Seikon no Qwaser

Alt titles: Qwaser Of Stigmata



MurasakiDoku's avatar By on Jun 2, 2011

"Seikon no Qwaser is a tricky mistress."

This is what I say to anybody who asks me to explain what this show is.

Additionally, I would never recommend it to anyone out of the blue. Not because I don't love it (because I do) but because it's a "niche anime".

The premise of this show is--no, not breastmilk, I'll get to that later--really a "battle shounen" archetype. The main character fights evil lackies throughout the show, and ends up defeating the Big Bad at the end. In this sense, the show is a masterpiece. Driven by a very clever (if not always scientifically accurate) idea of people having the ability to control a particular element (as in the periodic table of elements) in almost the same way as Benders from Airbender do--except in far more chem-nerd and varied ways.

As for the ecchi? Well, the show really doesn't need it, but you know what they say: "sex sells". I wish the show had taken the same route as the manga, and depicted nudity in an artful, symbolic manner, rather than the more-than-often prepubescently immature scenes rampant with faux-lesbianism intended solely to get the audience's rocks off rather than contributing to the overall plot. Thankfully, these kinds of scenes are few and far between. By the way, are you bothered that virgins are spurting breastmilk, when that's nigh impossible in real life? Only Qwasers can pull out Soma; normal people can't make other normal people lactate.

The music is EXCELLENT. The battle tune and the first OP never fail to get my blood boiling. The rest of the soundtrack is varied and never misses a beat--every single song on the OST makes for easy listening.

The main character, Sasha, is a perfect example of bishounen Bad-Ass-MotherF**ker. His character development lies in what begins as uncultured mannerisms, having not been provided with a healthy childhood. The love interest, Mafuyu, does not take well to the change her life is going through, nor Sasha's uncultured mess, but eventually comes to in very tender character development. The best friend, Tomo, is a moe mess, but manages to gain a little bit of my respect because she's sickly, and doesn't go through any character development beyond being a plot device. Katja and Hana solely exist for the masochistic lolicon's fanservice, but are pretty legitimate characters when they feel like it. Lizzie is the tomboy fan's fantasy and goes through alliance conflict. Teresa isn't much more notable than just being an awesome battle nun. The rest of the cast is, appropriately, extremely minor. Miyuri is the only one that manages to make me truly hate her--she's the typical arrogant bucket of fail who pretty much ruins the show whenever she speaks. (Don't watch episode 14. Just don't do it. COMPLETELY irrelevant to the plot and nothing but Failbucket.)

Provided that you're going into this show already diddling yourself, and are looking forward to this "battle shounen" previously mentioned, you will find yourself alienated by the ecchi. Alternatively, if you're going into this show begging for tits, you will find yourself alienated by a rich story and action sequences. That is why this is a "niche anime"--the only people that will love this show are battle shounen fans that are comfortable with sexuality edging in on the territory.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
diclonius1's avatar By on Jun 30, 2011

Story: 8/10

Good story, with nice flow. A bit too ecchi (but I liked it xD), a bit romantic and action filled most of the time. It had some stupid fillers but...oh well.

I don't have much to say and I'm stopping here before I start filling the review with spoilers. ^-^

Animation: 9/10

Nice animation, cool character desing. Not much to say.

Sound: 9/10

Very good voice actors, really nice openings and endings. Not much to say here either.

Characters: 8/10

Cool characters, most of them nice. Not introduced really well though but the story's flow is okay so it doesn't really matter.

Overall: 9/10

I got hooked on this anime. Couldn't stop watching and I liked the manga too. Most people don't like it 'cause of the "boobie action". If you hate ecchi don't watch it. It is a good anime though so...


Not much of a helpful review, I know but, I don't have much to say about the anime. I recommend it. ^-^

Peace \/


8/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
Kaijo's avatar By on Apr 19, 2011

In a word: suckage.

In more than one word: a fanservicey show that uses breasts as a distraction to prevent you from realizing the plot has numerous holes and things left unexplained. Don't get me wrong; I don't mind nudity when it is relevant to the plot; I actually liked the first couple of episodes of Freezing, since the nudity involved was the result of actual battle slashes (that series also quickly went downhill, but I digress). I also don't mind hentei when I'm in the mood, but this was far from even being satisfying in that regard. If you're going to do porn, do porn; don't half-ass it in this manner.

Also, whoever wrote this fails biology forever.


Story: 1/10

Okay, so apparently there are these people who have control over an elements like Iron. They can manipulate it and such to fight with. For reasons that are never explained, they need to drink soma, which is essentially the breast milk of virgin women.

Yes, you heard that right, and are probably wondering: "Women only produce breast milk after giving birth, so how...?" Well, don't expect them to ever explain. In fact, get used to having nothing really explained, partly because the characters are dumb enough to never ask.


Animation: 4/10

No real arguments here, although it's nothing to write home about, either. Quality also varies depending on where you're watching it (TV, webcast, or BD/DVD). I will say that battles are craptacular. They barely last 30 seconds to a minute, and there are plenty of times that speed lines are used.

But hey, you're not watching this for the battles or plot, but for the copious amounts of boobies. And I suppose it delivers on that end... in the standard horribly inaccurate portrayal of female chests. Whoever wrote this has pretty much never touched a real breast, but then again, anime is is fairly famous for consistantly never getting it right. The way they jiggle, defy gravity, and get smooshed like marshmellows, means they apparently never consulted any females. Instead, whatever seriousness this show intends, is destroyed by comically inaccurate boobies. Considering the importance to the plot, if they had at least treated them decently instead of a 12-year-old-snicker-snicker-you-said-boobies way, they might have had something.

Seriously, though, I've seen hentei with more realistic tits.


Sound: 5/10

Probably the best part of the whole series, but that's not saying much. I rarely notice the music except when it's bad, but the music fit the mood as required, and the second opening theme was fairly good.


Characters: 1/10

Dumb as shit.

Mayufu never asks about soma, when a normal girl definitely would. "Oh wow, some 13 year old kid is sucking on breasts... why? And why am I suddenly producing breast milk when I'm being sucked on?" That should freak any girl, but we're not dealing with real women here, which I suppose makes sense when the writers obviously haven't dealt with any real girls, either.

I got a headache at one point, where one boy sucks the chest of a surprised girl in a classroom with everyone watching... and no one (including the girl) thinks to ask "Why the hell did he do that? And how the hell is she generating breast milk anyway?" I don't care who you are; that is going to freak any girl out.

Characters never explain things when they should. Why? Well, gotta keep the viewer in the dark for hte surprise factor! I really wanted to smash my head against a wall half-way in, when *SPOILER ALERT* a certain character has another presence inside them... and no one bothers to tell the cast and explain, which might actually help.

Tomo, in particular, was the dumbest of the bunch; she was basically a walking plot device who didn't really do anything on her own. Of course, I rarely expect much from an airheaded character, and she was just there to showcase the biggest boobs of the bunch (in another stroke of comedy, no 15 year old has a chest that huge). So, Tomo was just basically a pair of giant walking tits that people want to suck for some reason. She supposedly produces really, really good milk, but we're never told why that is, and no one stops to ask.

Perhaps because she has huge tits and no brains, which might be a subtle message: Hey girls, you can raise your value as women by having huge tits and not thinking at all, and tripping all over yourself like a clumsy oaf! Men really like that!



Not worth your time. Well, unless you have a fetish for watching a 13-year-old boy suck breast milk from various women. That is the sole redeeming feature of this anime, and the only reason anyone could overlook the flaws. Then again, you could find hentei better than this.

I watched mainly to see what the hub-bub was about, thinking that perhaps there had to be something good in this series. "It couldn't be all bad fanservice, could it?" Oh yes, it could. Save yourself time, don't watch. I wasn't originally going to, and am now sorry I did.

In the meantime, I'll stick with good adult anime, that can treat nudity and adult topics well and still churn out a good plot. However, if you enjoy comical boobs that have very little basis in reality, and a milk-drinking fetish that needs new material, then by all means, go for it!

1/10 story
4/10 animation
5/10 sound
2/10 characters
3/10 overall
jv4ever's avatar By on Mar 28, 2015

Video Review:

This review will consist of the first and second season of Seikoon no Qwaser.


*The action has to be the best part of this anime, the fight scenes between the quasars are intens and also nicely animated. Each of the quasars that we meet has it’s own personality and each of the fights is unique in it’s own way. They don’t feel repetitive at all despite that they follow each other in quite a high pace.

*Related to the action was the use of actual chemistry in the fight scenes. I’m a biochemist myself so I was surprised when the characters used the chemical properties of their element to defeat each other. 

*Something that I absolutely didn’t expect to find in this anime was romance so I was really surprised when I actually started to care about the relationship between Aleksander and Mafuyu. Unfortunately their relationship only developed in the first season and was kind of neglected in the second but more about that second season later on.


*The biggest problem that everyone has with anime is the way that the qwasers gain their energy. They have to drink a substance called Soma which they have to consume out of women’s breasts. So whe can perfectly say that they have to drink breastmilk in order to function. Now it depends which version of Seikon no Qwaser you watch if you will encounter these events because there is a censored and an uncensored version of this anime. In the censored version you won’t see any nudity, in the uncensored version you can expect a lot of frontal nudity and I mean a lot. Personally I watched the uncensored version because I wanted te see the anime as it was intended to. But the soma thing was completely irrelevant to the story and could have been easily left out.

*The second season of Seikon no Qwaser was a big disappointment for me. All the things that were good in the first season disappear in the second. There are almost no fight scenes anymore, the story is kinda lame and the relationship between Aleksander and Mafuyu is shoved to the side.

I can see why the second season was never finished which is a real shame because in the last episode things start to get interesting again. So expect a completely unfinished ending to the anime.


