Sekirei

Sekirei
sort
Add review
EmrakulForbids's avatar
Nov 20, 2019

I used to love Sekirei (Anime) but now after having read the manga in full I an overwhelmingly dissapoined in the anime adaptation as it leaves so many relevant pages and sometimes chapters of the manga out of the anime and a majority of the 2nd season is completely fabricated and doesn't follow the manga at all. Much sadness. 

2/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
10/10 characters
5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
techpriest35's avatar
Jul 7, 2019

If you like harem anime, then is is for you. if you like anime about people fighting each other be prepared to be disappointed.if you don't like lolis be prepared to be disappointed.this anime should be banned in most countries. it promotes the idea of sexualizing 8 year old girls(kusano is an 8 year old girl and constantly tries to compete for the love of a guy in his college years. this is pedo like behavior.) this anime is more a slice of life than any real fighting based or power based abilities. this is an ecchi harem slice of life with splashes of shonen or super power abilities. mostly it is how 1 guy lives with 6 females 4 of whom are part of his harem the other two are the boarding house owner and another tennet. when i watched on hulu the animation was blurred for about 2-3 minutes of each episode.the story was supposedly about the girls fighting each other for some unknwon prize, but in reality the fights are only kind of there until the 11th of 12 episodes. then they rushed through the fight on the final episode and still had 7 minutes of no fighting.basically do watch if you just want panty shots random boob flashes and girls bickering over who gets to marry the main character

do not watch if you want a detailed story,cool super powers,epic fights or other aspects of a shonen type anime

i am not sure if i want to watch season 2 or the 1 ep ova. if it is more of the same in season 2 then i will probally abandon the series after 1-3 episodes

5/10 story
4/10 animation
10/10 sound
6/10 characters
4/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
otakuguy1818's avatar
Jun 26, 2019

when i began watching this I didnt expect to spend the whole evening on it. Thie anime is a action packed ecchi and full on crazy fun. the mix of charaters and the story its self was a intresting twist to your average harem anime it fills in a special spot in my heart next to titles like date a live.rosari+vampire. i would recomind any person who wants a laugh and a good time to watch this! (DO NOT WATCH WITH OTHERS OR CHILDREN)

8/10 story
9/10 animation
7/10 sound
9/10 characters
10/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Von77Exault's avatar
Nov 17, 2018

Sorry for Ecchi Fanclub,if you ecchi&harem fans,i suggest you for watch this anime because lots of fan service.But if you watch this anime for action and story,DON'T WATCH THIS ANIME,story are not really good but not bad too and the main character are USELESS(MC make me stress).

3/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
0.5/10 characters
0.9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Gozza's avatar
Sep 30, 2018

Supernatural fight club series with a lot of big breasted women. The shows starts out pretty good but as the story of season 1 progresses it gets weaker and weaker.

It's a master and servant bond storyline but the main protagonist tries to collect as many servants as possible as if he's trying to collect pokemon. The servants have to fight each other until there is only 1 left standing. The reward after beating all the other servants is that the master and his or her servant get to spend the rest of their lives together.

The art is pretty decent although the faces of all the cast members start looking the same after a while. The only real way to tell the difference between the characters is through their hair since the clothing gets shredded to pieces often.

6/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
7/10 characters
6/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
GrumpyFalcon's avatar
Jan 20, 2018

Story

The story for Sekirei posts some great aspects that define it as a pretty solid Harem story irself. Harems tend to lose their starting line and deviate into hardcore ecchi and forget about the development of the story itself. Sekirei never deviates of the correct path and even goes beyond that and subtly add the ecchi and romance aspect to the show. I really enjoyed this first season and I really hope the next season bumps this aspects by two or three points.

Animation

The animation for the show was Ok, considering the show was made in 2007. The CGI is minimum and the action and batlle scenes are fluid and smooth for the time it came out.

Sound

The sound for we was lacking that punch that makes you remember a series OST for life. The idea of someone going on the streets and start humming some tunes of a shows does not come for Sekirei´s soundtracks. The tracks were lacking again, but the sounds that were presented to you by the producers didn't disturbe the sensation of the viewer and let him enjoy the aspects that the show actually excells at.

Character

The characters were amazing, and you are probably going to fall in love with many of them and you will also hate others. The characters weren't described or developed to the fullest but the small descriptions about background stories of some caharacters was good enough for you to enjoy every episode.

Overall

This was the first harem I watched so maybe my description is actually coming out of my guts and heart. It depends on you if you enjoy the anime, I personally haven't watched another anime that evokes many feelings as Sekirei brought out but I will keep looking. Now go and watch it yourself and I hope you enjoy this nice Harem.

9/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
10/10 characters
9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
RubyofRaven's avatar
Jan 2, 2018

The premise is wonderful in this anime (maybe not the most original, having viewed other harem animes with similar premises-- like Trinity Seven and Campione! -- but it made me think the most with it's implimentation).

The premise is that the Sekirei are beings sent, possibly from God, to humankind to teach humans what real love is, with the added bonus of powers (to protect their loved ones?). This idea has been corrupted as the system was flawed from the start in the form of how their bonding to their soulmates is all in relation to their DNA. Any Sekirei can bond with a human if the human has the right DNA and there is no limit to how many times the human DNA can work on a Sekirei. As a result, this anime brings up the issue of consent as some people, primarily males, decide to go about collecting all the Sekirei they can for greater power and lustful reasons.

Of course, a horrible scientist decided to fully corrupt this idea and turn the Sekirei's and their mates against one another with a game where only one Sekirei and their master may prevail to, possibly, win a chance at becoming a godlike being, ascending to heaven. 

For this anime, it is mainly this premise that gripped me, the humor, and some of the characters (not necessarily the male lead nor his primary Sekirei love interest). For me, the humor and interesting characterization of some of the other women in the lead male's harem and the villian Sekirei, in particular, made this an interesting anime to watch.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Dionkeykong's avatar
Sep 11, 2017

We begin today our lesson in ecchimatics with Ch.4 Part Sekirei.We advise the oversensitive and the young 'uns to take a hike as my reviews contain lethal doses of sarcasm and strong,mature language.

I'm really starting to have fun with these reviews.And at long last some people here are having fun reading them,which ultimately is my purpose.So for all of you out there a big thanks,your support through these difficult "politically correct" times means the world to me,it keeps the engine running with blood and guts.Dion loves you big time!

And with that emotional intro into the unemotional nerve wrecking anime called....Sekirei.Which stands for "something went wrong in my life and i'm starting to hear voices in my head...Kill 'em all,KILL 'EM NOW".This usually results in self injury but this time i was given one of those lovely sweaters with which you can hug yourself and was medicated on time.So what is Sekirei?Is it that bad?Can it be trully horrible?

OH FUCKING YES AND THEN SOME.And we start wiiiiiiith...The beginning.Which has to be voted(if it hasn't already)as the most misleading to ever appear on anime.Long story sort it has an Elfen Lied vibe to it.Soldiers shooting at unbelievably strong enemies with strange powers only to get gruesomely killed in the end and ends with the attackers claiming a kid with a helmet on its' head or something like that.Basically a bloodbath just to get a kid..They couldn't find one in the black market i suppose!

From there on everything,and i do mean everything shifts faster than a Nissan Gtr does.And like the Gtr this anime has big fucking huge airba...Boobs sorry.Yup you guessed it right.This is an ecchi anime with a story.A story of how it was made possible to fit so many gigantic boobs in the same frame.Mind you they're not as huge as the ones in Queen's Blade.Well that was an overkill really.Anywho our male MC meets our female MC.Our FMC literally drops from the sky like a gift from Jesus and onto the MMC's face resulting in a 69(if you don't know what that is ask your parents or visit a porn site).And thus our MC's quest to gather as many boobs as he can begins..Kinda like pokemon really only you don't get a boner with those rats.Or maybe you do..If you do please write in the comments so we can all laugh at you.

Just like the Pokemon then,this has fights.Well when i say fights i mean there are some but like the ones you might see in kindergarden.Until the very very end don't expect any sort of mindblowing action.It's mostly the MC gathering them bitches and then turning them into house maids.Well what did i expect?It's an ecchi anime.Now that i mention it,if you plan on watching it just don't go in with big expectations..None would be even better.Cause even though on paper it's all very interesting indeed in action,meh.But at least it has boobs.Gotta love boobs,especially if you're a man..Or a lesbian.

Storywise then it all went straight to hell for some reason i don't know and can't be bothered to find out.Animationwise again it's a half assed job.Nothing really stands out...That's bullshit actually,those boobs are of equal artistic value as most of Da Vinci's paintings.All else is hopeless really.

Soundtracks and VA.....Yeah...Next!

Characters?Oh come on are you fucking with me?Oh you aren't....Oh....Fuck.Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck Fuck......

Overall quite a nice anime...If you are mad or live in Mexico and spend your days drinking tequila.It's horrible.Even by ecchi standards(god are there any?)this is bad.It's like that weird cousin you only meet at family gatherings.Sitting in the corner,never speaking,probably tortures littles animals..You know the kind.This is Sekirei.Wanna watch it?Be my guest,just remember i told you not to do that.

2.5/10 story
4/10 animation
3/10 sound
3/10 characters
2/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
TennisTsundere's avatar
May 13, 2016

I really enjoyed this anime, it is the first one I have watched as well as my favorite. I really enjoyed the characters and the interactions between them. The characters in my opinion (Kazehana, Tsukiumi, Matsu, for example) had stand-out personalities that made the anime interesting. Although I liked the fan service, I appreciated the story even more. It had me hooked the entire time. Minato was a great main character as he is not wimpy like other harem anime males. He is confident, determined, and well mannered which I really appreciate. This was just a fun lighthearted anime with enough action and comedy to keep you engaged. I long for a season 3 at some point but it was only a dream. 

9/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
XTVan's avatar
Dec 31, 2015

There is a lot of reviews here talking about the more carnal side of Sekirei as being the main side of it. Imo, from all the ecchi I've watched, Sekirei is one of the few you actually can be interested in the story behind it more than the toons' behinds.

It is sad that it was cancelled before a decent end was produced.

7/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
8/10 characters
7/10 overall
Epimondas's avatar
May 4, 2015

Sekirei is fairly original.  Though, I suppose the plot somewhat resembles other anime like, "East of Eden", in that several participants are forced to play in a life or death type of game.  The overly offensive use of girl bit flashes and situations aside, it is not to bad a show.  There are plenty of action scenes and each of the players' attatched alien-esque mostly female warriors have different types of skills and at different levels.  it should be no surprise that many participants actually want no part in such a farce of a game.  That is a rather nice realistic approach slightly different from your usual anime framework.  Of course this sort of sets a kind of tone and pace among at least the major protagonists where they either reveal some guilt or reluctance or avoid violence or at least deeply struggly internally  over the question of "is playing this game even right".  True maybe alot of animes love to dance on the edge of the grey areas of many questions such as those of morality and often cross them into oddball areas, but this one at least raises the issue of morality and rightly shows that not everyone is a willing pawn to so called destinies albiet very violent at that in this case.  Often however, I have to wonder, what use or purpose do so called controllers really have in this game?  In this sense it somewhat mimics other animes with simllar character inter-relations such as "Rozen Maiden" and "Fate/Zero".  The interactions between the girl warriors is often quite amusing which may help organize the shows characters so that even if they fade at times a bit here and there they are not at times forgotten like well the X-Men movies.  It also often either brings up or aids new story arcs or plots or contributes to the outcome of others started elsewhere.  You see a few rivals of sorts make repeat appearances.  Now and then there are even a few plot surprises which are usually welcome if not thrown at us viewers completely out of the blue with nothing to suggest it's possibility even.  

Perhaps a slight downer in a minor way is that one of the plot devices is well hmm sort of seen a bit too often, aka the pseudo blackmail approach to force a non violent or other wise good character to aid a bad guy character and that usually comes in the form of someone's life on the line but not always.  Not that I complain per say that it is not a genuine plot element, however it's frequency so many animes make it a bit tedious, tiresome, and unimaginative to see.  Perhaps in one sense the most humorous part of the series is the guy with the two twins as girl warriiors because amusingly it is often hard to tell who bosses who around.  And their source of contention and debate over that title is quite fun to watch.  

I am uncertain whether it is a pro or con as to how slowly the underlying subplot, back story, cause, and main plot elements are to reveal themselves.  At times it is as if things are dragging on a bit to long or slowly with regard to them and at others I feel rewarded to be let in.  This might be because, the series may or may not have reached it's intended ending or number of seasons before closure.  If so, that is sadly the case with many many anime series that do not get a fair chance or at least not enough time to tell the story or at least not enough story to draw enough viewers into them.  This at least starts out fairly quick but I am not so sure the pacing of revealing story and plot secrets after this is up to par.  Apart from a few exceptions, characters are pretty well fleshed out though a few such as the boxer girl, are a bit one dimensional in their depth like she is a melee fighter.  Aside from her immaturity freshmen type newness and her slightly airheaded personality, melee fighting is the only thing she is about.  Despite the fact she spends quite a lot of time on screen and is the first warrior girl for the game introduced, she is sadly also the character least revealed and shallowest of depth compared to every other major character and even the twins.  

There are some characters that could use some work or appear a bit too shallow or one dimensional.

7.5/10 story
7/10 animation
7.5/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
7/10 overall
OddJobProdigy's avatar
May 3, 2015

Sekirei is a really stupid anime to most people. It is an ecchi, harem, romance, with allot of action. However out of every harem i have ever seen this one by far has the best characters. This anime was one of the first i have ever watched so even though there are many who would not like this show, i love it. I feel like this is one of those hidden gem shows that gets way to covered in tits and ass. Does it have that yes, but it isn't the only point of the show. So check it out you may like it. The story is about a young man named....

Minato Sahashi

He has just failed his entarnce exam and the story begins when a strange girl named... 

Musubi 

falls from the sky :)

9/10 story
8/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
sekrettelove14's avatar
Jan 9, 2015

I love this anime!!! Not only does it have an interesting plot, but the charecters are absolutley funny and great with each of their individual qualties.. I wish the Anime- planet people add their second season.. There most deffinatley is one, and it;s dubbed as well as the first one. WARNING!!!! If you are uncomfortable with nudity DO NOT WATCH THIS ANIME!! Nudity makes a frequent appearance, but i ignore that and stay with the story.

10/10 story
8/10 animation
9/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
theSentinel's avatar
Jan 1, 2015

This review covers season 1 and 2 (2 being pure engagement)

boring other than a few action scenes

predicable, pretty much the same as any other harem

corny and lame, goofy spaces in speech and characters said the same crap over and over and over.  The main character was the most obnoxious b*tch on the planet.  He was constantly screaming the sekirei's names.  He also always pretended to care in the most corny and retarded way possible, even ignoring logic to add additional "emotion" to the anime.  This "emotion" ended up being absolute garbage.  

Story: same as any other harem, since harems rarely focus on a story and usually just show panties and boobs.

Animation:  Except for a few good sequences, this anime was derpy as hell.

Sound:  not exciting at all, maybe everything else factored into me not enjoying the music either, but it seems lame.  

Characters: OH MY GAAWWWWD.  This is another one of those little b*tch main characters that is such a puss that he cant deal with the sexual advances of ANY of the women coming at him.  He constantly talks about helping when he is literally one of the most useless b*tches in anime.  He just throws his women at the problem and everything is ok!  OH NO, ONE OF THEM GOT HURT IM GONNA CRY ABOUT IT.

    This is the kind of scumbag you can find as the main character of Sekirei.  If you dont hate him then you should consider watching some actual animes :)  I know thats rough, but I dont usually hammer a character that bad.  This one earned it though.  I cant stand characters like him.

Overall: Dont waste your time 

5/10 story
4/10 animation
6/10 sound
1/10 characters
3/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
quamp's avatar
Nov 7, 2014

One thing I think I should point out before I start my review of this anime is that the manga's creator, Gokurakuin Sakurako, is actually a woman. Her name is really Ashika Sakura and she has done yaoi manga with titles like Sensative Pornograph.

That being said, what's really going on here is her trying to point out some of the absurdities and lack of reality in harem animes/manga. How many women really would move in with a guy just after meeting him? In reality, this is actually a bit of satire on the harem anime genre in general. We have the usual wimpy hero Minato being pushed around by women who are stronger in character than him. Just when things really are about to get out of hand, Miya the landlady comes in and brings things back to reality (using that term very loosely.) 

9/10 story
10/10 animation
8.5/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
tayinoop's avatar
Mar 24, 2014

STORY (7)
Okay. I literally just finished watching Sekirei, and the story is about the only thing I really enjoyed about it. Basically, "Sekirei" are girls who have an "Ashikabi." The Ashikabi are somewhat like the Sekirei's "master" and they must fulfill the wishes of their Ashikabi at all times. The rules of Sekirei is that they have to fight every other Sekirei they come in contact with.

Minato Sahashi is an intelligent boy living in Tokyo. However, Minato crumbles under pressure which has resulted in two failed college entrance exams.

One day, Minato is walking somewhere when suddenly a girl literally falls from the sky. Minato learns that the girl's name is Misubu, but doesn't have time to learn much else because Misubu is being chased by two other women, Minato later finds out are Sekirei.

The plot then progresses when Misubu has to stay with Minato, and announces that he is her Ashikabi, sealing the deal with a kiss. As the story goes on, Minato accidentally gathers a harem of Sekirei at his command, which almost brings more trouble than it's worth.

Interesting, right? Wrong. The story would have been all it could have been if there WASN'T SO MUCH DAMN FANSERVICE. A bit of ecchi, I don't mind. THIS, however, I can barely deal with. It wasn't as bad as HOTD or Highschool DxD, becayse this I actually managed to finish, but wow. Do you know how much time they wasted with panty shots? Unbelievable.

ANIMATION (6)
The art, well.. meh. It was meh and I don't know how else to describe it. There wasn't anything particularly 'wow' about it, but nothing that bad either.

SOUND (5)
I watched the dubbed version, and let me just say I didn't enjoy it. The supporting characters were alright, but DON'T GET THE VOICE OF THE MAIN CHARACTER WRONG OR THE WHOLE THING GOES DOWN IN SMOKE. Jeez.

CHARACTERS (5)
There wasn't much time for character development when all that was focused on was boobs and ass. In fact, the most character development was in the last episode, which is no good to anybody because it's a bit late to show the characters in a relatable way then. You mainly only get to see the characters bickering and fighting over Minato, which is amusing at times, but when it's half of every single episode, it's not so much fun to watch. It gets pretty boring.

OVERALL (5.5)
The story was good, but everything else was either average or just plain bad. So unfortunately, I can't score any higher than 5.5.. Although it was a good anime with some interesting ideas, there was too much time spent on fanservice for them to actually develop anything interesting.
I guess it just isn't my type of anime.

7/10 story
6/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
5.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
elrond99's avatar
Jun 13, 2013

Usual disclaimer - there may be a minor spoiler or two in this review, but I will avoid spoiling anything significant. I'm also assuming that readers are familiar with at least the basic synopsis of the series (I don't like wasting words re-hashing basic plot). 

Sekirei is an interesting case for me, because it's one of the very few series that I had read the manga going in. A friend had recommended it to me, and I whipped through it online in a couple of days, as I enjoyed it so much. I felt that the manga hit all the right action beats, had more than enough touching scenes, and mixed in the fanservice/humour stuff at just the right moments to help break up the seriousness. I would recommend the manga to anyone, as long as a few sketched boobies doesn't offend them.

So I was a little dismayed when I picked up the blu-ray box and saw the packaging - which literally says, in big bold letters, "Boobies for the win!" It was pretty obvious how both the Japanese studio, and Funimation, had decided to market this anime (which isn't a huge surprise, as they market many series that way, but I was hoping that Sekirei would be treated with a little more care). 

But in the end, this is a review of the anime, so I will try to treat it as such.

STORY - 8/10

Sekirei suffers mostly from a bit of an identity crisis. Is it an ecchi harem comedy? Or is it a serious story about a young man thrust into an unfair position and trying to make the best of it? The manga handles this balance very well, but the anime puts a little more emphasis on the harem part, and that's likely to turn off some viewers. 

Scenes that provide background to the Sekirei Plan, and the last 3 or 4 episodes, dealing with the big escape plan, provide some very solid plot that far exceeds anything in your standard harem comedy. The story also introdcues some very weighty ideas, though most of them are left undeveloped through the end of the first season. The biggest of those themes being that the gist of the Sekirei Plan is that only one Sekirei can be left standing at the end. And given that by the end of the series, Minato has emerged 4 Sekirei, it's not hard to do the math. Your standard ecchi harem series don't deal with the prospect that the male lead's harem members will have to eventually kill each other off, and once you've grown to attached in even the slightest bit to any of these characters, it's a difficult thought to process. I guess the hope is that Minato will find some way to thwart the Sekirei Plan and MBI, but if he loses a Sekrei or two along the way, it will prove to be fairly devastating.

