Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Reviews

sort
hhill's avatar
Aug 28, 2015

This anime is totally hilarious! Just don't ask me what it's about, because I really couldn't tell you. So don't expect some epic plot, but the jokes are so funny that you won't even care. 

5/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
CaptainSlow's avatar
Dec 26, 2014

What I Liked: Kohina. The saga of Female!Kokkuri-san. The ending theme, and the piano arrangement of said theme in episode 8. Tama, despite her personality. Appealing character designs with the right amount of traditional and bishounen / bishoujo elements. Episode 11, for being an interesting change of pace. Shigaraki, despite being a drunkard and a crook. Kohina's speech patterns are incredibly cute, much like her insistence of her non-human status.

What I Didn't: Sex jokes, sex jokes everywhere. All the mononoke are actually downright creepy (in a latent criminal sense) in some respect, but Inugami especially takes this up to eleven. "Idealised" Kohina (e.g. the non-chibi Kohina) looked a lot older than she should've. Episode 11, for introducing the overt pedophile Tengu. Did rely on obligatory episode formats (e.g. Onsen, Christmas/New Year) and a few tired tropes (magical gender-swapping and age regression). Occasional pacing issues where some skits felt longer than they should've.

Final Verdict: This self-styled "fluffy comedy" spends much of its run-time dancing within the bounds of the playfully indecent, with most of the adult characters in the series being depicted as lecherous, dishonest or just plain creepy towards the prepubescent Kohina. It also spends a lot of time steeped in tired tropes and tripping over it's own pacing. But it's not all bad - the animation is nice, the character designs are quite pleasing and Kohina herself is a cute (if not occasionally macabre) delight.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
7/10 overall
LucyxH's avatar
Dec 11, 2014

This anime is a hilarious show for those who enjoy adult comedy. The characters are also fun within the story. 

Each character has unique traits, including the main character. 

It's sometimes also very cute and fluffy.

8.5/10 story
8.5/10 animation
9/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
9/10 overall
Melourn's avatar
Aug 24, 2015

I love the way Kohina acts. Her mental state and her gestures are fantastic. The reactions of each characters are perfect for this type of anime. The story is cutesy, standard fantasy stuff. The animation manages to mix moe with harder features using the characters. The background is lacking in many respects, but that's not really important simply because the focus isn't on the background. The focus is very upfront and on the surface. When they do focus on the background, like with episode 10 and the Maple tree, they do a very good job. The sound is great. I love the choices for the music and the characters' voices are spot-on. The way that Kohina gasps is one of my favorites... She tries to maintain her robot image, but sometimes she slips, which brings hr kawaii/moe nature to the fore-front and builds her complex nature regardless of how simple she would like to appear at first glance. The characters, themselves, are nothing particularly special (except Kohina), but I gave them a 9 because they are portrayed very well.

Overall, a 7.75 / 10 might seem like a high rating, considering the type of anime that it is, but I gave my opinion. I am entitled to my opinion. It's a very fun watch. You might not enjoy it as much as I, but I'm sure you'll like the show.

8/10 story
5/10 animation
9/10 sound
9/10 characters
7.8/10 overall
Dionkeykong's avatar
Apr 17, 2017

While watching Gugure i found myself strangely drawn to the idea of gourging my eyes out with a spoon,then set them on fire and burry them in the backyard.Is it bad you ask?Well let's find out,shall we?

The story is nothing new.Girl summons fox spirit cause she's lonely,said spirit decides to live with her because he's concerned about her eating habits...Funny right?...And then the floodgates open for more supernatural pedophiles to chime in and live with her.Now you get the kind of people who like this,yes?

The whole anime relies on comedy stunts between all the characters..Or so i read in almost every review..Now i saw the whole damn thing and i barely raised a smile,let alone a laugh.Maybe if you're 6 and your idea of funny are impaled puppies then sure it's funny.For people like me,who don't live in a psychiatric clinic it was as funny and appealing as anal juice.

For some reason it feels cheap,every attempt at a joke falls flat,the interaction between all the characters feels way to forced.Every single one of them are so predictable it hurts even thinking about it.Now i read in some reviews that the visual gags are the funny part of the anime...Yeah right...Is anal prolapse funny?No i'm being unfair..Anal prolapse is funnier than this..Getting stabbed in the throat is funnier than this..You get the picture i presume.Honest to god while watchin it i had this vague image of the voice actors dying slowly from lethal doses of boredom.

I have seen many shit in my life but this is by far and large the worst yet.No story,no comedy,nothing memorable.To be frank i have seen holocausts funnier than this..May god have mercy on our souls.

2/10 story
4/10 animation
3/10 sound
2/10 characters
2/10 overall