Eiken - Reviews

sort
KiraRin's avatar
Jul 19, 2009

Story

First of all if you hate boobs, walk away. If you don’t like momentous mammary glands, you really should stop reading now – Eiken is to “fun bags” what Lelouch was to the rebellion; an essential part of the mayhem, and not afraid to exploit it to get their way.

When Densuke Mifune arrives at the exclusive Zashono Academy, the tone is set as the reserved young schmuck bumps into the comely Chiharu. Minor contact is turned into a laughable grope-fest, with the innocent boy falling and finding his hands kneading the ample bosom trapped beneath him. Things get worse, as he is inaugurated into this mysterious group – the purpose of which is never explained – and Mifune finds himself surrounded by a group of mismatched beauties looking for some titular fun. The show continues in this vein – using every possible opportunity to place the hapless member of the Eiken club into some extremely compromising and innuendo fuelled moments, usually at the expense of his top heavy associates.

The true allure of the show shines through as the annual “big summer event” places the team into swimsuits and encourages a highly suggestive competition. A first round bungee jump sees the unfortunately proportioned Komoe plummeting to earth – her cranium sized breasts undulating with the downward force and panties exposed to the world. Just as you think things can’t get much worse, the words “yogurt slide” appears on screen. The insinuation contained within this bizarre challenge will have even the most hardened ecchi fan double-taking with disbelief; an innocent waterslide becomes a blatant allusion towards a messy sex session, but the show does this without nudity or even showing a nipple.

Although the premise of Eiken is pure ecchi anime filth, the execution is performed in such a way that the viewers mind will act out much more than what happens onscreen. The simple act of eating a banana is glorified in style - girls in swimwear climbing over each other to be the first to consume every delicious inch of the phallic fruit, and to win adoration from their peers. Scenes of sexual parody continue unashamedly, and although lacking any real depth, the show will leave a strangely satisfying feeling for those who understand that this is nothing but a satirical look at perversion.


Animation

The most eye-catching aspect of Eiken is, of course, the astronomical breasticles. You can almost hear the twisted glee of the artists’ as their creations struggle to remain upright. With sexual fantasy taking precedent over visual quality, the show suffers from moments of poorly drawn characters and unimpressive scenery.


Sound

With a suggestive whimper and a moan, the voice actors for the Eiken girls were well selected. From the domineering, deep voiced Kirika, to the soft and shy tones of Chiharu; each of the diverse group has a solid seiyuu with a talent for vocal seduction.

The whimsical J-pop opening track is both catchy and fitting to the show, accompanied by the entire cast gyrating around harmoniously with the funky beats. As the lively tunes continue through the show, the only soundtrack letdown is the ending; sounding more appropriate to a 70's soft-core porn movie, it feels like a buzz-kill to the quick witted anime.


Characters

Although a criteria for ecchi is usually a harem consisting of impossibly curvaceous and mindless women, Eiken refuses to fully comply. The busty female protagonist, Chiharu, is shy and girly but also highly intelligent – scoring the highest on the esteemed entrance exam. Her real downfall is a fragile nature; wanting a male to protect her, she causes jealousy amongst her admirers by falling into the arms of whoever happens to be nearest at the time. Surprisingly, this is not done in a sexual way, with Chiharu knowing what she wants and walking away from the situation if she isn’t comfortable.

Mifune is typical of the inexperienced sap surrounded by a plethora of perky schoolgirls. With eyes only for Chiharu, he coyly tries to avoid any compromising situation, apologising sincerely for the accidental fondling sessions he frequently finds himself in. Pushing the group into trouble is the monumental Kirika. Wearing dental floss masquerading as a swim suit, the orally fixated vixen provides much of the comedy with her overbearing nature and obsession with food. The varied cast is over-the-top and stereotyped to the extreme, something that may not appeal to many viewers, but there is no doubt that each personality holds a certain charm.


Overall

Eiken is crude. Eiken is perverted. But most of all, Eiken is fun. The extreme dose of ecchi will not appeal to everyone – the frequent groans of disbelief that I dared to enjoy this show tell me that – but see through the silicone enhanced exterior and you will enjoy satire aimed at the most hardcore fanservice fans.

