Why register?

make an anime and manga list, and more! all free!

Theme

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Review

January 26, 2008

story 7.5/10

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann screenshot

The sci-fi shounen genre has never had it this good. Okay, not never, but Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann is one of those rarities which has clawed its way out of the pile of junk that stinks up the shounen genre to provide something truly refreshing. Tengen Toppa is Gundam on speed, Dragon Ball with brains, Code Geass with sentiments, and has a liberal dose of Toward the Terra TV's epic feel; it's loud, it's brash, it's explosive just like all the others, and yet it actually spins out a mature and compelling story with deep characters and moving subplots.

Tengen Toppa progresses in what can be described as two distinct chapters separated by a time leap. The first chapter is a breathtaking and - dare I say it - flawless introduction to a unique setting and immediately likeable protagonists; moreover, the ‘quest' structure means the story progresses at a steady and logical pace, whereby every power-up feels natural and every victory is truly epic. The second chapter is an unexpected clever twist to the initial set-up, and, as such, will not be discussed for fear of spoiling.

Needless to say, Tengen Toppa's focus shifts from providing a series of power-ups and simple good-versus-evil battles to a fairly complex weaving of political and philosophical ‘grey areas', human empowerment, and romance. The overall effect of this style of plotting is shockingly effective; what starts off as a hyperactive conglomeration of concepts, such as mecha combining and fighting with giant drill-shaped arms, and primitive societies living in caves, actually takes on real meaning in the grand scheme of things.

However, while the second chapter smoothly builds on all the concepts developed in the first, what mars Tengen Toppa's largely excellent achievements is the jarring transition point in the middle and a somewhat drawn-out battle. With the three episodes of transition in the middle, the pacing suddenly becomes awkward, the characters have undergone some drastic changes and so have to be reintroduced, and something about the extravagant style appears to fade; with the ending, the problem is just the length and unimaginable metaphysical scale to which the battle evolves. Luckily, what stays with me long after having finished Tengen Toppa, is not the flaws, but the indomitable energy and eccentricity with which the tale is spun.

animation 8/10

In all honesty, I haven't enjoyed a world concept like this since Jyu Oh Sei. The effort put into developing both a believable and yet wholly refreshing universe is admirable; the eye gets to feast on a quirky colour palette of primary colours, inventive animal species, bold outfits, and truly unique mecha designs.

As well as motion that is fairly smooth, the animation allows for hilarious facial expressions and enough juvenile creativity (did I mention the giant arm-drills?) to appeal to the child in anyone. Moreover, the distinct ‘comic book' use of light and shadow and extreme camera angles makes for an excellent dramatic atmosphere during many of the climactic scenes. Also watch out for an episode early on which is actually directed and animated by the same studio that created Beck - the animation style is just unsuitable and may call for an uncomfortable adjustment.

sound 8/10

The pop-rock opening theme is suitably lively and fun to listen to with every episode, and the second more punky ending theme does grow on you after a while because of the catchy chorus. Furthermore, the score during the episodes is a good mix of instrumentals, hip hop, metal, and electronic beats; in particular, I enjoy the epic ‘Libera Me From Hell' which moves from rap to opera to instrumental all in one song. In terms of voice acting, everyone performs well, although Kamina and Viral stand out as being the most dynamic vocally.

characters 8/10

Tengen Toppa would not be half the anime it is without Kamina, the thread that holds the entire fabric together, both literally and symbolically. True, Simon is in fact the central protagonist, but being cocky, charming, invigorating, tragic, and fearless, the star quality Kamina brings to Tengen Toppa is unrivalled.

Simon, on the other hand, does not show his mettle until quite late into the series; much of the beginning and middle episodes are used to peel off the layers of his innocence one by one until what is left is the determined core. In the end, despite riding a powerful mecha and making some great speeches, Simon turns out to be only half as charismatic as might be expected. He is certainly not as fun to watch as some of the other less central characters.

Those others would include Yoko the sassy sharpshooter, who becomes the sole victim of the tiresome ecchi shots; Rossiu, a former priest's apprentice whose development is one of the most complex; and Viral the beastman, who turns out to be far more than just an amusing recurring antagonist. Actually, the high number of fully developed and memorable characters is commendable considering Tengen Toppa is only twenty-seven episodes.

overall 7.5/10

Apart from an inelegant time leap and a slightly drawn-out ending, this series packs in many high quality elements. Combining gung-ho action, comedy, ecchi, zany animation, and witty characterisation, Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann has something for everyone and is a safe bet for anybody looking for something accessible, all-round fun, and with a heart-stopping sense of adventure.

Anime Info

Simon lives a boring life in the underground village of Jeeha, where his main job day in and day out is to dig tunnels. His close friend Kamina, however, longs to bust out of their oppressive existence and reach the surface world where open skies and adventure await! One day, during his usual digs, Simon discovers a robot with a big face buried amongst the rocks. No sooner has he shown Kamina his mysterious find when two beings from the surface crash land into Jeeha Village - one is a gun-toting woman calling herself Yoko and the other is a terrifying mecha piloted by a Beastman! Seeing their chance to escape village drudgery, Kamina rallies Simon and Yoko to defeat the invader using their new robot, Lagann. However, upon breaking out onto the surface world, Simon, Kamina, and Yoko encounter enemies more powerful than they could have envisioned. Their fight for adventure just turned into a war for the survival of the human race - will their lust for freedom hold out against such terrible odds?

my anime:

not rated

About the Author

VivisQueen's avatar

VivisQueen

I'll review anything as long as there are words in the dictionary to describe it. Disagree with me? Want to leave feedback? Please do, but take a look at my personal rating scale first.

