In many ways, Ghost Hunt reminds me of Jigoku Shoujo. The two anime each start out with a relatively interesting premise, but ultimately are undone by their absolute unwillingness to take any sort of risks with their story. Instead, both series dutifully trudge along the path of least resistance, and the result is depressingly conventional.

Granted, Ghost Hunt is not nearly as monotonous as Jigoku Shoujo. The series’ several plot arcs are distinguishable enough from each other to not be absolutely mindnumbing, and some of the best arcs are actively engaging. Moreover, Ghost Hunt actually attempts to keep the audience guessing, and provides plot twists that, while predictable, help to keep the show moving.

The best scenes only allow the audience to sense the ghosts indirectly. A ghost in plain sight is seldom scary, but implicit signs of the supernatural (shifting objects, strange noises, falling temperature) can be genuinely creepy. Ghost Hunt realizes this, and uses such tricks to good effect well before the spirits ever fully show themselves in a given story arc.

Still, the series is nonetheless trapped in a very rigid framework, which hurts the narrative considerably. By the end of each story arc, the audience can be completely sure that:

1. Every major character will still be alive.

2. The case will completely solved.

3. Everything will have returned to the way it was at the beginning of the arc.

This kind of story structure has traditionally suffered from poor character development, and Ghost Hunt is no exception. However, an even more devastating consequence is that this almost completely kills the suspenseful mood that the series is going for.

Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni, a superior horror anime in almost every way, is notable for having no such self-imposed restrictions. While both series have arc-based storylines, in Higurashi, anything could happen. Major characters could die, mysteries could be completely explained or remain utterly unsolved, and even the roles certain characters played could shift erratically. The result was riveting.

On the other hand, Ghost Hunt makes no such leaps of creativity, and the conservative approach dampens the excitement almost to the point of being unwatchable. Throw in some sterile, out-of-place humor, and the resulting plot is middling, at best.


While the colorful, clean, standard anime-style character designs are fine in a vacuum, they don’t mesh well with the supernatural elements and should have probably been toned down. Furthermore, most of the actual ghost character designs are not only disappointing, they’re flat-out lame.

That said, the backgrounds tend to be detailed and nicely drawn, character movement never looks too awkward, and there isn’t much reused animation.


The OP is a nice little instrumental track very much along the lines of the X-files' theme. Voice acting is fine, and the background music is serviceable, albeit somewhat forgettable.


As mentioned earlier, the characters in Ghost Hunt are very much a victim of the plot structure. There is almost no character development whatsoever, and the development that is there is irrelevant to the actual storyline. Moreover, what is there to begin with isn’t all that interesting, either; rather, they’re familiar character archetypes with almost no memorable traits.

Granted, some may be willing to forgive the mediocre cast as a necessary evil given the story structure. However, no one is going to actually like the show because of the characters.


In the end, Ghost Hunt has some creative individual story arcs, but it suffers from frustrating predictability, sub-par characters, and awkward comedy. As a result, this is a tough series to actively recommend.

A lot of people seem to like this one, and to some extent I can understand why. The individual story arcs were entertaining enough, after all, for me to finish the entire series. At the same time, however, there are too many flaws to simply ignore.

6/10 story
6.5/10 animation
7/10 sound
3.5/10 characters
5.5/10 overall

Let’s start by making clear what this show is and is not. Whatever the title may imply about the genres, you must be aware that it is not mainly a horror title with some girly romance but in the contrary it is girly romance with some horror. If you expect to find super creepy stuff in it, you are not going to find them. If you are not fans of pretty boys and airhead girls in love with said pretty boys, you are not going to like this anime very much.

Now that we clarified this, I can freely say that Ghost Hunt is your standard shoujo formula, combined with something else for flavour. It has been done many times and it usually creates a far more enjoyable and memorable overall, just because it is not just shoujo. Plain girly romances tend to get boring very fast. And thus, just like Vampire Knight had vampires, Library Wars had libraries and Chihayafuru had Chihara… err, card games I mean, Ghost Hunt uses ghosts to flavour its setting.

The animation is done by J.C. Staff, the studio famous for its low in context and high on shallow fan service shows. Their budgets are usually good but their shows are most of the times softporn garbage nobody even cares to keep around or watch a second time. In this particular case though they had a much different approach. The production values are NOT that eye-catchy and there is some context to pay attention besides oversexualized underage girls. It is a very uncommon work for their standards. The direction is done by Mano Akira, a guy who only did this and the very dull second season of Gunslinger girl. Definitely not a promising name.

So, as you begin to watch, you basically get average to good production values, an unimpressive director, and a girly romance with some ghosts in the background. What do you think will happen? Hmmm…

The overall artwork is nothing impressive and the characters are rather cop-out figures of shoujo clichés. There isn’t much fluent animation but at least there is consistency in the figures and no sudden quality drops or deformities. The saving grace lies in the uses of visual effects, in a way that doesn’t pass as overdone or dull. They are used properly to bring out whatever emotions you are supposed to feel in a situation (fear, anxiety, laughter) and they are doing it right.

The sound part is nothing impressive in terms of voice acting or most cases of BGM. It feels like it’s there for the sake of being there and the actors aren’t doing an exceptional job but I can’t blame them for the roles they were given. What really stands out are the opening and ending themes. They are gorgeous! So dynamic and attractive to the point they make you think you are going to watch an action-horror movie by Tim Barton or something. To be honest, they don’t exactly fit with the show as the plotlines are hardly THAT exciting but whatever, I liked them a lot.

The story is a bit of a let down if you fancy on-going scenarios. It is just stand-alone mini arcs where the teenager heroes seek for the solution to some creepy mystery. Although there is a solid ending to each one of them, the very loose arcing is what makes the whole thing lacking an actual built up towards something specific. Basically, there is no actual progress outside an arc and the final episode is just the ending of another case. Nothing solid to prevent a sequel from popping up.

The characters are ok if you like shoujo casts but definitely don’t stand out in any particular way. You get your standard airhead female and your standard snotty pretty boy allying with a few other rather eccentric people with a speciality in the supernatural and head to solve weird cases. And that is pretty much all you get since aside from their quirky behaviours, they never develop to anything further than they appear to be. This is also the result of the style of narration, as you basically get stand alone arcs and no actual build up towards a goal and to allow some actual change about them. They are fun to see them act alright but nothing past that.

I don’t find much value in this show. Although the shoujo/ghost combo is indeed helping to make it memorable, at the same time there is very little to gain from watching it a second time. You already know the answers to each mystery and the characters don’t develop in any way so you are not motivated to do so.

So, did I enjoy this anime? Yes, but only in very specific areas. I really liked the use of darkness and visual effects, I really liked the opening and ending themes, and the characters were fun to look at on a standard level. But that’s all of it; I wasn’t really amazed about anything in terms of animation, BGM, characters or stories. It is an ok show for anyone who can stand shoujo clichés but hardly amazing or something you will remember in a few years.

And now for some excused scorings.

Analysis: General Artwork 1/2, Character Figures 1/2, Backgrounds 1/2, Animation 1/2, Visual Effects 2/2

Analysis: Voice Acting 2/3, Music Themes 3/4, Sound Effects 2/3

Analysis: Premise 1/2, Pacing 1/2, Complexity 1/2, Plausibility 1/2, Conclusion 0/2

Analysis: Presence 1/2, Personality 2/2, Backdrop 1/2, Development 0/2, Catharsis 0/2

Analysis: Historical Value 0/3, Rewatchability 0/3, Memorability 2/4

Analysis: Art 0/1, Sound 1/2, Story 0/3, Characters 0/4

OVERALL : 4/10

4/10 story
6/10 animation
7/10 sound
4/10 characters
4/10 overall

This anime is great!

Lets start with the looks. The drawing is really, really good. You will love it, if you like this style. It actually remind me of Sword art online. The most important thing: the female characters actually look humanoid and not like two balloons on a stick. Everything looks great.

The characters. Almost every character is pretty complex and well done. We have a lot of character evolution and everyone gets really useful at some point. They act pretty smart all the way. The main character is really calculating and smart, reminds me of Lelouch. Mei, while pretty useless at first, gradually becomes a pro. And lets not forget about the humor. They all have great humor and are really likeable.You want proof? Look at the first scene when our aussie friend makes his entrance. Hilarious.

The sounds: two words: perfect match.