The story elements that are hidden behind the fanservice are very strong (and the harem scenes often do help develop some level of attachment to the various characters), but still undeveloped. If the producers had given them a little more attention, or if they had handled the balance between serious and fanservice a bit more deftly, I would have given this a 9. As it is, if you enjoy ecchi at all, you'll likely find both aspects of the story's dual personality worthwhile.

ANIMATION - 7/10

By far my biggest frustration/disappointment with the series is the choice to constantly replace the characters with silly chibi-looking things during moments of emotion. This phenomenon is present a little in the manga also, but it looks much more jarring in an animated production than it does in a single small frame on the page. It really seems like a bit of a cop-out, and it's a disservice to the more serious side of the story to not have the characters confront emotions in certain situations, instead opting for a few laughs (I guess?) with the chibi crap - does anyone actually find that funny, or is that just a Japanese cultural thing that I'm missing?

There are also a few scattered moments, though it's difficult to miss them, where the character animation just looks odd - like the artist was simply unable to draw them properly from a certain angle. It distracts from what's going on on the screen, but luckily it doesn't happen too often.

Apart from that, Sekirei is a beautiful-looking show. The Sekirei powers are often quite visually stunning (particularly Tsukiumi's water-based attacks). I should mention that I tend to watch a lot of these series on a 120" projection screen, and if a show looks good when blown up to that size, then I consider the animation to be very strong. 

SOUND - 9/10

I have yet to encounter a Funimation English dub that I didn't find to be outstanding. Say what you want about the company, but they put the effort into their presentation, especially when it comes to voice acting. Strong voice acting adds so much to the character development that I can't stress enough how important I consider it to be. 

I'm normally not too keen on the opening and closing songs that seem to exist for just about every anime. But Sekrei's themes seemed appropriately touching (even though I can't understand the words being sung) to the more serious side of the show. The in-show score was solid, though not outstanding. 

CHARACTERS - 8/10

As someone who read the manga first, it's difficult to approach the characters with a completely blank slate - I've already formed connections with them before ever viewing the first episode. 

On the surface, all of the characters have the appearance of just filling some standard archetype - Musubi is the bubbly airhead, Tskuimi is the tsundere, Kusano is the loli, Minato is the flavourless male lead, etc. But I think that all of these characters bring more to the table than just filling some cliche role. The first season of Sekirei doesn't get too far into the development, but it's there - particularly towards the end. 

Minato shows a wider range of emotions than is generally custom in harem males, because the more serious side of the story allows him to explore different aspects of his personality than just blandly sitting around being oblivious to the affections of a bunch of hot women. He actively makes decisions and those decisions impact how the other characters view and react to him. I found him to be a much more interesting lead than I've seen a lot of other reviews give him credit for. 

As a viewer, you have to be paying attention to the show to really see the depth that several of the Sekirei show. I fear that most people will just gloss over the series due to its strong ecchi feel, and will miss what's lying just under the surface. I feel that Tsukiumi and Musubi, in particular, show real growth and genuine emotion. Matsu is probably the worst-used character, as it is a bit difficult to do something with a woman who never leaves her creepy screen-filled room. 

The secondary characters in this show are often well-done. Mia, Uzume, Seo, and the crazy Minaka are all well-utilized minor characters, each of them bringing something to the table. Minaka can seem a little over-the-top most of the time, but he really is a delicious villian - he's the one forcing the Sekirei to fight one another, after all. The problem is that there might be a few too many minor characters - given that there are 108 Sekirei, and nearly that many Ashikabi, even if they introduced only a fraction of that number, it's still a somewhat overwhelming amount of minor characters running around. 

OVERALL - 8.5/10

Sekirei is the type of show that I think a lot of people who consider themselves to be serious consumers of anime as an art form will probably shun, just on its face. A lot of people won't bother to give this series more than a cursory glance, see the ample fanservice, and turn away. And such is the life of an ecchi series, I suppose. But I find it a little unfortunate that the series won't get as much positive attention as it deserves because the producers felt that highlighting the fanservice over the story would earn them a few extra bucks. 

Sekirei is a show that attempts to be more than your standard ecchi. And while the manga does a better job of it than the anime does, it is possible to find a balance between ecchi and a good story and good characters. I found that the characters resonated with me after I turned it off, and that I was genuinely affected by several of the emotional moments towards the end of the series. 

If you're a person who appreciates both ecchi and a good story, then you'll love Sekirei. 

8/10 story
7/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
mrd456's avatar
Jan 4, 2013

I think its great I love the plot am a huge fan of survil game tyoe animes cant wait to see how it ends if are a fan of this highley recomend reading the manga

10/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
BT09's avatar
Oct 6, 2012

GREAT ANIME, definitly watch if you had your eyes on it, good plot, fanservice, and visuals. Watch all of the sekiei series i bet you will like it!

