Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru!

Alt titles: Nakaimo - My Sister is Among Them!

sort

Reviews

Mendacious's avatar By Mendacious on Dec 1, 2014

I intensely disliked this

I watched the first episode of this and thought it was shit. I held my breath and watched a second episode but my thinking did not change. I can only stomach so much shit so I stopped watching.

It is about a rich kid. His dad has died (he does not seem to be particularly upset about this). To inherit daddy's big company he must marry a girl within a time limit. With the aide of some of daddy's employees (minions) he gets enrolled in a prestigious school filled with eligible girls. He learns that he also has a half sister and is moderately curious about her. He finds out that she is going to the same school and plans to keep her identity secret from him. He is now worried that he might accidentally pick this girl to be his wife and be humiliated or accused of INCEST.

So a whole lot of weird shit happens and he amasses a harem. I suppose watching him having to drop the harem when getting married would be a bit fun but of course he is rich so he could just buy one like his dad did.

Our male protagonist is a vacant parking space. We learn nothing about him or maybe there is nothing to learn about him. The girls quickly throw themselves at him for no reason at all and he has to play guessing games to pick out his sister. Maybe more happens in later episodes but I could not really care if he falls under a bus frankly so why continue.

2/10 story
5/10 animation
4/10 sound
3/10 characters
1/10 overall
RingoStarr1991's avatar By RingoStarr1991 on Sep 28, 2012

***This is a somewhat spoiler free review. I tried my best to word things w/o spoiling anything.***

I recently put up my overall thoughts of this show on my blog. While my posts there are mostly opinionated, I try to step back when writing reviews so that only the facts come through on my reviews with little of my own preferences affecting the overall score. If you would like to see my orginal post of this show, click anywhere on this text and it will send you to my post on my blog.

 

Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru! is an anime that aired this past season and while the initial premise really pulled me in, its inability to provide thought provoking plot twists and just a sheer amount of unnecessary content really dragged it down.

Story: 3/10

So like I stated above this show actually had a pretty interesting concept. The show revolves around Shougo who is to become the head of his deceased father’s company. In order to do so however he must complete a guideline set forth by his father. This guideline demands that Shougo must attend a certain high school, attract a mate, and marry before taking his spot as the head of the company (what an awesome dad). I didn't have a problem with this premise at all; in fact I thought just by hearing that first it could be an interesting harem. The story’s conflict arises early on when someone begins posting as his ill legitimate sister which could affect his position with the company. This is again another great idea to make the story more interesting. Where it goes wrong however is when it accuses every female character of being his sister. It’s also very easy (at least for me) to come up with a reasonable guess on who the real sister is very early on in the series. I guess where the series goes wrong the most is how predicable it is. There are really no interesting twists or misdirection that make me think, “Wow didn’t see that coming”. Another flaw in the overall story is how much pointless content is included in the middle episodes. I kind of feel like there was a struggle to make episodes the required length in episodes five through nine before the final “twist” was introduced. The show leads up to the final episode and in all honesty I felt like it was a letdown. Overall the story had a chance to bring something new to the harem genera but it ended up not hitting its intended marks.

Animation: 8.5/10

One great thing about this show is the stunning animation. Everything appears in very light colors and the use of reflections is done very well. The character models are all pretty detailed for both the main cast and some of the extras in the backgrounds. The scenery is colored much of the same way helping to keep the mood of the current scene. The main settings for the show, the school, Shougo’s room, and the café are all very detailed each time we are present.

Sound: 7/10

I am usually very picky on sound since most of my spare time is spent recording music or just listening to different types of music. The music of this anime while not amazing was still pretty good and helped set up some interesting scenes. The voice actors also did a pretty good job matching the personalities of their characters.

Characters: 6.3/10

This category is hard to score because while some of the characters did grow on me, every one of them are pretty generic. You have your elitist, airhead, tomboy, and cosplayer. We have all seen these roles countless times in other anime so why should we bother with these empty shells? That’s what I first thought when introduced to each character but to my surprise I actually grew to like some of these characters due to some character development. While some of them where pretty much cast aside without any development (Mana) most of the cast received one to three episode character arcs that pretty much set up why they fall for Shougo. The show should have done a better job fully utilizing the cast but overall they did a good enough job.

Overall: 6.2/10

While it isn’t a masterpiece, if you can look past some boring parts that lead to nowhere, predictable plot twists, and a forgettable anticlimactic ending, this show may offer you something worthwhile. There are some really good, sweet moments and some great animation and sound to be found here.

Enjoyment: 5.8/10

Thanks for reading my review! If you liked my writing style, would like to see some other reviews, or just want to talk, please stop by my page!

Sincerely,
Awesome Drummer

3/10 story
8.5/10 animation
7/10 sound
6.3/10 characters
6.2/10 overall
mahius's avatar By mahius on Oct 22, 2014

Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouta ga Iru (Nakaimo) is a harem, ecchi anime mystery about a guy trying to find out which of a group of girls is his younger sister. The possibility that one could be his sister, is getting in the way of a goal, from his mother, that he must get a girlfriend to eventually marry. I prejudged this anime, due to my severe dislike for the genre. And I promised myself that I would give it more than 1 if it at least revealed who the sister was. Nakaimo has too many problems, an initially fragile story and having too many terrible trope features of the genre. I actually got bored and ended up having to drink in order to keep attention. Maybe not worth watching.

Animation

The animation quality is faultless, which is to be expected as normal for a 2012 anime. The style is very unoriginal and there is little use of interesting facial expressions. Though there was one bit where someone is about to throw up and the facial expression is cartoonistic and therefore a tad funny. This is an ecchi and it does go the step further. There are too many innuendos, such as zombies vomiting white slime over a girl in a swimsuit. Yeah... very tasteless. If sex actually happened, then this would have to be labelled as a hentai, however it would at least escape from one of the major pitfalls of the absymal ecchi-harem genre. Fairly disappointing in this aspect.

Sound

The music is probably the best bit of this anime, though not by much. It's not amazing enough to warrant a soundtrack download. There is good use of intrumental background music and the intro/outro tracks aren't too shabby either. However the music alone doesn't do much, despite the good piano/string sections whenever the anime made attempts to be serious. This anime is in Japanese, so subtitles are required.

Characters

The characters are the usual terrible harem-ecchi highschooler tropes. The main character Shougo Mikadono is the son of a rich businessman and heir to the Mikadono group, which he is to inherit once he has fulfilled his task of finding a girl to marry. He has a scar on his head, which points towards the fact that he had an accident when he was younger. This has resulted in him losing his memories and not remembering the fact that he has a sister or any childhood friends. He is unfortunately the typical cowardly indecisive harem protagonist. You'd think he'd let himself go wild if he found out a girl isn't his sister, which it seems to imply early on, but no. He is the typical gutless harem protagonist. At the very least he doesn't seem to be a pervert and he has no stash of porn nor are other guys jealous of the attention he gets from girls. At least this doesn't completely rely on the terrible tropes completely.

Konoe Tsuruma is the big-breasted class representative and the first of the girls that Shougo meets. Shy is the typical shy character, though it seems she has more guts that Shougo himself since she, with some composure, throws herself at him romantically. Not much more to say.

Miyago Kannagi is the typical tsundere character, though a bit sporty. She of course has a crush on Shougo but beats him up over the smallest detail, accusing him of being a pervert and such. Of course she does things like attempt to seduce him and such. Heck, I might as well say it now, pretty much every member of the harem attempts to seduce and bed Shougo.

Rinka Kunitachi is a member of the student council and is the typical rich girl character trope. She is more of an important character than the student council president Mana Tendou who is the excited, yet not very smart girl, but she manages to keep her composure. I should say now, that no girl is that energetic or all over the place.

Mei Sagara is Shougo's senior who owns a cafe themed around younger sisters. Shougo ends up working at the cafe and somehow saving the business.

Probably the most interesting character is Ikusu Mizutani, who is always disguised as a guy and gets away with fooling everyone but Shougo, who walks in on her while she is in the shower.  She is frequently naked as every time she visits Shougo she takes a shower and hangs about nude making excuses for doing so. She is an agent from a company who is helping him find out who his real sister is. The one thing that really doens't make sense is how she appears completely flat chested when cross-dressing as a guy. Of course some of the girls get excited when they misinterpret things happening between them as gay love. And the girls are especially all ver Ikusu. It boggles my mind how terrible an anime can be that a person who clearly has the face of a girl manages to successfully herself as a girl.

The other characters aren't important bar one, who, I'll be honest, is adorable. There is some massive bullshit with their homeroom teacher who somehow happens to be a child? Or looks like one at least. Risa Seri is also Shougo's secretary sort of figure, who handles the business aspect of things.

Story

The story... I said I'd give this whole thing a 1 if it didn't reveal the true sister, but I lied. I must keep my review as unopinionated as possible and so far, it might appear that I'm doing a terrible job. It gets better in the second half, much better. At the start Shougo's father passes away. On that day he hears a voice claiming to be his younger sister, born of an illegitimate relationship by his father, who claims to want to marry him. Shougo's mother now sets him a task of finding a girlfriend to eventually marry, so that he can inherit the family company: the Mikadono Group. Of course, it soon arises that his sister is possibly going to his school and could possibly be one of the girls he knows. Key word: possible. The way they set it up is so flimsy, there isn't any evidence that he even has a sister, except for someone unseen telling him during his father's funeral. But despite all the bullshit and close calls they somehow do this plot much better than something like please twins. This actually has a mystery story, with twists and turns and as for the conclusion... you'll have to find out. The last few episodes have a big of a political, coup d'tate subplot, which is fairly intersting. I'm just pleasantly surprised that they do a story. On big factor is the question: why don't they do a DNA test? Thing is (spoilers) they actually consider that fact in this anime, even if the way they deal with it is a tad bullshit. Also, may I mention that this anime is a tad homophobic. When a couple of character develop the misunderstanding that Shougo may be gay, involving Ikusu of course, their reaction is particularly homophobic. What is it with Japan, thinking incest is better than homosexuality? Incest is clearly immoral and wrong, while there is nothing wrong with being gay. It's probably just this anime, since there are tolerated homosexual characters in other anime.

Conclusion

Overall a tad better than the typical harem ecchi, if only for the aspect of solving the mystery and the better-than-nothing story. I still had to drink through the second half since I got dead bored during the first half and really wanted a cider or two. I still think this was a waste of time for someone like me who hates this genre, but for the tasteless fools who do, this is one of the better ones. I won't judge you too much for liking this one. Maybe the alcohol made me write a bad review, but what the heck, it's better than slamming this, powered by my opinionated hatred.

Family-friendliness Rating: 5/5 Nudity. Children are nude in this, with no justification. This might as well be child porn (lower is better)

Overall Rating: 3/10 (higher is better)

3/10 story
5/10 animation
7.5/10 sound
3/10 characters
3/10 overall