Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira

sort

Reviews

darczon69's avatar By darczon69 on Jul 25, 2011

WARNING! This review CONTAINS a small storyline spoiler.

I was more than happy when I first found out that Kira will be aired starting this summer. As I pranced around while imagining the sweet sound of Rena chopping away at someone, I heard a small voice in my head saying something like this: "Glad you're happy mate, but do you remember Rei?

Then my world came crashing down and while I trembled in horror at the thought of another moe-fest, I slowly and carefully began watching the newest installment of the Higurashi series.

 

I'm gonna be honest. I enjoyed the first episode, but that wasn't Higurashi; and, although Keiichi's hallucinations were extremely....should I say....vivid :D, there wasn't a single speck of storyline in the whole episode. At least Rei tried to have something resembling a story but, so far, Kira is nothing more than a moe-fest, a good and beautiful moe-fest, due to the quality of the animation, but if you're looking for killer lolis I'd suggest rewatching the main series.

The only reason why you should watch this OVA is for pure fanservice and for the sake of completion.

 

 

SPOILER ALERT!

Nonetheless, let's be honest: who wouldn't want a maid Rena feeding you or an all-you-can-eat Mion & Shion buffet? :D I know I would :D

6/10 story
8/10 animation
4/10 sound
5/10 characters
7/10 overall
Flint879's avatar By Flint879 on Mar 26, 2013

There are a lot of good things to say about the Higurashi series as a whole. The first season was brutal, bloody, filled with gore and just downright great to watch. The story was confusing though, but the second season put the blood and gore on the back-burner in order to make some sense out of the story. Higurashi Rei was, in my opinion, kind of pointless, but it gave a new "What if?" added to the equation of events. Kira on the other hand...is nothing more than straight-100%-pointless-nonsense.

There is no story to the 4 episodes that make up Kira. It's purely episodic. Episode 1 takes you through of what Keiichi fantisizes about with the girls. Truly, kind of crossing the line. It's almost like a pedophile's dream watching this episode.

Episode 2 consists of Rika becoming a magical girl who has to save everyone from monsters in this thick fog that randomly appeared.

Episode 3 is fairly decent and probably the better one out of the four episodes in Kira. This episode shows you what would happen if Keiichi and Mion had a slight romance thing kind of going on. Throw Rena into that mix and you got yourself a fairly decent episode.

Episode 4 basically shows Rika from another world getting stuck in modern day and has to get sent back. Nothing really exciting.

The animation is top-notch. Compared with the first season, it looks brilliantly vibrant of colors and smooth animation.

The sound is decent. No real memorable opening/ending songs, but the voice actors still return to deliver regardless of the crap the episodes are filled with.

The characters are now kind of ruined for me. After episode 1 of Kira, I can't look at the characters like I used to. I feel dirty after watching that.

Overall I would advise to stay away from Higurashi Kira. Even if you are a fan of Higurashi, stay away from this. It doesn't have ANYTHING whatsoever to do with the story nor is it really entertaining. You can be like me and have to watch it regardless of what people say because I'm a fan. Be my guest, but don't be surprised you hear a voice in your head saying, "they told you so."

1/10 story
9/10 animation
6/10 sound
4/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
FreddyCrab's avatar By FreddyCrab on Feb 17, 2012

Story: I did not particularly like Higurashi Kira. I remember when Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni was notorious for its blood and gore, yet with each passing series it seems to get less like a horror and more like a hentai.

These four episodes all have entirely separate stories to them. Episode one I LOATHED. The entire episode was Keiichi and the 3 old guys thinking of perverted, paedophillic things for all the female cast to do. It ws absolutely gross to see people like Oishii think up stories what inviolved Rika clean the windows in her school with just her butt, whilst people took photos, and to see Satoko have to sensually wash Keiichis body, giving him an erection and several nosebleeds. Hello? How OLD are all them guys??? At least 30. Oishii is like, SEVENTY and hes thinking up naughty things for little girls of about 9 to do. Thats just plain paedophillic. Its just not right.

