Seikon no Qwaser

Alt title: Qwaser Of Stigmata

sort

Reviews

MurasakiDoku's avatar By on Jun 2, 2011

"Seikon no Qwaser is a tricky mistress."

This is what I say to anybody who asks me to explain what this show is.

Additionally, I would never recommend it to anyone out of the blue. Not because I don't love it (because I do) but because it's a "niche anime".

The premise of this show is--no, not breastmilk, I'll get to that later--really a "battle shounen" archetype. The main character fights evil lackies throughout the show, and ends up defeating the Big Bad at the end. In this sense, the show is a masterpiece. Driven by a very clever (if not always scientifically accurate) idea of people having the ability to control a particular element (as in the periodic table of elements) in almost the same way as Benders from Airbender do--except in far more chem-nerd and varied ways.

As for the ecchi? Well, the show really doesn't need it, but you know what they say: "sex sells". I wish the show had taken the same route as the manga, and depicted nudity in an artful, symbolic manner, rather than the more-than-often prepubescently immature scenes rampant with faux-lesbianism intended solely to get the audience's rocks off rather than contributing to the overall plot. Thankfully, these kinds of scenes are few and far between. By the way, are you bothered that virgins are spurting breastmilk, when that's nigh impossible in real life? Only Qwasers can pull out Soma; normal people can't make other normal people lactate.

The music is EXCELLENT. The battle tune and the first OP never fail to get my blood boiling. The rest of the soundtrack is varied and never misses a beat--every single song on the OST makes for easy listening.

The main character, Sasha, is a perfect example of bishounen Bad-Ass-MotherF**ker. His character development lies in what begins as uncultured mannerisms, having not been provided with a healthy childhood. The love interest, Mafuyu, does not take well to the change her life is going through, nor Sasha's uncultured mess, but eventually comes to in very tender character development. The best friend, Tomo, is a moe mess, but manages to gain a little bit of my respect because she's sickly, and doesn't go through any character development beyond being a plot device. Katja and Hana solely exist for the masochistic lolicon's fanservice, but are pretty legitimate characters when they feel like it. Lizzie is the tomboy fan's fantasy and goes through alliance conflict. Teresa isn't much more notable than just being an awesome battle nun. The rest of the cast is, appropriately, extremely minor. Miyuri is the only one that manages to make me truly hate her--she's the typical arrogant bucket of fail who pretty much ruins the show whenever she speaks. (Don't watch episode 14. Just don't do it. COMPLETELY irrelevant to the plot and nothing but Failbucket.)

Provided that you're going into this show already diddling yourself, and are looking forward to this "battle shounen" previously mentioned, you will find yourself alienated by the ecchi. Alternatively, if you're going into this show begging for tits, you will find yourself alienated by a rich story and action sequences. That is why this is a "niche anime"--the only people that will love this show are battle shounen fans that are comfortable with sexuality edging in on the territory.

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
diclonius1's avatar By on Jun 30, 2011

Story: 8/10

Good story, with nice flow. A bit too ecchi (but I liked it xD), a bit romantic and action filled most of the time. It had some stupid fillers but...oh well.

I don't have much to say and I'm stopping here before I start filling the review with spoilers. ^-^

Animation: 9/10

Nice animation, cool character desing. Not much to say.

Sound: 9/10

Very good voice actors, really nice openings and endings. Not much to say here either.

Characters: 8/10

Cool characters, most of them nice. Not introduced really well though but the story's flow is okay so it doesn't really matter.

Overall: 9/10

I got hooked on this anime. Couldn't stop watching and I liked the manga too. Most people don't like it 'cause of the "boobie action". If you hate ecchi don't watch it. It is a good anime though so...

 

Not much of a helpful review, I know but, I don't have much to say about the anime. I recommend it. ^-^

Peace \/

diclonius1.

8/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
jv4ever's avatar By on Mar 28, 2015

For a video review, check out my Youtube channel. Link on my profile page.

This review will consist of the first and second season of Seikon no Qwaser.

Positive

*The action has to be the best part of this anime, the fight scenes between the quasars are intens and also nicely animated. Each of the quasars that we meet has it’s own personality and each of the fights is unique in it’s own way. They don’t feel repetitive at all despite that they follow each other in quite a high pace.

*Related to the action was the use of actual chemistry in the fight scenes. I’m a biochemist myself so I was surprised when the characters used the chemical properties of their element to defeat each other. 

*Something that I absolutely didn’t expect to find in this anime was romance so I was really surprised when I actually started to care about the relationship between Aleksander and Mafuyu. Unfortunately their relationship only developed in the first season and was kind of neglected in the second but more about that second season later on.

Negative

*The biggest problem that everyone has with anime is the way that the qwasers gain their energy. They have to drink a substance called Soma which they have to consume out of women’s breasts. So whe can perfectly say that they have to drink breastmilk in order to function. Now it depends which version of Seikon no Qwaser you watch if you will encounter these events because there is a censored and an uncensored version of this anime. In the censored version you won’t see any nudity, in the uncensored version you can expect a lot of frontal nudity and I mean a lot. Personally I watched the uncensored version because I wanted te see the anime as it was intended to. But the soma thing was completely irrelevant to the story and could have been easily left out.

*The second season of Seikon no Qwaser was a big disappointment for me. All the things that were good in the first season disappear in the second. There are almost no fight scenes anymore, the story is kinda lame and the relationship between Aleksander and Mafuyu is shoved to the side.

I can see why the second season was never finished which is a real shame because in the last episode things start to get interesting again. So expect a completely unfinished ending to the anime.

Conclusion

In conclusion Seikon no Qwaser has two sides: you have the action part which I really enjoyed and then you have the Soma thing which put a bad label on this anime. If you’re going to watch this anime chose for yourself if you want to see the censored or uncensored version. And expect a early end to the rather disappointing second season. Considering all these things I’m going to rate Seikon no Qwaser at 3,5 stars.

7.5/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
Gzerble's avatar By on Feb 9, 2015

So, a redhead, a girl with huge boobs, and a nun walk into a bar. Replace bar with school, and you've got the premise for Seikon no Qwaser. Fan service is too gentle a phrase for what goes on here. Other than "suck boobs to get superpowers", a loli dominatrix and her school girl slave, a nun that shows her tits every show, girls lusting over a thirteen year old boy, maid outfits, bath scenes, there are the explicit sex scenes including bondage, rape, and incest. Let us not forget the memorable showing of the masochist incest twins, tit-lasers, and butch-nun. Oh, the list goes on, these are just from the first half of the show.

This supposedly doesn't count as straight up Hentai because of the lame fig leaf called plot in Seikon no Qwaser... though that is being far too generous in my opinion. This is either an action hentai piece with the smallest amount of "action" in it, or an action piece with the most egregious fan service of all times. The true star of the show is the existence of boobs of all shapes and sizes. The characters are irrelevant next to the power of topless women.

Naturally, this kind of one dimensional, idiotic, shameless garbage should make every single viewer out there sick. It is a disgusting piece of low brow softcore pornography with zero artistic merit and plots as deep as a sheet of paper. Anyone and everyone would be better off skipping it.

Naturally, I binged on Seikon no Qwaser like a crack addict at an all-you-can-crack crackhouse.

The shamelessly exploitative nature of the show is just awesome. It alternates between fan service, action scenes, fan service, softcore porn, fan service, lame "dark" plot, and fan service. What can I say, I'm a simple man, with simple tastes, and Seikon no Qwaser scores on all points (except the lame plot). At no point does the show try to stop and be something else, and this is a wonderful thing. Sure, there is the occasional crappy exposition dialogue that actually has some moments where it's not terrible, but this is all about exploitation and aiming at your junk and not your brain.

Writing (Story and Characters):

Extreme sexual exploitation. Crappy drama as an excuse for extreme sexual exploitation. A complete lack of even basic crappy drama as an excuse for extreme sexual exploitation. The writing of Seikon no Qwaser has one vision to bring about, and that is girls of all shapes, sizes, and levels of nudity. In one word, glorious. In two, completely retarded. Luckily, those are not mutually exclusive.

