Kino's Journey -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series

Alt title: Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World - the Animated Series

sort
Add review
ThatRakoonChick's avatar
Dec 8, 2017

People who are new to this series could potentially like this anime. Especially someone who is interested in the more recent anime which has been coming out. Buuuuut if you really want a good story, I highly recommend watching the original series.

Someone who is in love with the original series, don't watch this.

Kino's no longer true to her original character, in the way that she responds to the events which unfold around her. She's also skin and bone now. No muscle to her.

They also use stories from the original series but manipulate them in very odd ways, which could make viewers who've seen the original feel like something's not quite right (uncomfortable).

Also, if you're a fan of the old animation style, you may be impressed by the new style at times - as it's really good at appearing 2D even though it's CG. However, again, it just doesn't feel right to someone who really enjoyed the old style in the original series.

My opinion's clearly biased though, so if you're curious, do give it a watch and see what you think for yourself. You'll know by episode 2 whether or not you would like to continue watching.

3/10 story
7/10 animation
?/10 sound
2/10 characters
4/10 overall
Scientiiaa's avatar
Dec 26, 2017

Kino's Journey: the Beautiful World, shortened to Kino's Journey, is a Japanese light novel series written by Keiichi Sigsawa, with illustrations by Kouhaku Kuroboshi, which is still being published. A 13-episode anime adaptation was produced by A.C.G.T and Genco aired between April and July 2003. Two manga adaptations were produced, and a new anime series aired 12 episodes between October and December 2017. As of 2017, around 8.2 million copies of the novels have been sold in Japan. Newtype USA (a monthly magazine publication originating from Japan, covering anime and manga) named Kino's Journey the Book of the Month for November 2006 and called it "inviting and addictive," while AnimeOnDVD said it "sucks you in," and "allows you to experience the journey" together with the main character of the series, Kino. The series has a huge fan base, including the fact that the series is usually mentioned in Takarajimasha's light novel guide book Kono Light Novel ga Sugoi!.

Interestingly, you do not have to watch the original series to understand the new remake. It is still highly recommendable to watch the 2003 version after finishing the newer one. However, do not think that the original is much better than the remake. What I am trying to say is that if you do not like the remake, there is no need for you to watch the original series. Anyways, for those who do not know anything about that title, I will say it one more time, you do not have to watch the original series first; however, if you are a fan of old animation, you can watch the original first and after it watch the remake. It addition to this, if you think that you can call yourself a fan, consider reading the novel, too.  By the way, I would also like to mention the fact that I am going to refer to the main protagonist of the series (Kino) as they. While their gender is not a major spoiler, but there is a story about it, and I do not want to spoil it; it is for you to find out.

Kino’s Journey tells us a story of Kino, who is on a never-ending journey. Their journey started in 2000 and now there are 20 volumes that describe the beauty of Kino’s journeys. Kino, together with their motorcycle, travel to different places and countries that have their own customs and laws. As a general rule, Kino only stays in each place for 3 days. During these three days the story will show you the most beautiful places you have ever seen in your life, or perhaps even the cruelest country you have ever seen. There is always a philosophical dilemma that Kino has to solve and these dilemmas sometimes involve some serious decisions that might put Kino’s life on the line.

It is worth mentioning that the series used to be very popular in 2000; it still has quite a remarkable fan base. Just like me, you might have seen the original in 2003, or even started reading the novel in 2000. In that case, you already know the whole beauty of this series. If not, Kino’s Journey is definitely a huge pearl for those who like slice of life. However, if you believe that this genre is too boring, but still want to watch the series, I would highly recommend you to watch only two episodes a day, otherwise you might find it boring. I also want to concentrate your attention on the fact that Kino’s Journey is not your usual slice of life; you will find philosophy, many life dilemmas, some really tragic scenes, and even some action scenes. Granted, if you are patient, this diamond will reward you with its reach story-line.

Art and sound wise, the new remake has a new voice actor cast for both Kino and Hermes, and it is quite a challenge to say if they are better than the previous one. They did their work quite well. As for the opening and ending themes, as well as for the OST, I am sure that the original series did a better job with them. But I would not say that it might be a big problem for you. Art wise, on one hand, the original has a darker feeling to it with its animation, on the other, the remake has a superb new animation, which also does its job the way it should: character designs, background; they all are stunningly beautiful.

As it has already been stated before, there are two protagonists in this series. Kino is the first main protagonist in the series. They travels to different countries with their talking motorcycle Hermes, which is the second main protagonist, discovering different cultures, customs and people. I am sure that it was one hell of a task for the new voice actors to voice their characters, but they managed to do it. The remake has not lost its best part--characters. The duo is able to keep you interested in what will happen next, providing you with the necessary character development.

If you want to know my opinion, an opinion of a hardcore Kino’s fan, the remake deserves its name. I will not try to hide the fact that I am really disappointed that the old voice actors did not take part in the remake, but the new cast still did one hell of a job. Kino’s Journey (2017)  is still the anime that I watched long time ago.

Overall rating: a very weak 10/10.

All in all, Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World (2017) is a show that I would recommend to: a) all Kino’s fans, b) all fans of the SoL genre. However, if you are not a fan of the genre, as it has already been mentioned in my review, you should either watch this anime little by little, or you should just avoid it. Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World (2017) is, indeed, a worthy remake. I hope that you will enjoy your journey with Kino and Hermes!

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
10/10 overall
Ebonyslayer's avatar
Dec 24, 2017

I actually recall hearing about the new Kino's Journey anime, which got me a bit curious about the old anime, which I saw a while ago. I really enjoyed the ideas and the philosphies that were being explored, one of the reasons why I even watch anime to begin with. Let the review begin!

Story- In a nutshell, the story is about a traveler named Kino and her talking motorad Hermes as they travel through different countries and are exposed to their cultures and ideas, making the series feel episodic, which isn't bad if you don't mind a slow burner. My personal favorite is when they show a personal story with Kino's master. With so many stories its easy to find the one that you like more. Given how straightforward the story telling, easily one of the anime that knew to tell its story simply well during the fall season.

Animation- It actually looks pretty good considering they did a few other anime this year. I was actually surprised with the tone of the first episode, which would explain how versatile Lerche is with animating certain themes.

Sound- Given the show's hype opening, there was a decent number of soundtracks that helped with the atmosphere of the show. Overall, I enjoyed it.

Characters- However, with every anime there is always at least one flaw, and that one flaw has to do with Kino, the main character of the show. One of the reasons why the original season of Kino's Journey did so well had to do with Kino's reactions to the world, making her a very human and relatable character to the audience. This Kino doesn't react the same way, making her too different than she should be compared to the light novels and the original anime. Kino's character still pushes the story in a way that is still enjoyable, just not the same. If possible, if the studio does make another season in the future, improving on Kino could be a huge step up for the series itself. Only time will tell though.

Overall- Despite the flaw with Kino's character, this is still a very enjoyable and decent anime. Can easily be one of the first anime someone gets into as their first anime to cut their teeth on. What better anime to start with than one that can make you think?  

7.5/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
8.5/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
zensurfer's avatar
Jan 16, 2019

After I heard about this anime, and read some spoiler free reviews, I read the synopsis and decided to watch it. From the moment I saw that motoraad I was hooked. If that motoraad hadn't had so much detail I probably would not have been so excited to watch it.

The story is fine, although there are acouple fo side stories that looked like they were going somewhere but didn't, like the original 2003 version, most of the stories are not in any particular order, there are 4 episodes that are exactly the same as the original though. One of which is an origin story on Kino.

The animation, drawing and colours are much better than the original and make this version stand out. As I said the detail on the motoraad is excellent, as are the details on some of the other equipment. Most of the time the scenery is a bit muted, as I imagine it would be for someone traveling. Except for generic crowds all the characters were unique as far as their looks.

The various countries that Kino visits each have their unique cultures and she tries not to judge them, 'Hermes' her motoraad usually asks her what she thought of the country they just visited after they have left.

