Amagi Brilliant Park - Reviews

sort
Honeypie675's avatar
Jul 18, 2015

Amagi Brilliant Park is definitely not one of those animes where you just sit and wonder what the f*ck you just turned on. It has a decent and compelling story and I have to admit I cried at the end. There was enough of a story and enough character development to make you care about what was going on. I laughed numerous times over the random shenanigans that went on and over some of the characters reactions to different events.

I really enjoyed the animation. It flowed and was very clean cut; it kind of made me think of Free! in its smoothness of lines and movement. The music choices fit very nicely; they were silly when they needed to be silly or serious when they needed to be serious.

My only thing about this anime is that while there was some character development I just don't know if there was enough to make any character memorable. I mean, I get that most people will probably remember Sento or Moffle but other than that no one else was memorable enough. Not even the main character Seiya Kanie was memorable. Heck, I don't think Sento or Moffle would end up on anybody's Top 5 Anime Characters list.

However, this anime is fairly new so if there is another season or two I feel that the character development will change and get better because we as watchers will have more time to get to know the characters and maybe get a little more background story on a few.

If you're into a cute anime about a young school boy saving a magical park while teaching and learning some important life principles, this is the anime for you!

8/10 story
9/10 animation
8/10 sound
6/10 characters
8/10 overall
YuiYui's avatar
Dec 28, 2014

Warning this Review may and probably will contain spoilers-

One of today’s reviews will be on Amagi Brilliant Park, an anime that at the time of this review only finished a few days ago. Now a quick summary, Amagi Brilliant Park is a unique anime that you don’t come across often. The story is based around a theme park and Kanie an ‘average’ high schooler. It’s a story on how Kanie revives the park from its sorry state with help from Isuzu and Moffle plus many other characters. It also adds some drama nearer the end.

STORY:

The story like I said is unique, it has pretty much all my favourite genres mixed into one anime. The comedy aspect was consistence and even the jokes made me laugh every time. The fantasy element was clear. The story was quite amusing however if it was a longer anime I would of liked to see all the stages they had to go through to get to the final product (I found that they managed to draw in customers pretty quickly and I was unsure what changed so much), another thing that bothered me was what happened near the end of episode 12 but that is something else, I thought that left it open for a second series.

ANIMATION:

The animation is beautiful and I can seem to find any faults in it. It is the typical Kyoto animation style and is very similar to anime such as Beyond the Boundary. Just like them anime there were few faults in the animation or storyline, the anime just needs more episodes.

SOUND:

The opening was catchy….I mean really very catchy. So catchy that I find myself humming the tune everywhere T_T. However the ending wasn’t my favourite if you compare it to the opening. The voice acting was spot on, each character had a very good voice match. (I am actually hoping for an English dub, just to see if they can match up that perfection).

CHARACTERS:

The characters seem to be well thought out and their personalities all fit great around each other. I am also told that Moffle looks quite similar to another anime character from Full Metal Panic! Which I found was a sweet touch onto the series. The characters bring the whole show together and make it an awesome show.

In conclusion, if you are looking for something light to watch here is a good anime to consider, plus do you like the new review style I thought I would try ^_^

-AngelBeatsYui-

8/10 story
9/10 animation
8.5/10 sound
8.5/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
theSentinel's avatar
Jan 22, 2015

This anime was entertaining.  Now, I dont watch a lot of anime in this catagory, so taking my word for it might not be a good idea.  I just know that I wanted to watch it every week.  I thought this anime was very charming though.  

Story: very different, but not a bad kind of different.  I suppose I mean unique.  I love seeing unique ideas.  I havent given it a 10 yet because the story is not finished yet.  However they did a great job making a cascading storyline.  There is a larger problem behind the initial problem.  That makes for a great second season that will hopefully wrap everything up.  the story was touching though.  Lots of characters, fun place and doing fun things.  

Animation:  I just wrote my review on argevollen.  That anime is an action shounen kind of anime, this one beat it with regards to animation as well as artwork.  Granted Argevollen was bad, but I rather enjoyed the animation and artwork of Amagi as well.  Not perfect, but pleasing.

Sounds: Op and end were good, sad music really put me in the mood and happy music was. . . well happy.  not much to say here, I find that action animes are more challenging in the music department, but Amagi did well enough.

Characters: tons of fun characters, you should recognize some characters as well.  They are all pretty hilarious and I found that it wasnt too hard to get into the characters.  Every kind of dynamic appears in the characters.  Lots of building as well for only 12 episodes. I know there will be more character building to come in season 2 (assuming there is one), so im looking forward to it.

Overall:  Sorry about this review, I kind of rambled a bit.  Basically, this anime was super fun to watch and kept me engaged and chuckling all the way through.  The main story was deep and moving for me.  Of course the risk of death always helps a little bit, and these kinds of animes typically dodge that kind of thing.  Regardless of that small detail however, it was enjoyable.

I highly reccommend watching this anime

10/10 story
9/10 animation
8/10 sound
9/10 characters
9/10 overall
Tussunami's avatar
Dec 19, 2014

The way of main character overcoming harsh situations is entertaining. Plot is developing very slow but it made me teary for one time. If you don’t have anything major to watch and at the same time you want to laugh Amagi might be your choice.

6/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
7/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
century100's avatar
Dec 14, 2017

The story of Amagi Brilliant Park involves characters named Maple Landers from another dimension (probably Canada) that moved here to gain energy from happiness. Other than that fact, it's mostly realistic, with running a theme park and gaining fans and revenue. 

The story is pretty interesting, captivating me for the first couple of episodes. I lost some interest watching it at some point, but being the otaku I am, I don't tend to leave anime behind without completing them first; so watching a few more episode got my interest back. So basically, what I'm saying is that the anime can be interesting, fun and boring at times.

The design is great. Some eyecandy here and there (cough, big bust, cough), as well as some cute looking characters. What I REALLY like though, is Isuzu's gun...damn.

There aren't any visible flaws with how the characters speak, but I would opt for an English dub. As for the music, it's pretty good, but I like the song in the intro the most.

The characters each have their own unique personalities. It's also somewhat satisfying to see Kanie's transition from narcissism to the opposite. Still loving the gun. The diverse personalities are a great thing for a peppy anime like this, but it wouldn't really hurt to include a few other ethnicities, right?

This anime was pretty fun to watch but like I said before, it can get boring sometimes. I recommend adding a sudden turn of events in some episodes to keep the interest consistent.

Overall, it has been a very good anime. It was pretty colourful and fun to watch as it neared the end.

7/10 story
6/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall