Kanokon

Reviews

Chiibi's avatar By on Nov 24, 2011

There is good ecchi comedy and there is bad ecchi comedy. At one point, did you ever wonder when it was best to draw the line in between "funny" and "just plain sick" when it comes to ecchi comedy?

Well, the creators of this atrocious anime did not. I cannot believe Kanokon has a rating above two stars. It's bad. It's really really REALLY bad. It's offensive, it's stupid, it's shallow, it's wrong, and it's dirty. REALLY dirty.You might even feel you need to take a shower after this one and I'll elaborate on why....

Story: The story COULD be interesting. The sad thing is, the anime cares way too much about giant boobs, nudity, molestation, sexual fetishes, and panty shots to pay any attention to the story save for maybe two episodes.  But I do regret to say, I kept watching because I wanted to see what was going to happen (and my friend is absolutely enthralled with fox youkai). But they didn't deliver at all. So the story is a fail.

Animation: Kanokon's strongest point but I've seen better. The style used for the characters is insanely cute....which clashes badly since most of them do not act cute.

Sound: Like a lot of bad anime, the opening and ending themes are surprisingly good. I have them both on my MP3 player. I do not remember the background music to be particularly memorable but I don't think it was bad. Nozomu's seiyuu is the best of the bunch with her flat montone voice saying outrageous things. Anytime you laugh, it's probably going to be because of her.

Characters: THIS is where Kanokon really suffers. You thought the story was bad? No, I can deal with a bad story as long as the main characters are likable and relatable. But guess what? They're not.

Kouta who might as well be named "Shota" looks and acts like an eight-year-old boy. He doesn't really have a personality-his main role is to get smashed into Chizuru's grotesquely-sized breasts or become a rape victim every five minutes of his screentime. Because he looks and sounds so young, even the most shotacon of shotacons will be turned off. Believe me when I say I have a fondness for young male characters, but this is just plain DISTURBING.

But since he's so vanilla, Kouta is not the worst character. Oh no, that special place goes to Chizuru, the most unlikable, slutty, selfish bitch I have EVER seen in an ecchi harem. Chizuru insists that she fell in love with Kouta because of his "smell". Yes, his SMELL. And because she "loves him so much" she makes it her life mission to have sex with him literally every single chance she gets to be alone with him. (Although if they're in a public place, that doesn't stop her either.) And he doesn't want to-he's crying and flailing around, going "NO! NO!" but this doesn't matter to her-she just wants to do him whether he likes it or not and that's that. Isn't that so romantic? Isn't that just so touching? That's what love is all about right? RAPE!!

Not only that but Chizuru treats everyone else around her like shit, including her brother who busts his ass to help Chizuru out of bad situations. For a heroine of a ecchi harem series, she's shockingly mean-spirited.

There are three characters in the show that I didn't hate or feel dirty to see on screen. One of them is Nozomu, the wolf-loli. Nozomu is actually a riot, a complete parody of the emotionless, kuudere stereotype...though when you see her, you're going to say "Who put wolf ears on Yuki Nagato!?" because that's essentially her design. The other two are a weasel boy and a shy little frog girl. They are very adorable, especially the girl. And they get about ten minutes of screentime. Lucky us.

Overall: This anime would be better off as just straight-up hentai because that's just how far they push the envelope. In fact, it's hentai without on-screen sex....though they get PRETTY DAMN CLOSE. I do not hate ecchi anime-in fact, some of my favorite ones are ecchi harem because they can be outrageously funny. But with Kanokon's whole "I'm going-to-rape-you-and-you're-going-to-like-it-because-the-script-says-we-have-to-be together" attitude, it just goes too far. In episode 10, they decide to do something so incredibly disgusting to drive me to the point (and many other viewers) of deciding this anime is complete garbage and the worst ecchi "romance" I've ever seen and ChizuruxKouta is the worst ecchi romance "couple" I have ever seen.

So, if you're looking for sweet, sexy protagonists, avoid this. If you're looking for a cute, touching romantic comedy, avoid this. If you're looking for an ecchi harem romance where the writing is fresh, amusing and doesn't treat you like a complete porn-crazed idiot, PLEASE, AVOID THIS LIKE THE PLAGUE.

It is because of Nozomu, animation, and the theme songs that I'm giving this piece of crap wanna-be-hentai anime one star instead of just half of a star.

3/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
2/10 characters
2/10 overall
Combicon's avatar By on Dec 2, 2011

I think there must be a special place in my heart for ecchi romance harem anime - or perhaps any anime that has been cutely drawn with fairly good animation - as I've seen other reviewers disgusted by Kanokon and all it's ecchi (perhaps if taken seriously - sexist) antics.

It's a fairly unique twist (at least from what anime I've seen) for the female to be the more perverse and the one who gets the male into the compromising situations that Kouta finds himself in on day-to-day life with Chizuru and Nozomu. In most anime, it seems that the the male is usually peeping on girls changing even if accidentally, yet here they are almost all too eager to strip down in front of him.

 

Kouta is a first year student at a school who manages to find himself in on the affectionate end of a fox-spirit Chizuru's stick, and relationships with humans isn't something that is accepted by a number of spirit-clans living in the area, but is something she has no problem with, in public or otherwise. While this might seem like any boy's dream (especially a young boy who is just beginning to delight in the treasure a woman's body can be) Kouta is a fairly shy boy, who could probably said to be trying to act like a perfect gentleman. Along the way with Chizuru trying to bed Kouta, Kouta manages to catch the attentions of Nozomu – a wolf-spirit, and it certainly seems that Kouta switches from being on the receiving end of affection, to being on the receiving end of abuse as Chizuru and Nozumu fight for his heart (usually with him directly between them both).

 

Chizuru is able to transform from a rather buxom student into her normal appearance; a buxom girl with fox-like ears and a rather bushy tail, which lends itself to to a fair amount of fanservice – not that Chizuru is unable to make sure that an episode goes by where she shoes off her panties of her own accord, of course, and along with the camera angles, this anime certainly gets its fair share of fanservice in per episode.

 

If you don't like ecchi, this won't be an anime for you. In every episode there is at least some level of nudity (along with the brief occurrence in the opening video), but thanks to well-positioned hair, nothing beyond a lot of flesh is usually seen. There are a number of episodes that do contain nudity, mostly from the waist-up, however given the nature of the show, there is a fair amount of implied nudity in a sexual context, both depicted on screen and not.

As Kouta is fairly young (by my guess between 12 and 14) this could be considered to be a shotacon anime and as Nozumu is of around the same age apparent age, lolicon as well, but as it's ecchi, not hentai, the worst that happens will be breasts revealed. There is little graphic violence; a little amount of fantasy violence in which the character will disappear behind a cloud of smoke and come out looking a little scathed, and a fair amount of swearing in some episodes.

 

Although one could say that this anime is sexist; with Chizuru having large breasts, and virtually no decency I would actually say the opposite. Chizuru is always the instigator of sexual instances, and is in charge of her sexuality, and Kouta having female friends who are able to talk and joke about sex (to the point of Kouta being labelled as the “Erotic King” thanks to the situations he finds himself in), most of the character relationships are fairly realistic, and it even delves into the kinkier side of sex from time to time. On the flip side of this, we have other characters who are completely devoid of any interesting personality - namely Nozumu who only seems to be included in the anime to be a catalyst for Chizuru (or to push her to do more depraved things to prove her love for Kouta if you prefer to think of it that way).

 

There are certainly a lot worse animes out there, the creators of Kanokon certainly have skill at creating fairly good relationships between characters, both major and minor – at least for most TV anime. This anime is obviously one that doesn't take itself too seriously, and if you do you will almost certainly end up hating it, but if you let yourself be taken along for the ride, and don't mind and one hell of a lot of sexual situations, then you may actually enjoy this anime. Watching the first episode will pretty much give you a good idea as to what the anime contains whilst still leaving a lot open for discovery.

3.5 / 5 stars.

5/10 story
6.5/10 animation
6/10 sound
6/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
papcorp's avatar By on Dec 9, 2009

ATTENTION: EXPLICT WORDS IN THIS REVIEW. IF YOU ARE UNDER 18 OR EASILY OFFENDED DON'T READ IT.

STORY

Ok.. episode 1.. load..push play...(anime starts playin).. Oh here we go!

[...]

(25 minutes later)

[...]

LOL! WTF?!

That's actually the whole show encapsulated in these two acronyms. Why LOL? It's funny like hell:) The ecchi moments in this anime are hilarious, pure perfection of ecchi. It's not soo erotic as you would expect from ecchi anime, instead all the erotic stuff is presented in such form that it's not erotic anymore. And my GOD, there is a helluva erotic scenes in it. In most ecchi comedies what do we get: underskirts all the time, panties sniffing, cleveages and boobs flashing, underwear flashing. What do we se here?

The very first episode expose the whole anime's ecchi side right away. Main female character tries to get to the 3rd base with the main male as soon as possible! What is more, we can se her whole naked. There is no lame "object blocking" or "object imitating" scenes like in Mel Brooks movies. No, her boobs and ass are clearly exposed. NOW THAT IS ECCHI. I would  say more than ecchi. I said earlier what we usually see in ecchi. It's not hentai either, so there should be one genre that is in the middle. And Kanokon would be the very example of this genre. We can call it HARD ECCHI or MILD HENTAI (although we never see sex, only intensive foreplay).

I explained the "ecchi part" of the series, but there is also some plot believe it or not (almost a poem..)! I won't giv u any intense details so no spoiler alert here (after reading this you will be informed as if watching the first episode), what is funnier the very first episodes explains the whole series plot right away :D

Plot: Animal spirits are living among us in real world. They are disguised in human form. Main female is one of this spirits and she fell in love in her kohai (younger student of the school). Oh yeah i forgot- most of the time anime takes place in the school. END OF THE PLOT.

There is nothing more to it :) Ofcourse the plot gets wider and bigger (but remember anime is only 12 eps long) but it doesn't evolve into anything big. There are also some plot elemnts which remain unclear. I would really want to know why they the main male character is being the target of the "love gun", what is the story of the main female's family, who the fucked fights with them, how many people in this school are spirits?

Lots of questions and no answers (maybe the manga tells more I dunno).

Overall the plot is the WTF part mentioned earlier. The more you watch it the more bizzare it gets. And the more bizzare it gets the more funnier it gets. Belive me, it's stupid like a cow asking for a job in McDonalds but if you like ecchi at least a bit you will laugh like hell.

I'm talkin how great the story is but to be fair I'm not satisfied. I would like more exposition and describing stuff. But despite that drawback I must raise the points for STORY a little bit high because as I said: it's funny and it's really something new. Adding fantasy stuff to ecchi? When I started watching this I thought "oh my god another school-ecchi-perverted anime" but when I saw the girl changes to her spirit form.. "WHOAH... That is some impressive crazy shit going out there!"

ANIMATION

Animation is good, cells art is very fine, the details are not very high but there aren't any detail-needed objects or backgrounds. Things are drawn the way they should look. BUT WHY!!! OH WHY!!???? all the young characters don't have noses? I mean all of them! I think only a few times I saw a itteh-bitte-tinneh-black-spotee that supposedly was a nose! All the adult characters have them! Is there some old saying that young people in Japan don't have noses? I can only belive in a theory that author had a "vision" of how he wants the characters (NOTE to myself: check manga for noses). It's not really a must for the characters to have them but it makes the anime look more satiricall all the time (like always in anime when something stupid-funny takes place  the chara desing became simplistic). And even though I sit thru the whole series and enjoyed watching it, to the very end I was disturbed by that lack of noses!

Also the "nuditiy details" were erased. We see boobs with nipples pointing thru the blouse, but when the blouse is taken off the nipples disapper:( (ok ok it can be magic, afterall they are magical spirits right?) Not that I must see them but it's kinda lame.. The anime is so hardcore ecchi, petting, nuditiy, and all these stuff (there is even spanking scene when the girl screams stuff like "spank me I'm a bad girl!") but hey were afraid to show nipples? Not that I need to se "lower part of the woman" details but at least nipples!

You like big boobed anime? This is for you! I don't like huge, enormous boobs waving and randomly jumping side to side front to back all the time. There aren't many that kind of scenes but they carved into my mind and I don't like them (they look so fake, immature and stupid). But I must admit these in Kanokon are not too big. They are very big but not as big as the characters heads (thank god), it's just the jumpy-wavy thing that annoyed me from time to time.

Last and I think the biggest CON is the main male character. All the characters are in high school but only him looks like a 4th grader and has the voice of a little sissy girl. All his friends and classmates look ok. AGAIN WTF ARTIST? First you remove all noses from teenagers, now you make him look like a 4th grader? I really don't get it, so just pass it by (keep in mind to lower the score).

They did great animation/art job on everything else, characters backgrounds are all fine, except those frikkin noses and one male! WHY ONLY THIS? (must check manga again).

SOUND

Nothing much to say, there is some music but not very good. Why? because i don't remember it at all. The opening theme is watchable but not my style, ending on the other hand bored me right at the begining and I have never seen it to the end (not a great loss). I can trash about lack of good in-anime music but this kind of anime doesn't need to be improved by music (ofcourse if it would have some great OST I would raise the music score to the very top). Voice acting is good, except main character (too much girly, WAYYY too much).

CHARACTERS

Everyone is ok except the main character again... I mentioned that he looks like a 4th grader. What is more, he acts like one!!! Everytime he sees a boob or some ass he gets nervous like a young kid he bought his first Playboy. I agree that Japanese kids are more strict and shy and every physical contact is somehing "wow" but this is far too much. He is obiously prepared to lose his virginity but is scared and cries like a baby everytime. Closing eyes, crying, "shy-whisperer-talk" it's sooo frickin annoying!

But I see one good point in this. In ecchi it's always the boy who is trying to have sex. And the girl is always like "yiiiiiikkkeeesss!!! go away go away!!!". Here is a complete oposite. The girl tries to (let's not be afraid to say it) FUCK our here. I said FUCKED because she purely just wants sex, not "make love...", just pure sex. She walks to him on the street and say "Kouta (male's name)! I want to have sex with you now!". And she strips him down in the middle of the street trying to FUCK him. What our hero do? He tries to ran away or cry and wiggle like a little girl under the big-breasted girlfriend.

The question is: WHY HE ACTS LIKE THIS?

Other characters? They are good. there isn't much of support cast (they just are but they don't play a big role, the whole anime is about 4-5 main characters) but hey doo exist. Watching ecchi comedy you can't expect much character development but I must say there is some pretty nice development there! It's all about sex but when the characters start to discuss about love and everything that comes with it something changes them. It was interesting to see them thinking about what is love and how it works for them. I was really fascinated by the slow action love scenes and characters monologues and dialogues about what they feel how they feel and what they want.

It really surprised me that this anime can change its own character even for just a brief moment.

OVERALL

If you love pure ecchiness chances are you will like this anime. Also it's something new and different among all these school based ecchis. I mentioned many bad things about it in this review but the truth is I really enjoyed it. It was fun and I just couldn't wait to see every new episode (if only I had time I would watch it during one sitting). Beside the ecchi stuff that is also a great comedy and as I mentoined I can see some good "slice of life"? Maybe that is too much to call it "slice of life" but there is something more than just sex in our relationships and the characters in this anime from time to time prove it. The biggest drawback of this anime is the main male character:) Throwing him out of the character rooster would raise the scores in someway  but maybe also lower them? It's pretty interesting how such a bad anime can be such a fun.

6/10 story
5/10 animation
7/10 sound
6/10 characters
7/10 overall
angelsreviews's avatar By on Jul 24, 2013

Um, wow. This is um… something a little different then what I have ever seen before. I give the show props for an idea, but an extremely lousy way of making that idea bare fruit. The story feels shallow, the execution is bland, the English voices are a mess, the animation is just standard fan fair. I would of loved if they got into the physiological aspects of a man turning into a women a bit, but they don’t. They just pussyfoot around like it’s a teenage drama. I know it is one but with a concept this interesting, I wish it could have been better done.

Hazumu really freaken sounds and acts like a girl! It doesn’t seem like there is any freaken difference to him being male or female. I do think its somewhat Ironic that when he first sees the ‘star’ coming straight at him, he wishes to be manlier and yet he was turned into a woman. And then after he’s a woman, he accepts it rather fast to the point of saying that nothing really changed. (Kurai: “WHAT THE FUCK!? How can he act like nothing changed at all! When you turn me, I freaken hate it!”) All the characters act really stupid and it’s hard for me to even feel for any of them at all. His parents are the worst to because they just are way to excitable. (Akuma: “Excitable? Her Dad a big fat pervert!” Angel: “Alright, ya, I’m trying to make things better then they are.” ) They look at her as if nothing happened at all and start treating him like a girl the day she gets back home. Everyone around her acts as though she should know exactly how to be a women when she doesn’t know the first thing about it. It pisses me off slightly in that aspect because none of the characters seem to think how she feels. If we really get right down to it, it wouldn’t make any difference weather she turned into a girl on her own with a operation or with space aliens. In fact, it would be better if it was a operation then alien because then it would be more believable.

Tomari was doing nothing for him when he was a guy it seems, and treated him like a child that needed protection all the time. It makes me wonder if she is the one that’s the reason that he never became a manlier guy. The whole second episode was pretty much Tomari saying don’t do this, don’t do that and don’t act like a man but she does it rather harshly. We do get into the physiological aspects of her dealing with a friend that changed into a guy but it sometimes feels bland.

Yasuna on the other hand is awkward. It’s almost like she can’t see any men at all and only a hazy look to them when she can. I’m not sure what the hell they did that for because they could of just as easy say she was into girls instead and it would be so much better. It would of actually been closer to a real life story.

This is more of the story that centers around everyone around Hazumu rather then Hazumu herself. We only learn about everyone else and their feelings, and only a little bit of Hazumu’s thoughts and feelings in the first part. When we do learn about Hazumu’s feelings, it feels a bit to late, as we have to go through a lot of crap to get there. Sadly, every single character falls for Hazumu, which makes the damn thing a harem anime.

I have problems when Aliens look exactly like the humans without much difference to them. I also have big problems with the fact that the aliens crash into him, turn him into a woman, and then just leave him to the world. They pretty much do nothing to help him. And when they do show up, they just make things even worse for her. She ends up having a ‘clone’ of herself. (Akuma: “That’s a clone? She doesn’t look like her at all for crying out loud! We look closer then they do and we are just twins!”) Yes… clone… with light pink hair that will not stop hanging on her.

The animation is really based for the fan service. We have a lot of naked shots of girls changing and just doing random stuff. It’s pretty standard and just basic. Many times, they seem to cop out and not even draw the background of go for the close up on the faces. They also do the fucken close ups on the breasts and body too which make me smack my head into the wall.

I have problems with the English voice. Male Hazumu sounds so much like a girl that I see no difference in him being male or female. Tomari sounds more like a boy then he does as a guy! Everyone else sounds so much like a whiny little girl that it just bothers me a lot. The script is so cheesy that I just want to smack the writer. No really, its really really bad! The words sound so much like the person is just reading lines without any feeling what so ever. Even when they do have emotion, it sounds forced. It’s also done rather close to the translation so it feels really choppy. People keep saying ‘it is’ instead of ‘it’s’ and all this other problems. I just want it to end! Though the voices do get a little better (more on the lines that I had to get used to it for necessity rather then it being good) like around the 5th episode, it feels a little late.

6/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
5/10 overall
Quizap's avatar By on Aug 22, 2010

Not a bad little drama/ecchi fest. I kinda liked it to be completely honest. I felt bad for poor Kouta a few times but then so damn jealous that I wanted to strangle him. Chizuru was top notch, I actually liked her quite a bit. Nozumu? Nozomu? (haven’t really paid attention to her name) was pretty annoying, I didn’t’ like her much at all. Chizuru’s brother was pretty funny. I liked him too. Overall, it wasn’t as bad as some made it out to be.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
6.5/10 overall