FLIP FLAPPERS

FLIP FLAPPERS
sort
Add review
Ciplas's avatar
Jul 30, 2019

No hay ningún problema si no te acuerdas de Flip Flappers, ya que en su tiempo se presentó como uno de esos animes que embobo a la comunidad por lo tradicional, su animación, pero que solo podía ofrecer ello, ya que no cuenta de por si con una buena historia ni tampoco buenos personajes, lo más cuestionable de la obra es no saber cuáles son las intenciones de la misma, o sea, puedes pensar que estás viendo un anime de estilo sobre sustancia y al siguiente capítulo parece que te lo puedes en serio, ya que te ofrecen problemáticas que lamentablemente nunca desarrollan a plenitud para volver a batallas explosivas.

La serie nos cuenta la historia de Cocona, una chica aplicada y tranquila que vive con su abuela, hasta que un día se le aparece una niña salvaje llamada Papika y se la lleva a un mundo de fantasía llamado Pure Illussion, se supone que tienen la misión que conseguir unos fragmentos para tener el control total de Pure Illussion para poder proyectar esa dimensión a la vida real pero a su vez también cumplen deseos y no me pregunten porque, ya que al final nunca queda claro del todo porque es que cumple deseos, se supone que va de la mano con lo primero pero desde el vamos ya tenemos un problema, porque no hay un objetivo claro al cual apuntar y por ende los personajes no tienen ninguna motivación más que pasarla bien, sobre todo en el caso de Papika.

En los dos primeros capítulos de la serie ya te puedes dar cuenta que esto no tiene una planeación ni tampoco una consistencia, ya que si en un principio Cocona no quiere volver a Pure Illussion, ¿cuál es la razón para que en el segundo episodio diga que si quiere?, básicamente la serie te dice porque es divertido, es divertido un lugar donde cualquiera de las dos puede morir, incluso Papika es tan salvaje que casi se muere en el primer episodio si es que cocona no sacaba ese poder de la nada, y esto se repite a lo largo de la obra, las chicas en un peligro artificial y alguna de ellas sacando fuerzas de la entrepierna del autor porque sino no podemos avanzar.

Los primeros episodios de la serie están destinados a decirnos que Cocona la pasa mal y que Papika se divierte, aparentemente durante este lapso se crea una amistad forzada entre ambas, ya que no tienen ni 5 días de conocerse y ya se dicen "te quiero", se supone que hay una explicación sobre ello más adelante pero más suena a excusa y que al fin y al cabo nunca tiene relevancia mas allá de exponer los vacíos argumentales que presento en la primera mitad, y no sé qué concepto de amistad haya tenido el autor, porque lo que yo veo es un acoso constante de Papika hacia Cocona. Dicha primera mitad es bastante lenta y tediosa de seguir, para esto la serie se apoya en distintas batallas para intentar balancear al espectador, pero que terminan siendo vacías porque es como si vieras simplemente la batalla ya que el resto del episodio carece de sustancia, el tono semi-episódico que tiene la serie en un inicio no ayuda ni a desarrolla ni a caracterizar a los personajes.

Recién en la segunda mitad de la obra se podría decir que el ritmo se acelera un poco pero eso no la deja exenta de problemas, ya que al menos intenta establecer algo relacionada la historia y sus personajes, sin embargo esto se termina perdiendo porque veremos momentos de exposición, no tan descarados pero si poco orgánicos, desde el motivo por el cual viajan a Pure Illussion hasta la razón de porque Cocona es una elegida para ser compañera de Papika y quien se supone que es el villano principal, lo cual es el gran plot de la serie, ya que en un inicio teníamos a una organización que también luchaba por los fragmentos, pero estos a su vez luchan para traer de vuelta a la que es la villana.