More Reviews

comments

Raylord avatar Raylord
Apr 2, 2011

 You should have pushed on Quitters are always losers they can never get anything good if they don't push on. At the very least gather enough energy to make the trek to episode 5.

default avatar acolytetojippity
Jan 21, 2011

this anime sucked.  i dropped it after the 2nd episode, simply because i felt myself wanting to shoot Kamina.  I've never understood what people see in this.  It's just a shitty story, combined with annoying character, sub-par animation, an some of the stupidest mechs i've seen since G-Gundam.

dannyc avatar dannyc
Nov 30, 2009

Great review. The show definitely has that epic feel.

As a side question, why did you change your avatar to Yoko before you became "inactive"? Could it be because your personalities are similar? Of course, I know this question probably won't be answered any time soon...

captaincrunch avatar captaincrunch
Nov 5, 2009

Great review.  I can understand how you get to that score going by the AP metrics, but I think this series deserves a little extra just for the sheer fun of it, its a shame Anime planet only gives 4 sections and a final... they should really have a "fun factor" or enjoyement section to give a rating for... by far that would have earned an 11/10 IMO.  I swear there were countless times watching this series that I just jumped out my chair for no reason but to shout out in sheer joy.  I bet my neighbors wondered what the hell I was doing when they heard cries of "Who the hell do you think I am!" in the middle of the night.

You also neglected to mention the fact that the whole series is basically a parody of itself, and of the mecha/shonen genre.  It's quite clear with the way over-the-top power-ups, rediculous dialogues, and cliche characters.  It's not meant to be taken too seriously, although it does get deep at times.

VivisQueen avatar VivisQueen
Oct 31, 2009

Hi requerent,

Thank you for your comment. Please see below my response to your concerns:

There isn't really anything about your review that explains how the elements you've outlined are actually flaws.

I said in the fourth paragraph that the ending was drawn-out i.e. regardless of the quality of the events, they take too long to happen. I also said the time leap was 'inelegant' because the characters are pretty much reinvented and so we have to spend a while getting used to them again. This may not have been your experience, but it was certainly mine.

Also, saying that the last series of fights is nothing but a string of power-ups (reader's comment) is pretty ignorant. Each obstacle effectively represented different barriers and sacrifices in the hero's cycle.The form of the hero grows to embody the trials, tribulations, and sacrifices of all humanity, culminating in the ultimate avatar of humanity's optimistic ability to grow toward tomorrow, that is Tengen Toppa *man tears*.

I appreciate that is your interpretation of what the end battle means. Me having a different interpretation does not make me ignorant. Ignorance would require there to be some kind of relevant fact that I missed. Yes, the heroes have to face personal obstacles, some of which may be symbolic of humanity's struggles in general. The real question is did there have to be that many? Did they have to go from fighting one blob of metaphysical thingie to fighting another lightshow of metaphysical thingie to fighting a wriggly bit of metaphysical thingie for numerous episodes? Absolutely not. No matter how profound, watching the same thing over and over again gets tiring.

IMO, Kittan, Viral, and Kamina all share the limelight for cool shounen look-up-to male role models, but none of them have nothing on Simon in the last episode.

Simon does nothing that Kamina or Kittan haven't already done previously i.e. pump his fist, yell some inspirational words and kick arse for the good of those who look to him. But who is cooler will ultimately just come down to our individual tastes. In light of Kamina and Kittan I found Simon lacklustre. If you wish to elaborate without spoiling, by all means drop me a comment on my profile or a PM in my forum inbox. Or heck, we could continue this in the forum thread, where this kind of discussion is always easier.

I don't think this review is bad, but the score could be a little more liberal. 7.9/10 for quite possibly greatest work of shounen ever made is somewhat silly.

In order to keep my ratings consistent, I have my own internal scale, as do all the other site reviewers, and you can find them on our profile pages. There is no external scale on AP - we discussed it once but it was thought not workable. Anyway, what is an 8 to valondar may not be an 8 for me. 7.9 is an excellent rating in my scale. So far, review-wise, I have two anime in the 9s and fifteen anime in the 8s, but for TTGL to break the 8 barrier I would need to consider it on par with Seirei no Moribito or Kaiji, which, in my view, it is not.

So... it's cool that their pseudo-science and metaphysics was so dead on with real theories in physics. From a physics point of view, I really enjoyed how quickly and effectively they dove into questionable sciences.

There is nothing I could say about metaphysics in TTGL that's worth the dung it's written in. However, the intended audience certainly weren't meant to read anything too intellectual into such a show, so I'll forgive myself for not 'getting it'. Personally, though, I think you might be reading a little too much into it, but hey, there's nothing wrong with that and at least we both agree the show is great. :)

You must be logged in to leave review comments. Login or sign up today!