That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Season 2 - Reviews

Alt title: Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken Season 2

sort
ThatAnimeSnob's avatar
Mar 30, 2021

My overview for the first season of the Slime isekai was well received in every site I uploaded it. And yet there were a lot of people at Anime-Planet who kept commenting about how wrong it was, because I didn’t read the manga. Why should I? It was an overview about the first season of the anime, not a much later arc in the manga. Do I really have to point out how stupid this is? How would you feel if I was going on every person’s review of the first season of The Promised Neverland and I was telling them they are wrong in everything they wrote, because the manga is different later on? It’s that sort of mental gymnastics that can make an average person to give up on reviewing, because he wouldn’t be able to tolerate the insanity of the fanboys. Luckily for you, I am not average and I watched the next season where the big twist happened. And no, it doesn’t contradict anything I said about the first season, because it’s a different season and it’s definitely not an ongoing manga. Holy crap, anime community, why do you suck so much?

Anyways, I had said about the first season that it was a bland power fantasy about an overpowered protagonist who solves all the problems in a breezy, wholesome way. He does the same for half of the second season as well, until a bad guy cancels his hax powers with a barrier and a lot of his allies get killed by an invading army. Things are no longer hunky dory, he has to take his position more seriously, he has to realize he can’t solve every problem with hax powers, and he has to accept that he can’t save everybody all the time. This sounds like a great twist and all the author had to do was to not go back to the bland power fantasy.

…And then he goes back to the power fantasy and completely destroys the twist, thus making the show even worse than it was before, because now it comes off as pretentious. The only thing the protagonist had to do is to get even more overpowered. The invading army that seemed unstoppable was easily annihilated by his hax powers, and all his allies who died were magically brought back to life. Hooray for taking things more seriously where there is still no tension or negative consequences. The fanboys of this bland power fantasy will insist it’s deep because he was forced to kill a lot of people and to be more serious hereon, but who gives a damn when he can easily solve every problem with his completely broken powers and to dragonball back to life anyone who died? Oh, as for the part where he is forced to kill people in order to protect his friends, did everyone forget the hundreds of creatures he has killed already, including the father of the wolf who carries him around like a pet?

Therefore nothing really changed and all those idiots who were making fun of me for not reading the manga when I was reviewing the anime were full of crap. The show is still lazily written, it’s nothing special, it’s a run of the mill trash isekai for people who hate their lives and want to escape in a videogame where they are amazing and solve all their problems without having to actually work hard or sacrifice a thing. For a much better version of the same (supposed) twist, read my book. I also have a guy who becomes a leader and who doesn’t have hax superpowers for wiping out entire armies, nor he can resurrect anyone he likes, whenever he feels like it. It’s what the author of the Slime isekai can only dream of writing, because all he cares about is creating a bland power fantasy for gamer dorks, who will rush to defend his trash by making fun of anyone who didn’t like the anime, because he didn’t read the manga. Defenders of this trash, you all suck and I am both a better analyst of anime and a writer of better fiction.

1/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
2/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
Blueflamemaster's avatar
Mar 2, 2021

Prepare for some MAJOR slow burn, the beginning episodes are slow and rather boring, however things start to pick up in a VERY negative way leading up to an epic episode 10, which hopefully will make it all worth the wait. If you can get through the first 6 or so episodes you will make it to the good stuff! Will be interesting to see how much they fit into the last 3 episodes. Definitely looking forward to Season 2 Part 2 coming later this year!

Just finised chapter 82 in the manga, seems the MAJOR slow burn is due to them catching up to the manga.

At the end of this season they are already at chapter 70 in the manga. Hopefully season 2 part 2 will not be a TON of filler.

Season 1 covered Chapters 1 through 52.

Compared to Season 2 part 1 which only covered Chapters 53 through 70

7/10 story
8/10 animation
?/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
Ryuga10's avatar
Apr 17, 2021

after the first season my EXPECTATIONS were not to high for second season

season one was good picking a lot of praise during the initial episodes abd well recieved but sort of lost steam during the later episodes and also the ovas dint help a lot. well the end episodes of s1 were sort of dull maybe due to more of "world building" going on there.

so when s2 came out naturally there was hype but it had reduced. but gotta agree s2 just blew me away, not much time was spent on character development besides rimuru and a few side characters but overall character development was good. The show started of slow but picked up a lot of steam with it ending on a cliff hanger so expect a lot of things from cour 2

9/10 story
7/10 animation
8/10 sound
8/10 characters
9.3/10 overall
TheRogueNob's avatar
Apr 1, 2021

Season two of the slime is here peoples and I'm here to give my honest normal dude review. So first off if you are a huge fan then nothing has really changed and if you arent a huge stickler for bad story points then you'll enjoy it all the same despite the 12 episode length. Otherwise for those on the fence I would say by episode 3/4 if you really bored and dont want to wait for something to happen then drop it, slime is already an incredibly slow show and this season wasn't any different. otherwise kick back and enjoy the slime gobble everything up for the 2nd season. Now tot he detailed reveiw 

ah the animation, slime has to win the award for the literally sharpest art style, this can make things look really choppy. and to ruin your day in the op and for most of the character movement it consists of them doing a left to right moment like they are shifting their weight. WHAT HAS BEEN SEEN CANNOT BE UNSEEN. That doesn't mean it's bad but is it great no it does look nice though .

For the sound I liked the music but despite having the opportunity to fill the world with ambient noise they don't and that's a bummer it's such a quiet show. Mushi shi is my example for anyone wondering.

the chapters are .... really ok, I like them and they are fun but that doesn't excuse 36 epsiodes almost 0 human characters development moments with so many solid characters you'd think some of them would genuinely lash out at something but no they ALWAYS restrain themselves and ALWAYS make the perfectly righteous choice except for one moment which lead me to the story.

the story really was boring in terms of thing happening and then it became interesting then straight to face palm kind of feeling is a bad way to feel by the end. But give it a shot you may like it. 

 The whole reviving dead characters and sacrifice 20k people is stupid. He feels no remorse no grief no failure he just murder all those people not for revenge but for the righteous choice to revive his friends and he doesn't bat an eye. He never struggles or fails everything thing slime boy and friends have done up until this point has been 100% successful which means any conflict loses all emotion and gravity which makes the show even more tedious and boring on top of the hyper slow and I'm eventful episodes that make up more than 80% of the 36 epsiodes of the whole series 

6/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
Blackysensei's avatar
Mar 10, 2021

Watch at your own risk, they say stasis causes thrombosis, and the stasis in this season exceeds the limit known to humanity, there've been so many recaps for s1 during this season, that if you have been examined about it, you will ace it. Those people want to buy time for the manga soo much that sometimes i think the only thing missing, is replaying the scene in slow-motion. So yeah, for a great source, material, the director really did a number on it by choosing to follow the manga, and kill a great potential anime. You can actually not watch this cour, and expect to watch it all as a recap in the second without missing anything, given that the events of the whole cour are supposed to fit in 5 episodes tops. And that's the highest you would normally expect to adapt the events of one ln volume. 

1/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
4/10 characters
4/10 overall