En cuanto a los fragmentos, si bien sabemos que los tienen que recolectar y van a traer cambios a la vida y entorno de los personajes, no sabemos nada más, ¿que eran inicialmente los fragmentos?, en el caso de Pure Illussion, este se maneja en base a pocket dimensions, algunos son realmente hilarantes, como el del segundo episodio y el buen uso de colores que se hizo, pero en otros casos, dichas dimensiones son sencillamente insulsas, un lugar de nieve, otro de arena, una escuela terrorífica y un cuarto blanco, wow... ¡Qué creatividad!... Y pensar que este anime vive de lo que pueden hacer estas pequeñas dimensiones.

Mas allá de ello, a pesar de que el fuerte de la serie tendría que ser las dimensiones fantásticas a las cuales viajan los personajes, no hay una gran interacción con dichas locaciones, es bastante básico, hay algunos intentos de ello, como en el mismo episodio de la escuela fantasma una vez que se descubre la 12va puerta, pero en general solo se limita a ello, por lo que literalmente solo quedan las batallas como el gran gancho para espectador. adicional a esto debo mencionar que los diseños de los personajes son caricaturescos, lo cual fue una buena elección ya que pueden manejarlos a plenitud para cuando estos mismos se adentran a las diferentes dimensiones que la serie intenta explorar, sin embargo, y por más que suene redundante, el manejo de esto es limitado.

En cuanto a sus personajes, Cocona se limita a "yo no quería ir a la aventura pero termine disfrutándola", no existe una evolución de su personaje ya que solo sirve como dispositivo para que la villana final aparezca, Papika es el personaje más descuidado de la serie, sus acciones no guardan una relación con la edad real de su personaje y solo se limita a ser el alivio cómico de vez en cuando, aunque en realidad no da gracia y es bastante molesta, los demás personajes de por sí solo existen porque están ahí haciendo algo, su presencia es casi nula a lo largo de la obra, por la parte de la organización tenemos a los gemelos que tranquilamente dos sacos de papas tienen más personalidad que ellos, una chica de colitas que aparece al final y que aparentemente la venden como un motivo de conflicto, sin embargo nunca hace nada relevante y Yayaka, que contra todo pronóstico termina siendo tu personaje más rescatable de la serie, al menos se cuestiona su labor inicial y las acciones de la organización, replantea su amistad con cocona y tiene una decisión personal al final de la serie después de evaluar su condición, no digamos que es el gran desarrollo pero al menos esta decente, los demás de la organización son tipo encapuchados que quieren dominar el mundo para volverlo ideal y eso, nada más... ¿Qué esperabas, que te expliquen cual es la ideología de estos tipos?, ni siquiera pueden hacer personajes principales decentes y van a hacer buenos antagonistas.

Por su parte, la villana, poco o nada sabemos de ella ya que la presentan casi terminando la serie y solo nos muestran que es un enemigo OP, sin embargo, por el poder de la amistad y el amor logran vencerla, la razón por la cual protege a cocona es sacado de los cojones y que nunca sabemos por qué tiene un gran poder e influencia sobre Pure Illussion. Sumado a esto debo mencionar que es prácticamente innecesario todo el yuribait que le meten a la relación de Cocona y Papika, teniendo en cuenta muchas cosas, como el hecho de que Papika es mucho mayor que Cocona y que Cocona no es la tal Mimi que tanto busca Papika, lo cual es cuestionable, prefirieron irse por el lado fácil que en darle interacciones decentes.

En el caso de la animación, como bien mencione inicialmente, es lo que más atrapo a la muchachada de hoy cuando salió el anime, no voy a mentirles, la serie se ve bien, tienen pasajes explosivos, más que nada en batalla, tienen un buen uso de colores, hay cierto bajones de vez en cuando, pero nada fuera de lo común o realmente notorio, la dirección está bien cuidada, aunque se abusa un poco de los enfoques a las nalgas de las chicas, el uso de recursos está bien empleado y es atrevida de rato en rato.

Por su parte el soundtrack es aceptable, cuenta con buenas piezas muy agradables, como la del capítulo del mecha, la cual le da cierta eticidad a la situación, pero en otros casos es básica, tanto así que parece música de espera en juego de ritmo indie. el opening es genérico, fácilmente te lo puedes saltar ya que la canción es típica de esos AMV de YouTube con canciones de moda acartonadas, el ending es lo más decente ya que más allá de darle un tono distintivo, es agradable de escuchar y en su versión full se puede apreciar ciertos momentos en que realmente se escucha digno de una serie de fantasía.

Finalmente, Flip Flappers, un anime que pudo tener buenas intenciones, de un estudio prácticamente nuevo que ha ido evolucionando en la calidad visual de sus obras pero que aún le falta pulir su escritura, lamentablemente se queda a medias en todo lo que ha entregado hasta hoy y no puedo sencillamente salvar a algo porque haya hecho el intento, y esto refuerza lo que es mi forma de ver las cosas, la presentación visual no lo es todo, lo que termina quedando e impactando en nosotros es la historia, los personajes y sus mensajes, en el caso de Flip Flappers todo fue Pure Illussion.

2/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
3/10 characters
3.9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
ClubFoot's avatar
Jun 20, 2019

“Flip Flappers”, in fact, should be more popular at the season. But instead, there was a lot of great yet overrated show at the season. In that season, only three anime I enjoyed were among them. They are “Yuri!!! On ICE”, “Drifters”, and “March Comes in Like a Lion“. I think this anime also seems worthy of being included in one of the amazing anime as well. Although, the rating doesn’t really affect how to explain this anime. In fact, it’s difficult for me to determine it and difficult to give fair value. But, this anime is more than a story about two cute girls who are stuck in the most ambiguous world.

At first glance, “Flip Flappers” is very simple, interesting, yet unique. I thought again, it seems like I’m not too into the story. The story seems simple. It’s about two cute girls, accidentally, meet in the real world. With such a yuri tone, Papika and Cocona embark on an adventure towards Pure Illusion. This world is a bizarre alternate dimension no one has ever known. I want to discuss it more briefly but let’s see what the plot actually is.

The story consists of various adventures between Papika and Cocona. They were initially awkward with each other, especially Cocona, but surely became closer like a couple. The story is like a slice of life show. There is no purpose at all and there is no real plot. But, what I got after that was just more than everything. It becomes complex when this anime discusses this Pure Illusion. The red thread between the current event, Pure Illusion, and backstory make it seem more complex. After all, you realize that this is not something simple for you to follow.

First, the main characters. There is just the main character in this show, as I mentioned earlier, Papika and Cocona. Cocona, at first, is just this cute high school student who is undergoing her normal life. Then, came Papika from out of nowhere was very interested. Cocona is more of a blank character, without the aim of accepting Papika’s journey together but across. On the other hand, Papika is just this cute active girl who always pulls Cocona every time. However, the story keeps getting better when the reveals came such as the mystery dream from Cocona in each episode shown at the first moment. It turns Cocona originally was an empty yet innocent character into one of the sickest. In addition, Cocona and Papika need more than friends. There is no cringe in-between both of them. It’s just enough for the uniqueness of the show.

And for the second, Pure Illusion. So, Pure Illusion is an alternate dimension where there is a common thread that connects human feelings, the past, and a piece inside them. The feeling is then formed in this dimension so that it creates a full of imagination impression. But, it’s still very difficult to explain. If you’ve ever watched “Black Rock Shooter”, you should understand about the world of Pure Illusion. However, I can describe Pure Illusion as the dimension of nowhere were when you manage to collect all the pieces, you can do anything in that dimension. Like making your own world, manipulating people’s feelings, and constructing it between the present and such imagination world.

Pure Illusion, for me, is more than just a world of imagination full of color. However, this world separates our consciousness in the real world into something we never understand. Think about “The Matrix” or another pop culture fantasy franchise. So be “Flip Flappers”. This anime also reminds me a little of “KILL La KILL” with such an amazing and spectacular animation. Studio 3Hz brought a lot of pop culture such as “Mad Max” and borrowed it from tokusatsu and anime. The backgrounds are beautiful regardless of the lack of detail but there is so much aesthetic. The design character is unique. The animation brings back an old-school style as a modern anime.

Yet, one of the things that made me feel weird about this anime is also the antagonist. I don’t know how to say it but the character design for the antagonist, the organization, is quite similar. But, it seems like I’ve seen it. The white design with such a triangle head. I don’t know but it’s just my feeling anyway.

The choreography is good and the mindblowing of Pure Illusion is also unique. In fact, you sometimes quite difficult comparing which ones are real and which ones are a dream. The soundtrack is great but the voice acting did a decent job. On the other hand, the opening theme songs really remind me of a techno dream anime which I forgot it. The ending song is quite memorable and catchy but actually explains the feeling of this duo main character.

“Flip Flappers” deserves more attention at the season than just being one of the most overlooked anime. The characters, the artwork, the soundtrack, and the story were just amazing. There is so much thing to bear with this series but it’s very difficult to explain how. The colorful inner world is actually more than just imagination. Even though you don’t really think it and it’s just another turn-your-brain-off series, it seems appropriate for the statement.

9/10 story
9/10 animation
8/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Gozza's avatar
Dec 19, 2018

The show is like Alice in Wonderland on crack. Gorgeous worlds, great characters and amazing character development.

The show starts with a very reserved girl called Cocona meeting a crazy spontaneous girl called Papika. They set out to explore gorgeous worlds together as magical girls, looking for special crystal shards. It's said that the crystal shards can make wishes come true and the girls have to compete over the crystal shards with Cocona's other friend, Yayaka.

The animations are absolutely gorgeous and the characters are extremely well animated. I do feel the show has a very similar vibe to Gurren Lagann, although I get the feeling it was a much smaller studio and a much smaller budget.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
8/10 sound
10/10 characters
9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
HazyEyes93's avatar
Apr 30, 2018

A steaming pile of incoherent shit with exceptionally pretty gift wrapping.

2/10 story
10/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
4/10 overall
Scalpelexis's avatar
Dec 24, 2017

I'll try to be general: If you are a fan of Trigger/Gainax studios and you don't need a complicated plot to get yourself amused, I would highly recommend Flip Flappers to you. There is not that much going in the story, but the flurry of colours, the speed and relentless waves of surreal pictures, lots of exposition, mindless action and illogical flow convert this piece in a weird state of art and entertainment. It definitely is not for everyone.

Story:

There is not much going on in the beggining. The audience is thrown into a twister of information, hardly grasping any sense and question the direction of the show. Not much is revealed and unplotted until the last episodes, where the story picks up all the lose ends and finishes in an acceptable manner, but hardly satisfying. There is not enough of explanation and one would feel it rushed, underdeveloped and the clichéd "power of friendship" is such a boring and awful topic to hang on. The other matter is reference vs soulless robbing. Where is the edge between those terms? There are tons of scenes/pictures/symbols which clearly resemble known shows, but there are just so many of them which leaves me questioning if it doesn't spend more time with the "references" than telling the original story.

Animation:

Animation is decent. If you are again a Trigger fan, you will see where the inspiration and style comes from, which is very fitting with the frenetic behavior of the characters and the madness going on screen. It is easy, using round shapes and lof of vivid coulours, but the lines loosens a bit getting closer to the finish.

Sound/Music:

Tough to call, since it is very hard to focus on with the packed action going. I can't stress enough how annoyed I was with the neverending "Papikaaaa!" & "Coconaaaa!" callings, since it fills about 50% of the words used by the main duo. But the battle sounds are ok and music is average.

Characters:

This section was very troublesome for me to analyze. Cocona and Papika are very contrasting, which is a welcomed fact, but only Cocona is rather the one focused on and is the one which undergoes a decent character development. Papika's character is just a catalysator and switch from normal to crazy, the hyperactive factor not possessing the most genius brains. Even Yayaka, the arguably third most important character was not characterized enough, we know very little about her. I wonder why we spend the first episodes pretty meaninglessly, having fun and exploring the unbound borders of the Pure Illusion, where we could get on the characters right away and deepen the plot with them.

Overally, I feel this was not my tea at all. By no means it is a bad show, but the main selling point is fun and entertainment and in this the anime didn't deliver to my taste. However I have been pretty subjective and don't deny that fact at all. Give a try, don't drop it after 2 episodes and you'll see if it is your show to enjoy.

Secret Santa review 2017

5/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
5/10 overall
Bobh666's avatar
Sep 17, 2017

This anime is pretty nice. Makes great use of it's premise to bring some wonderful variety and just a sprinkle of trippyness to bear. Excellent use of vivid colour, heavy lines and a different art style helps to establish that nothing is as it seems. All of the main characters are reasonably fleshed out and most of their actions make sense for the character making every action more meaningful. 

Throughout the show are various twists that keep the show engaging as well as a wealth of hints to later plot points scattered all throughout each episode.

Ps. Salt is sweet.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
9/10 sound
9/10 characters
9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Xaring's avatar
Jul 4, 2017

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS  READ AT YOUR OWN RISK

-

-

-

-

synopsis: Flip Flappers is a show about Papika and Cocoona, toto, mimi, yayaka and many other characters with repeated syllable names. Watch them as they suffer through Cocona's parents (does she even have a father?) divorce through the eyes of this chuunibyou couple. Will Cocona manage to calm down her enraged mother and find the caring one again? Experience their weird adventures and realize what it feels like while being high on LSD feels like in this animu.

No, but seriously... I cant get myself to like this anime. Starting from the "mahou-shoujo" transformations, the episodic style of its episodes, the dream-like worlds they go into... I dont know, not my thing.
As I said in my fake synopsis, It just feels like a couple of girls with a grave case of chuunibyou. Is yayaka of a frail complexion and needs to go to the infirmary a lot? - While in their minds she gets beat up in their adventures? I don't know.
On top of this, there are a lot of loose ends. Who are Papika's parents? Who is Cocona's dad? There is no cloning mentioned, so do we have a case of children abductions? Why can they go to school happily then, didnt all those other test subjects die?
What is the backstory of Pure Illusion? Seriously, there nothing explained about it. They have a research ongoing for "millions of years" and there is no mention on what it really is? (Again, I can't help but to think of chuunibyou - its all in their heads)
And I could keep going on and on. I feel like Cocona, having absolutely no idea of whats going on around.

5/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
6/10 characters
6/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Baeron's avatar
Apr 24, 2017

It's a good watch if you really don't think about what you're viewing, but if you happen to be an active thinker, and can see where the story is actively cutting into itself, it can be quite an irritation to endure.

This anime, kind of rubbed me the wrong way. The characters were vapid, and oblivious to most everything around them, as well as the worlds were cut-and-paste layouts from other anime/manga. The show is riddled with "convenient loopholes" for when their plot doesn't line up with the layout of the story. It feels like it literally backtracks over itself to do this at times.

The characters were probably the worst part of this. They would say things like "I love you!" only because they were slotted together and forced to be partners. They were forced together for only a couple of days, and suddenly they are closer than the school friend, who was with the main character her entire life. And it doesn't help them any that "Just because I because" is the answer they give to a LOT of things here. One such scene that really brought this out, was when the two children meet at a cage of roots. Neither one thinks the cage surrounding them is something out of the ordinary. Neither one of them even bats an eyelash when the roots suddenly pull aside and disappear. Then they just start laughing with each other, with the only reason for this is that the story has them pegged as "best friends". On top of this, this event loophole was supposed to have happened before the two school friendships were made, in order to solidify a place of the two flappers being closer.... simply because they met earlier. Of course, they have No contact whatsoever for the next 10 years, and completely forget about each other, but that doesn't seem to matter here at all.