Overall great reboot of the original, the characters are engaging, although Kino seems a bit emotionless.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

8/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
TurkeyGami's avatar
Dec 22, 2017

*spoiler free review*

The world is ass. Therefore, it is beautiful.

Going into this fall 2017 season on a high note with MHA, Anohana, and Kino's Journey 03 under my belt as the newest editions to my top 10 over the summer I felt a wellspring of joy rise within me as the words "Kino's Journey" showed up in the upcoming anime list, not by fluke. Then I saw the word Lerche on it and immediately went back to my 50/100 split expectations attitude. "Hold on is this the lerche that made danganronpa or the lerche that made assassination classroom?" I wondered aloud, as two such lerche's seem to exist, one that pumps out mediocre garbage, and one that generates picture-perfect masterpieces. This proved to be a new lerche entirely, leading me to believe that Lerche is like a bipolar person with savant syndrome as well or something like that.

Having watched 03 Kino and being thouroughly impressed with its use of philosophy and a consistant tone throughout, I had to wonder how accurate to the source material it was. Turns out not so much, but this is. One thing you have to understand going into this is, This is not a sequel, it's not a remake, and it's not like the original kino. It's a Reboot. They scrapped the old tone and old everything, and made something completely new and faithful. That isn't to say they've tossed the fans to the gutter.

The story is episodic, and I've graded each episode individually myself based on use of philosophy, coherence, subtlety, use of its characters, ect. And it's come up very, very well. Kind Country in particular recieved my actual 11/10 episode rating (yes that is a thing and i've only given it to like 3 episodes of anything ever so don't worry I'm not some kind of rediculous fanboy) for making me cry. Then again there's Sheep Country and Cloud Country, which got a 6/10 and an 8/10 respectively, so the episodes aren't all perfect.

The philosophy is still as preasent as ever, although 03 does it a bit better: TAS keeps it changing and doesn't always use the most heavy philisophical lessons every episode. 9 for example has four devided questions it asks, and all of them good. Every episode has a very different feel to it.

One thing this (TAS) does better than its predecessor (03) is continuity. It's not really something 03 gave a damn about but since Shizu and Master were actually supposed to be important characters, TAS gives them the respect they deserve with an episode completely dedicated to each. That's another thing: Kino isn't the center of the world anymore, they have these other amazing characters too.

Shizu is learning how to be a "journeyer" in his stories, and has taken on a new traveler called Ti. Of course there's Riku as well. This trio is exceptionally fun to watch as they go to places and observe the folks, taking a bit more of a personal approach than Kino often does. Ti is hilarious yet tragic, and adorable. Shizu is naiive but cool, and Riku is adorable and smart. I'd watch a spinoff with these three. Their start at Colliseum is kept 1 episode this time to make way for their progression, which I liked.

Then there's Master (Shishou) and Assistant (Aibou) who are just two of the biggest badasses who ever lived. You get to see them actually do things whereas 03 they were only mentioned in passing or seen in a flashback once.

Of course we have Best Girl Kino and Best Bike Hermes, the main duo who retain the exact same feel of 03 kino and hermes despite their different character designs. Kino is still badass, and stoic, hermes is still hermes.

The animation is brilliant. The backgrounds are pretty much scenery porn all the time and Lerche makes excellent use of color to portray the tone of each episode. However, this also leads to a few slight inconsistancies in Kino's color palette which are noticible after a while. The CG is barely intrusive, but on the last episode it becomes a little too intrusive, so the animation can't exactly get a 10/10.

The sound is amazing, the opening I think is really, really good and the sound design goes with the animation really well. However I can't pick out a specific track so it will remain a 9/10.

Overall: so yeah it was incredible. A few CG glitches and some story oversights that could have been better keep it from masterpiece status, but it was very, very good and definitely (although a very close call) Anime of the Season for me.

Fans of the original should expect this to be a lot different, but I would 100% Reccomend it to anyone regardless.

Please make a sequel.

Wait, what are we doing now?

10/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall