New Game!!

sort
Add review
Setari's avatar
Aug 16, 2017

This anime is about Suzukaze Aoba joining a game development team. The game development team happens to be all women, which makes for some crazy antics in the anime.

This is the second season of New Game! as denoted by the second exclaimation point in the title. The anime continues right after the release of the first game in the first season. Aoba, with a bunch of experience under her belt, get sucked into being the character designer for the next game by a chance doodle she drew while trying to design the characters for the next game.

The anime is really solid and I highly recommend watching it. The cast of characters interacts very well with each other and the whole anime just flows. It's pretty great.

9.9/10. The story does feel a bit bland at times, but it's pretty much a very good story anyway. 5/5 stars though, for sure.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.9/10 overall
subtleamberlights's avatar
Jun 22, 2019

I'm not even finished watching this as I type but I've never wanted to punch a character in the face quite as much as Nenecchi. Also, it's strayed from the first series quite a bit. It feels like no one is interacting? Or the dymaics that were introduced in the first series are falling short. I can't understand why they introduced two interns towards the later end of the series instead of doing something with the characters they have - that are all quite underdeveloped still. Meh, I just wish this was all better.  

5/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
5/10 characters
5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
JVAnimeReviews's avatar
Nov 21, 2017

Positive

*This review is going to be rather short since 2 of my 3 positive points are exactly the same as in my review of the first season. I still liked the bright and colorful animation and art style which emphasized the comical nature of NG. Like the first season I still enjoyed the comedy. If you want to hear more details about why I liked the art style and comedy, I will put a link up here and in the description which will bring you to my review of season 1.

For a video review, check out my Youtube channel. Link on my profile page.

*Something that I missed in the first season was development for Hifumi, my favorite character. I felt that development for her fell short but here in the second season she gets the development she deserves. And it wasn’t only her. Other older characters like Nene and the new characters Momiji and Tsubame all get the necessary development.

Negative

*But because of that there was one thing that was now a bit neglected imo. And that was the relationship between Rin and Yagami. This was one of the most important relationships in the first season but in the second season it gets a lot less attention. Also because Rin as a whole plays a much less important role. All the development in this relationship was crammed together in the final episode. I understand that they had to make room for the new characters so it wasn’t that much of a bother but it was noticeable.

Conclusion

So as a conclusion, this season was a worthy successor of season 1. I enjoyed it, it was funny and I wonder if we’re going to get a 3rd season one day. With what happened in the final episode a new door has been opened for both Aoba and the story in general. So overall I’m going to give New Game!! S2 the same score as I gave S1 being 3,5 stars. This is a very lighthearted comedy anime and for the lovers of the genre it’s an anime that you should add to your to watch list.

7/10 story
8/10 animation
7.5/10 sound
7.5/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful