Anonymous Noise - Reviews

Alt title: Fukumenkei Noise

sort
Dionkeykong's avatar
Mar 11, 2019

WARNING:THIS REVIEW HAS CONTENT HARMFUL TO KIDS(so i guess that means it will be fun)

So, what's on today's menu? I could order a bed of nails and sleep on it till all my blood runs out, i could also try that thing i read the other day called autoerotic asphyxia...Did you know that most kids these days die trying to pull this off(pun intended)? Yeah apparently young males call it scarfing cause they use their scarfs to hang themselves in order to heighten the sexual release.

Now, i haven't tried this myself cause i find it too risky, i'm a simple lad to be honest. Jerk off, wipe my hands and off to work. I like simple entertainment, what can i say?

Anyways, i was too hungover cause i'm too old to be drinking like the world is about to end and since it has been a little while since i watced any kind of anime i decided to pump myself full of painkillers and watch some shit....As to why i chose this particular shit i cannot tell but here we are and these are my thoughts on Anonymous Noise: The soundtrack of my worst nightmares.

To kick things off AN wastes no time pushing the pedal to the metal by introducing us to a song so brutal and technical, the likes of which can only be heard from bands such as Cannibal Corpse, Lamb of God, Slipknot etc.

Wanna take a guess which one i'm talking about? It isn't that hard people come on, even kids know this shit..Nope? Well let me put you out of your misery and tell you.....IT'S FUCKING TWINKLE TWINKLE LITTLE STAR!

I know, i know you expected something from Cradle of Filth maybe but no, this anime makes Dani Filth and his friends look like a christian metal band from Illinois...What? You don't believe me? Well good news cause your instinct was right on the money! No this anime is trying to be Your Lie in April by not being Your Lie in April. I know it sounds interesting but trust me, it isn't that at all. Cause what AN did to differentiate itself from YLIA was shittier animation and didn't have a major character dying just for emotion porn's sake..

But more on that later on, for now let's see what's the story, shall we?

So, Nino(the female MC) is a girl who had a friend named Momo and every night they would sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star together under the starry sky. One day though Momo had to be put down cause he had rabies...No he didn't actually cause that would be interesting in a weird, twisted way and AN doesn't do either! With Momo gone Nino did the healthy thing and did what every other kid does....Put on a mask and play for a deathcore band!

Damn i can do this all day and will never get old..Nope she really did put on a mask like those they wear in hospitals to avoid expressing her emotions and scream.....Yup, not fucking with you this time, even i with my wild imagination couldn't come up with such a Freudian approach...At this point in the anime begins what i'd like to call "the storm of weirdly convenient just so happens situations"... So one day, she meets another boy named Yuzu who likes to write compositions in the sand at the beach. Nino reads the music and begins singing the notes which makes Yuzu hard. Yuzu said some crap about finding his voice and then left...Poor Nino was all alone again and fast forward a few years Nino enters high school where she finds out that Yuzu goes to the same school as her and is a part of the Cultural Music Club which she later becomes a member discovering their dark secrets and somewhere along the way she also finds out that Momo is attending the same school as well.
At this point i'm sure you all are scratching your heads and one question echoes in your brains. WHERE THE HELL WHERE HER PARENTS?

And here begin many of the issues i had with this anime. I mean this girl has some major issues and the most obvious one was wearing a mask for no apparent reason for most of her life and nobody wonders what the hell is going on with her? Then it's her crush with a boy which if you really sit and think about is....I don't know....Maybe let's call it disturbing? Not normal in any way? Sure we all had that guy/girl we really liked as kids but i don't think we gave it a second thought after, say, 2 days. It's called moving on with your damn life.

Next in line is Yuzu who i can only describe as a cuck(please don't make me explain google it). He has a crush with Nino since childhood and never forgot about her..He even went and made a band with her in mind in the hopes that she'll join him and sing together ritualistic songs to summon the dark lord himself and make little satan loving children..But as is always the case, deals with the devil don't go as planned and he ends up being an emotional cructh for Nino to use to overcome her feelings for someone she hasn't seen since the medieval times. Even when he manages to "confess" his feelings he quickly falls back to his cuck form and prompts her with all of his might to jump onto Momo and drain him from his bodily fluids.

As for Momo.....Dear lord deliver me from characters with no characterization. Sure Momo has some backstory which was explored for all 3 seconds but apart from that i think he was there just to be there so we can be reminded that he exists...Apart from the fact that Nino calls his name every 3 god damn seconds...And no i'm not being stupid i swear, she litterally says "Momo" every 2 lines or so.

So far this seems like twilight but even more stupider...So where does the music fit in?

Like i said Yuzu has a band which Nino joined later on to become their vocalist. This band is their secret thus they all wear masks and disguise as characters from Alice in Wonderland..So like Slipknot but more mainstream..

I really liked this part of the anime cause the band was alt rock and all was well until the one who voiced Nino started singing. Make no mistake she has a nice-ish voice but it's not for this kind of music. Rock needs guts and rasp and soul which she didn't have..For a pop band she would be perfect cause that needs no skill at all but rock is another realm of vocal ranges altogether. The end result is appaling, she sure tries her best to sound the part but ends up putting out screams that animals make when they die. I don't know who thought she was the best pck but i hope you rot in hell for all eternity for this sacrilege.

To add insult to injury all performances by the band are in CG, which seems to be a trend in anime these days cause it saves money and time...So naturally the on screen product looks like watching the fat, sweating face of Ron Jeremy in a porn film when he climaxes.. Not a beautiful sight is it? Well fuck you, you're gonna get CG in many other scenes as well..Feeling the burn in your eyes already?

And don't think that the rest of the animation is even remotely better cause it isn't. I found many instances where the animation was wayyyyyyyyyyyyy inconsistent and weirdly scenes where even the food depiction was better than the one for characters.

I don't think there is more to say about this anime..Unhealthy obssessions, love triangles, the characters and their motivations are paper thin and at times borderline retarted and of course twinkle twinkle...And i'm not joking about this part of the anime, there's an entire episode with nothing but that. The conclusion of the series is just a huge leap back to where it all started, with Momo ditching Nino again because his evil mom threatened to hurt her, Nino quitting the band without any explanation for it, Yuzu quitting the band without any explanation for it, while helping Nino get dicked down by Momo…

So if you want to watch rehashed scenes over and over again, a story that goes nowhere and characters that play no part in their own story please do go ahead..

1.5/10 story
3.5/10 animation
5.5/10 sound
2/10 characters
3/10 overall
KuroOkami's avatar
Jul 20, 2017

OK, I really felt like I needed to write a review on this show, since it is rated fairly well, but most of the reviews just rip it up one side and down the other. I don't know if it's that those people started watching the show with certain expectations, but I really enjoyed the show. Now I fully admit that I'm a big softy that like romance stories and I'm liking the music anime a lot now too. That being said, I think Fukumenkei Noise fits very well into this category of anime with shows like NANA and last years' Fuuka.

WARNING. From this point on there will probably be some spoilers, so read on only if you don't mind finding out some things.

STORY:
The story of Fukumenkei Noise, or Anonymous Noise as it's referred to in English, is clearly a romance and music anime. For the most part the focus stays on Nino Arisugawa (aka Alice), a freshman in high school who is a little weird and anti-social. She goes around always wearing a mask because she feels like she can't breathe from always wanting to scream out loud. The reason for this phobia or behavior stems from an incident 6 years prior when her neighbor, best friend and first love, Momo Sasaki, suddenly disappeared one day due to his family skipping town due to financial problems. Nino and Momo would often sing with each other out their bedroom windows at night and he encouraged her to always keep singing when others said she was too loud or annoying. When Momo disappeared, Nino felt like she lost a part of herself that day and had only Momo's words from their last day together to keep her going, "If we can't see each other anymore... I hope, one day, we can use your song as a guide to find each other again." But her friend's absence was just too much and she stopped singing completely even though she often went to the beach where she was last with Momo.

One day Nino met Kanade Yuzuriha (aka Yuzu), a boy her age, who was writing music in the sand at the beach. Something about Yuzu's song resonated with Nino and she was able to sing again. She would meet up with Yuzu each week and learn more of his music to sing and talk about why she was always the beach, looking for her friend. Yuzu was immediately draw to Arisugawa, whom he nicknamed Alice, because he had loved music and singing and her voice was the same song and the voice that he was losing. Yuzu encouraged Alice to keep singing his music and that that would help Alice find her friend again. But then he suddenly disappears as well. From that point on, Alice would go to the beach every day for six years and sing Yuzu's song hoping that somehow her friend Momo would somehow hear and come back to her.

Fast forward six years to high school, and Alice is suddenly reunited with Yuzu at a concert for the opening ceremonies of her new school. Yuzu, who was playing guitar and had written the music they were playing, had continued writing music and even secretly formed an up-and-coming band "in NO hurry to shout" all for his muse and voice, Alice. Now, the genre tags for this anime state that there is a love triangle, but it's more like a love pentagram. Alice is still in love with Momo, but Yuzu has fallen in love with Alice. Miou, the current vocalist for "in NO hurry to shout" is secretly in love with Yuzu and has acted as his replacement for Alice until being reunited with her. And to complete our love pentagram we have Yoshito Haruno, "in NO hurry to shout's" bassist is in love with Miou, but his constant confessions fall on deaf ears because Miou is always taking them as Yoshito joking in order to cheer her up.


ANIMATION:
Animation is on par for most romance anime these days and I feel they do a good job of capturing the extra movement of people playing instruments. They do play more with camera focus and CGI effects than other shows like it, but it's to show that Alice is going somewhat berserk when she sings.

SOUND:
I have really come to like most of the music anime have grown to like just to listen to the music that comes from them. Stating that, I really enjoyed the soundtrack that comes from Fukumenkei Noise. A number of people complained about how many times they heard "Canary", but I did not feel that way at all. In fact, I think they did a good job of varying the music in the show. Other than the OP and ED, which are usually reused in some form in a lot of music anime, Fukumenkei Noise separates itself from the pack by not reusing the OP and ED songs and having 3 more originals, one of which has 2 versions because of the different vocal leads. I think 5-6 songs within a 12 episode anime is outstanding. The VA is decent and effects seem add to the overall performance. I, for one, really liked Canary and have added it to my current playlist of anime music.

CHARACTERS:
All of the characters are what you would expect from an anime of this genre. The main focus being on the female love interest of Nino Arisugawa (aka Alice), a cute, but loner introvert who's held onto her unrequited love for over six years. Both of the main male love interests, both secretly in love with Alice, but going about it in very different ways.  One keeps trying to get as close as possible and hold on, while the other is hiding and running away because he's not ready yet. It's the supporting cast that could have been fleshed out a little better. While I get why the focus isn't on them, I feel the only one they really try to develop in Miou Suguri and only because she does the bulk of interacting with Alice away from others. Most of the others feel like they are just conveniently there for the story and never get the depth of character that is in other shows of the genre.

OVERALL:
As I said before, I like both romance and music anime, so Fukumenkei Noise was right up my alley. Do I think it's realistic for a person (much less persons) to hold on to unrequited love for over six years, no, not really. But I don't think it's an obscure or even original idea within the romance anime genre. While I haven't read the original source manga, I really enjoyed the story for the most part and wouldn't mind seeing the series continue. I quickly breezed through the 12 episodes in an afternoon. I usually marathon watch most anime, and TV shows for that matter, so I rarely watch new shows until the entire season is complete as I can't stand to wait a week for the next episode and I definitely was glad to have the next episode ready a number of times to continue where the last episode had had a dramatic or important moment going on. I also enjoyed the soundtrack throughout Fukumenkei Noise and felt the use of the music tracks were generally appropriate and well used. If you enjoy either romance or music anime, I would definitely recommend giving Fukumenkei Noise a try.

7.5/10 story
7/10 animation
9/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
EchoEX's avatar
Mar 5, 2020

I really liked the story and the music BUT I didn't like the fact that Nino was hung up o n Momo and Momo was hung up on her. Nino was just plain annoying to be honest but the music and her vocals were so good! I loved the sound track from this anime. The guitars and drumming make me so happy. If you like crazy girl characters that are stuck fallen in love with one person and do things only for them, you'd probably like this anime.

7/10 story
8/10 animation
10/10 sound
6/10 characters
7/10 overall
KailaKin's avatar
Dec 7, 2018

I really wanted to like Anonymous Noise, I did. In theory it was right up my street, but in reality it was not.

A large part of the reason for this was the female protagonist, Nino. She is extraordinarly annoying, and since she forms a large part of the anime (being the "lead" character), that dramatically affects the rest of the anime.  If you like watching protagonists that are constantly either a) crying, b) screaming or saying how much they want to scream, c) depressed, or d) acting like a crazy person on stage, then you'll love Nino. Otherwise, you're liable to dislike her. A lot. I certainly felt nothing even close to sympathy for her.

Unfortunately, the other characters don't particularly make up for that either. Of the two male protagonists, only one of them held any type of appeal, and that was Yuzu. I suspect that Momo may have been more interesting if we learned more about him and his situation, and if Nino wasn't constantly crying about how much she wanted him. Seriously. Also, if he didn't come across as completely nonsensical (from my perspective.)

Now, sometimes a story can stand up despite poor characters, but this is not one of those cases. It's such a "character driven" plot that it simply fails to work. It's difficult to enjoy it when the love triangle plays a big part, and you don't actually see any real meat to it.

The animation is okay, but the use of CGI during the stages was...distracting and ugly to say the least. 

But the music was probably the highlight of this show. Which is just as well seeing as how the show has a lot of it in there - even if half of it is renditions of Canaria, or the characters singing [insert appropriate swear here] Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Ack. I didn't even mind Nino's voice, which a lot of people didn't seem to like.

Mild Spoiler:

All that said, I think my biggest annoyance is that it finally seemed like Nino might have developed some kind of motivation that went beyond Momo, that hope was crushed. It was about the only time I actually rooted for Nino.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
3/10 overall
Mareep's avatar
May 9, 2017

I'll put it simply.

THIS ANIME IS UTTER BULLSH!T.

Let's take it simply and fast. (well, not so fask but k)

-

(This is a review after watching 5 episodes but I doubt it will get better...)

Contains spoilers!

-

  • Story

Story on its own wouldn't be so bad. But the way they put it is really bad. Story is basically about a girl Nino who's really liked to sing since she was a kid. She had a good friend - Momo (boy obviously). They used to sing together all the time but one day Momo moves away.

↑Level of autism is strong with this one part 

Nino is really frustrated and stops to sing. But she'll eventually meet a boy Yuzu who'll start to write songs for her every day. She obviously starts singing again. But even though she's doing better she's all f#cked up. But f#cked up in very high level of f#ck-up-ness.

↑This part consists of 2-3 episodes (?) and it's about nothing but ANNOYINGLY CRYING AND SCREAMING Nino. IT'S REALLY F#CKING ANNOYING. She should find a medical help. It's not normal.

In next episodes Nino starts high school and reunite with Yuzu. He has a band now and one day Nino have to take place of their vocalist. The concert is all f#cked up because she is. Because guess what? She is very happy but suddenly remembers some sh!t and that's basically it. And this actually happens all the time.

What I'm trying to say is that in one episode the characters can change their moods from good to bad and bad to good like 5 times? Like rly? You must be kidding me.

-

  • Animation

I doon't really like the animation. Maybe they wanna interpret the manga style? Dunno because I didn't read it. But it looks very cheap to me and there are many CGIs. 

  • Sound

OST and songs are really good BUT! I really prefered Miou's (band's former vocalist) voice. Nino's voice is horrible.

  • Characters

They're bullsh!t. (lazy to write it, maybe later)

-

  • And what is the biggest bullsh!t?

Because Miou left the band Nino becomes their new vocalist - vocalist of In NO Hury. BUT HOW THE HELL IS IT EVEN POSSIBLE?

They have different voices, Miou sings pretty well and Nino have really forced singing imo + she must be mentally ill.

But tell me HOW THE HELL THEIR FANS DIDN'T NOTICE?! That a totally different person is singing?

IT'S BULLSH!T. THE END.

2/10 story
2/10 animation
6/10 sound
1/10 characters
1/10 overall