Aria the Animation

sort

Reviews

Omurqi's avatar By Omurqi on Oct 26, 2009

Due to my inability to write more than a few sentences in one go for the past week and a half, I’ll be doing this review a little different from my usual “full length” reviews. I’ll first briefly go over the separate components of the anime, followed by a small section in which I’ll try to explain the different aspects to this show using pictures.

This, along with Bartender, is the best stress relieving anime I have ever seen. Creating a peaceful, idyllic and beautiful city full of canals, Aria the Animation created a city identical to my glorified fantasy of Venice (Italy) I used to have back when I was little, yes, it is that good.

I’ll say the same thing here as I said in my Bartender review: this is an anime to watch at the right time, as it is a rare case of a tranquil, slow paced, non plot driven show that is fully enjoyable from start to finish.

The series takes place on Aqua, the now inhabited planet formerly known as Mars, in the city of Neo-Venezia, a place full of easy-going people. It follows a small group of undines, tour guides who navigate their gondolas through the many canals the city has. Akari, who is a trainee undine herself, is the main character of the series and is someone who basically loves everything. She’s someone with an extremely positive attitude towards everything, but for once isn’t one of those hyperactive meddlers we have all seen so many times before, quite the opposite, she’s just like nearly everyone in this anime, very laid back and calm. The show follows Akari and her friends around as they go on their little explorations through Neo-Venezia, between getting scolded by Akira-sensei or going for some hot choc with Aria.

If it comes to comedy in this show, you could say that it falls a bit on its face. The comedy isn’t really funny, and there are a LOT of lines and gimmicks used in this show that are trying to be. On the other hand, it didn’t bother me at all, but it might for some. The “failed” attempts at comedy weren’t actually painful to watch but were rather soothing. During the 13 episodes there was only one time that I disliked the way they presented their funnies. Somewhere in the middle of this show, there is a whole episode dedicated to the presidents’ adventures, one of the "comic" relief characters. Also huge compliments to the seiyuu's, not once did I find the cheesy, repetitive lines like “Embarrassing remarks not allowed!”, “Heeeh?” annoying. Everyone’s and especially Akari’s seiyuu did a perfect job.

The animation used is, while not from extraordinary quality, great. From the architecture to the skies, the clothing and character designs, the light tones and just the whole surroundings, it creates the perfect setting for what this anime is trying to make: an idyllic city with easy-going people.

The sound is, again, completely fitting for this show. While not massively inspiring or the cause of many eargasms, it’s calm, soothing and far from being bad. As I mentioned before, the seiyuu’s did a great job on the voice acting. I was constantly surprising myself for not getting agitated by the one-liners between Akari and Aika and soon grew to actually like them. There was only one time during this show that I was annoyed by the sound. During the later episodes, a new character named Athene is introduced, who is renowned for her beautiful singing voice. The song she kept singing, however, was mildly infuriating me every time I heard it. The song wasn’t good or soothing, but felt more like a singer with a, fair enough, beautiful high-pitched voice who was trying to reach the top of her scale every five notes.

I feel like I’ve been giving Aria the Animation a bit too much praise during this review, but there just wasn’t that much to rant about. The best way to judge this show while using this review would be to be expecting what I’ve said so far, but also keeping the 7.5 score I gave it in mind. Besides being soothing, creating great ambiance, being easy to watch and having such a great setting, there isn’t much extraordinary about this series. There’s little to no progression in the story and the comedy isn’t funny (although not annoying either).

tl;dr: One of the two best stress-relieving anime I’ve ever watched.

Omgs T_T It’s only now that I realize this is far from being a mini-review. Always the case with writing, it’s easy once you've made a start.

Ambiance - 8.5/10

Relaxation - 9.5/10

Funnies - 5.5/10

6/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
8/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
Dralha's avatar By Dralha on Oct 3, 2009

Truth be told, I probably wouldn't have touched this series if it didn't have a scifi component to it. I knew it was considered "slice of life," which I had always thought translated into "boring...avoid at all costs." Luckily, it did have a scifi component to it...

Aria the Animation is a stunning series: tranquil, slow-paced, and breathtaking, with picturesque vistas, a mellow acoustic soundtrack, and beautiful characters. Watching Akari, Aika, and Alice explore and grow in the utopian city of Neo-Venezia, as they strive towards their goal of becoming full-fledged undines, is a meditation, one that lifts the spirit and warms the heart.

10/10 story
10/10 animation
10/10 sound
10/10 characters
10/10 overall
keiko777's avatar By keiko777 on Jan 12, 2011

Aria is beautiful, in both its character designs and its scenery.  The music is relaxing and fits the relaxing mood.  A pale yet colorful palette gives imparts a sense of fantasy to the series that really supports its more fantastical moments.

The characters are charming, if unbelievably naive and kind.  Even the tsundere-type isn't abrasive, because if there's one thing this series isn't, its abrasive.The character interactions are interesting and cute, if sometimes one-dimensional; each character has a unique personality, but I couldn't help but notice that their personalities all seemed to revolve around one specific trait.  Then again, that is how real people are, so I'm not going to say that their personalitites are unrealistic (except for the niceness part) in terms of their simplicity, I will only say that they are simple.

Aria: The Animation shows us the city of Neo-Venezia through the character's lens of wonder, and through their adventures and daily lives the audeince learns more and more about this idealistic, beautiful place.  It is too perfect, and this fact sometimes distracted me, which is why this show can't really rank among my favorites.  I will say, however, that for all the times I read that this show was really slow, I never found it boring.  Except for one terrible, terrible episode.  When you get to the cat episode, I recommend reading a book or something to distract you from how bad that episode is.

Anyways, in short, a charming and relaxing show, if not a truly outstanding one. Your opinion of it, however will differ from mine according to how stressed you are when you begin watching it.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
7.5/10 overall
xxjacobxx3's avatar By xxjacobxx3 on Feb 7, 2011

I just got finished with episode 5.

My impressions...

I thought it was relaxing as some people say, but after a while it got kind of boring. It got that way to me, because every other sentence is about some lovey dovey fairy tail feelings. Thats all great, but too much gets boring.

The characters are all interesting, although they take on characteristics that we are used to. Nice blonde hair woman. Loving dark haired teacher, but seemingly rough with her pupil. emotionless (not completely) girl. I think the most unique main char is the pink haired girl. As a main character i think she is good. She isnt too stupid, nor too smart. She is always happy, but not annoyingly excited/hyper all the time. She is calm. She is though.... almost too nice.

I think this is more of a little girl's anime. It doesnt have much ecchi, which is fine by me. just saying.

The scenery is nice (venice feel - water city).

Its a slow-paced anime... but I wouldnt say its bad. Its more of a relax, slice of life feel. Many people like that, and although it isnt my favorite, if done correctly its ok. I think this anime is ok, except its not intellectual enough. If it was complex and had many things to think about and examine, while it was going slow, then that would be ok.

The story/setting is unique, about water guides, that are training harder to row their boats along canals and in open water, and entertain tourist, customers. I felt though that there was something missing... like the story was unique but not exciting enough. (i know i said its a slow paced, slice of life, but in regard to that type of anime, it still isnt exciting enough to me)

I think this anime is good, but the truth is, that to me, its just too boring to keep up (not made for someone like me). Someone said, that you just have to watch it at certain times, but i dont really relate to anything special in the story = there is no time that i would especially feel like watching this.

My advice: if your like me, dont watch it. You may like it at first, but will eventually lose interest.

8/10 story
8.5/10 animation
?/10 sound
6.5/10 characters
7/10 overall
Xplayer's avatar By Xplayer on Mar 3, 2014

Disclaimer: This review is about all 3 seasons of Aria. The scores correspond to the franchise as a whole.

There seems to be a prevalent idea among reviewers of this anime that Aria is an anime about nothing. In fact, sothis said in her recommendation for Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou that Aria was a show about “absolutely nothing” and said you'd like it if you like “series where nothing happens.” I will respectfully say to the owner of this website that I cannot possibly disagree more.

Aria is not an anime about nothing. No one would put effort into creating a piece of entertainment if it were about nothing. Aria is about the little things in life that often go overlooked, in particular, the small things in life that make it worth living and, taken together, can help us find happiness. The author of the series said in his own words “I wrote this Aqua to let you all find that small "happiness" and to make you think. After you've read my work, if there are people who were able to find that "happiness", it would make me the happiest person out there.” In my opinion, there's no better way to summarize the franchise than that.

Figure 1: Let's begin

The idea that Aria is about nothing comes from the structure of the anime and its genre of storytelling. The anime is mostly episodic, in which each episode deals with a new challenge facing our main characters. Usually they aren't monumental challenges; often they're frivolous things such as treasure hunts or stargazing, things that are done by ordinary kids on ordinary days. The idea of an anime about ordinary things isn't particularly unique either (see: Nichijou, literally “my ordinary life”). What sets Aria apart is that it isn't really a comedy (such as Nichijou or Lucky Star) or a drama (such as Clannad or Kanon). It's really just a portrayal of life without an overarching narrative. In a way, it's like K-on or So-Ra-No-Wo-To, but with a much different setting and different character archetypes.

The combination of the setting and the storytelling is really what sets this anime apart. Aria takes place in a nearly utopian future on Mars which has been terraformed to become a replica of the city of Venice, Italy. On the one hand, this setting allows the anime to show the beauty of the city and a nostalgic look at a simpler life. On the other hand, setting the anime in the future on another planet allows for a fresh start, the building of a society without having to worry about what already exists on earth. The way the animation portrays this setting is timeless. The lighter, almost watercolor-esque tones may not be as good as the ones in the manga, but they compliment the setting in its own right. The vast sweeping landscapes when they show full shots of the city are the definition of “scenery porn.”

 

Figure 2: Scenery porn

Of course, you can create the perfect setting, but the anime wouldn't be worth watching without a strong set of core characters. Aria delivers with not just one, but two of my all time favorite sets of anime trios. The first trio is the main cast, Akari, Aika, and Alice, the friend, the hardworker, and the genius. They all have their strengths and weaknesses and therefore face different challenges on their quest to becoming Primas, masters of their tour guide trade. The second trio are their mentors, Alicia, Aikira, and Athena, the mother figure, the strict teacher, and the ditz with a heart of gold. Each character provides their own perspective on how a problem should be faced, but in the end what the characters, and the viewer, learn are valuable life lessons that go beyond the specific skills they need to learn for their work. The anime can be Aesopic at times in this regard, but usually its mature about it (not as many preachy “Dear Princess Celestia” speeches).

Finally, what makes this anime work is the overall mood it sets when you watch it. This is an anime that should be used to treat high blood pressure and hypertension because it is just that relaxing. When I watch it it's like listening to one of those meditation music tracks where your heart rate slows down and you feel like you're wrapped in a warm blanket of calmness. The music underscores this mood, which was composed with the intention of conveying abstract ideas rather than specific plot points. Therefore the music works well with the anime or on its own and has created one of my all time favorite original soundtracks.

Figure 3: Seriously, even if you don't end up watching the anime give the soundtack a listen

 I'd recommend that everyone watch this anime. Yes, everyone. I don't care if all you watch are Michael Bay action movies; this anime will change your perspective on life. The optimistic worldview of this anime will make even the greatest cynic rethink whether or not the world is truly doomed. After all, if someone can dream that humanity can reach these heights, then the only thing left is having people actually do it! I'm not audacious enough to say everyone will like the anime, but at the very least it'll lower your stress level while you're watching it and maybe extend your life by a few minutes as a result.

The fact that there’s many things you don’t know yet means there’s still many wonders out there!” ~Alicia Flornce!

 

8/10 story
9/10 animation
10/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
8.5/10 overall