Blood-C

sort

Reviews

UnicornExecutions's avatar By UnicornExecutions on Sep 5, 2014

 You like hot a chick with a sword that slays demon and monsters? This is proably anime you wanna look into. 

WARNING: A bit slow at frist like the 1st two eps

I was captiazed by the actions sences and the animation is gourgeous 

and I am a bit of a gore whore I love gorey anime 

<div> </div>

WHy girls would wathc 

  • I watched it for the action 
  • Freaking awesome main character

Why guys would watch 

  • Fanserice ( not a lot but it's still there)
  • anime girl 
  • tons of fight scenes 

both genders  

  • badass chick with a sword 
  • action 
  • good twists ( seriously like....what)

Unicorn out~

9/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
8/10 characters
9/10 overall
Logicfox's avatar By Logicfox on Jul 31, 2014

Okay, so this review is mainly to counter the other reviews. It's simple, short, and to the point.

- First, don't expect this anime to be Blood+, because it's not. They only used the name/genre to attract viewers. Was this a mistake? Possibily, it depends on whether they planned to have only one season or not. One season, they probably got more views than what they would've if they went with an off-shoot name. If they contintued to another season, then yes, it would of been a mistake, making Blood+ fans angry with this anime.

- Second, this isn't a HORRIBLE anime, like these reviews are saying. I beleive it gets bad rep mostly from Blood+ fans. It DOES however contain a crap storyline. There ARE, however, good elements to this anime. In fact, there are many more good elements to this than 90% of the crap Japan is producing these days. These elements include, fluent battle scenes, a decent enviroment, above average art, excessive but not entirely distastful gore, above average voice acting, and at least enough suspense to keep you interested to finish this anime

- Third, what this anime is actually lacking on: A decent story, mainly. If they added a decent story and events that actually meant something rather than senselessly killing off the main characters, this would be a fair anime. The only other major complaint to note is that if you include excessive gore in your show, don't censor it, it defeats the purpose.

Why should you watch this? If you need something to watch while playing a video game or doing homework, this would be better than most of the anime comming out. It's fairly interesting, you don't need to pay attention to the story, just take a break, every now and then, to pay attention to whats going on. That's what I did and I enjoyed this series. Don't watch it if you are a Blood+ fan.

Bottom Line: Yes it's not the best, but it's definitely better than most of the modern animes. Don't let the negative reviews keep you from watching it, if you need a filler anime to tied you over till the next great one.

2/10 story
8/10 animation
7/10 sound
6/10 characters
6/10 overall
randomredneck's avatar By randomredneck on Sep 29, 2011

Greetings, fellow anime viewers. It's RandomRedneck, with another review. The summer 2011 season was pretty good to me. With the grand exception of this travesty. This show...I honestly don't know if my review can sum up how bad it is. This, is Blood-C. Let us begin, shall we?

STORY

Like almost everything else about this tripe, the story sucks. It goes as such, for about the first six episodes: Sing on the way to school, play with a puppy, eat and talk with friends, fight and kill monster. That's it for about 6 episodes. It's typical, which wouldn't be so bad. Then comes episode 10, 11, and 12. Apparently, the writers looked up the term "Bad, totally pull it out of our ass plot twist" and threw it here. It will give you a headache, trust me.

ANIMATION

The only thing this show does well, is the animation. It's actually pretty good. The fights Saya has with the monsters are actually pretty fluid, and entertaining to watch. And blood. If you like blood, there's copious amounts of it.

SOUND

Two things about the sound. The opening them is actually pretty kickass. The other thing...Saya's singing. Saya's. Fucking. Singing. It makes me wanna puncture my own eardrums, just to make it stop.

CHARACTERS

Characters...where do i freaking begin? Lets begin with our protagonist, Saya...I hate this bitch. An utter stain on the name. She is easily, one of the WORST main characters I've ever seen. She is so amazingly useless, and annoying, that I found myself praying a monster would win, and put her out of my misery. All the others...who the fuck cares? Everything else about this show sucks, I'm not gonna waste my time talking about the other characters.

OVERALL

Avoid this show. Avoid this show. For the love of all that is holy, avoid. This. Show. It sucks. It sucks, BIG TIME. That is all. Thank you.

Yours truly,

RandomRedneck.

1/10 story
5/10 animation
3/10 sound
1/10 characters
1/10 overall
RoyalOss's avatar By RoyalOss on Aug 15, 2014

First a little heads up/warning. I really disliked this anime, so it may turn out in a little rant.

I just had finished Blood+ which was a good anime so I thought to try this one out. Unfortunately it had nothing to do with Blood+ with the exception of the main characters name. The monsters turned from (monster) vampires into statues and birds. The main character was too clumsy and the story...well there wasn’t much story. If they disconnected the show from Blood+ it might have gotten some extra points as a comedy/gore anime.

Story
Saya lives a happy school life which she needs to combine with her secret double life as a monster slayer.

The first few episodes are very similar, we see her living a happy life and at night she combats monsters, there are some little hints given that she is different. But it takes a long time before something becomes clear, the show is only 12 episodes long so the writers took too long to reveal the plot. And it seems that they threw out the little story they had at the final episode and just said ''f*** it''.

Animation
This is very good actually, no real complaints about this. I only wish they didn`t give Saya those ponytails.

Sound
It was not really noticeable, the opening and closing themes were nothing special either.

Characters
Saya...well...she was waaaay to happy/ignorant (perhaps even dumb) for my taste and when her friends are in danger she disappears from the screen and takes no actions until everyone is dead already. Luckily there is no appeal to any of the side characters so it isn`t a big deal that she always takes to late action.

Overall
I got so bored and fed up with the show that I really needed to force myself to finish the show. I cared so little that the ridiculous ending gave me a little grin for it being so bad.
If you liked Blood+ and want to see more of it...then don't watch this anime, it will only disappoint you!

Luckily Blood-C the movie is a lot better, that movie I could easily recommend, it still isn't as good as Blood+ but pretty okay and it doesn't matter if you skip this show to watch the movie. The couple of 5 second flashbacks from the anime in the movie is all you need to know about her background.

2.5/10 story
8/10 animation
6/10 sound
1/10 characters
2/10 overall
yasmin09's avatar By yasmin09 on Dec 14, 2011

Story: CLAMP and vampires, what could go wrong? Apparently, a lot and I am not exaggerating when I state that this anime was flat out horrible in so many ways. The story first dragged out the several episodes by having them pan out in almost the exact same way. Girl acts clumsy, talks to dad, eats at the cafe with the owner, sings a song, tries to pet a dog, chats with friends at school, and spends a couple minutes at the end of the episode to a fight a monster and then return home. This was literally repeated for the first 3-4 episodes and then some kind of plot, albeit a meager one, was introduced. Instead of focusing on action between a blood-craving vampire and monsters, this show focused more on the daily antics of a clumsy but sweet girl, which to me seemed misleading for a show based on the Blood+ Series.

Not only that, but the pacing was so mind-numbingly slow that they dragged out a series that could have taken 3-4 episodes and stretched it out into 12. The "twist" that was conveyed at the end was not shocking nor intriguing. Honestly, it was pretty lame, unoriginal, rather predictable, and not worth the pain of sitting through the entire series.

Another heads up, gore takes prominent stage in this series. CLAMP does not hold out on having disgustly brutal scenes with creatures and people being smashed, torn, ripped apart, chewed through, and the list goes on with the disturbing ways people can be mutilated to death. The violence was so mild at first that I thought it was not an issue but then it continually escalated to the very end, which was just horrifying gruesome. I literally had to close my eyes and even then, I could still hear the distinct sound of what was occuring and cringed internally.

Animation: The animation was the one good trait about this anime. It showcased CLAMP's distinct and gorgeous art-style. The character design was unique and looked unmistakenly like CLAMP's works. Most people seemed to dislike Saya's look but I was actually quite fond of her character design. The actions were actually quite fluid and nicely done. Though I am not particular to gore (actually I find it incredibly disturbing), the art in general was quite nice and modern.

Sound: Mediocre and unmemorable. Though I really enjoyed the beginning, the rest of the pieces were lackluster. Some were nice while others sounded like they were the soundtracks for generic action video games. Not great nor awful but truly nothing I would think twice about.

Characters: Ah the characters. Surprisingly I have little to sayabout them. The side characters were either selfish and annoying, useless props that were meant to be brutally massacred for enjoyments sake, suspicious, or simply there to provide 'wise, thought-provoking' advice.

Saya's character left me confused. She acted clumsy but could fight with grace when need be. She was completely oblivious to the suspicous atmosphere she was surrounded by, such as the lack of people on the streets, the teacher saying bizarre comments, or the suspicious cafe owner. How she could be so clueless was beyond me and seemed to make it difficult to relate to her. Her personality was just not thoroughly explained and so I had trouble understanding why she acted in such a manner.

Overall, the characters were not the greatest, were highly unmemorable or highly unlikable. All of which make for a displeasing cast that makes the awful plot that much worse.

Overall: For starters, I adore CLAMP. I thought they did a great job with Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles and xxxHolic while still producing adorable works like Card Captor Sakura. I was excited to hear that they would produce an anime based on the Blood+ series. Instead of creating an elaborately intricate and entertaining series, CLAMP concocted a jumbled mess. The series lacked direction, so much so that I am not even sure who the target audience was. The story not only dragged, it lacked humor, suspense, good action, romance, intellect, and pretty much any trait that makes a series entertaining. This just seemed like mindless gore with some kind of choppy and haphazardly put-together plot that just did not know where it was going. Even those who love gore will probably get bored because the blood bath does not start becoming more prominent until later in the series, just like the plot. Steer clear since there remains little good about this anime. The stills and poster image may look gorgeous and compelling but the series remains far from that.

3/10 story
9/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
6/10 characters
3.9/10 overall