In conclusion Seikon no Qwaser has two sides: you have the action part which I really enjoyed and then you have the Soma thing which put a bad label on this anime. If you’re going to watch this anime chose for yourself if you want to see the censored or uncensored version. And expect a early end to the rather disappointing second season. Considering all these things I’m going to rate Seikon no Qwaser at 3,5 stars.

7.5/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
Gzerble's avatar By on Feb 9, 2015

So, a redhead, a girl with huge boobs, and a nun walk into a bar. Replace bar with school, and you've got the premise for Seikon no Qwaser. Fan service is too gentle a phrase for what goes on here. Other than "suck boobs to get superpowers", a loli dominatrix and her school girl slave, a nun that shows her tits every show, girls lusting over a thirteen year old boy, maid outfits, bath scenes, there are the explicit sex scenes including bondage, rape, and incest. Let us not forget the memorable showing of the masochist incest twins, tit-lasers, and butch-nun. Oh, the list goes on, these are just from the first half of the show.

This supposedly doesn't count as straight up Hentai because of the lame fig leaf called plot in Seikon no Qwaser... though that is being far too generous in my opinion. This is either an action hentai piece with the smallest amount of "action" in it, or an action piece with the most egregious fan service of all times. The true star of the show is the existence of boobs of all shapes and sizes. The characters are irrelevant next to the power of topless women.

Naturally, this kind of one dimensional, idiotic, shameless garbage should make every single viewer out there sick. It is a disgusting piece of low brow softcore pornography with zero artistic merit and plots as deep as a sheet of paper. Anyone and everyone would be better off skipping it.

Naturally, I binged on Seikon no Qwaser like a crack addict at an all-you-can-crack crackhouse.

The shamelessly exploitative nature of the show is just awesome. It alternates between fan service, action scenes, fan service, softcore porn, fan service, lame "dark" plot, and fan service. What can I say, I'm a simple man, with simple tastes, and Seikon no Qwaser scores on all points (except the lame plot). At no point does the show try to stop and be something else, and this is a wonderful thing. Sure, there is the occasional crappy exposition dialogue that actually has some moments where it's not terrible, but this is all about exploitation and aiming at your junk and not your brain.

Writing (Story and Characters):

Extreme sexual exploitation. Crappy drama as an excuse for extreme sexual exploitation. A complete lack of even basic crappy drama as an excuse for extreme sexual exploitation. The writing of Seikon no Qwaser has one vision to bring about, and that is girls of all shapes, sizes, and levels of nudity. In one word, glorious. In two, completely retarded. Luckily, those are not mutually exclusive.

Trying for anything special? You've got to be kidding. The story does not really try for anything remotely like that. The people writing this didn't care for things like story. Or for anything more than an excuse for fight scenes and obvious sexual themes. When a story doesn't even try to achieve a good excuse, you know the writers were having a blast. And somehow, there is a very honest charm to it due to nobody giving a f... care. Unfortunately, the second half of the show tries to develop the throwaway plot, and this is where Seikon no Qwaser fails.

Character development is more of an afterthought. Most of the characters are completely irrelevant to the "plot". Caring for any of the characters is really hard. They are a combination of generic and boring, with their backstories a cliche. There are plenty of panty shots and boobs in place of personality, and that kinda works.

If you want to view Seikon no Qwaser for the plot, you might as well start at episode 15 or so. Unfortunately, the show will really suck then. I'd recommend the first fourteen, where it isn't an issue. The writing is at its best when it is gloriously stupid. The moment it tries to be serious, it is absolutely loathesome. The show is at its best when boobs replace personalities and fan service replaces story. Still, the cliche angsty plot with battles and drama is kinda ok for what it is, I guess.

Art (Animation and Sound):

Boobs. Gazongas. Tits. Cans. Breasts. Hooters. Knockers. Boobies. These are many of the things the artwork focuses on. There are other things like panties, butts, various forms of bondage, and skimpy clothing. I'm sure there were other things in the artwork, I just don't remember any at the moment. Wait, lesbian rape, does that count as art? I'll say yes to that.

Fan service is the point of the animation in Seikon no Qwaser. And it does so spectacularly. From a technical standpoint the animation is bad. The talking is just lips moving, the characters are overly static, the amount of movement is minimal, the fight scenes take all the shortcuts possible, but still... the backgrounds are clever and well done, the character designs while generic are detailed, especially in boobs. Oh, the boobs. They jiggle, they bounce, and they're awesome.

The soundtrack is just on the right side of self aware and well executed (including the obligatory porno theme, dramatic piano piece, mischivious orchestral bit, and so on). The voice acting isn't half bad, and actually has moments where it is good (as well as the standard determined shouts of sword battles to balance that out). The sound effects are surprisingly efficient and well used.

Artwork makes boob jiggling stories come to life. Where there is no story, the art gives Seikon no Qwaser a lot of life that is sorely needed. And hey, its all an excuse for various females in various sexual situations.


I enjoyed Seikon no Qwaser a lot. It is most definitely a guilty pleasure, but hey, enough TNA can fix guilt for you. It sure did for me.

3.5/10 story
7.5/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
3/10 characters
7/10 overall