright, I'm just going to say that A LOT of the characters made me uncomfortable. When I first heard the premise, I found it kind of interesting. A story about a boy who just likes reading about gay romances? Huh, cute. I didn't really mind whether he was gay himself or not; in fact, I thought that is was better that he wasn't, because it defies stereotype. 

Of course, this was before I was familiar with the fujoshi/fudanshi fandom, so I thought "yeah, this'll be good!"

I... I was wrong.

Don't get me wrong! Some of the storylines were interesting and sweet, but a lot of this made me rather uncomfortable as well. 

Firstly, if you like reading about two boys, the assumption is that your gay. I'm sorry but, despite defying stereotypes of my own sexuality when it comes to these things (I like reading shonen ai and stuff like that, despite being a lesbian), everyone makes snap judgements. I get that it can be awkward, but he really acted like it caused him offence. If you like looking at that stuff... Then how can you really act like that? It might be a little embarrassing, but still.

This is excluding all the disturbing behaviour surrounding Yuujirou. I get that yaoi is kind of imfamous for the blurred lines surrounding consent, but there's no need to behave the ways he did. His "relationship" with Ueda was the most disturbing thing for me, even if the other boy enabled it and supposedly didn't mind; it really wasn't healthy. 

Still, I guess that it's each to their own. I just thought that it was a good premise gone to waste.

3/10 story
4/10 animation
4/10 sound
2/10 characters
2/10 overall
Graceful's avatar
Aug 27, 2016

It's not too bad but I just watched an episode not high and it stopped being funny so idk

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
5/10 overall
Jujucat's avatar
Apr 28, 2021

It had potential it did make me laugh at first but then I got bored tbh, the anime girls in it had such squeaky voices. 

6/10 story
7/10 animation
4/10 sound
5/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful