Humanity Has Declined

Alt title: Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

sort

Reviews

RingoStarr1991's avatar By on Oct 19, 2012

Straight from my blog!!!

***This is a spoiler free review***

There was one show that stuck out from the rest of the crowd during the 2012 summer season. This anime, Humanity Has Declined had the randomness and uniqueness of Gintama and while I would say I enjoyed it almost as much, certain parts of the season really brought it down.

Story: 5/10

So starting out with a downer, the plot is very incoherent. To give you an idea of what the show is about, we follow Mediator who is in charge of overlooking the fairies in the surrounding area. She and her assistant, Assistant (what a cleaver name…) run into many different experiences over the course of the season. The first story arc is brilliantly funny and a joy to watch but the following arcs felt…out of place. We learn towards the end of the show that the final episodes actually take place before the first four or so episodes in the timeline. Why the creators arranged it this way I do not know but whatever effect they were shooting for missed me completely. While I generally enjoyed the show, the order of events really threw me a curveball. If your main focus is on the actual content and whether it is worth watching, I would say yes it is. Most of the story arcs have a very dry, dark humor but the character interactions break the tension. The main cast along with the fairies work very well with each other. The major flaw with the plot though (the sequence of events) just really lets the show down. If you want a coherent experience, you are almost better off watching the last two episodes, then the ones before that, then starting from the beginning. This might not affect a lot of people but whenever I watch a new anime or tv show, I cannot start it until I am fully aware of the beginning episodes. I just cannot stand jumping into the middle of a season. 

Animation: 7/10

While the animation won’t blow your mind away, it is very unique and distinctive from other shows. The show sports a plain, matte looking color scheme that fits the post world war whatever environment. The character models also have this slick, reflective look that make them stand out from other slow paced shows. It’s hard to explain the appeal but just know that it is not amazing but by no means horrible.

 Sound: 7/10

The first episodes really shine in the sound department. The music played during the chase scene at the end of the first arc was brilliantly placed and the voice actors really nailed their character’s personalities. While the quality of the voice acting continues onto the very end, the background sound tends to sizzle out. I even started to notice that they were reusing some of the musical tracks in the ending episodes that were present in the first couple ones. The best thing about the sound however is the opening theme. It is by far the catchiest opening I have ever watched…and I tend to stray away from J-pop. Overall a great sounding anime.

Characters: 9.5/10

This is by far the most stand out point of the show; the characters and the chemistry between them. The main character, Mediator deserves character of comedy anime of this century award by far (either that or a very close tie with Gintama). Her morbid thinking and decision making process makes every episode a blast to watch. Assistant also tends to steal the show while he is present due to his very crude humor and his use of his sketchpad. Other great characters include Grandfather, Pion, and Y. The fairies also provide some very funny moments in the show. There is however a problem; while all the characters present in the show are well written and amazing, they tend to stay on the sideline too much. After their respectable arc is over, we hardly see anyone but Mediator. Even her Assistant is absent in the middle of the season for a lengthy amount of time. If they would have worked these characters in some more, I would have rated this category with a ten without a doubt in my mind.

Overall: 7.1/10

Do not let this score stray you away from this show. While the timeline really screwed up my experience, this show has too much greatness to offer. If you want a very dry humor and interesting comedy to watch, then look no further.

 

Enjoyment: 8/10

 

Thanks for reading my review! If you liked my writing style, would like to see some other reviews, or just want to talk, please stop by my page!

Sincerely,
Awesome Drummer

5/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
7.1/10 overall
Aranneas's avatar By on Oct 7, 2012

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

Story 7/10

It's hard to talk about the story of Jinrui without giving too much away. The series takes place in a world where humanity is gradually dying out (title drop!) and follows the work of the Mediator, an individual chosen by the United Nations to work as a liaison between the humans of the dying world and the fairies, a race of tiny cute beings with strange technology that seems to have sprung up to fill in the ecological void. It's an often confusing but overall enjoyable romp through the leftovers of human culture and dwells on the way means of life have progressed over time.

The show presents itself as a semi-episodic mystery/adventure/gag series heavily tinged with meta-humour and tongue-in-cheek references to other works, but it's also a retrospective of consumer culture as a whole, particularly the way it's developed in recent years in Japan. There's a lot of black humour and twisted aesops there for those who choose to read between the lines - as such the show could be said to belie its depth with a cutesy exterior.

Animation 8/10

The production values aren't anything remarkable for 2012 but the visual style is quirky and distinctive and works as a part of the overall package very well. Backgrounds are often done in watercolor style. Detail is always present and sometimes almost overwhelming. There's a lot of deliciously contrasting elements here, from the plainclothes/anachronistic dress and architecture  of the villagers to the ruined and sometimes preserved cities of old to the insanity-inducing buildings and vacuous grins of the fairies. There's a lot to love about the visual style here. The series' creators have carved themselves a niche very effectively.

Sound 9.5/10

First thing's first. The OP is an utterly addictive earworm and will have you humming and possibly dancing along within two episodes if you have half a beat in your body.

Music in-series is quirky and bouncy and fun when it shows up, not taking itself too seriously and working perfectly in harmony with the overall premise and themes. Seiyuu work is outstanding. The fairies are my favourites.

Characters 8.5/10

The Mediator is a deadpan snarker narrator, a position often held by flat masks held up in front of an empty void, but she develops an interesting and consistent personality through the time we see her to an extent that's quite uncommon for a comedy-focused series. The secondary characters vary widely in their level of depth, often being played for grotesquery. That said, Y is the fairies' gift to humanity and, in my opinion, almost impossible to dislike.

Overall 8/10

It's very much an offbeat package, constantly breaking the fourth wall and occasionally making very little sense, but I greatly enjoyed the overall effect of Jinrui. For a show that doesn't take itself seriously in the least it actually has some fairly interesting things to say about the way we live. That and it's often just flat out hilarious. Can't go wrong there.

7/10 story
8/10 animation
9.5/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall
Gzerble's avatar By on Jan 30, 2015

Humanity Has Declined is on the surface a super-cute show with some super-cute mysteries. But the secret to the show is actually in the name. Every single two-episode arc focuses on a different part of the troubles of society. The scathing critique is hidden behind colorful and simpistic art, cheerful voice acting, childish humor, a positive soundtrack, friendship, and cutesy metaphors. The self-destructive nature of consumerism, shallowness of culture, loss of connection to reality, the search for self definition, and more get their moment in the particularly bright sun.

Of course none of the metaphors and social commentary would be of any interest had Humanity Has Declined been bad. The unique charm of this anime makes these themes be an addition for the mature viewers that gives a lot of added depth for what on the surface is just another cute show about a cute girl in a cute world doing cute things with a cute attitude. Humanity Has Declined is extremely cute, did I fail to mention?

The entire writing and art is centered around cuteness with a sour edge. From the upbeat opening sequence that drips happiness and naive charm, through the intentionally impressionist influence on the backgrounds, down to the positive ending for each arc, we get a nice strawberry cake of disgustingly cute things. But the whole point is that like the afformentioned cake, there are undertones that aren't sweet at all (a metaphor that is actually pointed out in the final arc). That contrast is what makes it delicious.

While not a masterpiece, Humanity Has Declined is a very different take on anime, and is extremely refreshing in the way it works. It is not for everyone, and just like many of the story arcs, there is an underlying theme to the show that is obviously not for everyone. And yet, I can't really fault a show that is both enjoyable and harmless on the surface, yet makes such clever use of metaphors and themes to satiate my hunger for more mature ideas.

Writing (Story and Characters):

Humanity Has Declined is what people would consider "hard scifi". It is centered around a world and philosophy, and the characters are not particularly relevant (they are there to add some color and guide us through the story). It takes place in a post-post-apocalyptic world, where humanity is cheerfully continuing its lifestyle as it strides towards extinction due to its own helplessness and inability. And yet, everything is described in such a cute and harmless way that the entire theme isn't disturbing in the least.

The story is a combination of semi-episodic arcs that are told out of chronological order. We get to see mankind's failings on every level, from destruction of education, working at things completely irrelevant to making their lives better, and generally being at a complete loss with how to cope with the world. There are faeries, and depending on the interpretation they are either naive protectors, malevolent antagonists, a metaphor for the way human culture is evolving, or all of those at the same time. Each arc in itself gets its own simple resolution, and together they create a tapestry of simply walking through life's challenges unaffected and ungrowing, pointing out the theme: Humanity Has Declined.

The characters aren't particularly interesting. None of them are really memorable, nor do they need to be. As with hard science fiction, the characters are here to guide us through a world and philosophical point, and they succeed doing that rather well. Also as is the case with most hard science fiction, they are completely forgettable and show no growth. But hey, they do what they are meant to. It's quite wonderful overall.

Anime usually fails at delivering when it comes to hard scifi ideas. Most science fiction is soft sci-fi and character driven stuff, or when it is hard sci-fi is centered around being all grim and ends up being rather one dimensional. Humanity Has Declined is magnificent in that it offers something that is usually seen only in western hard scifi, which is a colorful and optimistic take on the hard science fiction route... even if like its name, it is about a critique of modern society. While the story and characters on their own are good, their combination works wonderfully. What can I say, I am both a hard scifi and anime nerd - the writing is tailored for me.

Art (Animation and Sound):

The animation is simplistic, and it is obviously meant to be that way. There are bright and colorful themes everywhere, the rustic charm of the backgrounds is amazing (even if you notice that at times it is the decaying remnants of humanity), the character designs are particularly simplistic, the soundtrack is cheerful, the voice acting is optimistic and happy, and in general everything is just so cute. As opposed to most anime who take either the realistic or the abstract approaches, the artwork here is heavily influenced by impressionism, which is a very refreshing take.

The animation is hard to judge. The artistic merits are there, and yet you could point out the simplistic nature of it and the lack of abstraction to add depth. And yet, like any good bit of impressionism, the point of the animation is the emotional impact (and some would even say "impression") that the artwork has on the viewer. On one side, this is very far away from the modern realistic approach you might see from studios like Madhouse, or the abstract intellectual approach from Shaft, which in itself is a strong point. AIC A.S.T.A. may have had budgetary constraints, but they covered for it by making the animation different and artistic. I think its good, but like most impressionist art, impressions may vary.

The sound is solid and well done. The soundtrack is cheerful and well executed, the voice acting is surprisingly good, and the effects are actually pretty clever. There isn't any particular fault in anything. There are moments of brilliance (the opening is perfection itself), there are moments where it is unimpressive, but overall the sound just adds another layer to the vision behind the show. That being said, it isn't top-tier stuff, just very good.

Overall, the artwork, like the writing, are slaves to the vision behind Humanity Has Declined. And in that, they are a huge success. The light-hearted and warm art are a huge strength in making this anime unique and enjoyable, without trapping us in a maze of dark metaphors (*cough*Ergo Proxy*cough*). That being said, it is not in the top tier from a technical perspective - just very well done and with a clear artistic vision.

Overall:

I enjoyed Humanity Has Declined on many levels. The writing is top notch if you are a hard science-fiction fan, but lacking if you expect anything character driven. The artwork is top notch if you want something different than the norm, but lacking if you want it to wow you with technical precision. But it seems that I am the target audience, and therefore have no choice but to give a warm recommendation.

9/10 story
8.5/10 animation
8/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
8.8/10 overall
FullmetalDragon's avatar By on Mar 17, 2016

Humanity has Declined has absolutely no logic to it whatsoever. However, whether it's being trapped in a comic book or chasing after raw chickens, there's never a dull moment.

As the title suggests, humanity is dying out, and are being replaced by fairies - a race of tiny, sweet loving geniuses who can make pretty much anything and get very easily swept up in fads. As well as being super adorable, they also cause quite a few problems for the main character (a human in charge of communicating with the fairies), most of which pretty much defy logic.

There's no overall story; in fact, if anything, the story undevelops (is that a word? Well, it is now), with a few random jumps back in time to explain a few things that went on before and also to put some more interesting stories in. Still, the story is fun and seriously entertaining.

Most of the characters in this series don't actually have names, but this is one of those series where they aren't really needed. The main character is a mediator between the humans and faires, and often falls prey to helps out with their experiments. She's very much a likable character, but, like most of the characters in the series, has no particularly outstanding personality. With most of the characters in the series, it feels like they're there just for the sake of being there - although not in a bad way. The characters all fit into the series well, but in quite a strange way.

Entirely random and yet very entertaining is probably the best way to describe Humanity has Declined. It's quite hard to explain why it's as good as it is. To be honest, I'm not really sure anyone knows. But still, if humanity is going to die out, this is how I want it to end up.

7/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
7/10 characters
7/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful
pinkarray's avatar By on Feb 18, 2016

The beginning of this anime started off stupidly and I was about to stop it but gladly I didn't. Though, it still wasn't a solid entry into the anime world. A young girl who has a simple name (as does everyone else in the series) or rather likes to be called a simple name, "Human" is somehow surviving in a world where humanity has seemed to have dwindled.

In the creativity department, it isn't good nor bad, it's just average but most other times, it isn't being creative, rather it rips off other anime and more tropes than any Disney film could ever imagine. Episode titles can be generic despite their unpredictability and the characters are generic as their nonsensical dialogue. The main character is a tsundere who is very grating to watch, the fairies who I mistaken for dolls are okay, they're cute and they have a pretty interesting backstory, but everyone else isn't all that great, the little girl with blonde hair serves as an attachment for Human, the cat-like robot who I forgot the name of is whiny and some other characters have little personalities to stick with you despite the fact that they're secondary characters.

Now let's talk about the story. The story seems to have a nice idea behind it once you really get into it but failed because it just isn't creative enough. It could've been an anime you wouldn't really want to end but it is ruined by frustrating characters and boring writing. There are only a few interesting things and cute moments. But there are rarely some dark emotions to make you feel empathy for the characters.

At the beginning, the voice acting done for some of the fairies sound like nails-on-a-chalkboard but then improve quickly. So, overall, the voice acting isn't bothersome for the most part except for also Human's at certain points.

The art is too similar to other anime, the characters are drawn quite uniquely though and also some of the animation can even go through stuff, the animation even made me laugh at one point.

I don't even see why people rate this anime so highly. It is overall, childlike but aimed at teenagers. At first, I thought it should've passed off as shoujo but maybe it is a seinen anime. I'm a girl and I didn't enjoy this very much but the main character is a girl and is usually around girls so it makes this seem pretty girly for boys. Viewers over 14 will likely find this a tad too childish, especially in the humor department.

4/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
4.9/10 overall
0 0 this review is Funny Helpful