Blood-C

sort

Reviews

Logicfox's avatar By Logicfox on Jul 31, 2014

Okay, so this review is mainly to counter the other reviews. It's simple, short, and to the point.

- First, don't expect this anime to be Blood+, because it's not. They only used the name/genre to attract viewers. Was this a mistake? Possibily, it depends on whether they planned to have only one season or not. One season, they probably got more views than what they would've if they went with an off-shoot name. If they contintued to another season, then yes, it would of been a mistake, making Blood+ fans angry with this anime.

- Second, this isn't a HORRIBLE anime, like these reviews are saying. I beleive it gets bad rep mostly from Blood+ fans. It DOES however contain a crap storyline. There ARE, however, good elements to this anime. In fact, there are many more good elements to this than 90% of the crap Japan is producing these days. These elements include, fluent battle scenes, a decent enviroment, above average art, excessive but not entirely distastful gore, above average voice acting, and at least enough suspense to keep you interested to finish this anime

- Third, what this anime is actually lacking on: A decent story, mainly. If they added a decent story and events that actually meant something rather than senselessly killing off the main characters, this would be a fair anime. The only other major complaint to note is that if you include excessive gore in your show, don't censor it, it defeats the purpose.

Why should you watch this? If you need something to watch while playing a video game or doing homework, this would be better than most of the anime comming out. It's fairly interesting, you don't need to pay attention to the story, just take a break, every now and then, to pay attention to whats going on. That's what I did and I enjoyed this series. Don't watch it if you are a Blood+ fan.

Bottom Line: Yes it's not the best, but it's definitely better than most of the modern animes. Don't let the negative reviews keep you from watching it, if you need a filler anime to tied you over till the next great one.

2/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
6/10 characters
6/10 overall
RoyalOss's avatar By RoyalOss on Aug 15, 2014

First a little heads up/warning. I really disliked this anime, so it may turn out in a little rant.

I just had finished Blood+ which was a good anime so I thought to try this one out. Unfrotunally it had nothing to do with Blood+ with the exception of the main characters name. The monsters turned from (monster) vampires into statues and birds. The main character was too clumsy and the story...well there wasnt much story. If they disconnected the show from Blood+ it might have gotten some extra points as a comedy/gore anime.

Story
Saya lives a happy schoollife which she needs to combine with her secret double life as a monster slayer.

The first few episodes are very similar, we see her living a happy life and at night she combats monsters, there are some little hints given that she is different. But it takes a long time before something becomes clear, the show is only 12 episodes long so the writers took to long to reveal the plot. And it seems that they threw out the little story they had at the final episode and just said ''f*** it''.

Animation
This is very good actually, no real complaints about this. I only wish they didnt give Saya those ponytails.

Sound
It was not really noticeable, the opening and closing themes were nothing special either.

Characters
Saya...well...she was waaay to happy/ignorant (perhaps even dumb) for my taste and when her friends are in danger she dissappears from the screen and takes no actions untill everyone is dead already. Luckily there is no appeal to any of the side characters so it isnt a big deal that she always takes to late action.

Overall
I got so bored and fed up with the show that I really needed to force myself to finish the show. I cared so little that the ridiculous ending gave me a little grin for it being so bad.
If you liked Blood+ and want to see more of it...then dont watch this anime, it will only dissapoint you!

Luckily Blood-C the movie is alot better, that movie I could easily recommend, it still isnt as good as Blood+ but pretty okay and it doesnt matter if you skip this show to watch the movie. The couple of 5 second flashbacks from the anime in the movie is all you need to know about her background.

3/10 story
9/10 animation
6/10 sound
2/10 characters
2.5/10 overall
UnicornExecutions's avatar By UnicornExecutions on Sep 5, 2014

 You like hot a chick with a sword that slays demon and monsters? This is proably anime you wanna look into. 

WARNING: A bit slow at frist like the 1st two eps

I was captiazed by the actions sences and the animation is gourgeous 

and I am a bit of a gore whore I love gorey anime 

<div> </div>

WHy girls would wathc 

  • I watched it for the action 
  • Freaking awesome main character

Why guys would watch 

  • Fanserice ( not a lot but it's still there)
  • anime girl 
  • tons of fight scenes 

both genders  

  • badass chick with a sword 
  • action 
  • good twists ( seriously like....what)

Unicorn out~

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
yasmin09's avatar By yasmin09 on Dec 14, 2011

Story: CLAMP and vampires, what could go wrong? Apparently, a lot and I am not exaggerating when I state that this anime was flat out horrible in so many ways. The story first dragged out the several episodes by having them pan out in almost the exact same way. Girl acts clumsy, talks to dad, eats at the cafe with the owner, sings a song, tries to pet a dog, chats with friends at school, and spends a couple minutes at the end of the episode to a fight a monster and then return home. This was literally repeated for the first 3-4 episodes and then some kind of plot, albeit a meager one, was introduced. Instead of focusing on action between a blood-craving vampire and monsters, this show focused more on the daily antics of a clumsy but sweet girl, which to me seemed misleading for a show based on the Blood+ Series.

Not only that, but the pacing was so mind-numbingly slow that they dragged out a series that could have taken 3-4 episodes and stretched it out into 12. The "twist" that was conveyed at the end was not shocking nor intriguing. Honestly, it was pretty lame, unoriginal, rather predictable, and not worth the pain of sitting through the entire series.

Another heads up, gore takes prominent stage in this series. CLAMP does not hold out on having disgustly brutal scenes with creatures and people being smashed, torn, ripped apart, chewed through, and the list goes on with the disturbing ways people can be mutilated to death. The violence was so mild at first that I thought it was not an issue but then it continually escalated to the very end, which was just horrifying gruesome. I literally had to close my eyes and even then, I could still hear the distinct sound of what was occuring and cringed internally.

Animation: The animation was the one good trait about this anime. It showcased CLAMP's distinct and gorgeous art-style. The character design was unique and looked unmistakenly like CLAMP's works. Most people seemed to dislike Saya's look but I was actually quite fond of her character design. The actions were actually quite fluid and nicely done. Though I am not particular to gore (actually I find it incredibly disturbing), the art in general was quite nice and modern.

Sound: Mediocre and unmemorable. Though I really enjoyed the beginning, the rest of the pieces were lackluster. Some were nice while others sounded like they were the soundtracks for generic action video games. Not great nor awful but truly nothing I would think twice about.

Characters: Ah the characters. Surprisingly I have little to sayabout them. The side characters were either selfish and annoying, useless props that were meant to be brutally massacred for enjoyments sake, suspicious, or simply there to provide 'wise, thought-provoking' advice.

Saya's character left me confused. She acted clumsy but could fight with grace when need be. She was completely oblivious to the suspicous atmosphere she was surrounded by, such as the lack of people on the streets, the teacher saying bizarre comments, or the suspicious cafe owner. How she could be so clueless was beyond me and seemed to make it difficult to relate to her. Her personality was just not thoroughly explained and so I had trouble understanding why she acted in such a manner.

Overall, the characters were not the greatest, were highly unmemorable or highly unlikable. All of which make for a displeasing cast that makes the awful plot that much worse.

Overall: For starters, I adore CLAMP. I thought they did a great job with Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles and xxxHolic while still producing adorable works like Card Captor Sakura. I was excited to hear that they would produce an anime based on the Blood+ series. Instead of creating an elaborately intricate and entertaining series, CLAMP concocted a jumbled mess. The series lacked direction, so much so that I am not even sure who the target audience was. The story not only dragged, it lacked humor, suspense, good action, romance, intellect, and pretty much any trait that makes a series entertaining. This just seemed like mindless gore with some kind of choppy and haphazardly put-together plot that just did not know where it was going. Even those who love gore will probably get bored because the blood bath does not start becoming more prominent until later in the series, just like the plot. Steer clear since there remains little good about this anime. The stills and poster image may look gorgeous and compelling but the series remains far from that.

3/10 story
9/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
6/10 characters
3.9/10 overall
Apollokun's avatar By Apollokun on Oct 13, 2013

I have a full confession to make about this show. When it was first airing, my first viewing of the series was stalled significantly due to the fact that it seemed trite, boring, and repetitive. Throughout most of my time with the series, I found the characters to be deeply cliche, the narrative to be predictable, the suspense to be canned. So, after it had finished airing, I decided to marathon the rest on a whim due to lack of shows at the time. And I'm glad I did, because all of my complaints became defenses. Every single thing you hate about Blood-C is put there intentionally to through you off of what is one of the most self-aware send-ups of the anime industry I've ever seen.


On a very surface level, the plot follows Saya, a ditzy schoolgirl who happens to live at and train in a shrine on a secluded island. She eats sweets, pets stray animals, and acts like an all-around klutz. Her friends are pink-haired, silly twins, and her love interest is a stoic, yet bashful boy. But by night, she becomes a deadly swordswoman, murdering brutal creatures called Chiropterans in a horribly bloody fashion. So, to recap, a cutesy nerd turns into a badass by night and protects her town in secret. Yep, this sounds like a remarkably worn premise, no?

Unfortunately, I cannot reveal the mind-boggling twist that occurs to you at the end of the series. It would ruin the effect of the show, which is to beat you into submission by using every single contemporary anime cliche imaginable. Terrible slice-of-life shows, dull grimdark action series, and other popular genres are merged together into a homoculus of stereotypes, making for an experience that is throughly and utterly predictable. Until, all of a sudden, it isn't. In the last 2-3 episodes, everything you thought up until that point is brutally subverted. Everything wrong with the modern anime industry is laid bare, put up on the chopping block, then (literally and metaphorically) butchered. In the end, we get one of the most beautifully meta-analytic works to come out of the anime industry since Neon Genesis Evangelion.

The show is certainly beautiful to look at as well. Character designs by Clamp are brought to vivid life thanks to the vibrant animation by Production IG. Backgrounds are simply gorgeous to look at, despite their usage during some of the shows more intentionally dull parts. Fight sequences are tight and move along at a nice, brisk pace, and result in buckets of satisfying gore. Most impressive to me, though, are the freakish monsters. Almost every single one of them is the stuff nightmares are made of, and I often questioned how in the heck they were conceived. Raw imagination oozes from the aesthetics of the show, in more ways than one.

Background music is very solid. Definitely nothing that's wholly special, but it gets the job done depending on the scene, and for a show that is trying on a lot of different styles at once, that's definitely an admirable job. The opening and ending clips, however, are definitely exceptional, and are in fact some of the best in recent years. Most impressive to me is the opening, which combines Japanese, English and French to an awesome, thrashing J-Rock song, and tops it off with some excellent animation.

Blood-C is supposed to infuriate you, and supposed to bore you at times, and supposed to make you roll your eyes. It does this with the express purpose of making you realize most of the problems with the anime we watch today, and to anger you as everything you took for granted is coldly snatched away at the last second. This show is a coldhearted smack in the face to works by studios like Kyoto Animation, and a sneering jab at otaku who keep throwing money at slice-of-life and moe series. While some of the execution is a bit sloppy, its intentions are in the right place.

Some people call the writers of this series "trolls" for how they wrapped up. Me? I call them brilliant for having the guts to pull a fantastically cruel practical joke on everybody, including myself.

 

10/10 story
9/10 animation
8/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall