Hagure Yuusha no Estetica

Alt title: Aesthetica of a Rogue Hero

sort
Add review
roriconfan's avatar
Sep 22, 2012

Animated by Studio Arms, and directed by Kujou Rion, both of which have made nothing but porn-related works. This show is no exception; it is heavy on fan service, has ecstatic in its title, and the main picture shows one guy and many chicks. Plus it is the adaptation of a light novel, so it doesn’t take a genius to tell it won’t be a mature show about the meaning of life.

Let’s start by something easy; the production values are average to bad for their time. Half the time I felt like I was watching a low budget hentai; with dull animation and cookie cutter characters defined only by hair colour and boob size. The soundtrack is also nothing but forgettable songs. There are supposed to be some famous voice actors in it but I sure don’t give a damn if they all sound like retards in this type of show.

The story is about this guy who was magically transported to another world, where he became an RPG hero and defeated the king of demons even before the show begins. He finds a portal to return home but decides to take with him the demon’s daughter in order to protect her from all the people who would hold a grudge against her. Back in his world he is enrolled in the special school for all kids with superpowers and has the girl pretending to be his sister. And since this is a no-brainer show we are not supposed to ask why his parents didn’t run to see their son safe and sound or why is transportation to other worlds taken so lightly. As I said, it is a heavy on fan service show, so you must enjoy it just for that and not for anything else. All I have described above are just the excuse; they barely elaborate or flesh out the whole transport to other worlds theme. The plot is BS and all you get is basically excuses for the protagonist to look awesome while dealing with high-schoolers who are too high on hormones and keep looking for excuses to molest or fight.

The protagonist is memorable for being a parody of RPG heroes. He has reached epic levels from his fight with the demon king and has learned some really ridiculous powerful skills, such as removing underwear from girls in a fraction of a second or making them pee for the lulz. He is not a wuss like most protagonists these days and treats women only as f**k holes. Other than that he is blunt, uninteresting, and named after the villains in that gay show called Naruto. The demon’s daughter is supposed to be a tragic character for having to hide her identity and rebuild her life, but as I said the show barely tries to flesh out the theme of the story. Thus she is treated mostly as a sperm bucket with a rack that never seems to fit in clothes. Thus it’s impossible to sympathize her; plus her name is like the sound of a cat. The rest of the characters are nothing much; the girls are treated as cosplaying whores, while the boys are just jerks who want nothing else but to fight. Literally, there is nothing memorable about them, despite the occasional sloppy attempts at drama and fleshing out.

In a similar way every single thing that is going on in this show is just a poor excuse for fan service. Trust me when I say they are learning nothing in that school, the teachers are useless, and it’s just a bunch of horny teenagers finding pitiful excuses to blow shit up and molest others just for the heck of it. So basically every episode is about the protagonist shamelessly molesting girls who instead of reporting him literally fall for him, and boys who want to compare their peckers with the protagonist. Any drama or plot that sometimes tries to come through is forgotten as soon as the next underwear flies off in the air. And the ending is not even an ending but rather a warm-up for a second season.

Nothing much to see here; just another forgettable no-brainer show. I must admit that it’s at least good for its fan service. It is bordering a softcore hentai at times, with a protagonist who is one step away from a rapist, and that makes it more interesting that the usual crap we get in ero shows. The boobs are never censored and there are even some scenes of sexual foreplay. Other than that of course it’s total garbage and if you try to watch it for any other reason you are going to hate it.

And now for some excused scorings.

ART SECTION: 6/10
General Artwork 1/2 (generic)
Character Figures 1/2 (generic)
Backgrounds 1/2 (basic)
Animation 1/2 (basic)
Visual Effects 2/2 (lots of pretty colours)

SOUND SECTION: 6/10
Voice Acting 2/3 (corny but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Music Themes 2/4 (not great but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Sound Effects 2/3 (ok I guess)

STORY SECTION: 2/10
Premise 1/2 (typical)
Pacing 0/2 (loose)
Complexity 1/2 (not much)
Plausibility 0/2 (none)
Conclusion 0/2 (doesn’t exist)

CHARACTER SECTION: 4/10
Presence 1/2 (only the protagonist is memorable and even he not much)
Personality 1/2 (cheesy)
Backdrop 1/2 (generic and simplistic but it’s there)
Development 1/2 (overblown but it’s there)
Catharsis 0/2 (doesn’t exist)

VALUE SECTION: 2/10
Historical Value 0/3 (none)
Rewatchability 0/3 (no reason to rewatch)
Memorability 2/4 (the bold protagonist is somewhat memorable for his boldness but that is all)

ENJOYMENT SECTION: 2/10
Art 0/1 (looks lazy)
Sound 0/2 (sounds meh)
Story 0/3 (just an excuse)
Characters 2/4 (the bold protagonist is somewhat memorable for his boldness but that is all)

VERDICT: 3.5/10

2/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
4/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
Otaku108's avatar
Jan 3, 2013

So the hero has vanquished the Dark Lord, spared the life of the Dark Lord's daughter, and saved the kingdom, what does he have left to do? Why, do it all over again!

Story:

While it probably isn't the first story ever to do it, it was the first one I've ever seen with this concept. Picture if you will, the aftermath of the hero's glorious victory and now he has wanders off in search of a new adventure?  Nay, he takes his booty and runs back to his home world where hilarity and many action packed hijinx ensue! I went into this anime with little to no information on it and I'm kind of glad I did. Much like my discovery of Toradora! I've stumbled across another interesting quirky gem of a show. Wonderful story that kind of takes a side track somewhere in the middle but beautifully wraps up one season while also setting up for a second.


Animation:

While not stellar and as I've stated before in past reviews I tend to deduct points for rainbow  spectrum hair colors, especially when there's no real need for it. The second issue was the cookie cutter faces where most of them were just your typical bishi heart shaped faces and perfect bodies. Meh, it's anime, what ya gonna do right? Those gripes aside, the scenes are well drawn, the animation is fluid and easy to follow so really not much to complain about in the  end.

Sounds:

I was, unfortunately, a little annoyed with the first 2 eps where they kept repeating the line  the Dark Lord says to his daughter about measuring the hero that may some day defeat him and decide for herself  to accept him or kill him as she saw fit. I guess they really wanted to stress this point but after the 3rd time hearing it inside of 30 minutes it was a bit over kill.  That  being said, they did finally get beyond this repetition. Mainly the music and sounds were what you'd expect from this genre,  no  disappointments there.

Characters:

While many were your cliche archetypes you find in just any action/fantasy show I couldn't bring myself to disdain them at all. Even the "annoying" characters wormed their way into my heart and I found myself rooting for just about everyone. If it were any less so, I'd complain about the blatantly evil antagonist in a "hero's" skin, not because of the strange duality but because I rarely think the world is in such black and white. Either way it's not so uncommon  and I  don't really mind especially taking into consideration the plethora of awesome main and side characters that just oozed of depth and back-story I wana know about.


Overall:

As stated, a wonderfully unexpected gem of a show worthy of any fantasy lover's time. I didn't want to put it down from ep 1-12 and desire the 2nd season with a vengeance. I enjoyed this one thoroughly and will probably watch it again when the sequel comes out. Highly recommended to just about anyone.

Side note: The... censorship around the female bits was... odd,  intrusive and a bit over done... the only reason I didn't deduct the score for it was I think it was done 100% blatantly, to poke fun at the whole concept or just to mess with the people screening for stuff little ones shouldn't see. After a while I got used to it and almost didn't notice anymore... except for that nagging desire  to go the hell away xP

9/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
10/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
sophiakg's avatar
Oct 28, 2012

Enjoyed this anime. A little more sexual then I thought it was going to be but it was funny. The ending was awful due to the huge cliffhanger, but overall an enjoyable anime. 

8/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
9/10 characters
8.5/10 overall
WolfAngelus's avatar
Oct 20, 2016

So first off, this is a bit higher up on the perverted anime scale, a good chunk of it, especially the comedy aspect relies on this. The other major criticism is the lack of completion, storywise. Other than that, this was a decent watch (assuming you can tolerate pervy content or enjoy that), and it was reasonably funny and action filled. The show seems divided into 2 major story components, one being the academy life and the other being the home world of our 2 main characters. For about 8 episodes the focus is on daily life at the academy which consists of the pervy and comedy components. The remaining episodes focus on a more serious storyline related to the main characters which delivers action. The problem here is neither of these go in depth and are left very open ended, with next to no sign of a conclusion. This means that there is no reason to watch it for a story unless there will be another season, it is just purely for entertainment based off these 12 episodes.

Everyone is pretty ordinary here with the main character standing out as a pervy and overpowered character. Nontheless, he has chivalrous qualities that are sometimes not pervy, but for the most part they are. The overpowered component makes everything less interesting as would be expected of a character that is basically invincible and has unique abilities more powerful than the rest.

If you want something fun, funny, and pervy, then give this a watch. Just don't expect a completed story or anything close to completion, watch it only for entertainment purposes for now.

5/10 story
8/10 animation
9/10 sound
8/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
PurplePeopleEater's avatar
Feb 25, 2016

Not as bad as I expected it to be, but it's obvious there should have been more and never was. The ending obviously isn't really the ending because a lot of things still need to be explained and they still haven't wrapped things up. In fact, they are setting off on the next part of their adventure at the end of the last episode. That certainly costs it a lot of points in my book.

The story isn't too bad if you can ignore the cameras focus on unnecessary things and the large amount of fanservice. A lot of nakedness and stealing underwear in this show. The concept is interesting, but it's too short and too full of fan service to really utilize the concept in the best way. I find it a bit hard to review much of the story with no ending. I've said it a hundred times, but 12 episodes is too short for anything other than a short story which typically utilizes a common theme in a common place with sterotypical characters and a short event. While the characters may be somewhat stereotypical, the plot and setting are too complex and the conflict or action requires a lot of time. No one listens to me though.

The main character is a perverted hero that likes to swipe girls underwear right off their bodies and has recently become a sort of guardian for the daughter of the dark lord he killed. She is big boobed and weak. I thought the daughter of someone so powerful would be powerful too, but no, this is not the case. 

It's okay to kill some time with I suppose, but I have a hard time seeing the point in an unfinished story. And yes, I gave it a lower overall rating that any of the ratings for the separated parts. It's unfinished so even if everything else was a 10 I wouldn't give it a higher overall rating than 6.5 probably.

6/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
6/10 characters
4/10 overall