7/10 story
4/10 animation
7/10 sound
8/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
randomredneck's avatar
Feb 23, 2011

Hey fellow anime viewers. Tired of quality shows, with good characters, enjoyable stories, and depth to them? Want a show that takes gainaxing to a whole new level, has a story so thin it could have an eating disorder, and wanna see if its possible to actually lose I.Q. points watching a show? Then have i got a show for you. This is Eiken. Typical high school loser Mifune Densuke is...well a typical high school loser, just going about his day. Then he gropes by mistake, his crush Chiharu. Then Eiken club leader Misano sweeps in on a giant robot, and takes him away to join the Eiken club. Enjoy that? That's about the last bit of sense this show makes. Lets get the elephant in the room out of the way quick. Tits. If you like them, this show has them. From a totally flat chested girl who looks like she should still be in grade school, to...well the only apt description of some of the other members is "Holy hell, how do they stand up?" Again, this isn't a show that aims for a story. There is some thing about a school competition, a student coming back from America...that's it really. Whatever poor souls who agreed to voice this thing, put in about as much effort as your typical dub of a b-rated hentai. The animation? Well its alright...if you like bigger than your head tits bouncing like a rubber ball on a trampoline in an earthquake, cause that seems to be where the majority of the animation budget went. Looking for character depth? Well again, you should probably look elsewhere. The only characters who get some semblance of development are Densuke and Chiharu. And even then, they both play out the typical shy guy, popular girl crush combo. Now, i would feel bad without telling you this. There is a banana eating contest during the idiotic school competition, an eel gets in the teachers swimsuit bottom, Misano is constantly eating phallic food, and, the coup de grace, the yogurt slide. Yes. A. Yogurt. Slide. A cheap excuse to splash Chiharu with white goo, and still keep this from being a hentai. I'd go into the finale, which involves a chocolate slide on a banana slide, but i feel myself getting dumber as i write this review. I'll wrap it up. If you like anime's that make you question your faith in humanity, try Eiken. Like good anime? Watch something else. Thank you.

Yours truly,

RandomRedneck.

2/10 story
3/10 animation
2/10 sound
1/10 characters
2/10 overall
YuiYui's avatar
Apr 3, 2016

Warning this Review May Contain Spoilers

This anime sucked, it sucked pretty bad, but not as bad as Rescue Me! but this was bad>_> It was all Boobs and Boobs and is that a stupid chocolate banana what the hell?! So this is some weird thing that was disturbing and honestly was terrible >_>

STORY

What story? It was being covered by all the boob 'plot', just read the synopsis then you would understand what I mean by this. They weren't even beautiful but they were 'busty' and where the in the world is the story, show me the story?! But being serious now, if you want a show with a decent story then it is not this one, if you liked boobs then yeah go ahead.

ANIMATION

Well it wasn't great and focused quite a bit on oversexualing women, especially the boobs but in all seriousness there was a couple of girls with a 'normal' chest. It was very colourful as well XD

SOUND

T-T Well it was different. it wasn't terrible and honestly the voice acting would be the best thing in this stupid show but even then…meh.

CHARACTERS

Well my favourite section, well let’s just say they sucked what in the world was the point in them half the time, fanservice? Probably. Now the main guy is a bit of an idiot, the female he is in love with is also an idiot. And then purple haired chick was just there for boobs. Great. There was also next to zero-character development which bring me to the question, why does this exist.

Overall it sucked but perverts may like it so…yeah.

-AngelBeatsYui-

PS- Thanks Thrawn for putting this terrible show forward for the Daily Anime Marathon in March >_> It was so great.

0.5/10 story
1/10 animation
2/10 sound
0.5/10 characters
0.8/10 overall
Komirai's avatar
Aug 6, 2012

When I saw the first episode, i was dying to write a review on it, but I knew it wasn't fair to write a review after just watching the first episode, so I forced myself to watch the second episode.

Story. 1.

How many times have you heard this story? Some nerd transfers into a new school, he's a loser and doesn't stand out, but somehow he gets surrounded by beautiful women who all want to have sex with him. Too many times to count. The story is overdone, and needs to stop.

Art.

If you look past the girls' overly large breasts, the art is...meh. It's your typical, neon colored hair, big eyed anime, but then the breasts...oh dear God. Yes, I don't mind having a character with big breasts in an anime, but there's a limit!

Sound. 5.

The opening song is cute, but nothing special. The voice acting is okay I guess, but my question is, what woman would want to voice act for this piece of crap?

Character. 1.

The characters are stale, and boring. The characters are only there to flash their panties or get caught into sexual situations. In my opinion, the characters are the most important part of a series, but unfortunately, that's where this story failed.

Etc. These are extra catagories I add to my reviews.

How they portray women. 1.

This series almost makes me ashamed to be a woman. All they do is trip, get covered in (plain) yogurt, and eat bananas in a very sexual way. I know the series was directed towards men, but come on! Not all men are this low!

Fanservice .1.

I don't mind fanservice, but this is crossing the line. One thing a lot of animes do with fanservice is that it's noticable, but it's not over the top. Eiken's fanservice is in your face, and it never ends. It never ends.

Overall, I hate this series. But, if you scrape the crap that covers this series, you do get a cure love story...a very cliche love story. I do not recomend this series to anyone.

1/10 story
2/10 animation
5/10 sound
1/10 characters
2/10 overall
angelsreviews's avatar
Jul 22, 2013

These poor poor girls with large breasts… They are just like little sticks with two huge beach balls that should be pulling them down to the ground. What is the point of this show? It’s just there to see breasts and panties of girls who have probably had plastic surgery to enlarge their breasts. Seriously, its as though they are in the same competition as Maxi Mounds and Sheyla Hershey. (Haven't heard of them? They are in compaction for Genius Book of World Records for the biggest artificially made breasts. Just the images make me scared.) This should really have been a hentai instead of just an Ecchi. It’s has little to no plot and what it does gets lost in the sea of breasts. Alrgiht…. Lets get down to the technical side of this stupid anime… unfortunately, you may be as disgusted at I was.

Every character is pretty much a stereotype although one thing seems to keep the girls all together… that is, their breasts. Densuke is a normal main character in a lot of harems, rather stupid and normal… yes, throughout this entire thing, there is one normal character. He has nothing really going for him though all the girls love him and want to be around him. The only other male character we could talk about is Shima and he is a typical rival of Densuke for Chiharu’s heart. He’s a smart ass and thinks he’s better then everyone else.

Now on to the stupid females… Chiharu is the shy soft-spoken girl who is clumsy and rather Moe. She has two melons on her chest and seems to always get into rather strange predicaments with them. She sadly has to wear bras that are two small which make her pop out of them a lot… (Sorry… I just threw up a little.) Kirika is a really tall G-cup breasted girl. She is the one that gives Densuke a hard time by pushing his head into her breasts or her butt and puts a lot of phallic food into her mouth. Those that do not have a dictionary, it means something shaped like an erect penis. She also eats said food in a rather seductive manner (It’s not seductive… its just plain stupid looking). So… um… next is Komoe and I’m going to stop after her because I don’t think I can actually show my disgust anymore or even hold in my lunch. She is a pink-haired 6th grader with boobies the size larger then Chiharu… and now we can stop talking about the characters because we have gone way out of my comfort zone.

The artwork suffers greatly on the proportion side of things, and everything is made to try to get an arousal out of someone. There are a lot of things that are made to look like something rather perverted. The town they live in seems to look like a large breast with a very hard nipple; Raman is made to look like cum, and just a lot of stupid things that can get lost in ones head. All of the shows humor revolves around many suggestive images like girls swimming in a swimming pool full of yogurt… and there goes the rest of my lunch.

The voices are so bad, I cringed. No one can figure out how to actually talk well or pronounce the names at all. The Music…. Was there really any music? I didn’t figure out if there was or not and if there was, it was much to low to hear.

All in all, don’t ever make me watch it again!

1/10 story
2/10 animation
1/10 sound
1/10 characters
1/10 overall