Boogiepop Phantom

Reviews

roriconfan's avatar By on Apr 19, 2012

BP is one of those weird anime that are about psychological mystery and horror. It also has its share of urban fantasy, detective thriller and non-linear storytelling. Plus, no comedy. These elements are enough to consider this a jewel just from the genres. And in a way it really is. As far as the story goes, BP is exceptional. It plays around with several fears most people hide in their subconscious and brings them out in the form of madness and isolation, insecurity and fear. The non-linear way that each episode is shown also help to further bring insight to the weird story. And it is not Suzumiya Haruhi random order of episodes crap just to make it look sophisticated while throwing in fillers. Each episode is really adding something to the lot. And it is also told through the eyes of different people each time, so it is also not focused on one person alone. The ending is also solid as far as the mystery is concerned. Some things are left open to speculation but in all the main mystery is exposed. And damn, was it deep and mature.

There are several dozens of characters, each having a different role in the story. Most major ones suffer from some form of mental disorder that leads them to seek help even from a supernatural source or unwillingly taking part in a conspiracy to change the shape of the world. Many are even killed along the way in mysterious and horrifying ways. That counts as mature and multi-layered on one side. On the other, since the focus is shifted too fast amongst several people, it gets hard to get to like someone as he or she have around half an hour of spotlight at most and then get killed or disappear or become backdrop material. That is a rather nasty minus, as having 50 characters and only a dozen episodes means non get to stand out too much. And it’s true that you end up liking the atmosphere and the story but not the cast. The fact facial variety is rather small and some look alike does not help much to set them apart and judge them separately.

The animation is hit or miss. On one hand it wins thanks to its use of camera angles and dark alleys. On the other the facial variety is too low for such a big cast and the pacing too slow for its own good. The use of neon moths and night lights was cool. The use of supernatural battles was not; they felt out of place. In all the artwork has great atmosphere but lacks true mastering.

The music is good on the voice acting part. The soundtrack feels weak and forgettable but it still helps to build the mood.

The Enjoyment part is definitely the hardest thing to point out. You have a rather average score and very high scored reviews. Well it all comes down to what the majority wants. To be honest, less and less people like grim and pessimistic works and that is probably why the series was overlooked by most. Check out Bacanno! for example. It also had a non-linear story and lots of characters just like BP. The story was ok there too but not close to as mature as BP, while the characters were to the most part exaggerated comical archetypes. Most remembers and probably will always remember it because of its cheerier mood and funky characters and push aside deep yet gloomy stories and casts like BP. And then it’s all those comparisons to Serial Experiments Lain; they keep saying it is superior to it yet far more people remember the later than BP. The reason is simple. Although similar in their deep and serious moods, SE Lain has “one” protagonist and you definitely remember Lain by the end of the series. You can’t do that in BP because nobody sticks out. And if I am to add my own comparison to the lot, I say Neon Genesis focused on mental disorders too, yet didn’t forget to add giant robots, comedy and ecchi that helped to immortalize the characters and the story in your mind. This is where BP failed big time, to produce distinctive characters that will make the show memorable.

And now for some excused scorings.

ART SECTION: 8/10
General Artwork 2/2 (atmospheric)
Character Figures 1/2 (generic)
Backgrounds 2/2 (basic but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Animation 1/2 (basic)
Visual Effects 2/2 (atmospheric)

SOUND SECTION: 7/10
Voice Acting 2/3 (corny but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Music Themes 3/4 (not great but fitting with the feeling of the series)
Sound Effects 2/3 (ok I guess)

STORY SECTION: 8/10
Premise 2/2 (interesting)
Pacing 1/2 (semi-episodic)
Complexity 2/2 (rich context)
Plausibility 1/2 (so-so)
Conclusion 2/2 (solid)

CHARACTER SECTION: 7/10
Presence 1/2 (generic)
Personality 2/2 (rather generic but well founded)
Backdrop 1/2 (generic and simplistic but it’s there)
Development 1/2 (overblown but it’s there)
Catharsis 2/2 (overblown but solid)

VALUE SECTION: 5/10
Historical Value 1/3 (still remembered by some as an interesting retro title)
Rewatchability 1/3 (low because of lack of focus on a single character)
Memorability 3/4 (spooky enough to deserve remembering it)

ENJOYMENT SECTION: 4/10
Good try but, seriously, memorable characters help a lot in any story.

VERDICT: 6.5/10

8/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
7/10 characters
6.5/10 overall
thegoldenwaste's avatar By on Feb 19, 2011

My first review for Anime-Planet, please comment and tell me what you think. I appreciate reviews of my reviews greatly. I hope I will encourage fellow anime fans to watch this series and appreciate it as i do. It's truly an unique and terrifying experience that should not be missed. It's a horror and psychological thriller and its nothing you've ever seen before. Now onto the review and thanks for reading.

Story; Some claim Boogiepop Phantom has no story or is a complete wreck. To that I say, Boogiepop Phantom is coming for you. Just kidding. There are numerous stories at play in this series. I can just say that by reading the synopsis doesn't particularly tell you what to expect. It's vague for a reason and if you do as I say later (rewatching it three times), then you should not have any problems. I am going to recommend reading the manga, Boogiepop Doesn't Laugh, for more background on what happens in Boogiepop Phantom.

Animation; Boogiepop Phantom is done with this tint of sepia for every episode except for the last one. There is good reason why Madhouse chose to do it this way. It's an interesting twist and to give that away in this review would be absolute criminal as its absolute brilliance. A dark and disturbing story requires a dark and disturbing atmosphere. It should go without saying that Boogiepop Phantom is a beautiful show in its own right and still a cornerstone in anime history.

Sound; Only one word can describe the soundtrack: creepy. It's an intense combination of rock and techno-type music. There are several scenes in the first few episodes where the background music makes the hairs on neck stick straight up and gives you intense goosebumps. You can even break into a cold sweat because of the music and sounds you hear. The opening song is a jazzy and catchy tune and the ending is a  rock/techno deal which is also catchy. The background music is definitely a positive and strength that Boogiepop Phantom has to offer and it emulates the feelings and purpose of the show.

Characters; If you like complex human drama, this show delivers. The strongest aspect of Boogiepop Phantom is the growth, change and maturity of the characters. The growth, change and maturing of the characters are in fact, the story. Some characters grow and others regress as the series goes on. If you are looking for a story about characters, look no further. Nobody is perfect in the world of Boogiepop Phantom. Nobody. They all have problems and that is the beauty of it - they do not hide it at all.

Overall; I will admit that it can get confusing at times, but rest assured that after rewatching it three times once blindly, once with English commentary and the last time knowing what to expect per the commentary; that you will understand the series and its complicated but genius story. I have done this and discovered one of, if not the best, anime series I have seen since becoming an anime fan in 1996 and it's taken me 15 years to discover this series. I would  recommend not to bother with recommendations or series similar to this one, because to be frank, there is not anything like Boogiepop Phantom.

10/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
vamptrix337's avatar By on Mar 25, 2011

The show is pritty nice but some of the things that happen in the show can be a tad bit creppy and disterbing but over all its pritty good

10/10 story
6/10 animation
7/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
Jestershock's avatar By on Jun 25, 2011

Reading a plot summery about this show gives you more story than watching all 12 episodes. Someone put a lot of work into this series, but in the effort to weave a tapestry of interconnected lives it helps to have characters that stand out or can at least be identified as individuals. Every character was so bland that they blurred over each other, making the entire story even more vague than it was intended to be. The complete lack of ending in the last episode just seemed to underscore how little there was to the over-arching story.

With so much great stuff out there to watch, I can't help but regret having taken the time to see this one through.

3/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
2/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
RyanGirl23's avatar By on Mar 20, 2012

So i just finished Boogiepop Phantom just a few days ago...figured why not!? LETS WRITE A REVIEW!!!! Now don't be judgy about my review because frankly I HAVE NEVER seen the original movie nor have I read the books so this is just my interpretation of the anime series itself...maybe I'll come back to it after "officially" reading the whole Boogiepop franchise...

Story: 5/10

So as story comes and goes I was pretty much lost in the whole thing (again didnt see or read the original Boogiepop franchise).  With every episode that came I felt even more lost, all I know is that the story was semi progressing???? Overall it was hard to keep up with...

Animation: 8/10

Props to animation (which was my best rating btw), the dark feel of it made it that more interesting (probably the only reason I continued to watch it....that and I NEVER dropped an anime before).  And since I just natural like horror and dark shit (no I'm not emo), I was really drawn into the beautiful art (despite being a little different)...

Sound: 6/10

Songs wasnt the worst of it all but not the best.  Two songs are used in Boogiepop, which are "Yuudachi (Evening Shower)" by Shikao Suga the opening and the ending which is "Future Century Secret Club" by Kyoko, I have heard of other songs by Shikao Suga so I already naturally enjoyed his voice (his most notable ones [that I've seen] are his 6 [yup 6] songs which are used in "Honey and Clover" and the 1st opening in XxxHolic); this isnt the mellowest song I've heard before but I think it had the right attitude when it came to an opening.

The ending's singer Kyoko is the first I've heard of but I liked the up-beat tempo, however not much I can say about the ending since its just flashing scenes from the episode....

Characters: 3/10

There is always the worst of the worst.  Characters is definitley it.  There are new characters introduced in every damn episode making it hard to keep track of who you liked before and who you hated; too many to count and too many to keep track of, the only one I can clearly remember is obviously Boogiepop Phantom herself along with Toka Miyashita, Poom-Poom, Echoes and Nagi Kirima....!!!!!

(above) the original Boogiepop and (far right) Boogiepop Phantom

Overall: 5/10

Lately it seems that I've been writing negative reviews but it takes alot to impress me with anime (lol), overall it wasnt a bad anime just a little different and TO IT'S DEFENSE!!! I didn't see any other Boogiepop franchise so maybe I'm being too harsh about this anime but I'm just calling it like I see it....maybe they'll come a time when I'll see other Boogiepop stuff but until then I can officially calls this anime:

"Boogiepoop" :p

5/10 story
8/10 animation
6/10 sound
3/10 characters
5/10 overall