Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira

sort

Reviews

darczon69's avatar By darczon69 on Jul 25, 2011

WARNING! This review CONTAINS a small storyline spoiler.

I was more than happy when I first found out that Kira will be aired starting this summer. As I pranced around while imagining the sweet sound of Rena chopping away at someone, I heard a small voice in my head saying something like this: "Glad you're happy mate, but do you remember Rei?

Then my world came crashing down and while I trembled in horror at the thought of another moe-fest, I slowly and carefully began watching the newest installment of the Higurashi series.

 

I'm gonna be honest. I enjoyed the first episode, but that wasn't Higurashi; and, although Keiichi's hallucinations were extremely....should I say....vivid :D, there wasn't a single speck of storyline in the whole episode. At least Rei tried to have something resembling a story but, so far, Kira is nothing more than a moe-fest, a good and beautiful moe-fest, due to the quality of the animation, but if you're looking for killer lolis I'd suggest rewatching the main series.

The only reason why you should watch this OVA is for pure fanservice and for the sake of completion.

 

 

SPOILER ALERT!

Nonetheless, let's be honest: who wouldn't want a maid Rena feeding you or an all-you-can-eat Mion & Shion buffet? :D I know I would :D

6/10 story
8/10 animation
4/10 sound
5/10 characters
7/10 overall
Flint879's avatar By Flint879 on Mar 26, 2013

There are a lot of good things to say about the Higurashi series as a whole. The first season was brutal, bloody, filled with gore and just downright great to watch. The story was confusing though, but the second season put the blood and gore on the back-burner in order to make some sense out of the story. Higurashi Rei was, in my opinion, kind of pointless, but it gave a new "What if?" added to the equation of events. Kira on the other hand...is nothing more than straight-100%-pointless-nonsense.

There is no story to the 4 episodes that make up Kira. It's purely episodic. Episode 1 takes you through of what Keiichi fantisizes about with the girls. Truly, kind of crossing the line. It's almost like a pedophile's dream watching this episode.

Episode 2 consists of Rika becoming a magical girl who has to save everyone from monsters in this thick fog that randomly appeared.

Episode 3 is fairly decent and probably the better one out of the four episodes in Kira. This episode shows you what would happen if Keiichi and Mion had a slight romance thing kind of going on. Throw Rena into that mix and you got yourself a fairly decent episode.

Episode 4 basically shows Rika from another world getting stuck in modern day and has to get sent back. Nothing really exciting.

The animation is top-notch. Compared with the first season, it looks brilliantly vibrant of colors and smooth animation.

The sound is decent. No real memorable opening/ending songs, but the voice actors still return to deliver regardless of the crap the episodes are filled with.

The characters are now kind of ruined for me. After episode 1 of Kira, I can't look at the characters like I used to. I feel dirty after watching that.

Overall I would advise to stay away from Higurashi Kira. Even if you are a fan of Higurashi, stay away from this. It doesn't have ANYTHING whatsoever to do with the story nor is it really entertaining. You can be like me and have to watch it regardless of what people say because I'm a fan. Be my guest, but don't be surprised you hear a voice in your head saying, "they told you so."

1/10 story
9/10 animation
6/10 sound
4/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
Doggiedoodle's avatar By Doggiedoodle on Sep 17, 2011

If you haven't guessed I am a huge fan of Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni. I watched the first season and Kai, it's second season, and I enjoyed them. Now, when I heard that their was a third season, I was confused, and decided to watch it. I did not have anything positive to say about it. Rei was awful. They changed the dark mood from Higurashi, and changed it with humor. I did enjoy that Rei did try to take a lighter tone after the show's depressing tale. So, Studio DEEN later had a tenth anniversary and released Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Kira. And, if you haven't guessed already I hated it. Below is my explanation for my hate of this OVA:

Story: I did like seeing Keichi in a phone booth trying to call Oochi. It reminded me of the first season. But, it turns out to be a dream (I guess), and the Soul Brothers arrive. They consist of Jirou, Tomitake, Oochi, and Keichi. I guess in the rest of the OVA, they tried to entertain themselves by having the girls appear in objectionable clothing. They have Rika clean a with her bottom window with her waitress outfit, have Rena (later turnt into Satoshi, I guess) feed Keichi pudding, and have Satako give Keichi a sponge bath (WTF. right?), and the most objectional scene was having Shion (or was it Mion?) appear as some kind of dessert on a table, with fruits covering her supposedly nude body. This is non-canon, because in the original series Shion loved Satoshi, and Mion presumbably had a crush on Keichi. So, for the first epidode I give the story 1/10.

Animation: The animation was also pretty weird. It looks like the anime out of [[Lucky Star]] or some other cutesy anime. I believed that the OVA started failing after Rei. I miss the animation from the first and second seasons. 0.5/10.

Sound: The OVA's music, I am happy that they took a happier light after the tragedies, but... why must the theme sound like Lucky Star? 1/10.

Characters: The complaint I have with the characters is that Keichi is more perverted in this version of the story. What I mean is, that in the first seasons... yes, he was perverted, but when the time called for a hero, he would often try to save the day. But in this OVA, he is ungodly disgusting. I already mentioned the other females, except for one: Takano Miyo. I mean, I loath her, but in the second season she was actually a very three-dimensionally intimidating antagonist in trying to kill Rika. But, in Kira, they made her into somewhat of a slut. She questionably tries to have sex with Keichi, and appeared as a play boy bunny. I mean, she was an amazing villainess until they made Rei and Kira, and now, they completely destroyed her character. And they practically obliterate al the other characters that you came to love. I give the characters 1/10.

Overall: I can personally say that Kira isn't like Higurashi. In fact, it was FAR from being Higurashi. I did sort of liked Rei, because it did try to have a story and tried to be interesting, however, Kira is not. It milked whatever story had left, and tried to make hentai. It milked it when there wasn't anymore story to tell. And it probably destroyed the characters that you've grown to care for in the previous seasons. I personally believe that they were trying to make a special with ecchi characters, and pasted on When They Cry characters just to mess with the fans' heads. (scene cuts to Phineas and Ferb, and Doof watches Kira )Doofenshmirtz (after watching Kira): CURSE YOU STUDIO DEEN! So, overall, for the first episode of Kira, I give it 1.5/10. Please improve with  the second episode DEEN, -_-*.

1/10 story
0.5/10 animation
1/10 sound
1/10 characters
1.5/10 overall
FreddyCrab's avatar By FreddyCrab on Feb 17, 2012

Story: I did not particularly like Higurashi Kira. I remember when Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni was notorious for its blood and gore, yet with each passing series it seems to get less like a horror and more like a hentai.

These four episodes all have entirely separate stories to them. Episode one I LOATHED. The entire episode was Keiichi and the 3 old guys thinking of perverted, paedophillic things for all the female cast to do. It ws absolutely gross to see people like Oishii think up stories what inviolved Rika clean the windows in her school with just her butt, whilst people took photos, and to see Satoko have to sensually wash Keiichis body, giving him an erection and several nosebleeds. Hello? How OLD are all them guys??? At least 30. Oishii is like, SEVENTY and hes thinking up naughty things for little girls of about 9 to do. Thats just plain paedophillic. Its just not right.

Episode two wasn't as against my moral grounds, but it wasn't that interesting either. Rika becomes a magical girl and must save everyone before they go insane from this weird fog.

Episode three WAS pretty good though. This episode shows what would happen if a slight romance developed between Keiichi and Mion, as well as what would happen if Rena got involved too. However this one still dissappointed me, as nothing happenned in it.

Episode four? It tried to get back on track. The story was not perverted, not useless but it wasn't interesting. Rika from another time is stuck in modern-day Hinamizawa and needs to get sent back. I found this a bore, sadly.

Animation: The first thing I thought when I was watching this anime was ''WOW!!! The animation looks GREAT when you compare it to the first season of Higurashi! O_O'' and it really is good. The colours are bright, the backgrounds are pretty and the characters in general look impressive.

Sound: I can't remember much of the sound being used at all. Its just small little songs of no big importance.The opening was alright.

Characters: Kind of ruined. They are all defiled in episode one, treated weirdly in episode two, regain themselves slightly in episode three then just become boring in episode four.

Overall: Meh. If the rumours about another OVA coming out in 4 years is true, then at this rate that one will be a hentai -__-

3.5/10 story
9/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
4.5/10 overall
Thrawn's avatar By Thrawn on Feb 29, 2012

Story

Kira's completely episodic, and completely questionable. The first one's about fanservice for all and old men (And Keiichi) getting all hot and bothered about the girls (All of them. Including lolis). Awkward. Second one is... probably unimportant. Third is about some crazy love rectangle of sorts that had loads of potential and the final one is about moe. I mean moe time travel.

That's the brief and it's senseless and pointless. It's hardly an arc of the original series or as good but it retains most aspects of the first part of it, before things go down the crapper. There isn't much to the plot to begin with but you aren't here for that, as nobody goes bat-shit crazy. With that said, mega bonus points for the last episode; you can excuse the plot for Nipaaa~ as it's SO FRIGGING CUTE. That alone brings up the score.

Animation

If there's one thing going for this, it's the animation. It's a step above from the normal series and it looks great. The scenery at times is equivalent to scenery porn; not top notch but yummy.

Sound

I can't stand the OP. Can't stand it. Bled my ears everytime, but the jazzy beats are nice. VO is just like before.

Overall

It's crap, but it's four episodes in half-hour segments, making it two hours of questionable crap. Can't say I enjoyed it but neither did I outright hate it. It's not that good, but if you don't mind fanservice of all kinds, some mind-melting adorability in the last episode and a feeling of being letdown, go right ahead.

5/10 story
8.5/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
?/10 characters
5/10 overall