Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka - Reviews

sort
mahius's avatar
Oct 15, 2014

Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka is 12 episodes of a typical ecchi-harem anime. Once again, I'll state I hate those genres/combination of genres and that will affect this review. So, you'd expect me to now tell you that this is a typical ecchi harem anime. It is. HOWEVER, towards the end things get a little interesting, if only for the one fact that it literally confronts the harem genre for what is possibly its biggest problem. And it makes you think, or gives you hope. that this might be a bit different. Feel free to watch the first few episode and then skip to the last three, since the others are typical filler/ episodes of the genre where little occurs. I actually got bored and barely paid attention to the middle episodes.

Animation

The animation quality is great, the style is typical for the most part though. However, they do often use funny cartoony facial expressions, so that's a good thing. This is an ecchi anime, though only a couple of characters have obviously large boobs. There are a lot of unnecessary panty shots/fan-service shots, though the most offensive remain in context for the most part. I think I'm being desensitised to the ecchi bullshit, since I didn't notice it that much. I guess that is the result, when I'm trying to bulldoze through the remaining ecchi anime on my watchlist. I look forward to the day that I finish the last one, then I never have to watch a terrible ecchi/harem ever again. Gah off-topic.

Sound

Sound is okay, not terrible since I actually noticed it and it was suitable for the atmosphere. Not worthy of going for the soundtrack though. Not much to really say. This anime is only in Japanese and I recognised Yuuhi's voice actor to be familiar. She's done many voices like Louise from ZnT and Alphonse from FMA. Of course, this means you need subtitles.

Characters

The main character Junichi Nagase, a high school student. He is the typical, indecisive, coward, lack of empathy harem protagonist. He even has a porn stash, though he isn't so much a pervert as other harem protagonists. Everyone calls him Genokiller, an image of him made up by others to make him seem intimidating. In the later episode it is mentioned that he is too nice... well he doesn't get upset at others too much. Most importantly is the fact that he acts strong, not in the literal way though. He hides his feelings and isn't true to himself. Overall a disappointing character and the final nail in the coffin? A hidden sister complex (explained in the spoiler section).

Yuuhi Katagiri is the typical hot-headed tsundere rich girl, one of the two main romantic (yeah right...) options. Of course she comes from a rich family, of course she actually likes Junichi and of course she physically assualts him on many cases. What's more is that her father has decided that she is to be married to him at the start, so she is Junichi's fiance and goes to live with him to 'see how he is'. Could it get any more cliche? Towards the end however, her personality shiws through and she contributes to the interesting confrontation of the genre.

Minato Nagase is Junichi's (relatively) big-boobed sister, not really known whether she is older or younger than him. A typical 'same  age' sister who takes care of Junichi's every need, except for the obvious ones she shouldn't do. She knows all about her brother and is good at everything related to housework. She decides to give her brother some space, especially where it concerns Yuuhi. But of course, they just had to give her a brother complex (explained in the spoiler section) making her the other main romantic option.

The others are side characters. The parents are actually explained for once. They are literally secret agents, doing cliche secret agent jobs like defusing bombs or escaping from facilities. There is a big-boobed childhood friend, Tsukasa Kiryuu, who is surprisingly not of interest to Junichi. They also have a typical pretentious ojou-sama rich girl character (as if Yuuhi wasn't rich enough) Karen Ayanokouji who also has a hidden crush on Junichi, though she doesn't get mad at him. unlike Yuuhi. The teacher is a bit wierd and the best friend, Fuyuhiko Nishino, is actually an OK character, not too pervy or jealous of Junichi.

Story

The story is the typical harem ecchi plot (or lack of it) where nothing intersting really happens besides characters being introduced. Did I mention how predictable almost every aspect of the story is? *But wait!* Towards the end things get interesting and this is the only thing that pushes this anime slightly higher than its too numerous genre pool. And thats the only redeeming feature, that some interesting stuff is said about being true to yourself and not being indecisive. Really gives the viewer hope that this will be different... you'll see. There is of course the controversy of the incest between Junichi and his sister, but you should have gathered why I haven't complained about it. I saw it coming a mile away. (saved for the spoiler section).

Conclusion

Overall, an average harem ecchi anime that questions one of the biggest problems of the entire genre at the end, as well as having a bit of a 'moral of the story'. So that alone makes it worth watching over all the other crap. If you want an idea of how a typical harem ecchi anime goes, this is the one, since its only slightly better than the rest of the cesspit and won't be as much a waste of your time due to the interesting last few episodes. It's still a typical bad harem ecchi though. I wouldn't really recommend this to anyone. And if you're in it for the fanservice, you might as well go watch porn or hentai cos nothing really happens.

Family-friendliness Rating: 5/5 Only because pink nipples, despite being in context (lower is better)

Overall Rating: 5/10 (higher is better)

SPOILER SECTION

It is obvious that Junichi and Minato aren't blood related siblings. It's not officially mentioned in the anime, but at towards the end it becomes apparent and they pull a dick move of leaving it vague by not allowing Junichi to hear it from his dad. If he knew, he'd probably be in his sister like a hermit crab in a shell. Oh wait, he's a typical coward harem protagonist. No sex for him then.

6/10 story
5/10 animation
7.5/10 sound
3/10 characters
5/10 overall
ThatAnimeSnob's avatar
Jan 18, 2012

If there is one thing worse than harems, that is harems based on porn games. Of course, the fans of such … hm … games … will refuse the term porn games and go for something more linguistically intelligent, such as eroge, date sim or My-Dreamworld-which-is-better-than-real-life. Anyways, whatever you wanna call them, it is basically about games where you press the right options and if they are right the girls drop on four and do their thing to you. There are of course non-erotic games as well which focus solely on romance but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM. You get to screw every 2D girl in it; I checked the HCGs as, hm, material for this review. Then again the anime is based on the PS2 version, which is sex free and has different girls to interact with, but the original concept is still the habba-habba!

So here is the thing. Let’s say someone for any reason would want to make an anime adaptation of such a game. He sure wouldn’t do it faithfully to the storyline. Not only because it is not profitable since nobody would buy the game if it is the exact same thing. Also because you can’t make a linear story about a game with over 6 different paths. There is also the omnibus gimmick (which is dreadful) but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM.

So when it comes to adaptations, there are only two choices available. To make a few hentai OVAs with the first part of the game, or a harem series. Making many hentai OVAs or few harem episodes is NOT profitable. So Akane-iro went for the half season harem option.

The first major difference you will notice when turning a porn game to anime is that the protagonist swifts from a “hump anything female you encounter” dude, to a “please don’t touch me or I will faint” dude. Yes, he turned into that pathetic, lame, disgraceful male specimen, called an indecisive lead. Pure horror.

The rest of the girls retain most of their features from the game, which is not a hard thing to do since they are harem girls. One hairstyle, one vague character trait and one excuse to get all horny with the fail lead is all these creatures need.

The story is again just an excuse; watching the first two and the last two episodes is more than enough to get all the plot… all five lines of it. But even that makes absolutely no sense as this is a story where the lead is forced to be married to a girl that he saw for the first time in his life, getting cockteased by his own sister, and being constantly surrounded by five more blunt chicks who don’t seem to have any interest to other men but him. Plus there are scenes with military invasions and battles with huge robots and monsters which last around 30 seconds each and I swear to God I have no idea how the frakk they are all relevant to this excuse, called the story.

Yet having 4 out of 12 episodes with a somewhat plot means there is actually 1/3rd of the duration with something going on, worthy of paying attention, right? WRONG! The whole set up is completely retarded and makes no efforts to appeal to our suspension of disbelief. Out of nowhere the lead is cockteased by a dozen women who have no problem cosplaying in their own school or rushing to wash his back in the bathroom or kiss him passionately … on his penis. Did I mention his sister is the no.2 most possible sex partner?

The ending is another expected thing to notice and nerdraeg about. You see, there is this term called shipping, where some fans prefer one girl over another to end up with the lead. Having the lead choosing a girl will disappoint some of them, so the producers went again for that dreadful ending where the lead simply remains indecisive and keeps getting cockteased by all the main girls. Also, the last episode loses all logic and coherence by trying to pass as a mindfuck or a social drama around things THAT HAVE NO SERIOUSNESS!

As for all the rest of the episodes… well, guess what, the beach episode, the spa episode, the school activity episode. Things all harems copy since the dawn of time and are nothing but excuses for the girls to expose themselves and keep reminding us that they are nothing other than fapping material.

Akane-iro is a fine example of how dreadful adaptations are and how lame harems are next to the source material. It has nothing to bother in it; the humour is weak, the characters are blunt archetypes, the story is completely retarded and fillerish, and the music score completely boring and uninspiring.

The only good thing it occasionally has is the animation and the voice acting… when they are not all soft porn. The character figures are rather well drawn and the voice acting is nice. Too bad the backgrounds are weaksauce and the BGM forgettable tunes. And too bad the camera keeps making huge zoom ins to the girls’ faces or legs to distract the viewer from noticing how average anything else looks and sounds.

So there you go; another unimaginative and boring anime, made just to sell to the fans of the game or to bust the balls of the rest of us with the inability of the lead to simply go for it, and bait us to play the game just to see that (well, it did made me browse the HCGs). It is another fine example of how exploiting and retarded the genre is and how innovation was killed by them just for a few quick bucks.

BURN THE WITCH!

1/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
1/10 characters
2.5/10 overall
TALESHUNTER1's avatar
Jun 23, 2011

Truth to be told, I had high hopes for this anime, but it left me rather disappointed. The score I gave was generous, perhaps too generous, but that's how I am.

The plot is a typical school life with several wierd settings. The male lead is engaged to a girl and all seemed to be going fine until the final episode, which I found extremely unsatisfying. Maybe that is the reason my disappointment with this anime enlarged. It was promising and the plot started to build up into something interesting, then *poof, everything was ruined in the end and it seemed like the anime reverted back to its beginning, starting this never-ending, dull drama again. The animation is nothing worth noting, but it was pretty decent. There weren't any tunes that caught my ears either, so the music didn't gather much support from me. The characters were beautifully designed, which was why I had high hopes for this anime. Every character had personality and didn't feel like an empty husk of meat, but alas, the plot did not fufill the purpose of its colorful characters. 

Although the game itself is of decent quality, the anime does not do it justice. My hope is that they remake the anime, but usually my dreams end up in dust. People who just want something to waste their time on, be my guest and watch this huge disappointment. It will please you for most of the time, but don't expect there to be a satisfying ending.    

5/10 story
7.5/10 animation
6/10 sound
8.5/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
Doommuks's avatar
Nov 10, 2009

Ok... very first of all.... the Whole anime story was ok.... but the ending? What the hell with all that incest? Its not right, its not good.... ok its good (for pervs) (like me ^^ (the good side, the good side) but still......alright...

the anime was about a guy that is like a legend of his school in kinda bad way.. nobody hates him but everybody knows an urban legend about Geno killer witch was created by his friends, etc, etc, etc.....

So one day a new student comes too school, a girl..... and that guy, i dont know, maby misunderstood or smtah and kissed her, stole her first kiss.... So she starts to hate him, but she kinda falls in love with him..... but hates him, HATES HIM.... Oh and she is his fiance... and must live with him....

^^ end of episode 1

So the anime is good but the ending and the whlode love story with the sister... ruined everything..so

7.5/10... if you have something else to watch, dont drop this for it, but still, when you have freee time, watch this.

7.5/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
2 0 this review is Funny Helpful
KiTtiAK's avatar
Jan 16, 2010

Akane-Iro had the potential to be a 'cute' little series, and having watched the first 11 episodes in a sitting, I found it quite enjoyable. Unfortunately theres always a 'but'... That 'but' happens to be episode 11, the 'coming about' of the plot episode as it were. It was heavily disappointing to say the least and left me wanting the last 3 hours or so of my life back. I have no desire to watch the final episode now (already know what happens), and for anyone else wanting to watch this series, (that i do recommend up to a certain point by the way) I suggest watching up to episode 10 and stopping. At which point of course you are required to make up your own ending to this cute little story, which of course, could only be better then the actual ending. *HINT* Think along the lines of cute and fuzzy, not unreasonable incest and absolute nonsensical story writing (unnecessarily thrown into and thus ruining the series for no other apparent purpose other then to showcase the writers oddness). Otherwise though, enjoy!

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
6/10 overall
2 0 this review is Funny Helpful