Irresponsible Captain Tylor

sort

Reviews

kenikki's avatar By kenikki on Oct 26, 2009

Story: 5/10

I wasn’t too sure about this one at first since I had started it several months ago and stopped watching it midway through the first episode. Although I couldn’t remember a thing from it. But when I started it this time I was highly impressed by it. The first episode, while not being THAT funny, paved in a good start. The coming episodes were quite often really funny and silly. But around episode 10 or so the show started trying on some melodrama and it was laaaame. It also started introducing harem aspects to the show, which were worse. And then the war part of the show started to become serious, and it wasn’t good at it. I gotta admit that I liked the final 4 episodes despite them being quite serious. I’m not sure why I liked them. I mean, the human side of the story got a pretty nice conlusion for a comedy series like this one, but there wasn’t one for the Raalgon side, which was kinda annoying. Hell, the Raalgon side hardly went anywhere, most of it was just spent on the empress being another harem member for Tylor (this is where the show took the biggest nose dive btw) and the “power struggle” was just lingered on. Nothing major really happened. The bomb was the biggest thing, and that wasn’t even dwelved upon any deeper by the Raalgons, it only gave grounds for the next episode and a reason for the empress to board the Soyokaze. Besides that we just got some mundane plans and evil smiles from Wang.

I’m sure some people will probably say that the serious parts aren’t meant to be taken seriously because it’s a parody, or something, but if that’s the intention I gotta say that they did a poor job with it.

Animation/Artwork/Visual Effects: 7.5/10

Actually, I thought it was really good. Especially considering it’s from 1993. I think the animation is better than plenty of shows from today. Most of the designs here aren’t impressive, but I still liked them.

Sound: 8/10

The voice actors did a great job here, even if the twins voices were way too “cutesy”. I also liked the sound a lot of the time, but there were some scenes here and there that was infected with too simple keyboard music that just sounded outdated and cheap.

I was especially impressed with the music in episode 23 (“The Longest Day In Space”) when Tylor and Dom was gonna fight and just flew past each other.

Characters: 4/10

Like with the story, I really liked Tylor in the beginning, being so irresponsible (duh), lazy, so motherfu***** lucky and even kinda sly. But later on in the show, while he was still lazy and lucky, he turned from irresponsible into plain stupid and selfish. And he started to appear as just dense, indecisive and overly kind, like the usual male harem lead that is.

Yamamoto on the other hand annoyed me a bit in the beginning because he was a bit whiny (I still found him funny though), but he grew on me more and more because while Tylor’s feats started to annoy me the longer the show progressed, Yamamoto’s feats, which are basicly the opposite of Tylor’s (responsible, caring & hardworking) started to appeal to me.

I liked Yuriko in the beginning because she tried to keep Tylor from being too irresponsible in humorous ways and I liked her a bit later on generally because I couldn’t take Tylor anymore and her attempts on “stopping” him just became something I prayed for so he wouldn’t make the show worse than it had already become. But after a bit more time she started to piss me off because of course she has to fall in love with him as well for some reason.

The empress was just bratty & bossy and was nearly always complaining, I never liked her. Dom was a bit too nice, but he wasn’t so bad. Harumi got the greatest development and I actually had no problem with her falling for Tylor because she actually seemed to have a reason for it. The doctor was good, though nothing special. I’m a little suprised the marines didn’t get on my nerves since they never got any development in the TV show and thus stayed the same throughout the series, but I liked them all the way. The navigator was a no-face and Kim stayed true to her character for the rest of the show, she was alright. The twins were too “cutesy”, but I had no real problem with them since they didn’t take up much screen time. The fighter pilot, while I liked him as a character, he didn’t get any development. I mean, why was he scared of women? And it seems he stopped being scared of women, but I would’ve liked to know how. Bah, we hardly even got see him in any fights. He trained the twins once and was in one fight iirc, that’s it.

I really liked the admirals though. I thought they were always funny when they were meant to be funny.

Wang was a terrible villain btw.

Overall: 5.5/10

Bottom line, they should have tried to keep it the same as it was in the beginning ~9 episodes throughout the show imo. That was definitely the top part of the show, and was generally really good. The final for or five episodes were actually decent, but the stuff in between were pure garbage.

5/10 story
7.8/10 animation
8/10 sound
4/10 characters
5.4/10 overall
thegoldenwaste's avatar By thegoldenwaste on Feb 20, 2011

Welcome to my fifth community review of an anime series on Anime-Planet. With this review, I am going to be looking and giving my opinion on the anime series The Irresponsible Captain Tylor, a 26 episode series animated by Tatsunuko Pro in 1993. No spoilers or cursing in my reviews, so you can read them without any problems and recommend them to younger people. Please comment and review my review. They can be very helpful for future reviews. Thanks and onto the review!

Story; Justy Ueki Tylor is the great uniter, but he is an idiot and a genius. The show has a solid plot of trying to stop aliens from destroying humanity. Pretty basic and ordinary, right? Wrong. Tylor is not ordinary. Not at all. Not at all. There is a word that perfectly describes Tylor as a series and that word is charming. There is so much that the story has to offer from romance, drama to downright fun and games. It has a little bit of everything for everyone and that is rare for anime these days.

Animation; For being animated in 1993, it's actually surprisingly good looking. Tatsunuko Pro did a wonderful and solid job with this show. The designs of the ships and characters (both human and alien) are superb and very pleasing to the eyes. I have seen the original animation and the remastered version. I would highly recommend seeking out the remastered video and audio. It's a significant difference when you compare the two.

Sound; The background music is pretty goofy at times, but so is Tylor. The same can be said about the opening and closing songs. Although there is distinct charm with this series' choice of music. It's appropriately and tastefully done to respect the work. The Japanese track was well done and the English track equally so. I could safely recommend watching Tylor in either of the languages. It just sounds fantastic.

Characters; Charming characters in a charming series. Tylor is all about the characters. They can be largely entertaining in every episode. From the lovely Azalyn, to the stern Yamamoto, to the cute twins and beyond. Although I cannot forget about the titular character for it would be a crime against the universe to do so. Tylor is easily one of the most enjoyable and entertaining lead characters in all anime. It's a solid character drama with great growth.

Overall; Irresponsible Captain Tylor is a fantastic comedy series from the days of old. There is a massive amount of charm in this series. I am going to recommend watching it. However, I am not going to go as far to say watch the OVA series too as apparently it ends with a cliffhanger whereas the series does not. That said, if you want more animated adventures of Tylor and his crew, go ahead as I am sure you probably will not care - you will just be glad to have more Tylor! Tylor is addictive stuff and I would not blame you. Bottom line, just watch it. Do yourself a favor.

9.5/10 story
9/10 animation
8.5/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.3/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By roriconfan on Apr 23, 2012

ANIME MINOR JEWELS SERIES
Full list of the review series can be found on this page, 3rd post from bottom:
http://anidb.net/perl-bin/animedb.pl?uid=251338&show=userpage&do=blog&blogid=29009&page=0

TEASER: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vTjNEZ3kcE

Notice: This review covers both the main series and the OVAs that followed it.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

You know how it goes with leaders in anime. They are usually very charismatic, energetic, and set aim to be the best in the universe or something like that. Now, try to see that in reverse. Imagine a guy who has no real leadership or tactics, bored as heck, and with only goal to live a life of just fooling around, to be placed on a seat that demands him being the aforementioned archetype. What you get is Tylor.

Animated by Tatsunoko Productions, a generally minor studio. Amongst its numerous titles this one and The Soul Taker are the only ones I consider worthwhile so they are not exactly bigshots. Directed by Mashimo Kuichi, a man whose style has changed considerably after he switched studios. The guy directed almost all the famous Bee Train anime later on (all the .hack and all the Chicks with Guns themed titles) and I must say he is very good at what he sets out to do. Most of his roster is average to good shows, with a few mishaps here and there; overall he is a very good director, despite not being known to most.

Irresponsible Captain Tylor is exactly what the name implies. The story of a man who dislikes responsibilities and who is trying to get the easiest job that pays well and has the shortest hard labor in it. He decides to join the army. Because, well, Earth was at peace for far too long and the military was spending its years doing drills and mock battles; so why not? Unfortunately for him, as soon as he signs in for evaluation, war breaks out and all candidates are immediately accepted. Furthermore, because he seduced the AI that was supposed to evaluate him (yes, it was a cyber chick) he was placed as captain of an entire ship, as there was no time to double-check the procedure. And the fun has hardly began.

Yup, it is a hilarious premise and most of the episodes have really smart gags and situations. And they are not exactly random because there is always a sinister plan some big shot will throw at Tylor, only to be trashed by his uncanny luck and bizarre reaction to everything, to the point where he is unpredictable enough to win. Yeah, sounds ridiculous but it works. The humor is based mostly on the ridicule of forms. In martial arts, a fighter will usually do one form of attack and expect his opponent to react in a specific way, at which point he also counters in a specific way and so on. But Tylor doesn’t do forms. He doesn’t know anything about them! He hardly thinks there is a ship to take care of. That is what makes him so funny and unpredictable. Of course, he wins the hearts of everyone on board for this feature, which makes the whole deal even funnier.


SPECIFICS


CHARACTER SECTION: 5/10 (Tylor alone is a 10)
Analysis: Presence 2/2, Personality 2/2, Backdrop 1/2, Development 0/2, Catharsis 0/2


The humor is indeed smart to the most part and that is what makes it a good show in terms of enjoyment. Tylor becomes almost a cult figure because of it, a sort of Yang Wenli (the lead in Legend of Galactic Heroes) parody. All the rest unfortunately are not memorable for any reason, with the exception of the alien princess, which gets to even fall in love with the greatest enemy in their war with Earth. Plain hilarious. Not that I assume all the characters are dried up prunes or something, it’s just that they don’t really do anything to move the plot forward. Plus, they are rather simplistic fellows, with their characteristics being rather standard in most anime. They don’t develop in any way as well. I still recall the female lieutenant and the twin girls on the ship, and only because of the erotic humor they kept throwing at poor Tylor. Every babe is practically giving signs of interest towards him and all he does is yawing. This is not because he lacks balls, like the average shounen lead out there. In fact, he is quite the lecherous womanizer. He just finds women too troublesome to care getting in a steady relationship. And what do we know about men who don’t react to women who like them? Yes, they are super sexy for playing it hard to get. Hilarious!

ART/ANIMATION & SOUND: 6/10
Art Analysis: General Artwork 2/2, Character Figures 1/2, Backgrounds 1/2, Animation 1/2, Visual Effects 1/2
Sound Analysis: Voice Acting 2/3, Music Themes 2/4, Sound Effects 2/3


Animation and Sound have nothing much to write about. There is an ok amount of detail given to ships and machinery, and characters are drawn in an almost typical 90’s way. The animators made a fine job at making you feel THIS is an Earth ship, THAT is an alien one and OVER THERE we have a megacity. It is mostly done with the use of different sets of colors. There is action and some bare skin showing occasionally but you will definitely care less about all that than Tylor’s weird take on everything. Voice acting and music score seem to be on a better level, as the lead has a great voice actor to fully portrait his zany character, while the humorous songs and light atmosphere actually help you get in the mood of the series easily. I must point out how the animators weren’t afraid to break the fourth wall at times and show how they had things made “behind the scenes”. The opening film speaks for itself, lol. They also had budget problems at times (expected from those tragic recession years Japan was going through) and that kinda shows easily. But since they made fun of themselves while doing so, I excuse them. You don’t see many anime where you clearly feel the makers were having fun while doing their work; so good job.

STORY SECTION: 4/10
Analysis: Premise 2/2, Pacing 1/2, Complexity 1/2, Plausibility 0/2, Conclusion 0/2


The story is by far the weakest part in all. It starts well, it provides lots of progress at first, and then it begins to slow down. Eventually, the series ends anti-climactically, while the following OVAs are to the most part aimless adventures in space. The first two though are a blast! But anyway, the story is weak; the war or the supposed romances never result to anything.


FINAL THOUGHTS


ENJOYMENT & VALUE SECTIONS: 6/10
Analysis: Historical Value 1/3, Rewatchability 1/3, Memorability 4/4


It is a famous retro series but most modern viewers probably don’t know, don’t care and most likely won’t bother watching it. Too many superficial comedies come out every year and most are now close to porn. I say it is a worthy watch but may be hard to follow through a second time because you will know all this insanity won’t lead anywhere. Which is nothing new to anime comedies.

VERDICT: 5.5/10


SUGGESTION LIST
Great Teacher Onizuka
Lost Galaxy
Outlaw Star

4/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
5.5/10 overall
kirant's avatar By kirant on Jun 2, 2012

Background of the Show

Irresponsible Captain Tylor is the story of two civilizations at war, humans, using their navy, the United Planets Space Force (UPSF), and Holy Raalgon Empire, humanoid aliens.  In the centre of it all is Justy Ueki Tylor, a lazy, laid back, optimistic man who's probably never done or taken anything seriously in his entire life.  After a certain incident, he's given command of the Soyokaze, an outdated, underequipped UPSF destroyer...which turns out is the dumping ground for all useless and unmanagable UPSF staff.  Despite that, the ship continually survives engagements with Raalgon forces...leaving everybody wonder how they do it...especially given Tylor's attitudeand lack of any real sense of urgency.

The anime is based off of Hitoshi Yoshioka's novels of the same name.  It is generally called a comedic space opera.

Story - 7.0/10

The story of Irresponsible Captain Tylor is very intriguing.  The background is something you could expect would come out of a serious show, along the lines of the visual novel version of Galaxy Angel.  Yet, for something considered a parody of space operas, it's surprisingly serious in where it actually takes the story.  The method that solves the events, namely Tylor's inverventions, are comedic, but the story itself is pretty serious.  That means nothing wrong however...it actually adds to the flavour a bit.  The story can be considered pretty standard, but the interaction it has with the characters makes it feel extremely strong.  The show begins to grind down from time to time.  Looking back, I find it hard to remember that it's 26 episodes. 

Animation - 4.5/10

The animation in the show shows its age.  It's an early '90's anime and, as such has many of the follies of an early '90's anime in its art.  This comes to a particular forefront in the rare battle scenes, where repeated animations are used frequently. This is much less noticable in non-action scenes however.  Again, it's pretty standard for its time (though the repatition is a little tough to watch).  It's marked as average for that reasion.

Sound - 5.0/10

This ranking incorporates many sections.  I'll go through them individually:

 - Songs: Generally solid.  The opening is catchy and fun (with one of the wierdest opening sequences you'll ever see).  The ending is pretty standard.

 - Sound Effects: Passable. There's little special, little off with it.  It doesn't stand out in any way.

 - Original Sound Track: Reasonable.  A few memorable songs sprinkled inside a fairly standard set. 

 - Voice Acting:  Fine, but nothing special in either language.  English's version is pretty much a collection of all your favourite VAs before they were hits.  Famously, this was Crispin Freeman's first major role before he got typecast (after playing Zelgadis).

Characters - 9.0/10

The characters are the major reason why you watch this show.  They're a completely goofy crew...and they take the space opera on a wild ride.  By completely defying all sense of logic, conventional wisdom, and probably UNconventional wisdom, they destroy all sense of reason in the show and bringing all sorts of hilarity.

Character development doesn't go unattended either.  While the eponymous character doesn't really develop, everybody around him does.  Despite much of the debate being on whether Tylor is a genius for saving the crew countless times, or just plain lucky, the massive impact he has on the cast leaves the question to the possibility of him being a spiritual figure, leading them to enlightenment.

Non-Tylor characters are good, but not memorable.  They are quirky, but do not stand out enough to make a show.  The show is very much about how Tylor impacts...well...everything and how he drags them along despite seemingly doing nothing. 

Long story short: A little slow at times, the show takes what you remember about space operas and turns them on their head by taking a familiar and easy to recognize situation...and turning it on its head.  While it doesn't stand out in its delivery or overall polish in animation, if you're able to get past that, it's a solid show to watch.

Overall - 7.0/10

7/10 story
4.5/10 animation
5/10 sound
9/10 characters
7/10 overall
No1's avatar By No1 on Jul 22, 2013

One of my favorite anime's of all time, and I'm picky about what I like.

Spoiler free review

Story: 9/10

It's the story of a clueless, moronic, and irresponsible captain, the most rundown destroyer in the fleet, and it's crew of the most problematic members of the armed forces. It's silly, improbable, rediculess, and even more rediculess. It is NOT a serious show by any means, but is an excelent light watch as long as there arn't people around who will be bothered by fits of laughing. My only issue with the story is a few episodes (maybe 2?) are a bit angsty and while they work, they don't have the same mood as the rest of the series. 

Animation: 7/10

It was made in the mid 90's, and looks like it. Personally I don't consider that an issue, but take off 2 points if that bothers you. Other than that, the animation isn't bad, nothing spectacular for it's time, nothing terrible. You don't need to worry about your eyes bleeding or anything. 

Sound 10/10

First of all, I don't rate intro/closing music. Background music stays in the background, it isn't out of place, and it helps in many situations, but it isn't something I focus on unless it doesn't work. Voices are amazing. I would highly recommend the original japaneese woices which are great, but it also has one of the best english dubs I've heard, so choose whichever language you prefer. 

Characters 10/10

They're all well done, and all over the top. Crew development is well done, and bizzarely enough, the characters are actually fairly believeable. Once you get into the series and see the actual characters, it's hard not to me impressed by that. These charcters should not be believeable. Short term hostile leaders are devloped enough to get a feel for them, without wasting time. 

Overall 9.5/10

Overall, it's a well done and generally underated series. Knock off 2 points if you hate 90's animation, and up to 5 points if you don't like silly, as that's a stong part of it's appeal. I would also strongly suggest that if you like the series, you do not watch the OVA. 

-No One

9/10 story
7/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9.5/10 overall