Now the bad guys... were arguably more fleshed out than the main characters in terms of intellect, but in terms of visibility, they were nothing more than standard cookie-cutter fanatics, with no real concern for themselves, just the task they are pursuing. They are even "conveniently" given masks when their reveal comes so that you don't get attached to them.

The most creative environment in the entire anime would have to be the closing segment with the credits. The first few areas also have some creativity in them, but as the story progresses, they lose all their defining traits, and eventually, you literally end up with a flat, white world with nothing in it. All of the other areas are heavily taken from other anime tropes, and nothing is really that different from those standards.

Then the endings... of well... every encounter... are filled with inconclusive arguments. Most of the time the arguments resolve in one direction or another, simply because the story wanted the argument to end such a way, and not because they said something convincing enough for that to be the result.

The shards... which are the focus of the entire storyline's collection attempts aren't even fully explained. How did they happen? Why are they separated? And a whole lot of other internal-logic errors pop up all over the storyboard. One such error was that their "superpowers" were claimed to "have come from inside themselves", but then they were "actually from this other person", but then again turns back to "from inside themselves" when they have to confront the provider of said power.

Anyway, the anime does have some content to it, but just don't try to follow its own rules too closely or it begins to fall apart.

4/10 story
8/10 animation
5/10 sound
2/10 characters
4/10 overall
mrc4nl's avatar
Jan 10, 2017

This is not your everyday type anime.  It is really something different, something special.
It’s hard to compare it with something similar, i think "Alice in wonderland"  comes closest.

But only here there are two main protagonists, and multiple fantasy worlds. Each world has it own theme, and there are a lot of (hidden ) references in this Anime.  For example: the school and its surroundings have Gaudi like architecture. I’ve also seen a Mad max reference.

Story. At first there doesn’t seem to be much of a story. Just a new fantasy world in every episode that gets explored. But later on you get to know more about “pure illusion” and the darkness behind it.
It’s a good story about friendship, but not a great story. At the end, I got a little lost too.

Sound is great, I cant think of anything noteworthy other that I really like the ED song.

Characters, the range of personalities varies strongly, from very cold to very warm and friendly. And some are quite extreme. But even after completing the series, I don’t have the impression that the characters are very deep, just superficial, and they have a narrow set of character traits.

Animation. The animation is nice, although not flawless. I think they made it a little quirky to fit the animation style.  But its well-executed, and doesn’t bother me. The boss battles are great (again: not epic) and the world design is really impressive.  It can be quite trippy at times though.

I think this is a cult hit, a future classic. Not because it’s the best ever made, but its well-executed and really something special you just have to watch.








7/10 story
8/10 animation
9/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
Bucknerd's avatar
Jan 2, 2017

Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars / 9 out of 10

Pros:

  • Gorgeous animation
  • Unique narrative that is layered and weaves together the random elements of the first 6 or 7 episodes into a longer narrative "pay-off"
  • The random episodes, even seemingly without a coherent plot, are a true joy to watch
  • Cocona and Papika's evolving relationship
  • Never knowing what to expect

Cons:

  • Exposition at the end felt a tad bit rushed
  • Character introduced towards the end with no narrative importance
  • There is an instance in episode 11 where the animation was still frames for 5 seconds.  This did not effect the story
  • Not everything was fully explained in the end but the conclusion is still satisfying

Review Summary: Innovative anime with lots of hidden nuances and metaphors behind all the fun insanity.  The story is deeper than it first appears.  

You may like this if:  You enjoy FLCL, Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi, or Paprika.

Recommended

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
9/10 overall
RealBadFanfic's avatar
Dec 30, 2016

(Spoiler Free)

In short Flip Flappers is a wonderfully crafted odd little adventure that captivates the imagination with it unique worlds, characters, and designs. It is a show built not on the foundation of a cash grab but genuine care and love with a suprisingly deep characterization. However, it is not without its flaws and suffers from what I call "13 Episode Syndrome" which is the senario of a anime with a lot to tell, story or character wise, but runs out of time to portray these elements and must rush to fill in gaps. Overall it is an enjoyable experience and is worth at least one watch and I highly recommend

(No Major Spoilers, May Contain Minor Spoilers)

Flip Flappers follows the journey of two adolescent girls, Cocona, an average japanese middle schooler trying to find purpose in her life, and Papika, a energetic, adventure loving character who befriends Cocona. 

For the majority of the series their adventures happen through the world of Pure Illusion as they attempt to find these "Shards of Mimi" for the organization Flip Flap.

Story

The story of Flip Flappers in the beginning is a mysterious entity that does keep you invested on whats going to happen next, and the characters and worlds the main characters interact with go to help fill up any void left by the story. However, after a while the main story does drag on with its plot, barely revealing much except a few small snippets of information only to sprint to the finish during the last 3 episodes.

To be completely honest I would rate episodes 1-10 standalone a 8/10 despite being slow to reveal much. This is mostly because you have no idea where the series is going after watching those episodes. (if you do know where the show is going then congratulations on being significantly more attentive then me)

Episodes 11-13 left me confused, not because I didn't understand it, (even though that was my inital feeling while watching) but due to the sheer amount of plot elements being taken in and out of the series in such a short time with built up plot points being resolved as though lightning had struck them and then from the ashes two new plot points are born. These episodes are what ultimately hurt the show for me and is the reason why story suffered and gets a 6/10 rating.

6/10 - Above Average

Animation

Flip Flappers has wonderful animation and scenery. There are moments where it does faulter and becomes flat (mostly in episode 11-13) but overall wonderful animation, not the best but pretty good. On a side note I must say the opening and ending is an amazing work of art and depicts what to expect from the series and the characters beautifully.

8/10 - Very Good

Sound

The opening and ending to Flip Flappers is by far the best music the series has. There are a few other tracks that play well with their respective senarios, but some music is reused in a few instances and I instantly picked up on it because these tracks are not that memorable. They only serve to help convey emotion during certain moments in the series so it did annoy me at times when I felt a more appropriate music choice would have been in order when they were reused.

Voice acting feels supurb and I had no quarrel with how any of the character were voiced nor how they delivered their lines.

7/10 - Good

Characters

By far the strongest element this show has.

Cocona is a introverted, dependent character with little direction in life, a leaf in the wind kind of character. Papika is a energetic, outgoing character who doesn't plan ahead well and mainly reacts to the immediate situation and goes from there. It was a joy to see these two characters interact with each other from their cold and distant beginnings to there full blown love for each other, and while I feel that Papika had little in terms of growth, Cocona by the end of the series is certainly a stronger character and that is in part thanks to Papika.

Secondary characters have interesting quirks and personalities so they come off as likeable and colorful.

The Antagonists are mediocore to say the least and aren't really that investing except to make a KKK joke everytime they appear. The only exceptional antagonist would be Yayaka who I feel was handled well, but certainly needs more development like the other side characters.

9.5/10 - Fantastic (mostly for Papika and Cocona's relationship, which is the focal point of the story)

Final Thoughts

I feel there's a lot of love behind the development of this show and it would have been better if the creators went out on a limb and pitched it like that. I could easily see this series to have gone on for 3 to 4 seasons.

Maybe that would have resulted in a 13 episode cliffhanger, but at least with a ending like that there'd be fans demanding a second season and a chance that maybe not the following year but after a few years of gaining momentom it would return.

For what the show is it is good and I reccomend watching it, but I certainly feel the show could have gone in a much better direction if it didn't suffer from "13 Episode Syndrome"

7.6/10 - Good

6/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
7.6/10 overall
thor123's avatar
Dec 29, 2016

For me personally, Flip Flappers earned a couple of titles: Anime of the Season in Fall 2016, Anime of the Year 2016 and, most notably, Surprise of the Year 2016. Because I really didn't expect to enjoy this show to this extent. I mean, looking back at the fact that I almost dropped it after episode 2 still makes me shudder at the thought of missing this experience. 

- I tried to keep spoilers at a minimum -

Story

So, what the flip is this anime about anyway? Well simply put, it's about the "normal girl" Cocona, who gets dragged to a weird alternate world called Pure Illusion by "weird girl" Papika, to go collect mysterious shards who could supposedly grant wishes.

Of course, no sane person would keep watching this if the entire plot would be such a generic magical girl story. For one thing, that description completely disregards the competition in the search for the shards. And it also doesn't really express just how weird it really is. Or just how well the characters develop (more on that in the characters section). But most of all, it doesn't do justice to the huge variety of stories this anime contains.

Allow me to elaborate a bit on this last statement, by telling you a bit about how the show is built up:

  • First off, there's the set-up in the first 2 episodes. As stated before, I almost dropped the show there, because it didn't seem like it was all that well done (looking back, those episodes were better than I thought, but hindsight doesn't help first time watchers XD ). Especially the fact that it seemed like the show wanted to "be weird for the sake of being weird" wasn't exactly to my tastes. There are a lot of things here that are important for later though, so don't skip them :p
  • "Part 2" actually also contains some parts of episodes 1 and 2, because with this "part" I'm actually referring to the seemingly pointless episodes with fun things in them. But every episode also contains a part of the "puzzle" that forms the overarching plot. The best thing by far in these episodes is the way how Pure llusion is handled: it goes from a horror to a serious drama to DBZ-like fights without feeling jarring, making it a show which has at least one episode everyone would love. Doesn't matter if you love DBZ, or over the top mecha like TTGL, a good horror or a dramatic/feels episode: there's something for everyone. Which is also what I meant with the "huge variety" mentioned earlier.
  • And then, of course, there's a finale: everything comes together quite nicely, the pieces of the puzzle fall into place - although you have to make some of the pieces yourself, because of the style of the storytelling

In regards to the style of the storytelling: it's so interesting that Crunchyroll has written a total of four articles about it (might contain spoilers!): one - two - three - four (there could be more, this was just after a quick google search). Basically, the show uses it's visuals to throw around references, symbolism and surrealism.

So yeah, while the start was a bit rough, the overall energetic atmosphere, versatility of the show, the style of the storytelling and the great finale made me decide to give it a 9.5/10.

Characters

As is magical girl - tradition, this show is also partly a "coming of age" story for Cocona. Which means, of course, that she is the one who gets fleshed out the most, and who develops the most. On the other hand, this does NOT mean that other characters don't get any attention. Be it the obvious Papika, Yayaka, the enigmatic Dr. Salt or the stoic amorphous kids: they all get the screentime necessary to explore their personalities... except Nyunyu ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ .

Animation and artwork

Well, I first picked up Flip Flappers because I saw a short clip of the great animation in episode 1 (Papika on her hoverboard), so I guess it's obvious that it's top-notch. Fights look pretty damn great too (probably the best animated fights I've seen since One-Punch Man).

The artwork is already adressed a bit in the style of storytelling: it's really creative and interesting.

On top of that, there went a LOT of care into the backgrounds, to the point where  it's often Ghibli-level. (Crunchyroll has an article about this too: link)

The only thing I didn't really like at first was the way the eyes were drawn, but once I got used to that it didn't bother me anymore.

Sound

The only thing I can objectively think of that outshines the animation and artwork, is the sound in this show. The voice acting is perfect; the OP song is great and energetic, and gets you hyped for the episode, the OST and insert songs are really nice and the ED is one of the most addicting songs I've heard in ages (yes, a rare case of ED being better than OP!).

I really have no reason at all to subtract any points in this category, so I'll just leave it at 10/10.

Overall

This show is like an energetic little hamster, doing all kinds of random, creative crap to get out of the labyrinth it's confined in. While the first steps it takes seem boring, the middle part is tons of fun, and the finale is fantastic! Combine that with great visuals and sound, and you get a great show. 

Now, go watch it! 

9.5/10 story
9.9/10 animation
10/10 sound
9.3/10 characters
9.6/10 overall