Episode two wasn't as against my moral grounds, but it wasn't that interesting either. Rika becomes a magical girl and must save everyone before they go insane from this weird fog.

Episode three WAS pretty good though. This episode shows what would happen if a slight romance developed between Keiichi and Mion, as well as what would happen if Rena got involved too. However this one still dissappointed me, as nothing happenned in it.

Episode four? It tried to get back on track. The story was not perverted, not useless but it wasn't interesting. Rika from another time is stuck in modern-day Hinamizawa and needs to get sent back. I found this a bore, sadly.

Animation: The first thing I thought when I was watching this anime was ''WOW!!! The animation looks GREAT when you compare it to the first season of Higurashi! O_O'' and it really is good. The colours are bright, the backgrounds are pretty and the characters in general look impressive.

Sound: I can't remember much of the sound being used at all. Its just small little songs of no big importance.The opening was alright.

Characters: Kind of ruined. They are all defiled in episode one, treated weirdly in episode two, regain themselves slightly in episode three then just become boring in episode four.

Overall: Meh. If the rumours about another OVA coming out in 4 years is true, then at this rate that one will be a hentai -__-

3.5/10 story
9/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
4.5/10 overall
Thrawn's avatar By Thrawn on Feb 29, 2012

Story

Kira's completely episodic, and completely questionable. The first one's about fanservice for all and old men (And Keiichi) getting all hot and bothered about the girls (All of them. Including lolis). Awkward. Second one is... probably unimportant. Third is about some crazy love rectangle of sorts that had loads of potential and the final one is about moe. I mean moe time travel.

That's the brief and it's senseless and pointless. It's hardly an arc of the original series or as good but it retains most aspects of the first part of it, before things go down the crapper. There isn't much to the plot to begin with but you aren't here for that, as nobody goes bat-shit crazy. With that said, mega bonus points for the last episode; you can excuse the plot for Nipaaa~ as it's SO FRIGGING CUTE. That alone brings up the score.

Animation

If there's one thing going for this, it's the animation. It's a step above from the normal series and it looks great. The scenery at times is equivalent to scenery porn; not top notch but yummy.

Sound

I can't stand the OP. Can't stand it. Bled my ears everytime, but the jazzy beats are nice. VO is just like before.

Overall

It's crap, but it's four episodes in half-hour segments, making it two hours of questionable crap. Can't say I enjoyed it but neither did I outright hate it. It's not that good, but if you don't mind fanservice of all kinds, some mind-melting adorability in the last episode and a feeling of being letdown, go right ahead.

5/10 story
8.5/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
?/10 characters
5/10 overall
iiT3CK's avatar By iiT3CK on May 24, 2013

Initially I was pretty happy to watch a sequel to the brilliant Higurashi series, but I was horribly mistaken... allow me to elaborate....

Story: 

I think the only reason I give it a 1 out of 10 is because I would feel guilty giving it a worse rating. To be completly blunt, there is no story; at all. Two words can sum up this OVA; FAN SERVICE. And to be honest, normally I dont mind fan service; I prefer my woman 3D but hey, I won't complain. The problem I had with this is that all the characters are children. There what, 12? 13 if they had an early birthday? I felt dirty watching this OVA, and not in a good way.

Animation/Sound:

I give the sound annd animation a good rating because, well, the animation for the show has always been legit in my opinion. Furtehrmore the intro song was mildly entertaining; so I'm inclined to give the audio a solid rating as well.

Characters:

The characters were a bit out of place. And that's an understatement. When I think of higurashi, I think of axe murders and Takano's insanely annoying laugh. Instead I get something more a long the lines of a Ron Jeremy film. I will say though, despite the permiscuist nature of the OVA, it is kinda funny. So I won't bash on the characters to much.

Overall:

I believe this OVA really takes away from what made the show great in the first place. I wouldn't recommend it to friends unless they could care less about the story and are more interested in... well, im sure you could figure the rest out. I'm giving it a 3.3, but I will add that it is a bit humourous in it's defense.

~Phan†om

1/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
6/10 characters
3.3/10 overall