The story. Some stories are a bit weaker than the others, but they are all great. Each of them is 3-4 episodes long. Each of them is really different. The first mini-story is a pretty good introduction and we gradually get more serious and dangerous. The story with the kid who got lost playing hide and seek is actually really disturbing. Even if the whole thing is more or less child-friendly, the cases are actually pretty damn hardcore. 

If you ever watched the "Supernatural" TV-show and liked it, I strongly recommend watching this. It reminds me of the first 2 seasons of the show. 

One of the best series I ever watched, with 1 huge flaw. Its basically missing an ending right now. I honestly dont understand why didnt they continue the series, at least for a couple of episodes, just so we can find out the background story of Naru. Missing an ending is a huge flaw, and thats why my overall score is not consistent with the others. 

The other small problem is the weak intro. Basically nothing happens, it doesnt change, stays the same for all the episodes. It was good to establish atmosphere at  first, but gets boring really fast. 

I consider this really, really underrated. It actually is in my top 6 behind Death Note, Code Geass, Sword art online and on the same level as FMA Brotherhood and Log horizon. Its a horror, its a comedy, its about friendships, its about psychopathic murderers, dead children, etc.. It has everything. 

I really hope that some day they will give it at least one more season. 

A must watch! Have fun! 

PS: dont look at the poster for the series on IMDB. Only looking at that will basically destroy the last plot-twist. 

10/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
9/10 overall


If you are into Anime Horror or mysteries, I think you should give Ghost Hunt a try. Not because it's among the scariest of what the Genres have to offer but because it has some extremely emersive stories. It manages to pull off a more tame Horror in a very easy to swallow way while still remaining interesting to the seasoned fans.  This is one of those anime that you can watch with anyone really without worrying about them running away. 

The Story is of a episodic nature but each case spans more than one episode. If I was to complain about anything, there would be only 2 issues I could come up with. The first is that the female main character seems sharp and interesting at the beginning. She isn't a ditsy school girl and seems to be wary of people and things she should be wary of but she's not a scaredy cat either. However, almost imediately within the first episode she devolves into the steriotypical, naive, whining, damsel in destress. I'd say it covers it's bases by making the male lead continually berate the annoying female lead for her flaws but sometimes he acts like he likes her that way and nobody else seems to care about this at all the rest of her friends while being in mortal peril all seem to feel the need to comfort and protect her. She's strong but useless yet has a lot to say about others. Typical of the shoujo Genre female lead. I don't know what I was expecting from a Shoujo anime but, I hoped for better considering the rest of the stories quality and ability to be interesting. So that was disappointing.

The only other real issue was in some cases the culprit or affending item was so blatently obvious that it was almost insulting that they gave us so many hints to figure it out. I know these are 2 fairly big flaws to swallow but trust me, the anime is well worth the watch still. I tend to be extremely picky on what I choose to start reading after I watch an anime, but this is one that I went straight to the manga afterward to start it. 

One last detail I should mention about the anime's story is that although it gives off the feeling that the main storyline is really just taking off it doesn't force a manga follow up like in many anime. You can enjoy this as a stand alone and it manages to wrap up the cases and loose ends nicely so if you won't be reading you won't feel irritated about how it left off. 


The animation in Ghost Hunt was above average but, most anime I have seen that were created around the mid to late 2000's were fairly well made in this catagory anyway. It wasn't anything groundbreaking mind you, but I saw no flaws like in many of the newer anime. I won't go into my dislike for how lazy new anime has gotten in general (not all of them) since that's a subject for another time and place. What I will say is that although there are no extra sparkly flashy multicolored explosions (kill la kill) the animation feels right for the content of the story. 


I would have ended up giving the sound an 8 or 8.5 but because of the anime's opening song my score went up. The song may actually be one of my favorites in anime. It's a slightly creepy instrumental that really goes well with the content and sets a perfect tone for the show. Although the Opening song is excellent the sound effects and background throughout the show are also really good, and the voice actors (english dub) do a great job as well. So it really outdid itself in this catagory.


