Why register?

make an anime and manga list, and more! all free!

Theme

Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson Review

by: sothis
December 30, 2007

story 8.5/10

Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson screenshot

I had no idea what to expect with Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson. At first glance, and based on the synopses out there, I figured I'd be watching a Captain Tylor-esque OVA with the addition of a baby; but what I got was a genuinely hilarious romp through the lives of a very unlikely crew of misfits, and a young and curious child.

Don't be mistaken - Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson is a slice-of-life comedy anime at heart. Most of the humor is derived from watching Andy the robot attempt to parent Corona, even though he has no emotions or programming to do so. For example, he tries to participate in a family field day the planet is having - as others crawl under a rope latticework, Andy plows right through it (entangling the unfortunate Tah in the process); as others climb a wall, Andy smashes it to bits in his wake. He also randomly grows to what appears to be an unlimited size, changing from a slightly larger shape to a giant mecha form at will. It's these moments that made me laugh out loud.

There's a bit of sentimental value to the story as well, as the giant puffball mother struggles to raise Corona but also parent her - with sad but necessary results. Near the end, there's a chance that the crew will lose Corona, and given the sincere and heartwarming way these misfits bonded with her, you want nothing more than for them to remain together.

If you are looking for a short and hilarious anime in the vein of Suddenly Princess or Jewel BEM Hunter Lime, Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson's story will not disappoint.

animation 7.5/10

Just like Outlanders or Jewel BEM Hunter Lime, Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson's character designs are quirky and unique. Robot Andy has a hilarious blank expression on his face at all times, and the absurdness of Tah's brain face and body and the puffball's exterior are quite endearing.

Backgrounds and such are detailed, and overall the animation is well done.

sound 6.5/10

Forgettable, but ultimately fitting for the anime, Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson's audio was decent enough. All voice acting was appropriate for each of the characters.

characters 8.5/10

Truly what made the anime shine; from Corona herself to Tah and beyond, each character has a distinct and interesting personality and plenty of quirks to boot. Andy is definitely my favorite, with his deadpan expression and hilariously well-meaning (but clumsy and awkward) ways. The motherly puffball is my second favorite, with the always-in-the-wrong-place-at-the-wrong-time Tah being a close third. The characters definitely are the crux of the story, and what makes the anime so entertaining to watch.

overall 8/10

Uchuu Kazoku Carlvinson is one of the better comedy anime I've seen. The characters are unique and funny, the animation is fitting, and the story itself is humorous, yet endearing. If you are looking for a short watch, try this one on for size.

Anime Info

  • OVA (1 ep x 45 min)
  • 1988

When the ragtag crew of the Carlvinson saw a spaceship crash land on a planet below, they had no idea they’d stumble across a now-orphaned baby girl! With none of her kind in sight, the cat-like Beruka, brain-faced Tah, robot Andy and the rest of the gang decide to raise little Corona until her people can be found. The very unorthodox “parents” and “extended family” of the Carlvinson will watch Corona grow from a baby to a young child, and will participate in mock dragonfly rescues, family field days, and more! But soon a transmission reveals that someone is coming to retrieve Corona – will Corona’s adopted family lose her forever?


( ! ) Warning: Unterminated comment starting line 1 in /home/anime/templates/right_join_reviewer_box.php on line 1
Call Stack
#TimeMemoryFunctionLocation
10.03384534880{main}( )../entry.php:0
20.04604834392include( '/home/anime/public_html/reviews/anime_entry.php' )../entry.php:18

my anime:

not rated

About the Author

sothis's avatar

sothis

My fav genres include sci fi and horror, but you'll find a lot of obscure reviews from me too, given I watch a ton to add to the database. My new reviews are written a lot better than my old ones, so when in doubt, sort by date! ^_^ Enjoy, and I welcome any and all feedback.

More Reviews

comments

Poio avatar Poio
Dec 18, 2013

Some of us actually had a chance to see some of these "obscure" titles on TV/VHS (the dubbed ones anyway, not necessarily dubbed to english).

It's great that this site keeps them so that I can rewatch, find them and catalogue what I have seen over the last 30 years :)

Wish there was a way to plug my brain directly into the DB though, so hard to find everything I've seen based on the vague recollections in my head :)

anisukidayo avatar anisukidayo
Jun 13, 2012

It really is great that somebody out there's writing reviews for a lot of these 'lost in time' anime. Somebody has to fill in the reviews for those people interested in viewing anime out of the ordinary line of sight! Either way, great review and definitely seems like something I would be willing to give a shot (especially since it's only one OVA). :) 

sothis avatar sothis
Jul 28, 2011

Has nothing to do with a fetish, I find as many things as I can so I can fill in the info in our database. I don't enjoy the majority of them.

SadisticTendencies avatar SadisticTendencies
Jul 28, 2011

Wow, you sure have a fetish for these obscure titles^^

Which is good of course!

You must be logged in to leave review comments. Login or sign up today!