The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

Alt title: Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu

sort
Add review
Mystotakun's avatar
Nov 2, 2013

The Vanishment of Haruhi Suzumiya (or The Disapperance of Haruhi Suzumiya, depending on the localisation) is the full length feature film of the Haruhi Suzumiya series, taken from the light novels. If you've never heard of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, you've probably been living under a rock.

Now, I'm not ashamed to admit that I came into this film expecting something completely different to what I ended up with. In thought this was going to be a hilarious film, showing the antics that the members of the SOS Brigade got up to and when I heard that it was a 2 and a half hour long film, I was livid! What I got...was a beautiful masterpiece which exceeded all my expectations, exactly like how the TV series exceeded the riduclously high expectations I had of it.

Disapperance's story start off like a typical episode of the series; Haruhi wants to celebrate Christmas with her fellow members of the SOS Brigade, by having a nabe party. As this is going on, there is some funny banter between the Brigade members and it sets itself up to be exactly what the TV series was about, only longer...that's when it slaps you in the face.

Kyon goes to school on the 18th December and it turns out...everything has changed. Everything we've seen of the TV series...that doesn't exsist anymore. Nothing. Kyon's high school life, it's like it was completely erased. It turns out that both Haruhi SUZUMIYA and Itsuki KOIZUMI are missing, Mikuru ASAHINA doesn't recongise Kyon, Ryoko ASAKURA is alive again and Yuki NAGATO is now human...complete with her own full set of emotions!

Now all of this is practically explained in the first half an hour, so the next two hours is all about Kyon, going back and forth between if he wants to live in this world, or the world with aliens, time travellers, espers and Haruhi. It's an amazing journey and it's an absolute joy to watch.

Admittedly, I felt like the film dragged on at parts, it's by no means an easy feat to watch it all in one sitting...it's the equivalent of watching five episodes back to back, with no breaks in between. It's challenging to say the least, but after everything was done and dusted, I was left satisfied, perfectly content with the masterpiece I had just watched.

One complaint I did have, was how the characters of Itsuki and Mikuru were nothing more than minor characters in the film...especially Itsuki, which is a shame, giving how he's my second favourite character in the series. Due to things happening in the story, Kyon and Yuki are given the most screen time and as such are given the most character development. The title character, is more like a side character in her own film and when she appears for the first time in over an hour or so, it's a very pleasant surprise...which is ridiclous to say, giving how her name is Haruhi Suzumiya!

But I will say, that doesn't put me off from watching it again and again and again. It is an absolute masterpiece of a film, I can't stress that enough. The emotions, the character development, the subtle humour, it's all done so perfectly and it really fits the mood of each and every scene. It's not my favourite anime film, in terms of rewatchability and that's due down to there hefty 164 minutes of running time, but in terms of sheer brilliance and as a form of art, I can't see any other film, anime or otherwise, beating it.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
EchelonHunt's avatar
Apr 1, 2015

I struggled to watch the anime series of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya - I couldn't understand, much less get behind most of the characters presented in the show. If I hadn't watched the series, this movie probably would not have left as much of an impact as it did. 

I usually like my anime series to have psychological themes in it, the anime series didn't really touch on it much, in my opinion but the movie? Oh, yes it did. It had that dark atmosphere I was searching for.

The motions the Kyon goes through as reality and terror sets in with hope only being a fleeting moment before being snatched away... it was intense, it was as if I was sitting right where he is, experiencing his emotions with him. Whatever they did, they nailed the ability to get the viewer to empathsize with Kyon.

I never cared about him (or any of the other characters, for that matter) in the anime series but in the movie, I did. It was interesting to see the other characters act differently from their usual selves, notably Yuki. This movie is like a rollercoaster of life, the ups and downs, the hard decisions, the tears, frustration, being stuck at the rock bottom and having to climb up to the top by yourself.

It's sobering but it makes for excellent, edge-of-the-seat viewing.

 

 


 

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
10/10 overall
MrChearlie's avatar
Sep 7, 2013

So, for those who didn't watch the show (just in case). Do I need to watch it first? you are suppose to, indeed, for getting all the reference that the movie is pointing out that are quite a lot and important ones, since this is more like a sequel of some arcs, and even a prequel for some other arcs of the Melancholy of Haruhi. But is not a must, they quite explain everything fine in order for you to understand what is going on, is not really a script for brilliant people. Just understand what the premise of Haruhi is all about and you will have enough.

Also, I do not plan to review the show, because I really don't think there is something special for me to watch it for the second time, as results I don't remember enough to be able to make a decent review. But the movie is the only thing that is somehow worth it watching it twice or more, maybe in a far future but I wouldn't mind giving it another try. 

As for why The Melancholy Of Haruhi doesn't worth another try. Well, as for an actual good romance between a total bitch and a fun guy, I will watch Spice&Wolf, as for time travel I would choose Higurashi or Steins;Gate, talking about time, but more specific, as it goes for an endless eight were you wouldn't think you waste your time, Tatami Galaxy is the one, as for the human god matters Serial Experiments Lain deals with it a lot more better, but in case some doesn't like the slow pacing of it I would recommend Paranoia Agent. As for Moe, I could easily check another work of Kyoto Animation and I would pick Hyouka, which is also a school slice of life, but with more character depth. So This show has a cool premise and stuff but it falls in the mediocrity because it only focus in selling moeness.

So I would recommend the movie for the presentation, as for the whole franchise of Haruhi, it goes to those who love moe and school rumpus. And for those who are interested in just watching it for the impact it had and still has (with less force), that's why I watched it.

Story (Average) 

Well, the movie is LOOOOOOOOOONG, about 2 hours and a half, with a pacing that goes the speed of snail most of the film, and other times is just too rushed. And everything is narrated by the protagonist Kyon, from "how do the toilet paper goes" to "what is the meaning of life?" sometimes necessary, but most of the time, just damn obvious, there is even a scene where all the train of though is there for you to understand what is going on, and noooo, you need an auto-character analysis like a cheap version of evangelion to understand what was already there, just for the sake of: Look how deep this movie is.

Aside from that, the plot... is interesting I won't deny, it is truth that is full of popular cliché and inside references, Although it would surprise me if someone didn't knew this when decided to check it out. It is pretty much "Back to the future" with moe, the problem is, that even if the great presentation of the animation, music and plot formulas about time traveling and stuff, were there to support the film, they didn't do much since the movie should have called Kyon Nothingness, half of it is Kyon doing nothing, narrating, suffering, being a dick (and he says he has control and that he is no like Haruhi, maybe in the show but here he really is an asshole that doesn't think very much even when he seems to be thinking everything.), and when he does things is because of coincidences and because everything happens just in the right moment, but he doesn't really do much, and he is the main protagonist.

So just the presentation is worth it, since even at how bad some aspects were managed, they know how to play with your emotions and get you in the mood of the film, at the end, this is Kyoto Animation, that's what they do.

Characters (Bad) 

Even when I said Kyon was a dick... he is the best character... I didn't remember how lameish everyone else was, I remember they were one-dimensional, but not this much, and one of the causes, is that everything is so Kyon-Centered that they don't care about what is going with anyone else, the others are just like cartons-figures with a moe personality, even Haruhi whose name is one the title. Somehow the dullest character of the TV, Nagato, here was the one they give more development aside from Kyon, pretty pretentious and it was far from being a big thing, so no credits.

Sound (Great)

Nothing odd with the sound, the voice acting was cheesy but appropriate for the characters, even after hearing 2 hours of narration, it was good voice acting, and the Soundtrack was superb! this is the reason I watch it twice and I could watch it again. such a shame that they barely use it, I was like, where is the music?, where is it!!?, oh, here it comes, oooh yeaaaah, and it's gone...

Animation (Great) 

The animation is awesome, 3D effects were sometimes weird, but it was Awesome!

Enjoyment (Good) 

As for the enjoyment, it was good; great music, great animation, cool concepts and good presentation, no doubts why this and the K-On movie had an bunch of overrated hype. I just wonder why the aliens agency didn't take out the powers of Haruhi, and erase everyones memory since the beginning so they wouldn't have to worry so much about time continuity, cheesus!

Overall (Good)

4/10 story
9/10 animation
8.5/10 sound
3/10 characters
6.1/10 overall
MordredMS's avatar
Jun 1, 2013

Note: I realise there's already far too many community reviews for this one, but I had written this overly long rant for another site, so what the hell.

When I read a review praising a certain work as “flawless”, it normally makes me raise an eyebrow, it feels more like a biased ass-licking trying to force a “perfect ten” out of something the reviewer likes than an actual critical overview. However, I realise that there are indeed times when no matter how hard you try, you just can’t manage to find any defect in what you’re dealing with; it may be because it moved you, maybe you like the franchise to begin with, maybe it really is that good, but you kind of feel guilty finding any defect or giving them importance over what’s good about it. For me this is one of those times.


STORY: 9.5/10
It’s Christmas time for the SOS brigade, and preparations for the party are in full motion. But one morning, Kyon wakes up to find that Haruhi has disappeared from the class and from everyone’s memory. Asakura has appeared in her place, neither Mikuru nor Tsuruya know him anymore, Itsuki has vanished, Shamisen can no longer talk, and Nagato behaves quite differently… but he is the only one who notices. Is he in a parallel world, or was time altered? Who caused this, why was he the only one untouched by the alteration, and how can he get back? But most importantly… will he want to?

The premise is surely simple, in the typical “How would the world without X be?” fashion of many a Christmas special. But the execution is, I’m afraid I’m going to use that word, flawless. Besides the actual plot (with its involving mystery, its interesting tangle of alternate realities and time paradox shenanigans, and its final twist) what really makes the film is the exploration and emotions of the characters we already know from the series. I’ll expand on this later, but for now I’ll simply say that the emotional impact of Kyon’s conflict, especially in a very intense Evangelion-like sequence which I consider the apex of the whole movie, of Nagato’s exploration and development, and also of a few new glimpses of Haruhi’s personality, were much more than I expected, and that each of the three times I watched this movie it left me with a warm and fuzzy feeling for the whole day. You probably already know that here Nagato smiles, blushes and stuff, but the sympathy and compassion we feel for the side of her self we get to see here go well beyond the simple moe (though she is indeed one of the most adorable things I’ve seen in my life, poor, little Yuki…). In general, when it wants to be hilarious, to be touching, to be suspenseful, to be heart-warming, it is. Straight on target.

Yes, there is a voice in the back of my head that tells me that this story may be just milking the cash cow, or that all this character interaction, like the wonderfully heart-warming finale between Kyon, Haruhi and Yuki, may be only a way to fuel shipping and thus the entire franchise, or that a couple of plot devices are definitely getting overused; but the teary-eyed feel-good vibe of warm fuzziness that fills me even as I think back on it while writing tells me that I don’t give a flying shit.



CHARACTERS: 10/10
Unsurprisingly, since the entire series and debatably the entire slice-of-life genre owe their success to well-crafted characters, it’s the members of the SOS brigade that make this movie, especially Kyon and Yuki. It manages to give a new twist to such well-established characters by exploring a different side of their personality and showing an inner conflict. Kyon, being the only one who notices the change in the world and arguably the true protagonist of the whole franchise, is the one most focused on: we see his reaction (his confusion and despair as the world he knew disappears without any clue as to how to go back, the genuine joy and relief when he does find that clue, and so on, are all so masterfully conveyed that they manage to fill the first portion of the movie with surprisingly emotional moments), we get to see a different side of his self (does he even like that world with Haruhi and the SOS brigade? Is he really fond of them?), and his conflict when he understands the cause of the world’s transformation is the big turning point of the movie.

As for Nagato, seeing her show emotions is positively touching, as we get to see a lonely, longing side of her self that was only hinted at up until now; how does she feel about her role of a silent observer, occasionally fixing word-threatening situations around her? How does she feel about the rest of the Brigade? Does she feel anything, in the first place? Needless to say, all of this is not only extremely interesting, but also extremely moving if you interpret, as I personally do, the Yuki we see here not as an “alternate version” but as how she really is beneath that Rei-clone shell.

Haruhi is here little more than a secondary character, but some scenes in the “alternate world” and in the finale do show new, interesting glimpses of her. Koizumi and Asahina are little more than extras, even though there is a line of Itsuki’s that may or may not mean a lot. This goes to show how carefully each line of dialogue was crafted to provide evocative exploration, expectation and emotional involvement (like the “Yuki” line at the end of the movie’s most tenderly heart-warming scene, a clever example of how to exploit the word-play possibilities the Japanese language lends itself so well to).



ANIMATION: 9.5/10
Well, if you’ve seen the average quality of Kyoto Animation’s work I think you can imagine by yourself what they can do with a the budget for a feature-length. The details of the facial expressions, the backgrounds so full of life and so carefully drawn, the fluidity of the movements, the landscapes, all reach Studio Ghibli-like levels. And it’s been a while since I last saw snowflakes that look like, you know, actual fucking snowflakes instead of white dots. One little detail that may put some people off, as it did me, is that the character design retains the K-On!-like look the series had taken on since the second season, thus loosing that more original and detailed one it had in the first. This nonetheless, the impact of the facial expressions is not hindered.



SOUNDTRACK: 10/10
The soundtrack, an awesome collection of mostly orchestral pieces with some themes returning from the series and some more bluesy or rock-ish numbers, manages with every single track to not only punctuate, but effectively create the atmosphere, especially in the most tense and suspenseful moments. Be it upbeat and happy, slow and soothing, intense and bombastic, melancholic and ethereal, or whatever adjective I can manage to pull out of my English vocabulary, each piece flows flawlessly (damn, I said it again…) into each scene setting its tone, with various scenes with Kyon being particularly memorable examples. It is really a pleasure to listen to. The ending song “Yasashii Boukyaku”, finally, sung by Chihara Minori (Yuki), is a beautifully melancholic, sweet track that I’m sure most will find as unforgettable as I did, thanks to the way it so perfectly fits to the mood created by the movie.


CAST: 9.5/10
I’m afraid I’ll have to use again that word, “flawless”. After all, what would you expect from names like Sugita Tomokazu (Kyon), Hirano Aya (Haruhi) and Chihara Minori? Actually, even that’s not true. Hirano does her usual magic with the character she’s most strongly associated with, Chihara has the sturdy job of having to show emotions through an ice wall of inexpressiveness and pretended apathy and pulls it off magnificently, but Sugita managed to surpass my expectations: his performance here (his wide range of emotions and mixed feelings in the “alternate world”, his tougher tone in the Evangelion-like sequence I mentioned earlier and his more tender tone in the finale…) is simply out of this world. The rest of the cast, of course, doesn’t disappoint either, but being their characters reduced to little more than extras, with the exception of Asakura, whose voice actress (Kuwatani Natsuko) does her usual good job, they don’t have much room to “show off their skill” this time.



OVERALL: 9.7/10
If there’s one big defect this film has, is that its impact relies on the viewer already knowing the characters and setting. This is a review from someone who didn’t even dislike the infamous “Endless Eight” arc (come on, the idea was brilliant, it was just overdone…), so yeah, I’m probably biased. You need to have watched both seasons of “The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya”, and given the (undeserved) ill fame the second has this may be a problem, but if you loved the first, don’t let the infamous eight-episodes arc scare you, I definitely recommend watching it, if only to then enjoy this movie, which, with its involving plot and touching character exploration, I cannot call it but a masterpiece which fans of the characters are sure to love. If you didn’t like the series in the first place, this probably won’t change your mind; if you watched and liked the rest of the series, or even just the first season, then go ahead and dive in what has become one of my favourite anime movies of all time.

9/10 story
9/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.7/10 overall
RustedBlade666's avatar
Nov 29, 2011

Story - Okay, this is part of the Haruhi Suzumiya franchise so you would come to expect a well-crafted blend of light-hearted comedy, mindless fluff and intriguing sci-fi. Of course that is what is presented in the film but it is far more than what has been shown in the series.

Based on the fouth novel, The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya takes on a decidedly more serious role than the rest of the series and thus is perfect for the anime movie treatment. It all starts with the SOS Brigade making plans for a Christmas party and as always Kyon begrudingly tags along. Everything seems the same as the rest of the series but then everything goes wrong.

I don't need to spoil the movie for you so I'll leave it at that and besides if you've already watched it you don't need a recap, you can just watch it again (Bloody oath I would watch it five times a day if I could, but I would have no day left since the film is quite long)

Now the element of drama is very well executed and as seen through the series which preceded it, they sure know how to portray drama well. But even with the much more serious tone of this film there are still plenty of laughs and no doubt you will feel that unnatural warm and fuzzy feeling in your heart by the time the closing credits start rolling. Also the romantic element is given more time in the spotlight in this installment and there is plenty of material to keep any and all shippers happy.

The plot is full of exciting twists and despite the aformentioned length the pacing is good and so the movie doesn't feel like it's dragging on.

Animation - This is an anime movie so there is no surprises here that it would score a ten. With a much higher budget and much more time at hand the art is perfectly rendered. The backgrounds are more stunning than usual, some of them even appearing to be real. There were quite a few times when watching that I had to blink and check twice that I was watching an animated film, such was the astounding realism of the art. It truly is a feast for the eyes.

Now of course all the guys will be pleased because Mikuru get's new costume! Yes there is still a few instances of fan service to please the male contingent of fans though not as much as the series, especially season 2 (Eight pool episodes in a row?! How do you beat that?!) But that isn't all we watch anime for.

The art is very well done and deserving of a perfect score.

Sound - First off, the music. There are some recurring themes from the series just to hold things together and a few new additions to the soundtrack as well just so you don't get bored. Everyone remembers Bouken Desho Desho right? Well the much loved opening theme makes a come-back in the film. Overall the music is good. Combining the best of the old soundtracks with some new favourites.

There is not much music throughout the film however. There are many long periods mostly through the middle of the film which are left without any musical backing but this brings focus on the story and thus even with an absence of music it still accentuates and complements the story and so eloquently serves it's purpose.

Next, the voices. I watched it in the English dub and haters can hate but I just love all of the voice actors in the dub. Crispin Freeman's performance is charming as ever and just so fun to watch. Michelle Ruff exercises a few different sides to Yuki in this as well which is quite a treat. Rather than the same stone-faced and emotionless tone all the time there are lapses of emotion as we are introduced to the shy and self-conscious Yuki Nagato. The other voices are well performed and everyone gives a solid effort so haters have nothing to criticise with this one.

Characters - What is there to say, but I love the entire cast. Few anime have such a loveable and wonderful cast of characters, much to the point where picking a favourite is  an impossible task. From the designs to their mannerisms to their personalities they are all great!

Ryoko Asakura makes a comback as well which causes much tension and of course a thrilling few scenes near the end. Now in the story Kyon becomes trapped in an altered world where everyone is normal and thus many have changed completely. These personality changes, some slight and some drastic bring new light to the characters, especially Nagato who...

*Swoons*

Sorry, where was I? Oh right! Nagato's adorable new side is just perfect. I must say in this film she scored way more moe points than Mikuru. Whether it is her sweet little smile or her nervous shifting glances or even when she cried, the newfound emotions are just captivating and make you want to reach through the screen and hug her (Or maybe I'm just crazy? Yeah that might be right, but you get what I'm saying right?) And of course there is the old Nagato we know and love as well. That's two for the price of one! Yay! Fanboy squeal? Anyone? No? Okay, moving on...

Overall - I bet you can guess what I'm going to say. Well, I loved this film. It has become my favourite anime film now even standing above Hayao Miyazaki's classics and that is saying something! It works perfectly as a comedy, or a romance or a drama or even as a sci-fi film. Hell, it's even a Christmas Special! What more could you want? Action scenes? Got ya covered! As usual the Haruhi franchise moulds together so many genres that it's just about impossible to not find something you like about it. Certain to please all fans and even recruit some new members to Haruhiism this film is a definite must see for any anime fan, a new staple in the anime film archives.

Just in case you haven't been paying attention thus far let me repeat myself: This movie is incredible! Everything about it is just perfect, a masterpiece of anime. If you haven't yet seen it then you are missing out! If you have already watched it, do as I'm about to do and watch it again! In short, 10/10. Five stars. 100%. Two thumbs up. A big green tick. Need I say it again? Well whatever, here goes:

I loved this film! And you will too!

10/10 story
10/10 animation
9/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall