Irresponsible Captain Tylor

sort

Reviews

Wickerman's avatar By on May 23, 2014

Personal thought before review:  This review will be a bit positive rather then both a critical review.  You see I got out of watching anime a year ago, and after picking this show up a few weeks ago I'm back in full swing! Also has made me want to pick up The Ledgend Of The Galactic Heroes that it parodies that I'm about to watch so I give it thanks for that aswell.

Overall And Production:

A show what revolves most humour around one man's incompablility surely shouldint be counted as annything more then mediocre surely.  Yet Captain Tylor milks it's dull consept so well that It produses a milkshake.  Everything is crisp in this show, the humour, animation, editing, and sound.  I'm just supprised that the show's producers didnt get up to much anime works before or after Tylor.

Personnaly I'm not sure if this show has a following at all since I havint met annyone who knows of it yet it seems to be a minni landmark when it comes to anime, space opera's in general even. Even thought for its older age it competes with Outlaw Star or Trigun five years later that have surely mirrored there image on it yet they have such high statuses.

Story:   I'ts a comedyso surely the story is nothing special, however I did happen to be neck streached out at times to the screen yet modestly gave only a small worry when a plot didnt develop, it's a comedy after all.  Cant say its annything origenal though since it's a parady as well yet the enemies consept is charming although moree background I wish was given gradually.  

Charectors:  

Without a second thought I say to myself how can a show whose protaganist is a persona of the shows viewers yet only look on the bright side the whole way though. Since tylor began his adventures by blindly following a propaganda poster with a cuite girl in it.  I was thinking of Welcome To The NHK in mind that satarises the concept harshly yet with resect. 

The show dose take seriouse matters into its lighthearted humour, such as the alchoholic doctor that you cant stop but chuckle everytime he even mentions alchohol or sips.  At a pace that you cant look back on and reducing you to only smile.

All charectors besides from Azalyn and Tylors superiors, seem to just be on invidisual paths yet get moulded (in a good way) into assosiating Tylor as there captain.  Simple lessons to be learnt? Yes, yet that never keeps a charactor flat as you would think.


Music/Sound:  Well like alot of shows the soundtrack is what made me find out about the show in the first place. So that garantees that the shows going to be good for me.  It was remembrable enought to go back now and then on youtube to look it up. Background sound design was also high on the radar for detail. 


Animation:  From my viewing of anime of 1990-1995 I can proudly say that this is a milestone in animation.  Even the cheesy pop intro accidentely points out to show us what era this anime was from.  Still cant get over that its more then 20 years old.  At times during the end of the show I coulding stop but smirk seeing how the background animation of the human capital did bare alot of resembelances to Akira's. But thats more a personal thought.


Final Thoughts:  This show fits manny needs. I recomend it.

  • Retro
  • Anime Cultural Step
  • Casual/Intense Comedy
  • Parody of greater Animes

7/10 story
10/10 animation
8/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
No1's avatar By on Jul 22, 2013

One of my favorite anime's of all time, and I'm picky about what I like.

Spoiler free review

Story: 9/10

It's the story of a clueless, moronic, and irresponsible captain, the most rundown destroyer in the fleet, and it's crew of the most problematic members of the armed forces. It's silly, improbable, rediculess, and even more rediculess. It is NOT a serious show by any means, but is an excelent light watch as long as there arn't people around who will be bothered by fits of laughing. My only issue with the story is a few episodes (maybe 2?) are a bit angsty and while they work, they don't have the same mood as the rest of the series. 

Animation: 7/10

It was made in the mid 90's, and looks like it. Personally I don't consider that an issue, but take off 2 points if that bothers you. Other than that, the animation isn't bad, nothing spectacular for it's time, nothing terrible. You don't need to worry about your eyes bleeding or anything. 

Sound 10/10

First of all, I don't rate intro/closing music. Background music stays in the background, it isn't out of place, and it helps in many situations, but it isn't something I focus on unless it doesn't work. Voices are amazing. I would highly recommend the original japaneese woices which are great, but it also has one of the best english dubs I've heard, so choose whichever language you prefer. 

Characters 10/10

They're all well done, and all over the top. Crew development is well done, and bizzarely enough, the characters are actually fairly believeable. Once you get into the series and see the actual characters, it's hard not to me impressed by that. These charcters should not be believeable. Short term hostile leaders are devloped enough to get a feel for them, without wasting time. 

Overall 9.5/10

Overall, it's a well done and generally underated series. Knock off 2 points if you hate 90's animation, and up to 5 points if you don't like silly, as that's a stong part of it's appeal. I would also strongly suggest that if you like the series, you do not watch the OVA. 

-No One

9/10 story
7/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
kirant's avatar By on Jun 2, 2012

Background of the Show

Irresponsible Captain Tylor is the story of two civilizations at war, humans, using their navy, the United Planets Space Force (UPSF), and Holy Raalgon Empire, humanoid aliens.  In the centre of it all is Justy Ueki Tylor, a lazy, laid back, optimistic man who's probably never done or taken anything seriously in his entire life.  After a certain incident, he's given command of the Soyokaze, an outdated, underequipped UPSF destroyer...which turns out is the dumping ground for all useless and unmanagable UPSF staff.  Despite that, the ship continually survives engagements with Raalgon forces...leaving everybody wonder how they do it...especially given Tylor's attitudeand lack of any real sense of urgency.

The anime is based off of Hitoshi Yoshioka's novels of the same name.  It is generally called a comedic space opera.

Story - 7.0/10

The story of Irresponsible Captain Tylor is very intriguing.  The background is something you could expect would come out of a serious show, along the lines of the visual novel version of Galaxy Angel.  Yet, for something considered a parody of space operas, it's surprisingly serious in where it actually takes the story.  The method that solves the events, namely Tylor's inverventions, are comedic, but the story itself is pretty serious.  That means nothing wrong however...it actually adds to the flavour a bit.  The story can be considered pretty standard, but the interaction it has with the characters makes it feel extremely strong.  The show begins to grind down from time to time.  Looking back, I find it hard to remember that it's 26 episodes. 

Animation - 4.5/10

The animation in the show shows its age.  It's an early '90's anime and, as such has many of the follies of an early '90's anime in its art.  This comes to a particular forefront in the rare battle scenes, where repeated animations are used frequently. This is much less noticable in non-action scenes however.  Again, it's pretty standard for its time (though the repatition is a little tough to watch).  It's marked as average for that reasion.

Sound - 5.0/10

This ranking incorporates many sections.  I'll go through them individually:

 - Songs: Generally solid.  The opening is catchy and fun (with one of the wierdest opening sequences you'll ever see).  The ending is pretty standard.

 - Sound Effects: Passable. There's little special, little off with it.  It doesn't stand out in any way.

 - Original Sound Track: Reasonable.  A few memorable songs sprinkled inside a fairly standard set. 

 - Voice Acting:  Fine, but nothing special in either language.  English's version is pretty much a collection of all your favourite VAs before they were hits.  Famously, this was Crispin Freeman's first major role before he got typecast (after playing Zelgadis).

Characters - 9.0/10

The characters are the major reason why you watch this show.  They're a completely goofy crew...and they take the space opera on a wild ride.  By completely defying all sense of logic, conventional wisdom, and probably UNconventional wisdom, they destroy all sense of reason in the show and bringing all sorts of hilarity.

Character development doesn't go unattended either.  While the eponymous character doesn't really develop, everybody around him does.  Despite much of the debate being on whether Tylor is a genius for saving the crew countless times, or just plain lucky, the massive impact he has on the cast leaves the question to the possibility of him being a spiritual figure, leading them to enlightenment.

Non-Tylor characters are good, but not memorable.  They are quirky, but do not stand out enough to make a show.  The show is very much about how Tylor impacts...well...everything and how he drags them along despite seemingly doing nothing. 

Long story short: A little slow at times, the show takes what you remember about space operas and turns them on their head by taking a familiar and easy to recognize situation...and turning it on its head.  While it doesn't stand out in its delivery or overall polish in animation, if you're able to get past that, it's a solid show to watch.

Overall - 7.0/10

7/10 story
4.5/10 animation
5/10 sound
9/10 characters
7/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By on Apr 23, 2012

ANIME MINOR JEWELS SERIES
Full list of the review series can be found on this page, 3rd post from bottom:
http://anidb.net/perl-bin/animedb.pl?uid=251338&show=userpage&do=blog&blogid=29009&page=0

TEASER: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vTjNEZ3kcE

Notice: This review covers both the main series and the OVAs that followed it.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

You know how it goes with leaders in anime. They are usually very charismatic, energetic, and set aim to be the best in the universe or something like that. Now, try to see that in reverse. Imagine a guy who has no real leadership or tactics, bored as heck, and with only goal to live a life of just fooling around, to be placed on a seat that demands him being the aforementioned archetype. What you get is Tylor.

Animated by Tatsunoko Productions, a generally minor studio. Amongst its numerous titles this one and The Soul Taker are the only ones I consider worthwhile so they are not exactly bigshots. Directed by Mashimo Kuichi, a man whose style has changed considerably after he switched studios. The guy directed almost all the famous Bee Train anime later on (all the .hack and all the Chicks with Guns themed titles) and I must say he is very good at what he sets out to do. Most of his roster is average to good shows, with a few mishaps here and there; overall he is a very good director, despite not being known to most.

Irresponsible Captain Tylor is exactly what the name implies. The story of a man who dislikes responsibilities and who is trying to get the easiest job that pays well and has the shortest hard labor in it. He decides to join the army. Because, well, Earth was at peace for far too long and the military was spending its years doing drills and mock battles; so why not? Unfortunately for him, as soon as he signs in for evaluation, war breaks out and all candidates are immediately accepted. Furthermore, because he seduced the AI that was supposed to evaluate him (yes, it was a cyber chick) he was placed as captain of an entire ship, as there was no time to double-check the procedure. And the fun has hardly began.

Yup, it is a hilarious premise and most of the episodes have really smart gags and situations. And they are not exactly random because there is always a sinister plan some big shot will throw at Tylor, only to be trashed by his uncanny luck and bizarre reaction to everything, to the point where he is unpredictable enough to win. Yeah, sounds ridiculous but it works. The humor is based mostly on the ridicule of forms. In martial arts, a fighter will usually do one form of attack and expect his opponent to react in a specific way, at which point he also counters in a specific way and so on. But Tylor doesn’t do forms. He doesn’t know anything about them! He hardly thinks there is a ship to take care of. That is what makes him so funny and unpredictable. Of course, he wins the hearts of everyone on board for this feature, which makes the whole deal even funnier.


SPECIFICS


CHARACTER SECTION: 5/10 (Tylor alone is a 10)
Analysis: Presence 2/2, Personality 2/2, Backdrop 1/2, Development 0/2, Catharsis 0/2


The humor is indeed smart to the most part and that is what makes it a good show in terms of enjoyment. Tylor becomes almost a cult figure because of it, a sort of Yang Wenli (the lead in Legend of Galactic Heroes) parody. All the rest unfortunately are not memorable for any reason, with the exception of the alien princess, which gets to even fall in love with the greatest enemy in their war with Earth. Plain hilarious. Not that I assume all the characters are dried up prunes or something, it’s just that they don’t really do anything to move the plot forward. Plus, they are rather simplistic fellows, with their characteristics being rather standard in most anime. They don’t develop in any way as well. I still recall the female lieutenant and the twin girls on the ship, and only because of the erotic humor they kept throwing at poor Tylor. Every babe is practically giving signs of interest towards him and all he does is yawing. This is not because he lacks balls, like the average shounen lead out there. In fact, he is quite the lecherous womanizer. He just finds women too troublesome to care getting in a steady relationship. And what do we know about men who don’t react to women who like them? Yes, they are super sexy for playing it hard to get. Hilarious!

