The Anthem of the Heart - Reviews

Alt title: Kokoro ga Sakebitagatterunda.

sort
Qplayer's avatar
Nov 10, 2015

From the makers of Anohana: The Flower We Saw that Day. Sold.

After being thoroughly disappointed by a hyped up anime in my previous review, I did temper my expectations a little bit this time. What if Anohana was a one hit wonder? What if the team didn't utilize their budget to the fullest potential and instead wasted it on making trains look pretty? These fears could be assuaged by one name, Tatsukyuki Nagai, whose résumé includes directing Honey and Clover II, To Aru Kagaku no Railgun, and Toradora! Nagai and the rest of the production team should be granted the highest of praises for bringing new life to the competitive slice of life genre.

The story of The Anthem of the Heart is almost that of a modern fairy tale. A girl facing some misfortune meets a guy who encourages her to overcome her obstacles and find her true self, all while facing some crazy love triangle and/or other wacky life circumstances. Going into this movie you need to know that the story isn't one of the strong points. Not to say that the story is bad or even mediocre, but from a basic structure standpoint, it isn't much different than what we've seen before, especially in a manga that bears a striking resemblance to it, A Silent Voice. Rather than having a compelling overall premise, like many slice of life anime The Anthem of the Heart draws its strength from powerful individual scenes, the “slices” upon which it focuses. The most powerful scene in the film takes place in an abandoned love hotel, which has the perfect blend of atmosphere, voice acting, and character animation that makes it one of my favorite scenes in anime movie history. The ending was satisfying, not completely selling out for an idealistic conclusion, but still giving the viewer what they want.

While the story was the weakest point of the movie, the animation was one of its strongest. The colorful palette and sharp character designs brought a lively mood to the anime. The best parts of the animation were the characters themselves. The Anthem of the Heart has some of the most expressive character animation I've seen on film. The characters experience the full range of emotions, and between the voice acting and character animation, the viewer experiences a connection with the characters that is truly special. It's difficult to describe without actually showing it, but it must be emphasized how the characters bring their emotions to life in this movie.

Finally, another strong aspect of this movie was the sound design. The voice acting was incredible; as mentioned above it breathed life into the characters. What was unexpected though was the quality of the music. The musical numbers were some of the best I've seen in anime. While some anime contain songs, they are rarely utilized in a way that accentuates the themes and drive the plot in the way that they do in The Anthem of the Heart. Even the adapted public domain songs that were used for the students' musical were beautiful, sometimes tearjerking.

I love the slice of life drama genre. These days it is difficult to break new ground in a genre that is literally life itself. However, The Anthem of the Heart succeeds where others fail because it tells a complete story with strong characters and a satisfying ending. It's on par with Nagai's previous slice of life masterpiece Toradora! Certainly The Anthem of the Heart should be considered along with the other classic great slice of life works as part of what makes animation such an entertaining medium.

7/10 story
9.5/10 animation
10/10 sound
9/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
FeedTheBirds's avatar
Jun 11, 2016

I personally loved this movie. It was very sweet and cute. There was a lot of emotional scenes that really touched me and made me cry.

The animation is great. It reminded me a lot of AnoHana. (recommend btw)

The music was great. I loved how sweet and not in your face it was. It very much matched the movie.

The characters were meh. I loved the main character; she made the movie. I was totally into the love interest until the end of the movie ( won't give anything away ). The other girl / friend of the main character, did not like her from the start. The baseball dude was cool and I liked him; however. begining of the movie 8/10, end of the movie 5/10 ( once again won't give away why ). The main character's parents are both pieces of poop and I hated them; their characters are just awful.

Overall, the movie is a good watch. It's long though; so really buckle down and bring the popcorn.

7/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
8/10 overall
kingofdemons's avatar
Nov 3, 2015

Story: It frist starts off great happy and fun but then bam it puts crazyness in to the mix, but the story was like are every day lifes to a piont I mean that not all of are lifes have gone down this road, but for most of us we can have this movie show us in a way how it was played out in are lifes. (PS I AM NOT SAYING THIS ABOUT ANYONE IT IS JUST WHAT I FEEL WHEN I SAW THIS MOVIE IN THEATERS TO NIGHT.)

Animation: Relly good job a again A1- Pictures there was some parts of the movie that were down in the drawings, but for the most part it was a great movie it see on the big screen.

Sound: the music was great love the soundtrack and the singing it made me cry a little great job on the sound with the characters when that where moving and talking hit that one on the mark guys thank you

Characters: The cast and Characters where great in this movie the feelings that they give and put in to the Characters where just mind blowing very nice job and the ending well I am just going to say I got me good and I am gald that it happend that way. Thank You guys for showing this in the theaters I can't wait for more to come.

8.9/10 story
9.3/10 animation
9.7/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.9/10 overall
mxk999's avatar
Feb 15, 2021

This is really beautiful, and has a lot of meanings hidden behind it; i particularly enjoyed how it develops through-out the story, and how everything unravels. My only problem is - a sad one at that - is that Naruse doesn't end up with Takumi. This is just a personal opinion, but he helps her see the problems and helps her overcome them, and i expected them to be together by the end. I would've defo given this a 10/10 if not for the ending (╥﹏╥)

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
8.5/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
rutosgalaxy's avatar
Feb 15, 2021

[ !!SPOILERS AHEAD!! ]

This one is just awesome. It perfectly potrays how everyone has their own share of problems in life. Some deide to let go of them while some keep pestering on the past. The fl is the second category while the ml is more of the first category. In our lives more or less we feel burdened of our problems, blaming ourselves. Both the leads are blaming themselves but only one of them is aware of the reality. The fl keeps pestering her old mistakes and problems which leads to problems but the ml brings her back. However, despite being so thick-headed the fl always pushed everyone to do their best. Rather she was the reason everyone became so worked up about their feelings problems and stuff.

All in all this whole movie has a lot to teach but istg their is only one flaw. The leads should have ended up together. It's so sad they didn't end up together :"). Other than that this movie is a must watch. This definitely nees to reach a lot more people.

8/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful