Tears to Tiara

sort
Add review
4EverDreamer's avatar
Nov 18, 2010

The most interesting aspect of the show is how the story plays with legends and myths. It takes parts of the Legend of King Arthur, the Bible, and elves, fairies, and dragons, twists them a bit and makes them completely original. The beginning is a little slow, but picks up about half-way in where real characterization and action take place. There's a few surprising turns to make you impressed, and the ending is very satisfying. Not the greatest story ever told, but very much worth watching.

8/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
8/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar
Dec 20, 2012

This anime had a lot of hype before it aired. The reason is, it was based on a videogame by Aquaplus, the same people who made Utawaremono, another anime adapted by their roster. That anime had a big fanbase and thus people immediately jumped to the conclusion that Tears to Tiara will be great too. Don’t look at me though; I never liked that silly show. Neither did I like this one. Neither did most others. 

PRODUCTION VALUES 
Very good in overall. This is the first work by studio White Fox, and I must say they do a splendid job in all the shows they animate (Katanagatari, Steins;Gates and Jormungand). The artwork is very detailed in backgrounds and clothing, although the character figures all feel generic. The animation, although sloppy at points, it is generally smooth. The battles scenes are semi-interesting as they have some basic choreography and bloody violence, yet in overall they are silly and boring. You never feel like they being serious about it. Voice acting is ok, albeit too obnoxious for some moe / sexy girls that simply NEED to sound like retards. The BGM is also nice with its blend of folklore and pop, but there are no memorable tunes in it.

SCRIPT & CAST 
A demon lord is summoned by evil rulers to destroy the world, yet he joins the good guys against the evil empire. As interesting as it sounds, it is presented completely childishly to the point you are laughing even when they are trying to be serious. Here, let me explain to you what happens in the first episodes in order to get what I mean.
- There is this evil king who wants to rule the world. So he summons the demon lord in order to destroy the world. And then the king can rule a destroyed world… Does that make any sense?
- In order to summon the demon, the king needs to sacrifice a princess. The princess is willing to kill herself in order to prevent the summoning but when the king threatens to kill two random kids near by, she agrees to obey him. Yeah, as if the two kids won’t be killed by the demon, along with the rest of mankind. Makes no sense why she fell for that. 
- The demon lord is summoned but turns out the myths around him are all false. He kills the king and joins a tribe who are at war with an empire. And everybody doesn’t find that suspicious at all. 

After that he begins an expedition to become a ruler and along the way he increases his harem. That is right; he gets a new wife every few episodes. There are no erotic scenes in the anime version but the game has them in spades and that is why you don’t give a rat’s ass about story and backdrops there. For the same reason, the anime is silly and eventually forgettable. While the war escalates in an interesting way and the parties involved grow in numbers, the whole deal remains pretty basic and light to the most part. Despite being, you know, about a huge empire clashing with a demon lord for the sake of the whole world, you eventually get a silly fantasy adventure with two dimensional characters you won’t bother remembering outside the doujin you will read about them. Especially towards the end where the pace drops considerably and a big bad is introduced at the last moment for some flashy but shallow finale. 

LEGACY 
There isn’t anything worthwhile in this anime besides its good artwork. The plot is basic, the characters are generic, the action is almost silly. Just like the previous anime, it is too not really worthy of its hype. It’s based of a porn game for Pete’s sake, how good did you expect it would be? I do admit though it is also inferior to Utawaremono for having a less interesting story and weaker character chemistry. Other than that, I do not recommend it.

3/10 story
8/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
4/10 overall
matteroffact's avatar
May 22, 2011

Tears to Tiara won't be the best anime series you ever see, but it is definitely worth watching for a variety of reasons. Leaf, who designed the game from which the TV series was developed, has a knack for putting together interesting worlds and populating them with enjoyable characters. Unlike its cousin, Utawarerumono, the storyline doesn't get out of control at the end. However, the characters, while definitely enjoyable, are not quite as robust as those in Utawarerumono. but there are a few reasons that this series is definitely worth watching. 

1. The use of mythical elements from a variety of western cultural contexts is incredibly fun. Images, objects and characters from the Arthurian legends, Celtic mytho-historical traditions, Roman and Greek mythology, and a host of others are woven together skilfully. I learned a lot, especially about Briton and Celtic mythology, simply by Googling names of characters and objects in the story. My only problem here is with the way the name Lucifer is used. It simply has too strong a connotation to be used so arbitrarily. 

2. This is simply good fantasy. There are classic struggles, great battles, heroes and villains and even honorable enemies. It has an epic feel that is engrossing. 

3. While not all the characters are deep and engaging (and some are downright annoying), there are a few that are truly fun to watch grow and change throughout the story. And I like the character Arawn far more than his counterpart in Utawarerumono. But Arthur, Rhiannon, Taliesin, Octavia and a host of others are given endearing character arcs. 

Again, if you are expecting the best anime experience EVER...this won't be it. but if you want to watch something that you will enjoy and may learn a lot from, this is a pretty good choice

8/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
8/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
2 1 this review is Funny Helpful
ilubsanime's avatar
Jan 6, 2016

I was a bit hesitant when I was going to start watching this anime. 2006?.... Oh man the graphics have got to be old school and I know thats not everything by far, but i've been so spoled lately....

I was pleasently surprised by this show. I thought the story was going to be lame and predictable, but it ended up having smooth transistions between arcs and overall I felt it was an original anime. I didn't feel like it was a rip off of any of the shows I've watched before.

Compared to all the cookie cutter anime I've watched lately this was a very big relief to see an anime that I felt was a bit old school but did the old school die hard true hero's some justice. (Made me think of Ned Stark....  the super one sided good guys that you never see in real life anymore because they are all dead from true nobility)

Anyways... Not the best of the best, but I enjoyed watching it without a doubt. Woof Woof.

8/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
9/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Kari5's avatar
Nov 2, 2009

       Tears is a fantasy action series. However, when it began it was looking more like a harem. Every episode a new female came in. But it seems the writers eventually forgot they were writing a harem and made it interesting again.

       The plot turned out okay, although it started off really slow. The second half had much more things going on, less useless episodes. Overall, it felt like some episodes were missing or rushed, but that could be because it was based off a large video game.

      The characters were all generic and boring. Arthur was just plain dumb and annoying 90% of the time. Arwen was kind of cool, and the episodes about his history were some of the best episodes. There's tons of women (including the massively annoying Rhiannon who's lines consist mostly of "Onii-sama" and "Arawn-sama"), but at least they avoid horrible harem romantic comedy moments (luckily it's more battled based).

       Overall, I don't recommend it. It does get better, but the beginning of the show isn't worth sitting through.

5/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
3/10 characters
5.5/10 overall
1 0 this review is Funny Helpful