ART/ANIMATION & SOUND: 6/10
Art Analysis: General Artwork 2/2, Character Figures 1/2, Backgrounds 1/2, Animation 1/2, Visual Effects 1/2
Sound Analysis: Voice Acting 2/3, Music Themes 2/4, Sound Effects 2/3


Animation and Sound have nothing much to write about. There is an ok amount of detail given to ships and machinery, and characters are drawn in an almost typical 90’s way. The animators made a fine job at making you feel THIS is an Earth ship, THAT is an alien one and OVER THERE we have a megacity. It is mostly done with the use of different sets of colors. There is action and some bare skin showing occasionally but you will definitely care less about all that than Tylor’s weird take on everything. Voice acting and music score seem to be on a better level, as the lead has a great voice actor to fully portrait his zany character, while the humorous songs and light atmosphere actually help you get in the mood of the series easily. I must point out how the animators weren’t afraid to break the fourth wall at times and show how they had things made “behind the scenes”. The opening film speaks for itself, lol. They also had budget problems at times (expected from those tragic recession years Japan was going through) and that kinda shows easily. But since they made fun of themselves while doing so, I excuse them. You don’t see many anime where you clearly feel the makers were having fun while doing their work; so good job.

STORY SECTION: 4/10
Analysis: Premise 2/2, Pacing 1/2, Complexity 1/2, Plausibility 0/2, Conclusion 0/2


The story is by far the weakest part in all. It starts well, it provides lots of progress at first, and then it begins to slow down. Eventually, the series ends anti-climactically, while the following OVAs are to the most part aimless adventures in space. The first two though are a blast! But anyway, the story is weak; the war or the supposed romances never result to anything.


FINAL THOUGHTS


ENJOYMENT & VALUE SECTIONS: 6/10
Analysis: Historical Value 1/3, Rewatchability 1/3, Memorability 4/4


It is a famous retro series but most modern viewers probably don’t know, don’t care and most likely won’t bother watching it. Too many superficial comedies come out every year and most are now close to porn. I say it is a worthy watch but may be hard to follow through a second time because you will know all this insanity won’t lead anywhere. Which is nothing new to anime comedies.

VERDICT: 5.5/10


SUGGESTION LIST
Great Teacher Onizuka
Lost Galaxy
Outlaw Star

4/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
5.5/10 overall
thegoldenwaste's avatar By on Feb 20, 2011

Welcome to my fifth community review of an anime series on Anime-Planet. With this review, I am going to be looking and giving my opinion on the anime series The Irresponsible Captain Tylor, a 26 episode series animated by Tatsunuko Pro in 1993. No spoilers or cursing in my reviews, so you can read them without any problems and recommend them to younger people. Please comment and review my review. They can be very helpful for future reviews. Thanks and onto the review!

Story; Justy Ueki Tylor is the great uniter, but he is an idiot and a genius. The show has a solid plot of trying to stop aliens from destroying humanity. Pretty basic and ordinary, right? Wrong. Tylor is not ordinary. Not at all. Not at all. There is a word that perfectly describes Tylor as a series and that word is charming. There is so much that the story has to offer from romance, drama to downright fun and games. It has a little bit of everything for everyone and that is rare for anime these days.

Animation; For being animated in 1993, it's actually surprisingly good looking. Tatsunuko Pro did a wonderful and solid job with this show. The designs of the ships and characters (both human and alien) are superb and very pleasing to the eyes. I have seen the original animation and the remastered version. I would highly recommend seeking out the remastered video and audio. It's a significant difference when you compare the two.

Sound; The background music is pretty goofy at times, but so is Tylor. The same can be said about the opening and closing songs. Although there is distinct charm with this series' choice of music. It's appropriately and tastefully done to respect the work. The Japanese track was well done and the English track equally so. I could safely recommend watching Tylor in either of the languages. It just sounds fantastic.

Characters; Charming characters in a charming series. Tylor is all about the characters. They can be largely entertaining in every episode. From the lovely Azalyn, to the stern Yamamoto, to the cute twins and beyond. Although I cannot forget about the titular character for it would be a crime against the universe to do so. Tylor is easily one of the most enjoyable and entertaining lead characters in all anime. It's a solid character drama with great growth.

Overall; Irresponsible Captain Tylor is a fantastic comedy series from the days of old. There is a massive amount of charm in this series. I am going to recommend watching it. However, I am not going to go as far to say watch the OVA series too as apparently it ends with a cliffhanger whereas the series does not. That said, if you want more animated adventures of Tylor and his crew, go ahead as I am sure you probably will not care - you will just be glad to have more Tylor! Tylor is addictive stuff and I would not blame you. Bottom line, just watch it. Do yourself a favor.

9.5/10 story
9/10 animation
8.5/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.3/10 overall