Trying for anything special? You've got to be kidding. The story does not really try for anything remotely like that. The people writing this didn't care for things like story. Or for anything more than an excuse for fight scenes and obvious sexual themes. When a story doesn't even try to achieve a good excuse, you know the writers were having a blast. And somehow, there is a very honest charm to it due to nobody giving a f... care. Unfortunately, the second half of the show tries to develop the throwaway plot, and this is where Seikon no Qwaser fails.

Character development is more of an afterthought. Most of the characters are completely irrelevant to the "plot". Caring for any of the characters is really hard. They are a combination of generic and boring, with their backstories a cliche. There are plenty of panty shots and boobs in place of personality, and that kinda works.

If you want to view Seikon no Qwaser for the plot, you might as well start at episode 15 or so. Unfortunately, the show will really suck then. I'd recommend the first fourteen, where it isn't an issue. The writing is at its best when it is gloriously stupid. The moment it tries to be serious, it is absolutely loathesome. The show is at its best when boobs replace personalities and fan service replaces story. Still, the cliche angsty plot with battles and drama is kinda ok for what it is, I guess.

Art (Animation and Sound):

Boobs. Gazongas. Tits. Cans. Breasts. Hooters. Knockers. Boobies. These are many of the things the artwork focuses on. There are other things like panties, butts, various forms of bondage, and skimpy clothing. I'm sure there were other things in the artwork, I just don't remember any at the moment. Wait, lesbian rape, does that count as art? I'll say yes to that.

Fan service is the point of the animation in Seikon no Qwaser. And it does so spectacularly. From a technical standpoint the animation is bad. The talking is just lips moving, the characters are overly static, the amount of movement is minimal, the fight scenes take all the shortcuts possible, but still... the backgrounds are clever and well done, the character designs while generic are detailed, especially in boobs. Oh, the boobs. They jiggle, they bounce, and they're awesome.

The soundtrack is just on the right side of self aware and well executed (including the obligatory porno theme, dramatic piano piece, mischivious orchestral bit, and so on). The voice acting isn't half bad, and actually has moments where it is good (as well as the standard determined shouts of sword battles to balance that out). The sound effects are surprisingly efficient and well used.

Artwork makes boob jiggling stories come to life. Where there is no story, the art gives Seikon no Qwaser a lot of life that is sorely needed. And hey, its all an excuse for various females in various sexual situations.

Overall:

I enjoyed Seikon no Qwaser a lot. It is most definitely a guilty pleasure, but hey, enough TNA can fix guilt for you. It sure did for me.

3.5/10 story
7.5/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
3/10 characters
7/10 overall
Mozuri's avatar By on Nov 15, 2012

Seikon no Qwaser is a show that is so bad, that it's good. Btw this show is the second most perverted anime (not hentai) ever made, losing only to the KissxSis Ova's... If you can get past that though, the show becomes strangely entertaining.


Why I love this show:

  1. The ability to control an element is awesome
  2. The characters in the show are pretty bad-ass
  3. Boob sucking is actually a plot device (lmfao)
  4. It has one of the best Gothic Lolitas in existance
  5. Has two of the best Opening Songs ever
  6. Hitlers wife is an enemy in the show, and if that isn't funny enough, she's also an immortal lesbian who rapes younger clones of herself to DEATH, to stay alive.
  7. Laughable religious symbolism and other BS themes
  8. During the end of the show, the main heroines latent breast potential was activated and thus turned her breasts into (and I quote) "Super Breasts " with the ability to shoot an unlimited amount of breast milk at 20+ MPH

 What I don't like about this show:

  1. Tomo is retarded
  2. Could've focused a little more on plot at times
  3. Uncensored version in good quality was a bitch to find
  4. I can't recommend this show to anybody I know
  5. Season 2 was terrible
  6. The pink haired girl

6/10 story
6/10 animation
7/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall