NAKAIMO: My little sister is among them! - Reviews

Alt title: Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru!

sort
mahius's avatar
Oct 22, 2014

Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouta ga Iru (Nakaimo) is a harem, ecchi anime mystery about a guy trying to find out which of a group of girls is his younger sister. The possibility that one could be his sister, is getting in the way of a goal, from his mother, that he must get a girlfriend to eventually marry. I prejudged this anime, due to my severe dislike for the genre. And I promised myself that I would give it more than 1 if it at least revealed who the sister was. Nakaimo has too many problems, an initially fragile story and having too many terrible trope features of the genre. I actually got bored and ended up having to drink in order to keep attention. Maybe not worth watching.

Animation

The animation quality is faultless, which is to be expected as normal for a 2012 anime. The style is very unoriginal and there is little use of interesting facial expressions. Though there was one bit where someone is about to throw up and the facial expression is cartoonistic and therefore a tad funny. This is an ecchi and it does go the step further. There are too many innuendos, such as zombies vomiting white slime over a girl in a swimsuit. Yeah... very tasteless. If sex actually happened, then this would have to be labelled as a hentai, however it would at least escape from one of the major pitfalls of the absymal ecchi-harem genre. Fairly disappointing in this aspect.

Sound

The music is probably the best bit of this anime, though not by much. It's not amazing enough to warrant a soundtrack download. There is good use of intrumental background music and the intro/outro tracks aren't too shabby either. However the music alone doesn't do much, despite the good piano/string sections whenever the anime made attempts to be serious. This anime is in Japanese, so subtitles are required.

Characters

The characters are the usual terrible harem-ecchi highschooler tropes. The main character Shougo Mikadono is the son of a rich businessman and heir to the Mikadono group, which he is to inherit once he has fulfilled his task of finding a girl to marry. He has a scar on his head, which points towards the fact that he had an accident when he was younger. This has resulted in him losing his memories and not remembering the fact that he has a sister or any childhood friends. He is unfortunately the typical cowardly indecisive harem protagonist. You'd think he'd let himself go wild if he found out a girl isn't his sister, which it seems to imply early on, but no. He is the typical gutless harem protagonist. At the very least he doesn't seem to be a pervert and he has no stash of porn nor are other guys jealous of the attention he gets from girls. At least this doesn't completely rely on the terrible tropes completely.

Konoe Tsuruma is the big-breasted class representative and the first of the girls that Shougo meets. Shy is the typical shy character, though it seems she has more guts that Shougo himself since she, with some composure, throws herself at him romantically. Not much more to say.

Miyago Kannagi is the typical tsundere character, though a bit sporty. She of course has a crush on Shougo but beats him up over the smallest detail, accusing him of being a pervert and such. Of course she does things like attempt to seduce him and such. Heck, I might as well say it now, pretty much every member of the harem attempts to seduce and bed Shougo.

Rinka Kunitachi is a member of the student council and is the typical rich girl character trope. She is more of an important character than the student council president Mana Tendou who is the excited, yet not very smart girl, but she manages to keep her composure. I should say now, that no girl is that energetic or all over the place.

Mei Sagara is Shougo's senior who owns a cafe themed around younger sisters. Shougo ends up working at the cafe and somehow saving the business.

Probably the most interesting character is Ikusu Mizutani, who is always disguised as a guy and gets away with fooling everyone but Shougo, who walks in on her while she is in the shower.  She is frequently naked as every time she visits Shougo she takes a shower and hangs about nude making excuses for doing so. She is an agent from a company who is helping him find out who his real sister is. The one thing that really doens't make sense is how she appears completely flat chested when cross-dressing as a guy. Of course some of the girls get excited when they misinterpret things happening between them as gay love. And the girls are especially all ver Ikusu. It boggles my mind how terrible an anime can be that a person who clearly has the face of a girl manages to successfully herself as a girl.

The other characters aren't important bar one, who, I'll be honest, is adorable. There is some massive bullshit with their homeroom teacher who somehow happens to be a child? Or looks like one at least. Risa Seri is also Shougo's secretary sort of figure, who handles the business aspect of things.

Story

The story... I said I'd give this whole thing a 1 if it didn't reveal the true sister, but I lied. I must keep my review as unopinionated as possible and so far, it might appear that I'm doing a terrible job. It gets better in the second half, much better. At the start Shougo's father passes away. On that day he hears a voice claiming to be his younger sister, born of an illegitimate relationship by his father, who claims to want to marry him. Shougo's mother now sets him a task of finding a girlfriend to eventually marry, so that he can inherit the family company: the Mikadono Group. Of course, it soon arises that his sister is possibly going to his school and could possibly be one of the girls he knows. Key word: possible. The way they set it up is so flimsy, there isn't any evidence that he even has a sister, except for someone unseen telling him during his father's funeral. But despite all the bullshit and close calls they somehow do this plot much better than something like please twins. This actually has a mystery story, with twists and turns and as for the conclusion... you'll have to find out. The last few episodes have a big of a political, coup d'tate subplot, which is fairly intersting. I'm just pleasantly surprised that they do a story. On big factor is the question: why don't they do a DNA test? Thing is (spoilers) they actually consider that fact in this anime, even if the way they deal with it is a tad bullshit. Also, may I mention that this anime is a tad homophobic. When a couple of character develop the misunderstanding that Shougo may be gay, involving Ikusu of course, their reaction is particularly homophobic. What is it with Japan, thinking incest is better than homosexuality? Incest is clearly immoral and wrong, while there is nothing wrong with being gay. It's probably just this anime, since there are tolerated homosexual characters in other anime.

Conclusion

Overall a tad better than the typical harem ecchi, if only for the aspect of solving the mystery and the better-than-nothing story. I still had to drink through the second half since I got dead bored during the first half and really wanted a cider or two. I still think this was a waste of time for someone like me who hates this genre, but for the tasteless fools who do, this is one of the better ones. I won't judge you too much for liking this one. Maybe the alcohol made me write a bad review, but what the heck, it's better than slamming this, powered by my opinionated hatred.

Family-friendliness Rating: 5/5 Nudity. Children are nude in this, with no justification. This might as well be child porn (lower is better)

Overall Rating: 3/10 (higher is better)

3/10 story
5/10 animation
7.5/10 sound
3/10 characters
3/10 overall
ChiefEugene's avatar
Jul 23, 2021

I liked this show. Though this show does have alot of plotholes, and leaves room for great plot additions such as corporate politics and family history and background, this show played out for me like an easy read, or in the oxymoronic way of a mysterious iyashikei. 

Show is definitely close to a Bordeline H, as there's nudity in I think most, if not all episodes. However it's not always meant to be in a sexual manner. The humor is crude but, if thats your cup of tea the show ain't half bad.

Incidental music in this show was really nice, and fit the various moods and settings well.

If this show had more episodes, or longer episodes similar to Korean Drama, alot more depth could've been added to the story, making this hold the potential of a solid mystery harem anime. 

All-in-all, it's a romance anime. Male MC is trying to figure out which one out of the girls he meets in his high school life is his sister, so he can find a clean relationship without ruining his own reputation, or more importantly the reputation of the company he's an heir too. 

This is a really brief review, simply cause (I'm lazy and don't want to detail the entire show) I figure if you wanna watch it, leave it up to your interpretation. 

If you're looking for a show with a deep plot paired with romance, don't watch this.

But if you can handle a easy watch with alot of plotholes that are used to draw up coincidences or hastily connect characters, give this a watch. I find it sort of similar to The Quintessential Quintuplets in its harem sense, but otherwise it's a pretty decent show. 

I think it's a pretty wholesome show, despite that aspect of the show only appeared for me at the end of episode 13, so in that sense its slow burning. 

7/10 story
9/10 animation
10/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall
Sweetheartchan's avatar
May 30, 2018

Does this anime have a lot of plot holes?- yes

Do the characters act weird/stupid or fall in love with the main character for no reason: Sure, isn't this what the entire anime is about?

Are there any cringey scenes?: absofuckinlutely

Are there any plot twists: The show itself is a plot twist

Did I enjoy this?: Idk why or how, but I actually really liked this

Plot

Respecting his father's wishes, Shogo Mikadono was transferred from his mother to the Miryuuin Academy, frequented by many girls, with the aim of being the one who will become his wife. However it seems that his illegitimate younger sister, separated from him at birth, attends this academy and that she is trying to get close to him without letting him know her real identity. So Shogo tries to figure out who this mysterious little sister is, but at the same time she becomes popular with other girls as well, especially among five girls with whom she will bond in particular: Konoe Tsuruma, Miyabi Kannagi, Rinka Kunitachi, Mana Tendō and Mei Sagara.

Does this story make any sense?- no, clearly not, but it still is interesting. So, if you're able to ignore all the plot holes and illogical reasoning behind the show, you'll most probably really like this. There are some extremely funny scenes. The anime's comedy was most probably the only thing which made me keep watching it. There are also a lot of cringey scenes in the series, so if you can't deal with crigey stuff you better look for something else

Animation/ sound

Both were fine. I liked the colors and the animation style, also the opening was ok. Not much to say about it.

characters

Not gonna lie, most characters were quite dumb. Most girls didn't know how to deal with boys, so they constantly tried to make the Shogo feel horny. The main character isn't that much better either. He's kind, but not that clever either, still better than the rest of his harem. 

Overall

Enjoyable show for ecchi/ comedy lovers. It's defineltly not a must watch, but if you're bored and just looking for a simple comedy show then you should check it out!

6/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
4.7/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
RingoStarr1991's avatar
Sep 28, 2012

***This is a somewhat spoiler free review. I tried my best to word things w/o spoiling anything.***

I recently put up my overall thoughts of this show on my blog. While my posts there are mostly opinionated, I try to step back when writing reviews so that only the facts come through on my reviews with little of my own preferences affecting the overall score. If you would like to see my orginal post of this show, click anywhere on this text and it will send you to my post on my blog.

 

Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru! is an anime that aired this past season and while the initial premise really pulled me in, its inability to provide thought provoking plot twists and just a sheer amount of unnecessary content really dragged it down.

Story: 3/10

So like I stated above this show actually had a pretty interesting concept. The show revolves around Shougo who is to become the head of his deceased father’s company. In order to do so however he must complete a guideline set forth by his father. This guideline demands that Shougo must attend a certain high school, attract a mate, and marry before taking his spot as the head of the company (what an awesome dad). I didn't have a problem with this premise at all; in fact I thought just by hearing that first it could be an interesting harem. The story’s conflict arises early on when someone begins posting as his ill legitimate sister which could affect his position with the company. This is again another great idea to make the story more interesting. Where it goes wrong however is when it accuses every female character of being his sister. It’s also very easy (at least for me) to come up with a reasonable guess on who the real sister is very early on in the series. I guess where the series goes wrong the most is how predicable it is. There are really no interesting twists or misdirection that make me think, “Wow didn’t see that coming”. Another flaw in the overall story is how much pointless content is included in the middle episodes. I kind of feel like there was a struggle to make episodes the required length in episodes five through nine before the final “twist” was introduced. The show leads up to the final episode and in all honesty I felt like it was a letdown. Overall the story had a chance to bring something new to the harem genera but it ended up not hitting its intended marks.

Animation: 8.5/10

One great thing about this show is the stunning animation. Everything appears in very light colors and the use of reflections is done very well. The character models are all pretty detailed for both the main cast and some of the extras in the backgrounds. The scenery is colored much of the same way helping to keep the mood of the current scene. The main settings for the show, the school, Shougo’s room, and the café are all very detailed each time we are present.

Sound: 7/10

I am usually very picky on sound since most of my spare time is spent recording music or just listening to different types of music. The music of this anime while not amazing was still pretty good and helped set up some interesting scenes. The voice actors also did a pretty good job matching the personalities of their characters.

Characters: 6.3/10

This category is hard to score because while some of the characters did grow on me, every one of them are pretty generic. You have your elitist, airhead, tomboy, and cosplayer. We have all seen these roles countless times in other anime so why should we bother with these empty shells? That’s what I first thought when introduced to each character but to my surprise I actually grew to like some of these characters due to some character development. While some of them where pretty much cast aside without any development (Mana) most of the cast received one to three episode character arcs that pretty much set up why they fall for Shougo. The show should have done a better job fully utilizing the cast but overall they did a good enough job.

Overall: 6.2/10

While it isn’t a masterpiece, if you can look past some boring parts that lead to nowhere, predictable plot twists, and a forgettable anticlimactic ending, this show may offer you something worthwhile. There are some really good, sweet moments and some great animation and sound to be found here.

Enjoyment: 5.8/10

Thanks for reading my review! If you liked my writing style, would like to see some other reviews, or just want to talk, please stop by my page!

Sincerely,
Awesome Drummer

3/10 story
8.5/10 animation
7/10 sound
6.3/10 characters
6.2/10 overall
4 0 this review is Funny Helpful
kilrazan's avatar
Apr 16, 2024

As is the case with a lot of Light-Novel-adaptation plots, this show boasts a relatively unique and interesting premise that manages to capture interest in the first chapter, but then flounders with trying to resolve that premise. I will give it creidt where credit is due; it actually managed to resolve the mystery instead of aimlessly meandering like most other LN-adaptation plots, and it was actually moderately engaging beyond just the first episode. I haven't seen the 13th episode/OVA yet, so this review is just of the main 12 eps; the 13th ep may change my opinion on things, but I'll save that for my review of the OVA when I watch it.

Story - This show needs a Mystery tag added to it, because the plot centers around one. The MC's father passes away, and in order to inherit his father's company, he must attend the same school his father attended and find a girl to marry while he's there. Much to his surprise, he discovers his father had an illegitimate daughter - making her his half-sister. But the problem is, he doesn't know who she is, and she's keeping it a secret because she wants to marry him. We follow his antics as new romance interests are added to the situation and he collects his stereotypical harem, but he can never commit to actually going out with any of them because he's concerned that one of them could be his sister. Now, on the surface level, I actually really enjoyed this premise, and it was engaging at first because I really like the idea of taking a stereotypical harem story and turning it on its head by making it so the MC has to vet each girl before deciding who to actually date, and having the mystery be that one of these girls is actually more or less an antagonist in disguise is quite good. However, it ultimately fails to meaningfully deliver on the expectations that it sets up early in the show. There are several moments in the story where certain characters have knowledge pertinant to the MC's situation and they intentionally withold it from him in ways that, without him getting incredibly lucky, would result in completely ruining his life. Yet these characters are let off the hook and the show ends with them all being chums like they weren't all explicitly lying to him for half the show. 4/10; Bonus points for being interesting and engaging longer than anticipated, but still ultimately unsatisfactory.

Animation - About as standard as it gets for 2012 anime, honestly. It looks good enough to get the job done, shows what it needs to show, and doesn't do anything that stands out as ugly or out of place. 6/10; No complaints, no accolades.

Sound - As with most harem shows, the audio experience relies extremely heavily on its voice acting, as it doesn't really have much in the way of action or other big-moment scenes to put epic OST tracks or splashy SFX. And it delivers on that front quite well; the voice actors all did a great job. I was most impressed by their handling of the sister-on-the-phone schtick where they made it so that you could reasonably think any of the girls' voices would match if you passed it through the filter. 8/10; Well above average.

Characters - This is the roughest category for me, and I'm torn between rating it very highly or very lowly. On the one hand, I feel that each individual character was very well portrayed, and for what screen time each of them had, they all demonstrated great character writing and strong motivations. On the other hand, the way the narrative puts these characters together gives most of them a distinctly sinister undertone that completely contrasts with their outward personalities, simply because if these girls actually cared about the MC the way they say they do, they shouldn't have witheld information from him in some very specific scenes. It leads me to wonder if the author just forgot that these characters have that pertinent knowledge while they were writing those scenes, but given how it all connects together in the end I can't really see that being the case. 5/10; Ikusu is best girl

Overall - I really wanted to like this one more, because I let my hopes get up that I might actually see a story where the author has the guts to make one of the harem members into a villain that the MC has to weed out, but instead it just ends on a collection of morally dubious moments and an unsatisfying relationship level between the MC and most of the harem. Of the 6 girls that express interest in marrying him throughout the show, the MC should be cutting out at least 2 of them and never speaking to them again for selfishly placing his whole inheriting-the-company thing at risk with their lies. I'd put his sister in that camp as well, except that'd just make her a liability so he needs to keep an eye on her. Of the remaining 3, only one of them ever really had his interests at heart, and they were the only one that actually had a decent relationship with him without any tricks, malice, or subterfuge. Not really much of a harem at that point if 5 of the 6 harem candidates don't even deserve to be in the harem. But... I digress. I guess I should give the show bonus points for making me care about the harem dynamic so much, even though it just makes me frustrated in the end. I won't say I regret watching it, but I do think the author needed to give the plot a couple more passes so that the characters don't come off as malicious the way they do. 6/10; Fun but moderately disappointing.

4/10 story
6/10 animation
8/10 sound
5/10 characters
6/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful