Old 07-31-2008, 01:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Anime Guru
 
Najaraja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rome, Georgia
Age: 32
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to Najaraja
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

Yeah, I was wondering about them myself. I was wanting to buy Chobits from them since Amazon's price is $90. But discountanimedvd.com had it for $28. The price seems suspicious. Plus, the entire series on three discs? I mean, if it's legit I won't complain about the price difference. But I don't want to spend my money if it isn't quality or if it is bootleg. Suggestions?
__________________



Kirarin made this awesome signature for she is awesome
Najaraja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 05:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
MY DNA IS MADE UP OF ANIME
 
Value1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Age: 19
Posts: 3,100
Send a message via MSN to Value1k
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

There is no way in hell that is a legit copy imo, 24 eps which is 6 volumes on 3 dvds? would have to be a bootleg.
__________________


Value1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 05:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Anime Fan in Training
 
queeneve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Almost heaven, West Virginia
Posts: 114
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

To answer an earlier question, they sure do sell bootlegs. You can almost always pick them out, because they're crazy cheap. Like 30 bucks where the 'official' is over 100.

If it's made by fx, it's a bootleg, that much I know. I was looking at an Ergo Proxy box set there just today, put out by fx. But FX's bootlegs are pretty good quality if you ask me (not that I've bought any...or anything...)

Eveie
__________________


"How far I came to come home."

--Aeneas to Lavinia, Ursula K. LeGuin

The only thing that separates us from a pair of 14 year old pyromaniacs is a sheet of ballistic glass.
--Adam Savage.
queeneve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 07:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Narumon Z
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

So does anyone know if their outta business? I can't reach their site right now and it had the 500 error for a few weeks and now i can't even connect. I made an order and decided to cancel so is ent in my order info and now well no reply and they seem to be down for good.
Sorrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 10:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Experienced Anime Fan
 
Garyuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Georgia, USA
Age: 19
Posts: 680
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Najaraja View Post
Yeah, I was wondering about them myself. I was wanting to buy Chobits from them since Amazon's price is $90. But discountanimedvd.com had it for $28. The price seems suspicious. Plus, the entire series on three discs? I mean, if it's legit I won't complain about the price difference. But I don't want to spend my money if it isn't quality or if it is bootleg. Suggestions?
Funny you should mention that. I bought the Chobits DVDs off of half.com, and they ended up being the ones that discountanimedvd.com was selling. Obviously bootleg. Poor quality case cover, no English staff listed, typos in subtitles, poor quality menues, and the fact that it is all on three DVDs. Also, the company name was FX. There is no company in the world that released Chobits with the name FX. Like queeneve said, if it is made by FX then it is bootleg. It just screamed bootleg.

You can get Chobits from righstuf.com for $50, unlike Amazon for $90. It comes in two box sets. Also, you would get free shipping.

Chobits DVD Box 1 (Hyb)

Chobits DVD Box 2 (Hyb)

I bought these, and I love them.
__________________
Warning: random flames may occur


Garyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 09:53 AM   #16 (permalink)
Narumon Z
 
Francois424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Age: 32
Posts: 15
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

Back in Late august 2005, I did order Gundam Seed and later that year Gundam Wing. Back with Gundam Seed it was quick and easy, and no problem with my CC (credit card) either.

But already in 2006, I had to contact them (by mail) because for some reason my CC was being rejected (and was ok, by all means). They replied that due to some fraud they didnt do automatic transactions anymore that we (customer) had to contact them to authenticate the shipping. Note that at that time, the prices where okay, pretty much amazon's minus 5-10 $ at most.

Then they had a notice on their site about that, but it never got fixed. Since I am a Lazy customer that prefer to click'n'forget I went to amazon.ca for the rest of my orders.

From what I am reading here, it didn't really improved since my last order.
That's too bad, kinda liked their site.

-- Francois424
Francois424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Narumon Z
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielmer View Post
they dont sell bootlegs
They did sell bootlegs and Funimation is suing them for it.

FUNimation Sues CA Retail Sites over Alleged Bootlegs - Anime News Network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorrior View Post
So does anyone know if their outta business? I can't reach their site right now and it had the 500 error for a few weeks and now i can't even connect. I made an order and decided to cancel so is ent in my order info and now well no reply and they seem to be down for good.
Yes they are. Their website was shutdown for selling bootlegs. Read the article I posted for more info.
__________________
1silver11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 08:52 AM   #18 (permalink)
Overlord
 
sothis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington
Age: 27
Posts: 6,431
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

lol, discountanimedvd was one of the largest ever for bootlegs - i for one am very glad they are being sued.
sothis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 03:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Anime Fan in Training
 
evan1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: houston, texas
Age: 29
Posts: 132
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

ive seen alot of stuff like that on ebay. is it bootleg if it comes from hong kong and is region free?

i bought a couple and they were perfect quality and professional boxing, one even had the english subs. i figured it was just a loop hole they found...
__________________


"I feel like a two year old playing a fiendishly clever computer game against god" ~ Patlabor

greatapepress.com
evan1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 06:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Experienced Anime Fan
 
Garyuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Georgia, USA
Age: 19
Posts: 680
Default Re: discountanimedvd.com

Yes it is bootleg. Most bootlegs come from Hong Kong because the copyright laws don't apply there. Also, if it is region free then yes it is a bootleg. A lot of bootlegs are copies of the English releases. Check to see what company is listed on the box, then go to the anime's page on Anime News Network (wikipedia works too) to see what company released it.
__________________
Warning: random flames may occur


Garyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0