Cage of Eden

Alt titles: Eden no Ori

sort

Reviews

lagomorph's avatar By lagomorph on Mar 19, 2012

Based on reading the first volume, Cage of Eden has a Hackneyed plot premise that reads like a 3rd rate "Lost" ripoff. I was bored and the characters were mostly uninspiring. The dinosaur chase scene was so predictable as to be completely unengaging. Will not be continuing this series.

3/10 story
7/10 art
3/10 characters
4/10 overall
animewatcher487's avatar By animewatcher487 on Jul 7, 2012

cage of eden is a new spin on the jurassic genere. 

Why should you read this manga

  • this manga has a variety of genere

It has a survial theme that shows how complete strangers come together 

to surive

and it also has some other minor themes like romance , horror , and Psychological


so bascically if you are a fan of lost are other survial shows this is a manga for you


7/10 story
8/10 art
8/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
ShogunAssassin's avatar By ShogunAssassin on Jun 2, 2012

In my honest opinion, this is a fantastic manga for Shounen readers!  For many people, it might make you think of it as a mix between LOST and Jurassic Park, which isn't a bad thing.  It has a great feeling of survival and mystery to it and you cna tell the romance progresses steadily.  There is also a few comic relief characters in it that make the mood just right... for guys that is.

9/10 story
10/10 art
9/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
magoo123's avatar By magoo123 on Dec 1, 2011

my first review!!!!

i choose this manga as my first review since i was in charge of translating a few chapters (most noticablly chapter 105, check on mangafox or baoto or our website http://www.deathtollscans.com)

anyway, that's enough advertising :P, let's get on with the review

i thought the story at the beginning is a bit crap... since it seems like a rip off of LOST, and repeat itself quite alot.

but then from chapter 100 onwards the story took a deep dive and introduced more elements of mystery, especially, the truth behind the island they stranded on. normally i would give it a 6/10, but im being a bit biased here coz i really like survival mangas.

i thought the art were top class, and that's the end for art review :P

moving on to characters, the character traits, i thought are pretty good even though they are a bit cliche- a couragous kid as a leader, a super clever kid, a semi-tsundere girl who's gonna get on with the main character, a girl who's a master at martial arts, a useless gril with big boobs... i shalln't go on.

and the character relationships i thought was spot on. now i would give examples, but then i wont be able to stop, and dont wanna spoiler the story too much for someone that's not up to date.

so overall, a 8/10 and a great series to work on and dont forget to like our scanlation group on facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Death-Toll-Scanlations/284902774883434

(GOD!!! I NEED TO STOP ADVERTISING US SO MUCH!!!!!)

7/10 story
9/10 art
8/10 characters
8/10 overall
KingArthur13th's avatar By KingArthur13th on Sep 20, 2012

If you haven't read it start reading it. Cage of Eden is by far one of the best ongoing manga today and combines some of the best genres into an beautifully put together masterpiece. Panty shots, loli, horror, tragedy, intense violence, adventure, romance, psychological, mystery, giant extinct animals, and perseverance describes what this manga is all about. Cage of Eden centers around a young teen named Akira Sengoku and his classmates who returning home from a trip to Guam. The plane he, his classmates and others are on board soon crash land on a mysterious island which is inhabited by prehistoric animals that are supposed to be extinct. Sengoku and his group of survivors are now stuck on this island and have to find a way off before they end eaten by one of the extinct prehistoric creatures that inhabit the island or end up killed by other passengers. Along the way, he and his group also attempt to find the answers to this mysterious island, including figuring out how and why these animals that are supposed to be extinct are now alive. Cage of Eden has an incredible story line and the suspense created from the island's mysteries as well as Sengoku and his allies' attempt at survival keeps you coming back, having you want to read more and more. True that the large amount of fanservice in the beginning can be a little overbearing but it simmers down as the story goes along (not to say that I don't enjoy the fanservice). One of the most intriguing things about Cage of Eden is the reality in it (minus the extinct prehistoric animals), as it shows the depth of human behavior including both the good and the bad of humanity. During the first few days the plane crash survivors spend on the island, you see what would be expected of most people in such a situation, but as time goes on, the survivors tend to become used to their condition and adapt as would most likely be true in reality. Unlike some mangas where the characters are automatically adapt to the situation right from the beginning or stay frightened and helpless all the way through, Cage of Eden gives a true sense of human behavior, emotion and thinking giving the entire manga a in depth look into humans in general. Cage of Eden is definitely an incredible manga and is long overdue for an anime. I hope you will also read this manga soon and agree with me.

10/10 story
9.5/10 art
9.5/10 characters
10/10 overall