The characters recieved the lowest rating I gave for the whole show. Though I really liked some of the characters, I couldn't help but lower the rating considerably for the 2 horrible very shoujo female characters of the series. The Male lead, The Monk and The prestess were interesting and fun, without them, I'm not sure I could have stomached it. The Spirit medium girl and the female lead were so annoying and unoriginal that I cringed nearly every time that it was their turn in the spotlight. Their characters felt like they were copy and pasted from Samurai Deeper Kyo's Sakura and Yuya except they were worse. If they choose to put some less offending females in the anime, I would have been able to enjoy it a great deal more, but they didn't. Although the Prestess is also annoying at times, she is one of those characters that is ment to be annoying as comic relief, so it's fine for her. 

The only other thing I wish was a bit more thorough was character development for the male lead. Sure it's nice to have him be somewhat enigmatic, it adds to the mysterious tone of the anime, and although they give some difinitive information at the end of the anime, in between the female leads annoying sobs, self lothing and grappling for attention, I still felt it came up a bit thin. Don't get me wrong the male lead's personality is extremely detailed. It's not that, it just feels like (trying not to spoil here) some parts about him were not really explored much. Anyways, other than that, the characters are for the most part fun and interesting.


Overall, I'd suggest this anime to pretty much anyone. It's not really too scary. I'd say the horror is more on a R.L. Stein's Goosebumps level as opposed to a John Carpenter's In the Mouth of Madness Level. So feel free to watch it with you're non horror fan friends... they may come to enjoy it too... it has a few parts that may seem suspenseful to some, but for the most part it's very easy to watch. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

8.5/10 story
8/10 animation
9/10 sound
7.5/10 characters
8.5/10 overall

So... Ghost Hunt. I started this anime on a nice october afternoon (who cares right?) whilst searching for nice animes to watch in preparation for Haloween. Having seen this under the #horror tag, I tought I'd give this one a try.

Let's start this review by saying that if you wanted to see an horror anime, and are not interested in romance whatoever you should not even think of watching it. But, if you enjoy (or can sit trough) some cheesy romance I strongly suggest that you give this one a try.


The story behing Ghost Hunt is not very surprising. It consists of 8 different arcs (called ''cases'') that each follows a different case (aha!) investigated by our ghost seeking team. All of these arcs follow the same rigid pattern, episode by episode. 

1. There is a new case impling some new paranormal happening that needs some investigation.
2. The case has been exposed and there is some new evidence of what it might be.
3. Same.
4. The evidence led the team to determine what is happening, and an end is put to it.

Can you see where this is going ? Yes indeed. This is very constrictive and not very surprising. I found myself often quite bored when it came to the conclusion of the different arcs, mostly because it was all the same.

Also, some humorous parts were not so bad, when some were very, very bad. I guess that everything depends on what your humour is like...

Appart from this, the diferent cases in themselves were pretty nice and interesting, going from sad to straight out creepy (trust me, the ''Bloodstained Labyrinth'' episodes gave me the chills).


The overall animation has a nice and soft shoujo style, nothing very unusual or intersting. The animation isn't bad and doesn't lack fluidity. What I liked the most about it was that the horror scenes had a very nice tone to them and where very well designed. Overall, the animation let the cenario come trough and didn't interfere with it in any way, which is good.


As much as I tried to listen to it, I totally hated the OP. I couldn't bring myself to listen to it more than once. The song is a nice instrumental track that fits the theme very well, but it is way too repetitive for my taste. (And, even if this doesn't fit the ''sound'' category, there is no OP sequence at all. And... well... it bothered me.) The background music is somewhat forgettable, being there just for the sake of being there and nothing more. Sounds effects where good, bu it is actually hard to mess the sound effects...


Even if the combination of every (or almost every) character made the anime enjoyable, each character alone would not stand more than a minute under a more detailed analysis. There is no character development at all, some minor changes trough the entire series, but nothing major that would justify everything that happenend. Instead, we are presented some new things that are accounted as ''development'' but seem to come out of nowhere and are supposed to help the anime progress... which it does, but not much because of these things.

But, let's face it, the way the plot is structured may have caused the characters to be like this, since there is no room for character development. If you are expecting some serious character development (which I hope not, after having read the synopsis), don't bother.

Tough, I would like to point out that, contrary to classical shoujo, the main protagonist is not that much of an airhead, which I found quite refreshing.


Overall, I really enjoyed Ghost Hunt, mostly because of the nice horror scenes and the variety of the cases presented. It is a nice and relaxing show to watch, entertaining enough to watch the entire series.

5.5/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
7.5/10 overall