Okane ga Nai!

Alt title: No Money

sort

Reviews

IcyAnnie's avatar By on Apr 14, 2016

I love yaoi, but I just could not get through this anime. I know that dominating!seme/submissive!uke is the most common trope in the genre, but Jesus, this takes it to the extremes... and not in a fun way like Target in the Finder! Also, the animation is horrendous. I just can't get over the fact that Ayase looks like he's ten-years-old, which makes it even more disturbing! Plus, I really can't stand characters who does nothing but cry all the time.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
1/10 overall
VivisQueen's avatar By on Oct 29, 2009

I’ve heard of foxes so desperate to escape a hunter’s trap that they’ve gnawed off their own leg in the process. I felt a similar urge of self-preservation to rip out my eyes when watching Okane ga Nai. At the same time, I couldn’t help marvelling at its bottomless supply of sleaze, its total disregard for old literary comforts like ‘plotting’, and not to mention character designs so disfigured that I thought the animators must be closet homophobes. Indeed, there’s something eerily self-harming in the experience; like that deathly vice maiming so many innocent woodland animals, Okane ga Nai clamped me to my seat with the irresistible power of horror. One grown man buys a pubescent-looking youth on chains (despite his looks he’s supposedly legal) as a sex slave and tells him to pay it off by becoming his house-homo tied to the kitchen and, of course, the bedroom. UN Declaration of Human Rights aside, I can’t believe this tripe counts as romance.

Yaoi fans will lap this up - after all, it’s about two guys doing it! - but everybody else will not.

1/10 story
3/10 animation
3.5/10 sound
1/10 characters
1.5/10 overall
7 0 this review is Funny Helpful
Zeltomation1's avatar By on Aug 4, 2014

Ok so i personally wouldn't say its the best anime that i have watched but overall a good anime for the yaoi fans. The story is very unique as it is based on a young man (university student) who's cousin sold him because he is in dept for some reasons and a very rich man buys him for a few billion pounds. good animation but less realistic for me but if you like it im happy for you:) i think the sound was great but i always watch it in subbed but it wasn't as bad as maid sama sound so im impressed.

characters were well done for me as they are all different so overall i did give it an 8/10 

8/10 story
8/10 animation
9/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
XxxOctoberxxX123's avatar By on Oct 26, 2012

I haven't read the Manga and based off the OVAs I don't plan too.

It's a pretty decent story line, it had some cute moments, but you couldn't really feel the love. I also couldn't get over how big Kanou was. I know as a Seme, they tend to be bigger and broader than the Uke, but Kanou looked like a misshapen monster standing next to tiny Ayase.

5/10 story
3/10 animation
8/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
4.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
hamletsmage's avatar By on Apr 20, 2011

Ayase is probably the only character I liked. The first 2 episodes, he is a little 2-dimensional character wise. His character really starts to show in the 3rd episode, and it's an improvement. The rest of the cast is rather static and bland, with little to go on. The relationship between Ayase and Kanao is a little odd with a D/s vibe to it, and is definitely a little extreme.

While the sound and animation are decent, the bad plot and bland characters drag down the rating.

 

3/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
3/10 characters
4.5/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful