Anti-Magic Academy: The 35th Test Platoon - Reviews

Alt title: Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai

sort
Epimondas's avatar
Dec 24, 2015

Here is a show that would be much more promising if it didn't partake so heavily of the tired old Japanese anime cliche, harem.  Why so many animes need to have 3-10 girls for every one guy character?  One or two animes using such a thing wouldnt be such a big thing to to see so many use it until it feels like a worn out smelly old shoe is pretty ridiculous.  That aside, what doesn't stink of the overused Asian machismo fantasy, is not half bad.  Though, I fear many women will probably feel a bit offended either that it is used so often or just once again demontrated here and may not feel compelled to look any further.  Not that I blame the average lady if she chooses to avoid such sexist displays.  Even the opening and closing sequences look a tad bit like a James Bond sexist music video opening scene rip off.  Yet if you can get past all that shameful mess, you could if you stretch the "suspesion of disbelief' enough to fit such a laughable situation into your imagination might actually enjoy the parts left of what isn't an offensive to feminine virtues.  It is a story of once again (sigh) a magical high school and once again (sigh) underage youths thrown into violence and military combative situations where remarkabley few or no adult supervision seems to be present and where only those under 18 are somehow the only ones able to resolve problems with potentially disastrous global implications.  Ah, I can almost write a typical anime script just from that and oddly enough it would fit a huge chunk of what has been out lately.  There is a semblance of good and evil nemesis facing off against each other, strong displays of magical and martial powers even among those who supposedly have no magical ability and Oh shall we throw in a few Loli examples just to hit all the atypical abuses of female morales to boot.  It sadly doesn't end there but as bad as it is, I have seen far worse, at least with some of those examples they do put up a valient effort to try to fit them into a logical dramatic story.  What is a heroic figure team leader type guy to do when surrounded by 5 female subordinates?  Well act all goofy and embaressed of course while probably beaming behind that facade at all the envious guys watching this series.  

Sadly, the only other guys they seem to present are almost comic examples of your most disturbed pervy types, the domineering egotistical violent manic (the warlock and leader of the witch group), the sick twisted slave seeking abusive worthless wealthy spoiled priveledged greedy immoral stalker like sycophant in the form of demonic monster disguised as a human student with blonde hair and often wearing white, the suggestive under the radar subtle peeks a glance when he can mild closet pervert who acts as a psuedo principle, and of course the warped aggressive violent thug who somehow carries a similar power to the lead character and while pretending to escort her he constantly tries to kill her psychotic nutjob.  Wow not one decent male figure in the bunch.  Even the lead character has a few flaws such as too often being involved in modest to slightly mature pervyish accidents.  Though he is probably innocent, the fact he gets involved might suggest that perhaps subconsciously lurks another perver womanizing molestor type.  Eh so a typical cliched low brow Japanese male ego appeasing anime.

But it does have one or two saving graces even if they are hard to see beneath all that disgusting clutter.  The angle of witches versus exorcist like student warrior ninjas isn't too terrible.  There is plenty of action and for those who crave it, a few somewhat suggestive mature antics.  It is happilly lighter than soft porn but wedges somewhere between pg13, r, and soft porn x while not actually straying into the x range.  There is a hint of exoskeleton like versions of the cliche Japanese first anime love, MECHS, but not quite the same.  It is still enough to satisfy anyone looking for a little mech-ish love.  It is not really all that bad compared to some anime but if you are too easily disturbed or offended buy such atypical forrays into female pride, this show may not be for you.

5.5/10 story
6.5/10 animation
6/10 sound
6.3/10 characters
6/10 overall
PurplePeopleEater's avatar
Oct 17, 2015

With only two episodes out, there isn't much to review, but I will give my two cents anyway! Although, with only two episodes, the scores I give won't be very high. (I have added my final review)

The first episode kind of threw me off. The characters and parts of the story reminded me a lot of Kuusen Madoushi Kouhosei no Kyoukan which aired last season. It has a unit in a fighting force that is worse than any other, there are three girls and one guy, one girl thinks she is above everyone else and one gets nervous easily and is a little silly. The guy is the leader of the group and while Kuusen doesn't call it magic, it looks close enough to me.  

The second episode of this anime gave me hope. Kuusen spent almost the entire show with the main characters failing over and over. Underdog stories are good and it's great if the main characters lose sometimes, but when it goes on the way it did in Kuusen, I just can't see the appeal. By the time it hit the climax the show was about to end! So far, Anti-Magic Acadamy is doing better. The 35th platoon gets its own sort of win in the second episode and the story develops into something more serious and more interesting. The two main characters are interesting although the supporting characters feel a little weak but it's only the second episode. The animation is clear and average. The male lead has a funny looking face sometimes, but otherwise it's not bad. 

---------------------------

Final review

Okay, it kept my attention and I watched it all, not that there were many other animes during the fall season worth watching. I am reducing the score at 7 to 6. Too many cheesy lines. This show is full of cliche and cheesy lines. It's not very deep and leaves a lot of unanswered questions. Each character in the platoon has a problem or a "burden" and it gets one or two episodes to be addressed and the main character says he will bear half the burden for them. Then it's like it never happened and it moves on to the next characters issue, even if the other issue wasn't fully resolved. It's like the story focuses on a characters problem in part to develop said character, except the character usually doesn't develop. It can be a bit confusing and many of the characters aren't very memorable. While the story didn't follow the Kuusen story all the way, there were still too many similarities. Can we please get something unique in here.

Overall, fall season of 2015 was not good. 

6/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
5/10 characters
6.3/10 overall
DATABASEERROR's avatar
Jul 13, 2016

My anime reviews are always simple, short and straight-forward and is 100% spoilers-free.

Genres: Action, Ecchi, Fantasy, Harem, Military, Romance, Supernatural

Additional Info: This is your typical action romance anime where a not really dense MC is surrounded by females.

Ending Rating: 85%

Short Review:

An excellent anime overall with a good blend of action, comedy and exceptional art. This should keep you busy till you add another anime that is worth watching to you list.

8.5/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
8.5/10 characters
8/10 overall
SEGHE's avatar
Sep 15, 2023

"Anti-Magic Academy: The 35th Test Platoon" - A Battle-Focused Fantasy with Room for Improvement - 6/10

Story: 6/10 "Anti-Magic Academy: The 35th Test Platoon" introduces a world where magic users, known as Witches, are both revered and feared. The story follows Takeru Kusanagi and his team, the 35th Test Platoon, as they navigate a world filled with magical threats and political intrigue. While the premise offers potential, the execution can be somewhat formulaic, with the series following familiar tropes of magical academy and military-themed anime. The story does introduce some intriguing elements related to the origin of Witches and their powers, but it doesn't fully capitalize on these ideas. Additionally, the pacing can feel uneven, with moments of action and character development interspersed with slower episodes. Overall, the story provides an entertaining but somewhat predictable experience, earning a story rating of 6 out of 10.

Animation: 6/10 The animation in "Anti-Magic Academy" is serviceable, with action sequences and magical battles being the highlights. Character designs are distinctive, and the combat scenes feature well-choreographed action. However, it may not stand out as particularly remarkable compared to other anime in the same genre. The animation quality remains consistent throughout the series, but it doesn't introduce groundbreaking visuals. It receives an animation rating of 6 out of 10.

Sound: 7/10 Sound plays a crucial role in building tension and atmosphere in "Anti-Magic Academy." The series features a fitting soundtrack that enhances the mood during action sequences and dramatic moments. Voice acting is competent, with characters' voices matching their personalities. The sound quality is good, and the inclusion of the opening and closing theme songs adds to the overall experience. While it doesn't introduce exceptionally memorable tracks, the sound design effectively complements the series. It deserves a sound rating of 7 out of 10.

Characters: 6/10 The characters in the 35th Test Platoon each have their unique magical abilities and quirks, contributing to a diverse team dynamic. Takeru Kusanagi serves as a determined but somewhat typical protagonist, and his interactions with team members add depth to his character. However, character development is somewhat limited, with some members of the platoon receiving more attention than others. Additionally, character motivations and growth might feel predictable in places. While there are moments of camaraderie and character interaction, "Anti-Magic Academy" leaves room for further exploration of its cast. It earns a character rating of 6 out of 10.

Overall: 6/10 "Anti-Magic Academy: The 35th Test Platoon" offers a battle-focused fantasy with elements of magic and military themes. While it has the potential to provide an engaging narrative, it occasionally falls into familiar tropes and formulaic storytelling. The animation and sound design are solid but may not stand out among other anime in the same genre. The characters are diverse, but character development and exploration could be more in-depth. Despite these shortcomings, the series offers an entertaining experience for fans of magical action and fantasy settings. With its mix of strengths and weaknesses, it earns an overall score of 6 out of 10 in my assessment.

6/10 story
6/10 animation
7/10 sound
6/10 characters
6/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
JadedDragos's avatar
Feb 1, 2019

This one was interesting, I wasn't to fascinated by the fact it was a harem anime and just focused on what the plot was supposed to be. The plot did jump around and stall a bit, putting in origins and other filler stuff. Now don't get me wrong I do like to know about the characters I'm watching, but I did want more in the main plot.

Animation and sound were pretty good. I did like the fight scenes and the type of animation used, even though I believe a majority of the episodes took place in a building or at night, could have used some more contrast there. I did like the opening and ending theme as well as the internal music, but mainly just the opening theme.

Characters, again were pretty much good on the backgrounds of the main characters and I thought were developed enough to know what was going on internally with each one.

Overall I did like this one, but again I was left wanting more episodes and was left with this one not completely finished up.

6/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
7/10 characters
8.3/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful