Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!!

Alt titles: Majikoi - Oh! Samurai Girls!

Reviews

randomredneck's avatar By on Dec 27, 2011

Greeting, fellow anime viewers. It's the one and only RandomRedneck, here with another anime review. First episodes can be misleading. They can make you believe a show will be a balls out action series...and then turn out to be a below average harem series. I speak of Maji De Watashi Ni Koi Shinasai. Let us begin shall we?

STORY

If you're watching this show, I hope you weren't expecting a real rich story. The first episode is about some battle between classes. I really wish that's what the story would have followed, because it was pretty awesome. But sadly, it's dropped after the first episode, and becomes your typical harem story. And then some plot about terrorists comes up in episode 2, and isn't followed on for several episodes. Oh, and the eventual choice our "Hero" Yamato picks? His hermit crabs. Yeah, hope you weren't hoping for him to pick an actual character...

ANIMATION

One of those situations where I'll give credit, where credit is due. The animation is pretty good. It's what drew me in during that previously mentioned first episode. The animation makes the fights, when they happen, real fun to watch.

SOUND

It's alright. The opening them is pretty forgettable. Ending theme almost as much, but it's actually kinda catchy, so I'll give it some credit there.

CHARACTERS

Characters are an alright selling point for this show...well, except Momoyo(She's a bitch). We have our main protagonist, Yamato. Strategist, Pervert, and unafraid to whip it out at annoying people. Strangely enough, despite having a house full of willing poon, this guy has his...let's say heart, set on Momoyo. Some super martial arts powered bitch, who shot him down. Twice. And despite said shooting down, when she finds out the other four have a thing for him, she get's unjustly jealous. Real nice. Next up, we have Miyako. Resident scene stealer, and really wants to tap Yamato. My favorite character BTW. Mayuuchi next. Shrinking violet, sword fighter, and loves to talk through some weird little ornament named Matsukaze. She's right behind Miyako for being my favorite. Chris and Wanko sadly, get pretty shafted for individual screen time. Except for one episode each, they kinda get shoved into the background among the chicks. Good characters nonetheless.

OVERALL

This show isn't bad, but it isn't great either. Except for some pretty awesome action scenes, you won't be wowed. Check out Maji De Watashi Ni Koi Shinasai. You won't be sorry...but you won't be thankful either. That is all. Thank you.

Yours truly,

RandomRedneck.

3/10 story
6/10 animation
4/10 sound
5/10 characters
4.5/10 overall
mahius's avatar By on Sep 28, 2014

Majikoi is a 12 episode anime about military power, fighting and a hint of politics. Unfortunately this also fits into the bloated ecchi-harem genre, one that I hate with a passion. And I won't let this one get away either, however, this anime happens to be better than the average ecchi-harem. Though that doesn't take much. The music is top-notch so give the OST a go, if you don't watch this one. I also actually laughed during the first 6 episodes, though that might have had something to do with my attempt at drunk marathon-ing this anime. It still contains the terrible ecchi-harem tropes.

For animation quality, this anime was made during recent years where quality has peaked and is no longer a problem. The style isn't unique however and the ecchi content has me divided. The first episode gave me the impression that there wasn't much ecchi at all and any fan-service would be jusified. However, the next few episodes proved my prediction wrong. There is actual nudity, though genitalia is censored of course. In one case a guys genitalia is censored by pixelation, however his swinging balls can still be made out. Episode 5 is the worst culprit however due to it being dedicated to a festival about penises. And I'm not joking, there are literal cock-fights too. This alone will drag the animation score down a lot. There are very few ecchi scenes justified by context, like a chick trying to sleep with a dude.

The best bit of this anime is definitely the sound. While, the first episode lacks a proper intro and outro, there is still epic battle music. After hearing the intro/outro and backing music from the second episode, I immediately went to download the soundtrack. Just as all the best sounding anime have a variety of good music, the same can be said for this anime. Awesome rock tunes and epic orchestral scores really help to both entertain where the anime itself fails and also enhance the action.

One note for characters, most of the female characters are initially tsundere and unnecessarily abusive with few exceptions. The protagonists are all sort of adopted into the Kawakami family and are are all high school students aswell. The main character is Yamato Naoe, who excels as tactics, but is terrible at actual combat. He eats a lot of popcorn and like hermit crabs, even having a couple as pets. All that is mentioned of his parents, is that his father left Japan due to it being a bad country? He has noble intentions, wanting to be prime minister to change the world since none of the current political parties are worthy in his opinion. A second reason is that the girl he confessed to (resulting in rejection), will only go out with him if he gains that power. This being an ecchi-harem, he is also at the center of it. He refuses any advances towards him made by the girls and is once again a typical gutless harem character who doesn't take his chances. There are repeated times where a girl tries to bang him, yet he always refuses. This could be seen as him being faithful to the girl he confesses to, however he is a pervert having stashes of 'illegal imported porn.' It's absolute bullshit that a perverted guy would prefer watching porn over taking his chances having sex with a real chick. The typical, gutless and indecisive (possibly) harem protagonist trope then.

Momoyo Kawakami is the big-breasted, blood-thirsty martial-artist who Yamato confesses to (at the start). A misconception is that they are siblings, which would make it all sorts of wrong, but it is shown that they aren't blood related and they refer to each other as siblings as Naoe is technically adopted into the Kawakami family. She is the anime trope who likes to eat a lot and loves to start fights with strong opponents. She always picks on Yamato out of boredom and it becomes apparent that she actually prefers women to men.

Kazuko Kawakami is more of a sibling to Momoyo than Yamato, due to her actual adoption as a member of the Kawakami family. She is a martial-artist like her sister and is constantly training by running around while dragging a tire, often with people riding the tire. A relatively flat-chested girl and there's nothing more to say about this person.

Christiane Friedrich is a foreign girl, hailing from Germany and is a swordfighter who wields a fine rapier. She is not very knowledgable about the Japanese culture but enjoys it thoroughly and is shocked at the more, perverted aspects like the dick festival. Possibly the most tsundere of the girls, when it comes to Yamato. She loves to eat fried tofu riceballs.

Possibly the most 'adult' character, Miyako Shiina is the extremely perverted and sexually aggressive archer of the group. Miyako is the exception to the tsundere bunch, showing her love for Yamato from the start and instead tries hard to make Yamato perv over her, going to such lengths as replacing all of the faces in his porn magazine with her own and employing various tactics in attempts to have sex with him. Of course nothing ever happens, since Yamato is an average, gutless harem protagonist, who'd rather watch porn than get some.

Yukie Mayazumi is another swordfighter who is rather shy and has developed a unique trait as a result. She has a toy horse, Matsukaze who speaks with Yukie's voice. Matsukaze is a very outgoing character and says and does crazy things that Yukie wouldn't do. Yukie also tends to make 'Bento' lunches for Yamato too.

The other characters aren't worth mentioning, but the primary antagonist is a powerful and well developed character with more backstory than any of the other characters and also happens to be lesbian, having a relationship with her underling. This anime also has the absymal trope of the old man pervert, who, thankfully, barely appears. Yamato has a robot who can both fight and serve named Cookie

The story is surprising good for a harem ecchi, despite the tremendous amounts of filler. There is a lot of twsts and turns in the plot progression concerning the primary struggle and even a bit of socialcommentary/subtext on politics and war. No doubt the first episode was the best. The worst episode is definitely the severely graphic dick festival episode. The antagonist wants to bring down Japan as a nation, due to their hatred and of course the protagonists must prevent this. The fights are action packed and intense, though a bit cheesy as Momoyo often shouts the name of the technique she is using. Of course SPOILER< The harem is never resolved, Yamato doesn't choose a girl by the end, not even Momoyo >SPOILER the ending is a bit disappointing with too many loose ends, even with the post credits scene.

Overall this anime is a lot like HoTD, where a decent story is ruined by ecchi bullshit, but still has great music. If you are like me and hate the bullshit of the ecchi harem genre, I can only recommend the first episode. Maybe a drunk marathon could be possible for the rest of the series. If you are a perverted adolescent (or have the mind of one), who enjoys this genre, then this is definitely one to watch, since it actually has story. For most, I'd also advise on skipping episode 5, the dick festival episode for obvious reasons. And because of going to far in respect to ecchi, the score takes a bit hit.

Family-friendliness Rating: 5/5 Dick festival. Nuff said (lower is better)

Overall Rating: 4.5/10 (Higher is better)

7/10 story
3/10 animation
10/10 sound
5/10 characters
4.5/10 overall
BlakShiranui's avatar By on Jun 1, 2012

I've played the visual novel of Majikoi, and imagine my surprise when I found out that there was an anime based off it. I decided to check out the first episode, and I was greeted with an awesome duel between the Honor class and the Delinquent class that the protgonist Yamato leads. I throughly enjoyed the action and the humor remained intact in the transistion from VN to anime.

However, towards the end of the first episode instead of the entire series being a slice of life (which, in the VN it is until you pick the girl you want to date), it is reduced to the horror of a generic harem. Yes! That's right, that means every girl from Chris to Wanko wants Yamato's healthy member. Where did these feelings for him come from? Who knows? It seems like it implies that Yamato raised some affection points for all the heroines without my permission. 

I give a 10 in characters because that's about the only thing Majikoi (the anime) does right from the source material. Although, I've only seen one episode so the girls might have all changed to suit the harem situation they are now placed in. Well except Miyako, cause Miyako has always wanted Yamato and she's hilarious.

Everything else is crap. Honestly.

Well, I suppose I could say the animation is good. They didn't FUBAR any of the character designs so I guess that's worth mentioning.

0.5/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
10/10 characters
1/10 overall
RingoStarr1991's avatar By on Jul 25, 2012

Straight from my blog!!

***This is a spoiler free review***

Never in my life would I expect myself to say, “Man I wish this anime would of stayed a typical stale harem story.” Well brace yourselves because Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!! biggest flaw is its attempt to combine harem, ecchi, and terrorist plot elements into a twelve episode season.

Story: 2/10

So the first two episodes of this anime actually lead the show on a promising path. Initially I thought this anime was going to be a school life/slice of life/harem type anime which even though as been done to death is sometimes good to go back to and just enjoy. The first episode showcased a class war while the second puts the characters on an odd job to find a lost dog. The flow between the characters seemed to be done very well but as soon as the third episode hits, they introduce a terrorist plot to the anime that completely…kills it (in a bad way). The anime tries to become super serious and add backstory to some of the characters but unfortunately it just fails. It’s a shame because I was really looking forward to a nice laid back anime.

Animation: 7/10

The animation on the other hand came out pretty good. I was lucky enough to get to watch this season on my friend's BD copy in 1920x1080 resolution and I have to say…ecchi. There are a lot of scenes where there are some suggested sexual content but nothing that pushes the bar too much. In terms of overall quality of the scenes, it is kind of a mixed bag. The scenes where not a lot is going on is filled with some impressive visuals, however I noticed that the action scenes are filled with some artifacting (which shouldn't happen on a BD copy of the anime...) and some loss of quality. Overall it’s a great looking anime so props for that.

Sound: 6/10

The soundtrack leaves much to be desired but the voice acting is recorded fairly well and also has pretty good actors to back them up. Each character has a unique and well done vocal track. The only issue that really bothers me about the sound in this anime is that the overall soundtrack is just bland and uninspiring.

Characters: 6.5/10

In terms of my overall enjoyment with the characters of this anime I have to say that I did love some of the characters. The ones that stood out to me the most was the sex crazy Shina, the main character Naoe, and the shy Mayuzumi who uses a keychain to communicate with others (thinking that it is a god). Everyone else however comes off as generic and, “Oh I remember someone like her from like five other anime.” Generic doesn’t always mean “bad” but for this anime it just seems like they didn’t try to push the character development enough to get these said generic characters out of the typical cookie cutter descriptions.

Overall: 5.4/10

Overall I really, really, really wanted to enjoy this anime because the initial episode really gave me hope and had me hooked. It turns out however that a weird and unneeded plot device can and will run an anime with subpar character development and average sound. It’s hard to recommend this to anyone but hey if you need to kill some time at least it’s not horrible.

Enjoyment: 5/10

Thanks for reading my review! If you liked my writing style, would like to see some other reviews, or just want to talk, please stop by my page!

Sincerely,
Awesome Drummer

2/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
5.4/10 overall
Slayare's avatar By on Apr 23, 2014

There was no real story behind Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!! - it was mainly "exposure" for fan service. For the most part, Majikoi had some good action/fighting scenes involved, but evidently there was no real other standout features.

4/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
9/10 characters
6.8/10 overall