Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle

sort

Reviews

nasreen10's avatar By nasreen10 on Aug 23, 2010

Story:  I would have given Tsubasa a ten had it made complete sense. However, there were parts that were downright illogical. I know that it wasn’t supposed to be logical but I still don’t accept. Although Mokona from Clamp is probably the only person who fully understands Tsubasa, I loved the story. The beginning was funny and cute with dark undertones. During and after the Tokyo arc, the dark undertones took center stage. Goodbye to the cute days and hello dark and edgy. I think Tsubasa is the very definition of plot twists with things I wouldn’t expect things from a mile away. There is nothing predictable about Tsubasa. There is a little something for everyone from drama, comedy, action and romance. However, the themes are heavy and if you plan on finishing prepare for some heart-wrenching intensity and to have your mind blown. I did stare at the computer screen with my jaw dropped to the ground plenty of times. It is one thrilling ride that I would definitely be willing to take over and over again.

Art:  I am a big lover of Clamp’s work and Tsubasa completely lives up to expectations art wise. The character designs are amazing. They are completely memorable and display emotions so real that you can feel them. I love all the character’s design. The backgrounds are fantastic and so are the movements. Each scene fulfills its purpose. The comedic scenes are funny and the emotional scenes leave you in awe. The cover art and chapter cover are great as well. The characters have incredibly long limbs and the action scenes can be hard to follow but I have little problem with either. ( I always have a hard time with action scenes.) To make this a short story: absolutely beautiful.

Characters:  Tsubasa contains some of the best character development that I have read. Each character contains so much heart and their feelings and pasts are fully fleshed out. They have life and are so memorable that I’ll be thinking about them for a while. All the major characters and even secondary characters have personality and are unique. They don’t blend together and I have no problem telling them apart (however, they do work well together). They are also not cliché characters. I haven’t seen characters like this before. The decisions they make may not always be the best but they are understandable. It’s hard to not fall in love with this cast because I definitely did.

Overall: This was an almost ten if it didn’t confuse me so much. Everything else stops nothing short of fantastic. It’s definitely a more mature read but still completely worth it. It will definitely be another one of Clamp’s work that will be joining my manga collection. 

9/10 story
10/10 art
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
Merryberry's avatar By Merryberry on Feb 15, 2010

Intro...

Syaoran and Sakura live in Clow Country, a world of sand with mysterious ruins within.  A chance event within causing Sakura to loose her memories in the form of feathers and they are scattered over many different worlds.  Syaoran travel with the aid of Kurogane and Fai to these other worlds in order to find the memories and return them to Sakura.

Story: 10

I must admit that having not read any of CLAMPS works, I must have been at a disadvantage.  In fact, only have watched Chobits was the furthest that I've ever got.  However, even without this, the story of Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicles is one that is exceptionally well woven together.  To describe it would be something that only CLAMP could have pulled off.  The process of travelling from one world to another is not entirely a new thing, but to have those worlds feature characters from the many other series that CLAMP have written is in itself the genius heart of the series.  The plot unfolds in a brilliantly logical manner and draws you forver more into the lives of the characters, all the while building the suspense until the final showdown.  And yet when it does come, it delivers and more.  Fantastic series for anyone to read, even if you haven't read any of their other works.

Art: 9.5

To describe the art in the series can be easily summed up in a single word: CLAMP.  Yes, I know that's cheating, but CLAMP are phenominal in their artwork and Tsubasa is no exception to the rule.  Everything from the worlds to the characters and fight scene are draw with such fine detail that you believe in the story.  As good as the art is and despite it the quality being maintained throughout the series, some of the action scenes are just a tad confusing to follow.  Not that this make a massive impact, but this is a reason as to why it gets a 9.5 from me.

Characters:10

Do we want character development? Answer...yes.  Does Tsubasa give us character development?  Answer...by the bucketload.  Tsubasa is one of those few mangas out there were literally everything revolves around the characters in the series, building upon what we know and revealing more and more about both their pasts and their futures.  The series creates a fantastic balance of giving us what we need to know and what we want to know.  The fact that they can call upon the many other series that CLAMP have used for their character inspiration is well excuted.  Anything other than a 10 for this would be criminal and I'm not going to break the law.

Overall: 10

Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicles is perhaps one of the greatest mangas out theres.  Yes its not easy to plow through the 233 chapters without taking breaks, but if you do need a break, they cleverly slid these in when they move between worlds.  A series which is certainly unique in that it not only borrows, but steals from other manga and seemlessly incorperates them into the storyline with a solid reason that just not there for them to do cameos and leave the next scene.  The underlying plot, characters and worlds that makes up this series creates an impression on you; one which leaves you wanting to know more about what comes next and which other worlds do they visit.  Its a shame that it ended, but one that can be enjoyed for years to come.

