Problem Children Are Coming From Another World, Aren't They?

Alt titles: Mondai-Ji-tachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo?

sort

Reviews

roriconfan's avatar By on Apr 3, 2013

PROPER MINDSET
This anime (which I will simply call Mondaiji) is basically a filler series. Meaning, something you will watch between better titles or when there is nothing good on tv. It is one of those light shows people watch as relaxation or when they are very bored. Sure, I make it sound like it is a bad thing when it isn’t but then again I am not watching anime because I am bored.

SCRIPT
The story is about three teenagers from our world being transferred to a magical land where they need to help it help it be freed from the tyranny of demon lords. Sounds a bit typical so far, yet it plays a twist on this by making the whole thing to feel like it’s a parody. The teenagers are really messed up in their heads and possess superpowers that surpass even those of the demon lords. And the way to save the world is by winning in games. And their guide in this world is a sexy bunny rabbit. Sounds funny? Yes! Do they do much with any of all that besides one joke after another? No!

If you try to see this show for any other reason than comedy, then chances are you will be greatly disappointed with how effortless everything is. The heroes have simply no trouble beating all the challenges, which are nothing but silly games in a fantasy-themed amusement part. They are also supposed to have their personal issues but those mean nothing if they can waltz through the challenges within minutes and be constantly the heroes of the day. It sort of takes away any reason to keep watching. But then again the whole show is about wishful thinking than drama or tension so I guess it is what the creators intended for it to be all along. You have these arrogant overpowered kids who are bored out of their minds in our world and wish to show off how cool they are in a fictional land that looks like a fairy tale, where everything is a joke and no real worries exist. What kind of insecured kid wouldn’t like that?

As far as the humour goes, it is ok to the most part but just like everything else it is light and silly. It mostly has to do with the heroes being badass and manipulating, and that bunny girl keep being sexually humiliated despite all her good intensions. It sort of becomes repetitive from a point on but the show is only 10 episodes so it doesn’t last long enough to become boring in a redundant way. I know many who think it is too short for its content but I don’t agree; if it doesn’t have much of a plot or any significant tension then it might as well stop while it is still good, instead of keep getting more of it until nobody cares anymore. They did that with the very similar Dog Days and look how bad it turned out to be for not ending in half a season. They could have made a continuation where the heroes are starting to lose or the drama becomes more prominent than the humour but that would move too far away from the initial goal of the show and it would displease most. So it was fine to end where it did.

PRODUCTION VALUES
As far as artwork goes, there is nothing noteworthy. I mean, ok, the fantasy land looks colourful and eye-catchy, and the bunny girl is hot. That is all there is to it; nothing exceptional in terms or details, cinematics, fluent animation or special effects during the battles. The characters are as stereotypical as they get, both in design as well as personality.

The music themes are forgettable fluff, and the voice acting is lost under the very light presentation of the story. There are no bigshot names in the production team either; studio, directors, and writer are nobodies who only did silly stuff in the past and don’t intend to create something memorable EVER!

CAST
Many loved the lead boy for being an arrogant bastard than the usually pussy protagonist of harems that is in almost every show there is today. That doesn’t make him any special or memorable since we get a badass like him once in every season and they are all as forgettable as the wimps they try not to resemble. The other two girls that are in the same team as him are from a point on completely worthless too, since he alone can defeat EVERYTHING with no support from friends or allies. What was the point of having three heroes when one was more than enough while the other two barely matter or are noticed?

LEGACY
Let’s be frank of what this show is, ok? A light watch to chuckle for a couple of times before you find a better show and forget it within a week. It is not bad yet nothing special to bother recommending to others. I came, I saw, I left, I remember nothing about it. There is no value in it exactly because it never tried to be anything more than an anecdote.

And now for some excused scorings.

ART SECTION: 7/10
General Artwork 2/2 (looks like a fairy tale)
Character Figures 1/2 (generic)
Backgrounds 2/2 (basic but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Animation 1/2 (basic)
Visual Effects 1/2 (basic)

SOUND SECTION: 6/10
Voice Acting 2/3 (corny but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Music Themes 2/4 (average)
Sound Effects 2/3 (ok I guess)

STORY SECTION: 2/10
Premise 1/2 (simple)
Pacing 0/2 (very loose)
Complexity 0/2 (none)
Plausibility 0/2 (none)
Conclusion 1/2 (cheesy)

CHARACTER SECTION: 3/10
Presence 1/2 (generic)
Personality 2/2 (silly but well founded)
Backdrop 0/2 (none)
Development 0/2 (none)
Catharsis 0/2 (none)

VALUE SECTION: 1/10
Historical Value 0/3 (none)
Rewatchability 1/3 (low because of too little plot)
Memorability 0/4 (nothing to remember it for)

ENJOYMENT SECTION: 2/10
Art 1/1 (looks like a fairy tale)
Sound 0/2 (sounds meh)
Story 1/3 (feels generic and effortless)
Characters 0/4 (they are cardboards)

VERDICT: 3.5/10

2/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
3/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
Neukris's avatar By on Aug 25, 2014

This review may contain my own opinion and possible minor spoilers, read at your own risk!

If you still want to read this review, here we go then.

Story: The story is about 3 people, You KASUKABE, Asuka KUDOU and Izayoi SAKAMAKI, whom are suddenly invited and teleported to the unknown land known as "Little Garden". The reason is, the Black Rabbit summoned them since each of them own an unique ability. I'll explain why Black Rabbit summoned them later. First, let's see... what exactly is Little Garden? Little Garden is world where anyone can host Gift Games, in which any possible prizes (from gift cards, which can be used in gift games to help you out, to one's lifes...) may be won or lost by gods, spirits, monsters or people with extraordinary abilities like You, Asuka and Izayoi. Furthermore, clans exist in this world. Each clan contains few or a lot of people that participate in games (depending on rules, which are made by hosts, or you could call them challengers) in order to help each other win. Most clans posses their own flags and territories like an actual country.

Why did Black Rabbit summon You, Asuka and Izayoi? Basically, Black Rabbit is part of the clan that used to be like any other clan, until they lost its name and members in the Game, which led to losing its status as an actual clan. 

Now the No-Name clan seeks a new talent to make comeback and to regain its flag and name. Thus, Black Rabbit summoned our children in order to get help from them in regaining clan's pride. Will they help Black Rabbit or just ditch her, or perhaps make some kind of trade? And if they join the clan, will they be able to succeed with the redemption of the clan? Watch the anime to find out!

Animation: The animation in this anime is good. I don't know what more to say about that, but again, some people may have different tastes.

Sound: Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo has decent soundtrack. The main thing that caught my eye (or more like ear) though, would be the opening, which is very catchy. 1-2-3! Black or White~?

Characters:

Black Rabbit - Funny airhead character with oppais and bunny ears and tail. Always targeted by everyone's teasing, that will do anything in order for the clan to succeed. You'll love this character right away, as she is always interesting to watch. ALWAYS.

Izayoi Sakamaki - A not-so-typical teenager with unknown ability that overpowers anything and anyone in his way. Izayoi's main reason for participating in clan's redemption is that it could be fun, unlike his original world. He is the one who always keeps his cool.

Asuka Kudou - Bossy and friendly Ojou-sama with big ego. Asuka, who didn't like her original world much enjoys Little Garden a lot with her psychic powers.

You Kasukabe - Your typical mischievous animal lover with cat pet. Kasukabe also has an unique power like Asuka and Izayoi.

Overall: Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? also known as just "Problem Children" is an anime that is worthwhile of your time. It's main course is strange comedy, with few fan service here and there (mainly in OVA). If you're looking to have fun by watching a laid-back anime, yet sometimes serious, this anime is just for you!

8/10 story
10/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
Otaku108's avatar By on Mar 10, 2015

A perfect example of what happens when Dues Ex Machina runs rampant.

Story:

I guess there was a story here, but it's disjointed and unfinished nature left more than a little something to be desired. What makes it worse is the fact that it had real potential to be a great anime but fell so short of the mark because it never went anywhere that you're just left with a bitter taste.

Animation:

Actually a decent looking show with it's stylized characters, well done scenes, and everything else having a solid flow to it. I can't say it's the best artwork I've ever seen since there are older titles which looked tons better but this wasn't horrible by any stretch of the imagination.

Sound:

Music, voice acting, and various sounds were all fluid and non-grating. I can't really complain about it at all other than to say it didn't stand out in a good or bad way.

Characters:

Another point of the show which was actually interesting to me but couldn't, on it's own, hold up the show. Most of the characters were interesting with a hidden depth that they never really went into. It left me wanting to know more about each of the 3 protagonists but being that the show was so short they never delved into them leaving a bit of a black mark in the end.

Overall:

There's something to be said for believable plot devices beyond what my opening statement points out. More over the show just has this massive unfinished feel to it, and just ruins the story they were seemingly trying to tell. What with the unfinished feel and the blatant over use of an unfavorable plot device this show just really isn't worth sitting through unless you have nothing better to watch. It's not horrible, I was very interested in it through out but it just leaves off with nothing explained and nothing resolved.

1/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
8/10 characters
4/10 overall
Gzerble's avatar By on Feb 6, 2015

Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? is a mediocre show that doesn't take itself seriously. The story is utter rubbish, the characters are annoying, the animation is purposefully simplistic to downright crude at times, and the sound is cartoonish to the extreme. Luckily, the complete self-awareness of this show makes it a passable view.

This isn't a show for everyone, obviously. Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? is in essence one of those shows you watch, enjoy, and forget as soon as you see them. The plot is not captivating, the characters aren't memorable, the animation and sound aren't works of art, and the overall experience isn't particularly impressive. What the anime is though, is fun. There are moments of humor that range between banal to brilliant, boring to breathtaking, but basically better than average overall.

Yes, there is fan service, yes there is shameless use of standard scenes, yes, there is a pervert demon thing which is quite friendly, and yes, you have seen every single detail here in other shows before. This is formulaic to an extreme level. Luckily, following a recipe leads to a tasty dish... if one that gets boring after the millionth time or so. Still, while watching it you have your fun, after it you understand it was a complete waste of time. Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? is the potato chips of the anime world. Yes, I'm a bit salty about watching it.

Still, for something so lacking in anything unique, it has plenty of personality. It is absolutely average in the grand scale of things, but if you aren't numb to the tropes that make the series (strange world, high stakes games, self-aware parody, standard superpowered fight scenes, etc), it is enjoyable. Myself, I found it full of potential but ultimately dissapointingly average.

Writing (Story and Characters):

In essence, the story is "the standard superpowered teens get sucked into world and like fighting". Having been done to death, the writing is to give some stylistic differentiation. Humor supplies the greatest moments of Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? with moments of either clever or self-aware writing (including the famous speech that pokes fun at fan service for trying to be more sexual than straight-up pornography). There is some rather heavy handed reliance on one hero being super-strong, which takes away a lot of the drama in the combat scenes. The character-driven side is also rather raw and simplistic. Still, that choice is more about style than anything else.

Plot is maybe too strong a word in the context of a show like Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo?, since it is more than ordinary. It relies heavily on well known tropes, and doesn't stray from them. It is the standard mix of fluff, challenges, and exposition about the world and characters. For such a short series, there isn't really time for any of these to be particularly developed, and the story ends before there is any resolution to any element. Still, there is a charm that made these cliches so popular which manages to salvage the story from being a complete disaster, along with the fact that it remains with narrow enough a focus to not become incoherent and avoids becoming convoluted for the sake of fake complexity.

A well rounded cast basically sets the tone of the series, but unfortunately this is the weakest point of Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? - the cast is not particularly well suited to either humor nor drama. They are just aren't an interesting bunch, and their moments where they actually are problem children end rather early in the series. The character-driven side of the show falls with the complete lack of development of any of them other than perhaps one side character. It ends up with a cast aimed at a lower age group than the cleverest bits of humor, and as such ends up removing a lot of the strength of the series.

Particularly bad moments exist, but still, the humor helps elevate this show from being completely mundane. The plentiful problems with the writing (a weak story, boring characters, and both overly simplistic) are quite obvious, but Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? manages to make up for it with plenty of form in lieu of substance. A little bit of actual substance could have made the writing a lot more memorable, but being memorable isn't what anyone went for, rather than supplying some moments that the viewers can enjoy, and in that there is a success.

Art (Animation and Sound):

When the plot and characters are weak, the added value has to be in the art. Fortunately, the artwork of Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? is clever enough to know just how much creativity and a reliance on gimmicks is necessary. The artwork is particularly crude at the right times, going over the top at many times, and relying on gimmicky aninmation and sound. The choices of artwork are all about form, keeping things light hearted and on the border between crude and extremely expressive. In no way is the artwork groundbreaking, but in no way is it broken.

From an animation perspective, there are plenty of choices that work for Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo?'s longevity. There is no heavy reliance on realism, and things get proudly cartoonish. The character designs are unoriginal, and there is a heavy relliance on animation tricks and tropes in order to give personality to everything. Luckily, that works surprisingly well and ends up fitting with the self-aware narrative of the show. While something that looks like this feels more like it belongs in the pre-2006 days of artwork, it is still rather good execution of that style even if it makes it feel particularly low budget at times. And hey, it is not often when using the playboy rabbit bunny girl for fan service in this way - people avoid it becuase of the cliche, so it was actually a welcome surprise.

Voice acting is about finding a balance between subtlety and emotion. At the start, we get a nice blanace in Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo?, but it is quickly lost as it seems that planning just went out the window and most of the show was the creators winging it. Still, while childish, the voice acting is very effective at what it does. Keeping things light hearted and fun is no small feat, and doing that without becoming annoying is hard. Fortunately, the style of the sound (in voice acting, effects, and soundtrack) is a perfect fit for the show. The ending song is also particularly inspired in the context of the show itself, something that rarely happens.

While the animation and sound are good, they combine into artwork which gives the writing just the right context. It is incredibly gratifying to see that above average artwork, if used correctly, can change a show from having a boring premise, mediocre story, and lame characters into something truly fun. Without solid writing, the technical aspects of the show aren't good enough to make it memorable. Still, this works out nicely overall, giving the moments of humor in the writing their time to shine. The artwork is fantastic in what it does, even if in itself it is just somewhat above average.

Overall:

Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? is an utter waste of time. It is a fun way to waste time, but you won't remember anything other than a couple of jokes by the time you finished watching it. It isn't bad. It isn't good. It has bad moments and good moments, and while fun, I'm not quite sure if I like it or not. I can see why some people love the show while others will find it utterly moronic. It is a surprisingly difficult call to make.

3/10 story
6.5/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
2.5/10 characters
5.2/10 overall
DropofVenus's avatar By on Jul 7, 2014

Final Verdict 2 star Not Really "that good": This show is kinda different from what I normally would watch animewise in recent times. The hype surrounding it's release got me interested originally. It is very much like alice in wonderland made into more of a game with three annoying brats with superpowers as alice. Rather than a pure madness or road-trip adventure it tries to bring in some politics and plot devices to overcome that really do not go anywhere. And the ending just left me feeling bored and that I wasted my time. The visuals and premise might keep some emerged, but not me.

Characters: The characters that stood out for me is Izayoi and Kuro Usagi (Black Rabbit). Isayoi because he is the most arrogant conceited badass anime protagonist in recent years. He is just a fun character who gets some fun lines and attention well deserved. Kuro Usagi because she dresses like a slut, is ditsy, easily flustered, cute, holds her own when needed and you just can't seem to tell whether she wants you to see through her or not. While they are good they do not get as much development as I would like. I would not find this a problem if the show did not take itself to seriously, but sadly it does at times. The rest of the cast I found forgettable just like Disney's Black Cauldron. No star for this one.

Story: While the plot (does it have one?) went nowhere it still felt a little rushed. What made it enjoyable though was the fact that you really wanted to try to understand it. While the political talk might bore some I found myself really engaged at times. For that it deserves some credit.

Animation: The superpowers have some nice animation and overall it was good maybe even better than it needed to be. Very Shiny!!!

Music: Other than the catchy pop opening theme Black+White not much to mention or need to be heard. No star for this one.

4/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
2/10 characters
4/10 overall