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
10/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
galacticdude7's avatar
Aug 30, 2011

-Story-

I did not find the story of Sekirei to be all that interesting. Sure the action was pretty good, but I feel that the series fell short in other areas. One place they fell short on is the harem aspect of the show. I felt that the harem aspects of the show were pretty darn generic and other shows have done it a lot better. The harem parts also were really cliche as you had a lot of the standard character types in the show (The loser guy, the first girl, the lolita girl, the tsundere girl). I also felt that the parts that tried to be funny were not funny at all, and relied too much on fanservice and accidental pervert situations. Also the series did not have the emotion that it could of had shown throughout the series. The action scenes in the series kept the story going, but it wasn't enough to make it entertaining for me.

-Animation-

For the most part the animation and art was pretty decent throughout Sekirei. My only major qualms is that pretty much all of the girl sekireis looked like they all had the same body with a different head and outfit on. The backgrounds were alright, but they were not immersive enough to be considered great in my book.

-Characters-

I found most of the characters to be flat, plain, and boring. They did not seem to have much depth to them at all. Tsukiumi is the biggest perpetrator for this, as throughout the series she is pretty much a total bitch, (which blocks out the "dere" part of her unfortunately). The rest of the cast does not fair much better. Musubi is pretty much just a strong airhead, Kusuno is a brat, and Matsu is just a perverted computer hacker. Minato is saved from this fate a little bit, but not by much.

-Overall-

I did not enjoy Sekirei a whole lot, and unfortunately, there are also a lot of loose ends hanging about. I'm assuming that they get resolved in the second season, (apparently Netflix thinks that these 12 episodes are the COMPLETE series), but I did not enjoy the first season enough to even care about what happens next. I would not recommend it.

3/10 story
7/10 animation
?/10 sound
2/10 characters
3/10 overall
2 0 this review is Funny Helpful
AmimeCow's avatar
Aug 21, 2011

…………………………………………………………………………………………………...__,,,---~''¯'\,
……………………_,,,----,…………………………………………………………………___,,,---~~''¯¯ . . . . . . ,/'
…………….._,-~'¯ ; ; ; ; ;'\,----,……………………………………………………….,~'' . . . . . . . . . . __,-~~'¯
………,_,-~'¯; ; ; ; ;,-'¯¯¯'' '¯~'\,|,……………………………………………….._,-~' . . . . . . . ._,--~'''¯¯
…… '¯¯; ; ; ; ; ;_. ,/' . . .¯'o~- '|…………………………………………_,-~-~'¯ . , . . . . ¯¯\, . . '\,
……¯¯,-~*_ . /' . '\| . . . . . . . .'\…………………………………_,-~*'¯,/',/' . . . . .¯¯¯'~----,,,\,,,, .'\,
………..¯¯--, .'\, . . . . . . ,--~-,' '|…………………………_,-~*'¯ ; ;;;;; | .| . . . . . . . . . . . : . .|¯'*| .|
…………….."\,-'¯''|, . . .,/' ¯¯'-/'/………………….._,-~'¯¯; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;; '| .'| . . . . . . . . . .___,,--~'~''|
……………….| . . '\, . . '\,; ; ;|/'.__,-~~--,_,/'¯¯'~'¯; ; ;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; '|,'\, ---,_,,---~'''¯\''~''''¯¯,--~/''
………………/'____ '''`~-,,,--~'''¯¯ ; ; ; ; ; /' ; ;;;;; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;'\, .'~-,,-~''~---~''''~---~~'''¯
…………….,/'¯'\, . .¯¯,~';;;;;;; ; ;/' ; ; ; ; ; ;;;;;/ ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;'~,--~''¯¯';,/'
…………..,/',--,-~',_,~'' ;/';;;;;;;;;/';; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;'~-,_,/'/'
……….,,~'| /' /' . ,~'~-,;;;;;;;;;;;;|;; ;;;;;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ;,__,,,,,,-----~~'''¯
……,~'' ,/'/'/ : | .,/';;;,~';;;;;;;;;;;;'\,;;;;;; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;_,-~''¯¯
….,/' ;,/;;;|' : :|,/';;-~' ¯¯¯ ;;;;;;;;;;''\, ; ; ;;;;;;; ;_,,,---~~'''¯¯
…,|;;;;'|;;;| :,/';;,~' |;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; '\;;;;; ; ;;,/'
…|';;;;;'|;;| /',~';;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;''~-~''¯/
..,|;|;;;;;\;||/';;;;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;/'
,/'|;'|;;;;;;,|';;;;;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ;,/'
;;;|;|;;;;,|';;;;;;;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ;,/' THIS IS A GOOD ANIME
;;;|;|;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ,/'
;;|';|;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ;|'
;;| |;;;;'|;;;;;;;;;;;'|;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; |'
;;| |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; |
; | |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; |
/''| |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; '|
..| |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ;'\

7/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
2 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Tomo90's avatar
Jul 12, 2011

Sekirei is about a boy, Minato Sahashi, with above average intelligence at school but failed to get into a university two years running. While taking a walk to decide his future a mysterious girl, Musubi, falls out of the sky and lands on him. Musubi is being pursued by two other women with the ability to control lightning. After helping her escape, Minato becomes her Ashikabi and his life will never be the same.

I know what you are thinking, ‘it’s another typical harem/ecchi scenario’, which it is. This formula is very common but you know what they stay if it’s not broke then don’t fix it. I am a fan of these genres so I didn’t mind too much.

The story focuses less on the ecchi than you may think. There is some in there but I would say that there is probably more fighting than ecchi scenes. The story starts off more as an ecchi but as Minato accumulates more girls it turns into a harem/action.

The characters’ personalities are all the common ones for this type of genre and there isn’t much depth too them cause it’s a sort of mystery where they came from. Each of the sekirei has a unique ability which adds some spice to the anime.

I would say if you like harem/ecchi then you would like this anime. For others there isn’t too much different from the other series in the genre but if you want a laugh or too and some decent fighting scenes then Sekirei is what you’re looking for.

7/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
hoffstyle's avatar
Apr 26, 2011

Story: Minato has just failed his college entrance exam for the second time, establishing that he really has not a lot going on in his life when by fate a girl literally falls out of the sky introducing us to Sekirei and the story: Sekirei are 108 intergalactic beings discovered by the head of a generic Conglomerate known as MBI who for reasons unknown to us decides to use these beings in a game known as the Sekirei Plan where each has to fight the other until the last sekirei is standing and whose reward is to be able to spend eternity with her/his Ashikabi. As much as the idea of the story pulls me in, this is where it falls on it's face. While these creatures feel they must fight each other, no one ever seems to be in any real danger unless the main characters are fighting for a reason (i.e. helping another Sekirei and her Ashikabi escape the city) but it is during these confrontations that small glimmers of "Something else is going on that we are not aware of" appear.

Animation: 9, very vivid coloring, and does a great job of contrasting happiness and brightness with dark and foreboding. There is a lot of deformation however, and can be distracting when a character gets frustrated or angry at inopportune times. Nudity is very tasteful when it wants to be, but can become a distraction when it happens again at inopportune times.

Sound: This is where Season One shines. The opening song "Sekirei" is really upbeat, as well as the extremely catchy ending tune "Dear Sweet Heart" puts a smile on your face. The score is well done, down to the RPGesque boss battle sounding music during fights.

Characters: Far far far from one dimensional which is normal for a Harem anime, all the characters grow and begin reaching their potential throughout the series. Most notably Minato, who seems to be a  loser but shows there is much more to him. He truly cares about his Sekirei and there are moments of real heartache that makes you feel how he is feeling. Likewise for his Sekirei, they love him and put themselves through a variety of situations to prove it. Because long story short, this series is about love (not just romance) and is a theme that reveals itself especially at the end of the season.

Overall: A very well made story that will suck you in if you allow it to. As I stated, there is a definate something going on behind the scenes. The "game" as they call it is only part of what is going on. I forsee Sekirei going down a different path in the future. In the meantime enjoy this show.

7/10 story
9/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Dralha's avatar
Nov 12, 2009

Minato Sahashi has failed the college entrance exam twice, but his life takes a lucky turn when a buxom girl falls out of the sky and lands on him...This ecchi comedy really was a great story, with high-power anime action and harem mayhem, and a dash of mystery in the blend to keep it interesting.

8/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Otaku108's avatar
Oct 3, 2009

Story/Plot: 5

It was mostly predictable but interesting enough to keep me watching. It's one of those times that predictability is more of a benefit than a hindrance to enjoyment. All in all though, there wasn't much meat to this and sometimes it just seemed like the writer was doing stuff just because they could...

Animation: 6

This varied from so-so to decent, it wasn't ever really bad, and sometimes the designs and fluidity of movement was pretty good. There wasn't anything that truly stood out for me in a good or bad way... unless you count the boobs :\

Sounds/Music: 6

I rarely notice when the background music is playing, and honestly this is typically a good thing since it's generally a mood setter and not something to be individually listened to. This time I did noticed a few points where the music abruptly stopped and I was "wrenched" from one setting to another. To me it should be a bit more fluid and unnoticeable. I wasn't so impressed here but it wasn't something I'll cry about to mommy either.

Characters: 7

Probably the most enjoyable portion of the whole show but even then had it's problems. There also wasn't a whole lot of development in the characters or their relationships but as this is what I suspect to be the first in a few seasons worth of anime I think I can over look that for future growth.

Overall: 7

I found myself laughing many times even during it's predictable moments. Though it did have a few issues, none of them were major. Aside from all that it had a very Ikki Tousen look to it, in other words, huge boobs on 90% of the female characters, clothing made of tissue paper that falls apart in combat, I even found that there were several character parallels between the two shows. A rare moment when the sum is greater than it's parts as you'll soon see.

End Note:

Despite it's glaring deficiencies, Sekrei was a very enjoyable anime. While it won't make my Top Anime list, I will be looking for possible future seasons to see how the story develops.

5/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
ThePatches's avatar
Sep 28, 2009

Story

If I had to choose a moniker for Sekirei, it would probably be, "The Little Anime that Couldn't". It offers ecchi fan-service without being racy, peddles action while failing to be engaging, and sports an interesting setup that the show never puts to effective use. While it's possible to read the series as making fun of itself, the harem genre, and tournament-focused shounen shows, a second look reveals that the show means everything it says--much to my dismay.

A quick summary of the series reads like Pokemon, but with tits. The first installment follows the hapless protagonist as he bumbles and sweet talks his way into acquiring of an increasingly powerful and scantily-clad team of humanoid aliens called Sekirei in preparation for a tournament sometime in the near future (read: second season). Thankfully, the parade of buxom woman in various states of undress meshes well with the show's simplistic focus on escalating confrontations. When two Sekirei meet for the first time, they fight. When Minato encounters new potential teammate, there's a fight. When MBI (the evil corporation behind the whole thing) seals off Neo Tokyo, the gang finds an excuse to fight. These high-energy smackdowns, which increase in frequency, participants, and outrageous displays of power as the story progresses, take a good deal of the pressure off the flagging narrative.

The show does demonstrate on occasion that there might be a decent yarn hiding behind all the cheesecake, but then refuses to follow up on any of these more interesting tidbits. For example, the first episode introduces the Sekireis' extra-terrestrial origins, but the subject gets dropped once MBI enters the picture. The dealings between Ashikabis (this world's trainers) also receive cursory treatment due to the series' singular focus on Minato, squandering an opportunity to provide him some character depth by comparison; and glossing over subplots that could have held the viewers' interest between battles. In the Kuu-chan mini-arc, the presence of another girl-wrangler and his cohort add tension and conflict to what would have been a boring meet-and-greet. But where the anime could have used the greedy antagonist to draw out the hero's underlying character traits, the remainder of the series chooses to leave this antagonist as a shadowy figure.


Animation

Sekirei's visuals sport modern coloring and finishing techniques, but lack the consistency of more polished anime. For every excellent water, fire, or lightning effect associated with the fighters' powers, there's a scene where the animation turns blocky or the characters look odd. Additionally, combat sequences cut a lot of corners; the chase scenes or jumping receive the lion's share of screen time that should have gone to the use of the Sekireis' impressive powers or dramatic hand-to-hand fighting. The show also hamstrings its own dramatic buildups by dropping into an unattractive deformed style during important interpersonal moments in a weak attempt to add levity where none is needed.

Additionally, the artists spent their limited imaginations early in the design process, leading to a plethora of derivative cuties. The lead's harem consists of four over-developed beauties in each of the four normal hair colors (blonde, brunette, redhead, raven-haired) and an adorable loli-girl who barely talks. While one character's interesting kimono and another's attractive black dress certainly provide some good eye-candy, two of Minato's girlies basically wear bedsheets, and a third wears an equally-unimaginative purple frock. The remaining cast coughs up such original creations as an outfit cribbed from Kill Bill, a guy dressed up like Neo from The Matrix Reloaded, and a set of twins in matching two-piece zippered cat suits (use the non-furry definition of cat-suit). Since the characters' costumes don't reflect their powers, each design merely allows the viewer to tell Sekirei apart at a glance and nothing more.


Sound

Starting with the bland OP, the series' soundtrack does not disappoint, but also never surprises. Most of the incidental music follows in the grand synth tradition of middling anime, sounding familiar and hitting all of the "right" notes at the expected times. Accompanying an unapologetic fan-service slide show, the bubbly ED ends each episode on a sonic high note--assuming listeners ignore the coyly submissive lyrics ("The truth is I want you to hold only me / I'm feeling turned on / Is it ok to show signs?"). Sadly, the voice acting doesn't deviate from the standard set by the score. None of the characters miss their cues or offend the ears, but the readings add no nuance to the broadly drawn character stereotypes. The only memorable performance comes from Seki Toshihiko as the MBI Chairman; his over the top mannerisms and showman's shouts add much needed camp, but receive tragically little time in the limelight. Be warned, this series also includes a mewling youngster in the form of Kuu-chan. The little girl's cooing would have rapidly gotten annoying save for the fact that her seiyuu makes some entertaining non-speaking sounds.


Characters

Sekirei combines a stereotypical cast with pathetic characterization to fall flat on its face where it could have shined. Given the show's ecchi pedigree, a hollow male lead comes as no surprise, but where other shows provide an interesting harem to make up for a lackluster main protagonist, this series coughs up a laughably generic group for Minato. As the female lead, Musubi's naivete brings in a few good chuckles as she wrestles with modesty, but her eagerness to please and penchant for violence quickly grow stale when she does not develop at all during the first season. The rest of his Sekirei come straight out of central casting: Tsukiumi fell of the truck on the way from the tsundere factory, Kusano follows the textbook definition of imouto to a "T", and Kazehana presents like Shakugan no Shana's Margery Daw with all of the interesting parts removed (but all of her lady-parts intact). Furthermore, the series substitutes mystery in the place of complexity at every opportunity, purposefully obscuring characters' histories so that they can act in unpredictable ways. Luckily, the low episode count both provides a convenient excuse and mitigates the characters' lack of development and unoriginality.


Overall

Far from being painfully average, Sekirei entertains so long as it remains on the screen, but doesn't rise above the low bar it sets for itself. Watching the show for the first time, the viewer can applaud himself on recognizing moe archetypes and marvel at the nifty super powers on display, but the unoriginal premise and middling execution means the show hardly warrants a second viewing. Bouncing along like the chests of its female leads, this anime shoves to the side any and all plot threads that don't directly concern Minato and his coven of comely combatants. Straightjacketed by the supposed demands of its target demographic, the series remains unfailingly true to its setup and modest goals, and in so doing loses a shot at being something memorable.

4.5/10 story
6/10 animation
5/10 sound
4/10 characters
5/10 overall