10/10 story
9.5/10 art
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
Faeverily's avatar By Faeverily on Feb 16, 2010

I can't recommend this series enough. Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle is a must-read for any hardcore CLAMP fan. The story, characters, and art are all top-notch. One thing to be noted is that by the time you reach the Acid Tokyo arc, everything gets flipped upside-down. The second half of Tsubasa is an extreme departure from the first; it is no longer a light-hearted nakama adventure story, but something that would be fitting in a seinen manga.

---> READ MY FULL, IN-DEPTH REVIEW HERE: http://myanimelist.net/manga/9/Tsubasa_RESERVoir_CHRoNiCLE/reviews

(Please mark my in-depth review as helpful if you found it helpful in any way ^__^)

9.5/10 story
10/10 art
9/10 characters
10/10 overall
Zomagg's avatar By Zomagg on Apr 26, 2012

Tsubasa: Resevoir Chronicles is a story that chronicles the adventures of Syoaran Li and his comrades, the endless struggle to save what means most to him, and the sacrifices that are made in the process. At first glance, this series can start out to seem like another Light-Hearted Adventure that reaches its finale with no climatic ending. Don't let it decieve you. Once you get deeper into the plot, and increasingly attached to the characters, the whole story takes a dive into the depths of suspense and confusion.

This series struck me at my core, with intense bursts of action, an unexpected flip of light and dark themes, and plenty of insane plot twists to keep you reading until you reach the breathtaking conclusion.

     

Definitely recommended if you enjoy complicated series, riddled with twists and turns.

And I'd have to say, its one of my all time favorites.  10/10

TAGS: Action, Adventure, Romance, Tragedy, Fantasy

  

10/10 story
9/10 art
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
NicoNicoDesu's avatar By NicoNicoDesu on Jul 24, 2012

If it isn't obvious, CLAMP seems to love their own work. The crossover manga of "Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle" and "XXXHolic" also includes plenty of past works.

Story: Syaoran is good friends with the princess Sakura. However, something crazy happens and Sakura passes out. Syaoran meets the witch Ichihara Yuuko, and she tells him that Sakura has lost her memories. Yuuko will give Syaoran the power to cross worlds and collect these memories, but Sakura will forget her love for Syaoran. Syaoran, desperate, agrees. So now he travels the worlds with the wizard Fai and the samurai Kurogane, who also have made agreements with Yuuko.

CLAMP somehow manages to make each world unique, so the story doesn't get repetitive, but this is obviously a character-driven manga.

Art: Any CLAMP fan will recognize their artwork at first site. The unnaturally long limbs and the like make for an odd-looking manga. I, personally, like CLAMP's style and don't mind the off-putting anatomy, but some may not. Backgrounds for the worlds look detailed, but the level of detail ranges from panel to panel. The chapter pictures are effing gorgeous.

One unfortunate thing is that CLAMP tries to draw blood. Now, I am more than aware how difficult it is to draw blood and characters being cut, but it's a little glaring how unrealistic it looks. It certainly could be worse, but it just looks... weird. But that's kind of CLAMP's art as a whole.

Characters: I said it's a character-driven story. It's a character-driven story.

(This picture should give you a pretty good idea of CLAMP's style.) Characters: Kneeling boy: Syaoran; sitting girl: Sakura; blonde-haired boy: Fai D. Flourite; black-haired boy: Kurogane.

Syaoran: He is willing to do anything (literally. ANYTHING) to save Sakura. His kindness is touching and, I don't want to spoil but, he gets so much better as the story progresses.

Sakura: Despite my automatic hate for anyone with the name "Sakura," I liked her... most of the time. She is pretty useless but tries to be much better than she is, which gets on my nerves. On the other hand, I would love to have her as a friend (am I allowed to say this after calling her annoying?).

Fai D. Flourite (but there are about 762 ways to spell his name): I have no clue WHY, but I loved him from square one. He always had a smile on his face, he was never mad, and he was so funny. But, please, do not make me spoil this... the temptation is too high already... Must. Stop. TYPING.

Kurogane: The polar opposite of Fai, he's rude, tough, and doesn't care much for human life. He is easily angered (which provides the humor aspect of the manga), and his dynamic with Fai is friendship. Unless you're a fujoshi. And I am one. I will stop typing now.

These are the main characters. Of course there are side characters; this isn't a one-shot or anything. There is development and there are backstories, but I do not want to spoil.

Overall: It starts off slow, and you may want to drop it, but keep reading. It really improves. I haven't read many of CLAMP's works. (I've read "Chobits" and I'm reading "XXXHolic." [Edit: I finished "XXXHolic."]) Now, do I recommend this? HELL YEAH!

6.5/10 story
7.5/10 art
9/10 characters
7.5/10 overall