Appare-Ranman! - Reviews

sort
Archert's avatar
Oct 14, 2020

Soprendido, creo que este anime esta un poco subestimado.

Historia. Valiente, original y entretenida. La serie arriesga con un argumento no para todo el mundo que logra cautivar a cualquiera. Una carrera de coches no es algo que llame a todo el mundo, pero esta serie logrará llamar tu atención desde el primer momento. Me gusto mucho la forma en la que pasamos de Japon a los Angeles y conocimos otros lugares atraves de los personajes. Durante la historia no solo veremos una carrera al mas estilo NASCAR en los últimos coletasos del S.XIX, si no que habrá momentos cargados de acción en plan serie del lejano oeste. Esto último puede sacarnos algo de contexto, el pasar de una carrera a ver tios pegandose tiros, pero segun tengo entendido (historicamente hablando) al principio de estas carreras, durante el circuito de Africa los correderos eran atacados por Bereberes, por el hecho de que los coches destrozaban los lugares por donde corrian, asique no puedo valorarlo como algo negativo, pues si estos cambio de genero del animes se hicieron como giño a este hecho historico de las carreras me resultaría una autética genialidad. Como punto negativo diría que me resultó bastante predecible, pese a estar la serie plagada de tiroteos y accidentes no ocurre nada grave, parace que para este anime contrataron soldados imperiales a la hora de disparar. Otra cosilla que no me hicieron gracia fueron algunos dialogos, eso dialogos que duele leerlos porque son algo bastos o un poco infantiles. De resto creo que es una serie bastante redonda que quizas se apresura en dar un cierre pero que cumple medianamente bien. Una ultima cosilla que quiero dejar en el aire: Los protagonistas nuncan han salido de Japon, pero sin embargo parece que el ingles se les da muy bien...curioso.

Animación. A nivel general es superior a la media, tiene picos muy altos sobre todo en las escenas acción donde la animación puede ser perfectamente de 9 y pico pero tambien picos bajos con algunas caras raras y proporciones extrañas que hasta parecen caricaturas. 

Sonido. De lo mejorcito del animes, tiene temas muy chulos que hacen de muchas escenas aún más emocionates. Es una pena que no siempre esten presentes.

Persoanjes. Nada mal, me gusto mucho que varios petenecieran a diferentes paises pero creo que no supieron exprimir ese lado, pues pese que esta presente que son de diferentes nacionalidades, no se muestras rasgo culturales más haya de la apariencia o algun que otro detalle poco importante. La plantilla de personajes es variada y ninguno me ha resultado prescindible. El protagonista me gusto bastante en un comienzo, pero a medida que va avanzando la trama va perdiendo eso que lo hacia tan único, haciendolo un protagonista mas "normy". (Putos sentimientos)

Entretenimiento. Tiene algun que otro bajoncillo sin importancia, a terminos generales el animes es entretenido y hay partes emocionantes muy disfrutables. Yo lo pase muy viendolo.

En resumen, buen anime que nos cuenta una aventura de principio a fin. 

¿La recomendarias? Sí.

8.7/10 story
8.8/10 animation
8.9/10 sound
8.4/10 characters
8.8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Gozza's avatar
Oct 9, 2020

The show starts out as Wacky Races (a tv-series that was broadcasted in 1968 including the goofy characters and cars) but the direction of the story starts to change a couple of episodes in. It was a change that I didn't expect but one that I really enjoyed. There are a few moments that feel a little too dark for the show but I guess it's to make the viewer aware that we're not watching the race portion of the show anymore.

Appare-Ranman!has a very colourful and unique look to it, the animations aren't bad either which originally made me think that the production might have been a little too good for a simple Wacky Race's themed show.

All the characters on the show are extremely colourful and each character has some awkward quirks that don't make much sense at the beginning of the show but once the show starts to mix things up it all starts to make sense.

I wasn't a huge fan of character designs itself since it feels out of place compared to the rest of the setting but it all does come together in a pretty decent watch.

7/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Ebonyslayer's avatar
Sep 30, 2020

I don't think that this show was as good as it could have been. It went from being a racing anime to a battle shounen. So I think switching the genres and wasting the potential of the characters kind of hurt the show in my opinion. SPOILERS warning to readers since this review will be covering the details regarding story and characters that felt disappointing.

Story- The story deals with the Trans-America Wild Race that the characters eventually enter. Prior to that event, Kosame and Appare were sort of forced into a situation where they have to work together to win the race to get back to Japan. (But that's really more Kosame than Appare to be honest in regards to going home.)

I don't mind opposition if it helps a story move forward, but introducing Gil into the story changed the anime from a racing genre to a fighting genre. And a genre shift may not be something anime watchers will want to see.

Then there is the part with Gil, the mystery villain and mass murderer gets defeat in battle completely with the ‘if you kill him you’re as bad as him’ line, the 13th episode enters some real hack territory. In the last ten minutes of the show, we see the final moments of the ‘Trans-America Wild Race’ we assumed would be the whole point of the show but maybe lasted a culmulative 10 minutes throughout its 13 episode run.

Appare wins in a photo finish moment with absolutely none of the build up that would make it impactful. After, the viewers are treated to some forced melodrama in the form of Appare being sad that actual Samurai Kosame is returning to Japan even though he’s got nothing to do in America, only to find that early 30s Kosame stayed behind to hang out with teen Appare some more.

Animation- The animation being one of the better parts of the show, I like how each of the characters had a different designed car. You can sense the effort that was put into the character design as well as the background design.

Sound- The sound has some variety to it. It helps that Evan Call made the music to the anime, since he has also made notable OSTs to other anime. https://myanimelist.net/people/32281/Evan_Call

Characters- The characters definitely had some potential, but ultimately fell short. And I feel like the director was juggling too much at once when he should have had someone else handling the script instead.

There were actual ideas with the characters that could have been something if handled right. Such as Hototo’s indigenous ancestry, the discrimination against Xialian for her gender, and Kosame’s past causing an internal hesitance to act, these just weren't handled well with dignity. These were just details that were thrown in with their characters during the introduction.

Gil is just that antagonist that is just there as an obstacle. He is unpredictable and believes that power is everything, but if I had to make a comparison, he's an uncharismatic, boring version of Shishio from Rurouni Kenshin.

Appare was okay as a protagonist at first, but when you see how the writer had make the character adapt to the changes in the story, it doesn't feel organic.

Overall- The show had potential, but Director Hashimoto bit off more than he could chew. And I think changing the genre did not help. PA Works can definitely have ideas for anime, but how they execute the ideas leaves a lot to be desired. But maybe the disappointment isn't as bad considering that Great Pretender did pretty well as an original anime, and they both came out the same year.

If you really want a true racing anime, I would definitely recommend Redline. Or even the Steel Ball Run manga. Appare-Ranman on the other hand is an anime that I can't recommend to others.

4/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
4/10 characters
4/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Beth0410's avatar
Aug 16, 2020

Really love the story. Like how they have been able to make do with what they could get and was able to make some friends and hope that they would win so they could go back but also able to keep in contact with their new friends.  

10/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful