Black Bird

sort

Reviews

ZombieChan's avatar By ZombieChan on Feb 26, 2010

Misao Harada is able to see "special" things others cannot. She hates this. She wants nothing to do with the demons and other magical beings that seem to be drawn to her. She is attacked by a demon wanted to eat her (yum), but is rescued by her childhood friend, Kyo (of Kyou, if you like it spelt that way...anyways). As it turns out that Misao is the "bride of prophecy", mean, that her blood can give the demon's clan who "claims" (^//^ Tehe) her great power. But most demons wish to eat her and keep the power for themselves. Now the younger is trying to stay alove, and decide things about being with Kyo.

**I love this manga so far. It is romantic, funny, and very cute. It is also is for older viewers also, but a great manga non the less.**

<ZC

    

6/10 story
8/10 art
5/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
luvmaya's avatar By luvmaya on Dec 9, 2010

Black Bird is a smutty Manga about a girl named Misao who can see demons. A human like her is born once every 100 years and after her 16th birthday, she will be targetted for the rest of her life because she smells good(Dodgy stuff) She always liked her old next door neighbor Kyo who moves away...but guess who comes back before her 16th birthday and asks her to marry her? And guess who is some random demon crow lord who love her? AND GUESS WHO says she has to sleep with him or she wont be safe? That's right, the fonz...

The story is okay. Apparently her touching kyo gives him energy so we can only wonder what sex does...Gives an excuse for lots of touchie-touchie etc lol But if a demon eats her they will be immortal I think. The art is pretty =D Nuff sed...The characters are likeable  suppose. 

This is a 'nothing special' manga with eccessive blood and lotsof touching and licking blood off of our dear Misao who for some reason has a perfect body. Lucky me I have the first 4 volumes of this manga. If you ask me It's another Vampire Knight But slightly better/Slightly worse in some ways.

SMUT.

SEX.

BLOOD.

CROWS.

FOXES.

IT HAS IT ALLLL!

7/10 story
9/10 art
6/10 characters
7/10 overall
Yanagi13's avatar By Yanagi13 on Dec 30, 2010

Note: This review will contain spoilers for those who have yet to read the manga.

Synopsis

In the world of Black Bird, bloodthirsty demons run amuck in the streets of Japan, only visible to the young Misao Harada. Unbeknownst to this High School student, she is truly the fabled Bride of Prophesy, a human born only once every thousand years. Her purpose is either to marry a demon and bring eternal prosperity to his family, or else be devoured and grant immortality to the monster who eats her flesh. On her sixteenth birthday her powers are awakened, and she is brutally attacked by a demon posing as a human. However, a strange man appears by her side, later revealing himself as Kyo Usui. Kyo is not only her childhood neighbor and friend, but also a powerful Tengu set on taking Misao as his bride.

Story (5/10)

Black Bird is a manga that I came across while on the hunt for something fluffy and demonic with which to pass the time. From the given summary, it sounded interesting enough, and so I loaded up the first chapter, hoping that I had discovered something worthwhile. I wasn’t entirely wrong, as Black Bird did indeed turn out to be the fluff I was expecting, but what I hadn’t anticipated was the sexual tension that surrounded the plot and the characters throughout this nonsensical and lust-filled story.

Kyo is a Tengu (bird demon or monster in some translations) who is outwardly and perversely attracted to Misao, a human girl who was coerced into befriending him as a child. The majority of the plot revolves around their rocky and bizarre relationship, which involves scenes of Kyo torturing the young protagonist in odd overly sexualized situations, as well as his desire to consume and eventually assault her.

Plot holes are few, but then again there isn’t much of a plot to puncture. Through twelve volumes, I counted over thirty scenes detailing the same action between Kyo and Misao: his healing her wounds by licking them. The most disturbing thing about it is how much Kyo seems to enjoy himself; almost as though he is having a full-out orgasm from the taste of her blood and the sounds of her pained screams alone. Without anything else said, I can safely come to the conclusion that the author based her story off of tactless segments of pure sexual desire.

Now, if I ignore these sequences, Black Bird actually presents a rather interesting supernatural romance story. Throughout the first five or so volumes, our two heroes search for information in regards to a mysterious record that could potentially derive answers from nothingness. The actual story kicks off from here, covering various scenes of battle, as well as the relationships shared with the secondary characters and antagonists. Countless demons fantasize about eating Misao in order to be proclaimed immortal. Others still desire her company for marriage. I admit that I was interested, but as soon as I came across another moment when poor Misao was slashed or tripped or stabbed, I knew that the next five to ten frames would be brimming with Kyo pinning her down and pressing his tongue to her gushing wounds. This would cause any otaku to roll their eyes with irritation.

Art (7/10)

With everything said, Kanoko Sakurakoji can definitely draw. I have seen more accurately rendered inks, but still, she is an excellent Shojo artist. Her characters appear realistic, though if I didn’t have to read Shizuka’s speech bubbles moaning things like, “Kyo, you’re hurting me.” I think I would have much more appreciation for the artwork. Cover and inside pages are aesthetically pleasing, as well as intricate, though more than many of them contain Kyo holding Shizuka in a variation of embraces. His mouth is often plated with her blood, and she simply stares up at her demonic-prince with complete and utter dumb adoration.

Dialogue on the other hand, is flat and somewhat lifeless. Kyo always has an expression of either lechery or smugness, who traits that I do not respect in male characters of his age. His constant speeches of lust directed towards Shizuka almost made me plop the borrowed volumes down at some points, though I always continued reading just so I could eventually type my thoughts down on paper.

Characters (4/10)

The characters of Black Bird are odd, if I do say so myself. They are burdened by lustful and vengeful thoughts of war and copulation, all the while attempting to maintain the focus of the actual plot. This strive I am afraid, does not succeed as well as some may have hoped. Characters come off as either offensive or toneless as though there is no comfortable middle, and only occasionally do they exhibit actual relatable emotion, which leads us to our two main protagonists Kyo and Misao.

Misao is weak-minded as well as frail physically. Her only true meaning in life lies with the monstrous Kyo, her present day lover as well as her childhood friend. She is ultimately blinded by his so-called-kindness and is unable to see the veracity of his character: an evil and manipulative aberration. Day by day she pines for his presence, and more than often their interactions are veiled by Kyo’s lust for her flesh and blood as well as her mortal body. She worries that Kyo may not truly love her, but always comes to the conclusion that he does; a wrongful decision.

Although some members of a young audience may perceive Kyo’s protective instincts to be alluring, I myself am appalled at how easily he is able to control Misao’s every action. This continues to a degree where she is no longer allowed to walk around on her own, and is only permitted to befriend characters that Kyo have deemed worthy. Whenever she wriggles free from the demon’s invisible handcuffs, Kyo always manages to find her, and ‘punishes’ her by healing whatever wounds she has sustained while away. It is very obvious that he is greatly stimulated by torturing her, and enjoys the action much more than spending quality time with her as a person. Through his sadistic eyes, she is not but a means to an end. Kyo himself is a true wolf-in-sheep’s-clothing.

Overall (5.3/10)

Though it could have been much worse, Black Bird is nowhere even close to a good Shojo manga. Riddled with faults and irritating characters, all it really has supporting it from tumbling down into the trenches is its artwork, and even that doesn’t deliver everything it could to readers. By the way, did you happen to notice how many times I mentioned the wound-healing plot device in my review? Well, that should give you a fairly accurate recording of precisely what this manga is like. There are so many scenes of wound healing that I nearly forgot what the actual story was supposed to be about, and needed to constantly remind myself that the moments would eventually pass, like the rains a tropical storm. Even so, I have never wanted to leap into another story more and tear the two love-stricken protagonists apart, as well as kick Kyo in his almost pedophilic face. As such, I only recommend this manga to people who are either slightly sociopathic, or have an extreme fetish for characters who blindly portray sadism as though it is a laughing matter. Basically, if you’re the kind of person who is easily able to fall in love with serial killers, then this might very well be the manga for you.

5/10 story
7/10 art
4/10 characters
5.3/10 overall
MMaru's avatar By MMaru on Apr 8, 2013

This series was not what I was expecting.  Based on the cover art, I thought there would be a simpering heroine who is the victim of countless demons, naturally there would be some overwraught love story in there... really didn't seem like it would be my kind of thing, but a friend loaned me the fifteen volumes that are currently out and so I figured I might as well give them a read.

I am now counting down the days till volume 16.

One of the things that surprised me about Black Bird and kept me reading was the heroine, Misao.  She's fairly typical overall - high school student with a dark secret that sets her apart, falls in love with the baddie who is, of course, her dream guy from what remains of her childhood memories.  But when he makes overt advances on her, she doesn't just get embarrassed or cry while she lets him carry on.  She smacks the crap out of him.  And not just him, but anyone who makes an unwelcome gesture.  It was nice to see the shojo heroine actually stand up for herself and not take crap from the male characters even when she KNOWS they are significantly more powerful than she is and could easily overcome her.

Another thing that surprised me was the humor.  I expected the series to be dark, I expected it to be mushy, but I did not expect it to be hilarious!  There are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, my favorite being a single panel showing the reaction of some of the Daitengu when Misao suggests that they can castrate one of the evil characters instead of killing him.  There is a lot of sexual humor as well, so if that's something that might offend you, this series may not be for you.

And on that topic... I was also surprised at how sexual this series is.  From the go, there is a lot of groping, and as the relationship develops, the characters go further physically.  It's done tastefully but it's plentiful, making this a read that ought to rate for older teens or adults.  As an older reader, it was refreshing to see the relationship actually 'go there' and not just stay stuck in the innocent stage forever.

Downsides: Although Misao's take-no-crap attitude was something that appealed to me, she is otherwise like so many shojo female leads: falls for the guy who is a possessive jerk to her, crying waaaaaay too much, and of course everyone wants her, albeit generally for different reasons than most shojo.  Kyo constantly messes with her emotionally and she lets him, hanging onto him.  At volume fifteen, I am still not convinced that he's really that in love with her.  He constantly seems to have an ulterior motive for everything he does, which is sort of appealing because he is a demon, and it's nice to see it brought to light occasionally that these characters are demons, not a set of human bishies with human morals and standards. (Though they are definitely bishies... all so pretty...)

Also, not to ruin the series for everyone, but I read a review on another site that compared Misao and Kyo's relationship to Twilight... tragic but true.  And now, sadly, I can't stop seeing the similarities as I read. 

A minor annoyance with this series is the way that Kyo always somehow magically knows what everyone is up to.  When his Daitengu seem to betray him, no matter how weird the twist is, he somehow knows that they are only doing X so that Y will happen, or he just knows when Misao is thinking of Sho.  I have yet to see any references indicating that telepathy and premonitions are part of a tengu's powers, so I remain unimpressed by these moments.

Despite my griping, I am really enjoying this series and can't wait to see how it ends.  The art is very nice, and the notes from the author are entertaining.  There are usually shorter clips in the back that are either humorous, or fill in a side story.  Very much worth the read!

8/10 story
10/10 art
7/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
mrzkitty's avatar By mrzkitty on Apr 10, 2012

so ths is one of your typical shojuo manga's

its about a girl named misao who could see demons since she was little and a boy named kyo who turns out to be one of those demons promises  to protect her, then he disappers for awhile and shows back up on her 16th birthday claiming the only way he can protect her is for her to become his fiance..

IMO if your a fangirl and go fangirl crazy when there are hot guys who say really romantic things to thier girlfriends and are kinda pervy, you'll love this manga.. as for character development its really slow misao starts showing sighns of maturity in about the 4th volume but still has the i need to know everything attitude

this is a great manga and right now its still ongoing I HIGHLY RECOMMEND

6/10 story
8/10 art
6/10 characters
7/10 overall