Highschool of the Dead

Alt titles: Gakuen Mokushiroku: High School of the Dead

sort

Reviews

KiraRin's avatar By KiraRin on Oct 25, 2010

Story

Zombie Holocaust, Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days Later and Resident Evil: all standout zombie entertainment in their respective media, however none of these (bar the distinctly average Degeneration movie) have crossed into the anime world. Enter stage right Highschool of the Dead, a slick Romero-esque translation of a manga that has had otaku tongues wagging for a while and seemingly for a good reason. As a salute to those that came before it, there are numerous nods to the masters of the genre. Most are too spoilerific to mention here, so just keep an eye out for the “Shaun” petrol station.

First and foremost, this show is a horror – and a good one at that. It is not the lurching zombies thirsting for human flesh that invokes fear, although this does add to the overall atmosphere of the series. Instead, the terrifyingly accurate and desperate attempt at survival of an unlikely group of kids as their world slowly starts to fall around their ears that will cull the most alarm. Exploring the motivations of each character, the tense drama that ensues gives rise to the question: what exactly would you do in their situation? Yes, they do act like angsty teens, but when day to day living becomes reliant on glimmers of hope, such as crossing a river to reach a safe house, then I think their reactions are justified.

Of course, there are still the zombies to consider. The writers stick with the traditional slow moving, brain-dead corpses; their strength and sheer volume are frankly chilling, especially as the usually dependable protection of the police and army seems completely useless. Since the authorities are so inept, the transformation of an overweight geek into a life-saving crack shot, and a school kendo champion suddenly able to launch 10 foot into the air for a breathtaking aerial attack seem completely unbelievable. But who cares? This is entertainment and a few liberties are allowed, especially when the action scenes can immerse the viewer so successfully. Further hooking the gore junkies, the excessive bloodshed builds on the shock factor making the pulse-raising chase scenes even more hectic. 

But who can talk about High School of the Dead without mentioning the shameless ecchi? Giving a hint of the impending fan service, up-skirt shots and well endowed women pressed face first against a metal fence greet the viewer during the opening credits. Sadly, those who haven't built up their immunity to perversion may find the misplaced fanservice a deal breaker. Although it doesn’t hit full force until episode 7, even I found myself questioning the reasoning behind four buxom babes fondling each other in a bathroom during the zombie apocalypse. However, I’m sure there’s some psychological thesis exploring the mental state of those in such a precarious situation... probably...maybe.

Another buzz-kill in the show is the sheer lack of explanation: Why did people turn into zombies? Is it all one big government conspiracy? Although readers of the manga assure me the story is ongoing and therefore still time for these to be answered, there are many people waiting ravenously for season two, and for good reason. Sexy, slick action and a damned good story save the show from the over the top ecchi and make High School of the Dead one of my favourite shows of 2010.


Animation

Decorated with countless buckets of blood, the camera artistically displays red splatters as another of “them” is brutally dispatched with a baseball bat, adding to the tension and desperation of the survivors. Also aesthetically pleasing is the fluidity of the action, especially when Saeko takes centre stage during her balletic performance with the sword. The numerous chases down endless corridors and tight alleyways is furious and fast paced; the scenery distorts as the focus moves around a slickly drawn character with an amazing overall effect. Unfortunately, the same sticking point in the story also trips the animation: breasts. Swinging like udders or shuddering as if filled with jelly, the unrealistic funbags are an unwelcome distraction from the adventures unfolding on-screen.


Sound

Varied and exciting, the initially quiet opening theme suddenly bursts into life as the credits depict a fervent zombie slaughter. The closing tracks are unique to each episode and feature emotive lyrics that follow the plight of the survivors. What also works well is the lack of background music during the show; a haunting silence isn’t immediately noticeable, however it adds to the sense of impending doom that hangs in the air throughout.

Marina Inoue brings her Yoko (Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann) attitude to the girlish Miyamoto, whilst the perpetually surprising Miyuki Sawashiro serves up equal measure of badass and seductive siren as Saeko spends half her screen time slaying zombies and the other flirting with Takashi. The show’s high budget is especially apparent in the choice of seiyuu, each bringing their stereotyped character to believable life. My only issue is with the high-pitched voice acting for the school nurse Miss Marikawa. High pitched and grating, the vocal range was not the only thing to irritate me about her....


Characters

Instead, the gigantean breasted blonde bimbo acts just as one would expect – like a completely feckless waste of ink better suited alongside some loser in a tedious harem. Featuring in brashly implied yuri, the supposed nurse aimlessly bumbles along wasting oxygen for twelve episodes. Although Marikawa undergoes little to no development, one of her final lines sums her up perfectly and allows a little forgiveness: “It’s because I was written this way”.

Luckily, her compatriots save the character section and make an excellent horror anime even better. The main protagonist Takashi starts off lovelorn by following the helpless and confused classmate Miyamoto like a lost puppy, but becomes a stronger figurehead who carries himself like a hero. Although unbelievable as a real otaku, Kouta’s one month gun training course in the US coupled with a degree in Call of Duty instantly turns him into a crack shot with a Springfield M1A1 Super Match; but he remains a firm favourite and generally likeable as he protects those closest to him. Despite the sultry Saeko easily dominating the female protagonists, Saya is a surprise swan that blossoms from an ugly duckling; starting out as an utterly detestable self-confessed genius, she transforms into likeable human during a surprise revelation.


Overall

Devouring this show in one sitting, I became akin to a crack addict desperate to get their next fix. The numerous flaws are easily overlooked as the pacing of the action and development of characters remains Highschool of the Dead’s strength throughout. Arm yourself with a copy of the Zombie Survival Guide, turn off the lights and get ready for a timely reminder as to why horror and anime should go hand in hand.

8/10 story
8/10 animation
9/10 sound
7.5/10 characters
8/10 overall
K73SK's avatar By K73SK on Aug 20, 2010

If you are a real zombie fan and looking into seeing an anime that is all about zombies, gore, and survival...Look elsewhere. This anime is not about the zombies. It seems the artist was so concentrated on making this as close to a hentai as possible without classifying it as such. Every five seconds (no joke, I'm being literal) there is some kind of ecchi scene. It is really annoying, frustrating, and ruins the hell out of the anime.Not to mention that there are some scenes in which are unrealistic to fighting, but that's not too uncommon in anime's so I won't rate it for that...It's just all the damned ecchi. So if you're looking for zombies, not ecchi, then yeah this is not the anime for you.

4.5/10 story
6/10 animation
7/10 sound
2/10 characters
2/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By roriconfan on May 3, 2012

This anime is very good at trolling. It begins with a premise that makes you think it will be far better than an average action or ecchi show but eventually ends up being far less.

In the beginning most were made to think that this will be Resident Evil with fan service; which sounds too good to be true even if you are not a fan of the games. I mean, wouldn’t it be awesome to see Claire running in her underwear in a road filled with zombies before Leon jumps on board a motorcycle and starts to shoot at them with a machine gun, then grabs her and takes her to a mall where they get naked and ….
… Um, I drifted off to fanfic land too much; back to the review.

Anyways, in a way this anime REALLY is all of the above. It does start with the usual zombie infestation and people trying to get over the shock, organize and try to find a way to survive. It also starts with people being bitten and friends turning to foes right away. Plus, it all happens in a highschool, where there is a lot of teen angst, romance and plain old hormones speaking loud and clear. I must say that the first three episodes had created a setting where you would be offered an amazing horror-survival/action/ecchi/romance/comedy/drama anime.

… And then it went down the drain. Because it soon turned from “zombies with some boobs in the background” to “boobs with some zombies in the background”. It all reverted back to a retarded ecchi show, with the threat of the monsters being completely superficial and unimportant before watching the characters getting naked and drunk in the bath.

But the show keeps trying to fool you it has an actual plot somewhere in it by constantly showing what is going around in the city around other people, how they are reacting to the crisis and how madness and panic are taking over the population. As much as that appears to give depth to the setting, in reality it is nothing but a few minute skits done on the run around people you will never see or care about again. It is nothing but a lame attempt to remind the viewer for a few minutes that there are still zombies somewhere out there before the camera swifts back to its main plot: Retarded fan service.

The show also attempts to make you think the main characters have depth by shoehorning silly romance, teen angst and a few dementia scenes here and there. All that are again nothing but red herring as they are there just to poorly dress naked caricatures that are mostly fit for a hentai rather a horror survival show. You only end up remembering the girls for the scenes they are naked or in their underwear and you only remember the guys for the scenes they are all horny peeping toms. Of course, for the same reason they are far more memorable as this superficial combo of extreme ecchiness and drama makes them easier to distinguish next to the casts of other harem casts. For example, I will never forget Saeko and her bullet-time boobs or Hirano and his crazy otakuness around weapons.

One would of course wonder why he should view the show as nothing but ecchi and enjoy it as nothing more other than that. Sure, I must admit that it has a very high factor of nude and erotic humour that surpasses most of everything else out there. It also has some really crazy action scenes with the characters fending of zombies with various unrealistic yet hilarious methods. It has good production values that offer very fluid animation, catchy songs, zany battles and high quality fan service. All those make this anime far more memorable than most other ecchis or braindead action shows. On the other hand it’s not like you get something amazing, since the characters look like hentai stock material and the artwork is quite the standard one.

In all, this show is basically a high-quality ecchi comedy which lures you with an interesting premise that is barely taken seriously. It manages to become memorable without ever having actual depth. Its story is otherwise a joke and is left even incomplete, while the OVA that follows was nothing but storyless softporn. How much you end up enjoying it depends solely on how much you prefer erotic humour over good storytelling as well as how funny you will find the fact you were trolled to think this was actually Resident Evil with boobs.

And now for some excused scorings.

ART SECTION: 6/10
General Artwork 1/2 (generic)
Character Figures 1/2 (generic)
Backgrounds 1/2 (basic)
Animation 2/2 (matrix boobs)
Visual Effects 1/2 (basic)

SOUND SECTION: 7/10
Voice Acting 2/3 (corny but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Music Themes 3/4 (not great but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Sound Effects 2/3 (ok I guess)

STORY SECTION: 3/10
Premise 2/2 (interesting)
Pacing 0/2 (very loose)
Complexity 1/2 (not much)
Plausibility 0/2 (none)
Conclusion 0/2 (doesn’t exist)

CHARACTER SECTION: 5/10
Presence 1/2 (generic)
Personality 2/2 (rather cheesy but well founded)
Backdrop 1/2 (generic and simplistic but it’s there)
Development 1/2 (overblown but it’s there)
Catharsis 0/2 (doesn’t exist)

VALUE SECTION: 6/10
Historical Value 1/3 (still remembered as dumb guilty pleasure)
Rewatchability 1/3 (low because of too little plot and too much retarded fan service)
Memorability 4/4 (over the top to the point of forever remembering it)

ENJOYMENT SECTION: 4/10
Art 0/1 (looks typical)
Sound 1/2 (sounds ok)
Story 1/3 (good ideas presented too light)
Characters 2/4 (they are fun but not special)

VERDICT: 5/10

3/10 story
6/10 animation
7/10 sound
5/10 characters
5/10 overall
galacticdude7's avatar By galacticdude7 on Oct 3, 2010

-Story-

The story of High School of the Dead is you basic zombie survival story that has been done so many times already. It really is not the most unique thing, but I still found myself liking it. The action scenes were awesome, which is a very pivitol role in any zombie survival story. The scenes inbetween the actions scenes with character growth were not all that great and some of the lines were not that great. These scenes are almost like Star Wars love scenes, they just suck and it does not work there. Fortunately for High School of the Dead, these scenes don't matter a whole lot in the genre they are in. I also liked the cliffhanger towards the end and it makes me wonder if there will be a second season in the future.

-Animation-

Great art in all of the zombies and the animation brought out the awesomeness of the action sequences. The characters looked great. There really is nothing to complain about here with the art and animation.

-Characters-

I don't know what it was, but the characters always seemed to fall flat on me. I felt that they didn't have much depth to them, and I also felt that the only reason for some of the characters to exist was purely for fanservice reasons. Kouta would have to be my favorite character because he was the one that interested me the most out of all the cast.

-Overall-

I really wanted to like this anime a whole lot. At first I felt that it was going to be really good, but for one reason or another, it fell flat on me. As an action piece, it is awesome, but it does not have much else to bring to the table. Sure I still enjoyed watching it, I just had too many expectations of High School of the Dead.

7/10 story
9/10 animation
?/10 sound
5/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
Micah10SN's avatar By Micah10SN on Apr 11, 2011

Everything about Highschool of the Dead is great... but... the fan service is... ugh... It's a great anime if you don't mind frequent panty shots, and unnecessary bouncing. It has great characters. my favorite is Koichi Shido. Shizuka is my least favorite. oh, well, enough of that. If this anime had less fan service, it would be great. but you should still check it out. ---Update: The reason I rated it so low is because of all the panty shots, and what-not.

7.6/10 story
8.6/10 animation
6.9/10 sound
8.9/10 characters
4/10 overall