Alien Nine

sort

Reviews

vivafruit's avatar By vivafruit on Oct 14, 2009

Judging solely from the picture here on anidb, one would think that this would be a standard magical girl OVA with no real innovation or complexity. However, without a doubt, this is one of the strangest animes I've ever seen. In Alien Nine, incredibly cute, shoujo characters are juxtaposed against startling violence. The plot begins in standard fruitcake mode (girls must roll around on rollerskates to catch aliens), but deviates from this formula very quickly. I, for one, have no idea what happened in this anime. The plot becomes pretty much indecipherable at the end, and the ending credits have an event that is especially incoherant.

However, whatever the hell happened over the 4 episodes, I enjoyed it. The anime's mix of cutesy girls and flat out disturbing gore provided a surprisingly entertaining mix. Whether the events were actually disturbing or merely unintentionally hilarious, I never got bored during the course of the anime.

As far as animation and sound go, I was fairly satisfied with both. As mentioned before, very cutesy character designs are placed in direct contrast to the remarkably disturbing gore and violence. This juxtoposition works surprisingly well on a basic visual level. As for the music, what at first sounds like standard happy BGM slowly becomes more and more sinister as you realize the true intent of the anime. Though I'd never listen to the ost by itself, with the anime it works fairly well.

What prevents the anime from being REALLY good, however, are the characters. The best of the characters manage to be merely unmemorable and uninteresting. The main character, however, is ridiculously annoying. Call me crazy, but a school girl who cries about 3 times an episode can hardly be called "likeable." I expect that if the three main girls had been redesigned and expanded upon, I might have cared about them a little more. Ah well.

At any rate, the anime certainly isn't as bad as the average score seems to suggest. I think the reason for the abnormally low score lies in the fact that this anime is reaching the wrong target audience. People looking for strange, disturbing animes probably look at the cute picture on AniDB and shy away from watching it. Likewise, people looking for fruity shoujo crap download this and are sorely disappointed.

The bottom line is: if you're looking for disturbing, gorey, and downright WEIRD anime, you can do a lot worse than Alien Nine. However, if you're looking for a cute, mindless romp across some sort of magical fairy land, you'd be better off watching horse porn.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
6/10 overall
thegoldenwaste's avatar By thegoldenwaste on Feb 23, 2011

Welcome to my thirteenth community anime review for Anime-Planet. This review I will be taking a look at the four episode OVA called Alien Nine. As usual, there are no spoilers or cursing in my reviews. Also as usual, please comment and feel free to post criticism of my review or heck, review my review if you like. Check out my other reviews while you are at it. That said, onto the review of Alien Nine! Hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing it.

Story; The story is about a girl named Yuri Otani is reluctantly dragged into fighting aliens and protecting her school. That sounds pretty simple, right? That is where the simplicity ends.  These girls who are just in elementary school, is facing serious psychological drama and problems. Boy, when it does get freaky, you will know it harshly. It becomes evident to us just how messed up these girls become by the third episode. I have seen many series akin to Alien Nine but it is for certain that this show is among the top tier of the “what the heck just happened!” genre. Yes, it is a genre, at least in my book. There is a huge tease at the end and it worked. You will need to read the manga. It is worth reading too, by the way.

Sound; The only pieces of remarkable music are, in fact, the opening song and ending songs. Both songs are catchy tunes and fit the general mood of the series. There is a background track but it's not as evident or clear to us very often. It’s really very gentle and calm. Voice acting was acceptable for both English and Japanese. You can get away with either of the two tracks and still get the full impact.

Characters; There are four main characters and each of them have their own issues. You have the teacher with a secret, the reluctant leader, the carefree girl and then the crybaby. They are an interesting assortment of characters. It’s a formulaic combination but it works really well (really, why fix what is not broken?) for Alien Nine. Character designs are done by none other than Yasuhiro Irie. Sound familiar? Well, he is the guy who directed Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood. If that is not cool, I do not know what is!

Overall; I felt like I was watching End of Evangelion there in the fourth episode. Anyway, I would be lying to say that Alien Nine was not interesting or unique. It was unique and interesting. I went into this very blind and was pleasantly surprised by the series as a whole but the last two episodes really put it over the top for me. Much like Shadow Star Narutaru, I wish it were longer but I will take what I can get. I am presently reading the manga so I will know what happens at the end. Do not let the other reviews for this series get you to avoid it.

8.5/10 story
9/10 animation
9.5/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
9.1/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By roriconfan on Jan 21, 2012

The recent Madoka Magika (a hyped-to-the-moon series) is nothing but the latest title in a rather old trope. The mother of all evils is Alien Nine; probably the oldest non-hentai, non-comedy anime which bases all its appeal on torturing little children. Sounds sadistic but it works. The problem with this anime as well as most others that use the trope is that it ends up being 99% shock effect and nothing else to remember it about. I mean, seriously, would you even care to remember it if it wasn’t for that twisted thing that happened to the poor aliens and the way the girls reacted to it? Ok, one would say that for once it was scary for little kids to experience such a thing and most viewers are not accustomed to expect gore and terror in a show about little girls. That makes it memorable, but hardly quality material.

So what is the story again? It’s about three elementary girls who wear aliens as hats and who are commissioned from their teachers to protect their city from aliens. Oddly enough, their equipment is quite casual as it is just fishing nets and roller skates. Watching them going to battle makes you think they are off to chase butterflies in some park. And truly, for most of the show you think it is nothing but a silly story around kids. And here is where the shock factor comes in to kick you in the nuts. The aliens are not so silly and their teachers are not so honest and the girls are not blockheads enough not to be scared with all that.

The problem is, the anime does not cover the whole story and thus you need to read the last volume in the manga version. That is what simply ruins the good mark in the story section, although to be honest it is not exactly an awesome scenario to begin with. The basic plot twist is as old as Neon Genesis, albeit with elementary girls instead of teenagers. The directing is also not given to charismatic hands; it is basically a collaboration of some nobody who only directs hentai and Irie Yasuhiro, the one who also directed FMA Brotherhood. Although the second one sounds promising, his roster is not that great and his teamwork with the other hentai dude shows badly in this anime.

The characters go unnoticed as they usually do because of the shock effect which completely overshadows them. They are just not important before the events they experience, which again ruins the mark in the character section. Other than that, you can imagine them as a far meeker, far more crybaby, and far more messed up in the head version of the Powerpuff Girls cast. Sounds like they deserve a good pat on the back just for that but as I said the incomplete story ruins their developments and possible catharsis, plus it’s the dreadful revelation that gets all the glory and not the girls who passively react to that.

The production values are the usual treatment studio J.C. Staff does to most of its works; poor overall with lots of lolis to fool the ignorant. The art is minimalistic and personally I say it’s ugly, as the characters look way too cartoony and the production values are not high enough to make up for that with fluent enough animation or frenetic action. The music themes are nothing to remember but do manage to make you think it really is a silly show, and take you by surprise later on.

So, is it a good show? Because of being left incomplete, I say it loses a lot of novelty. Plus, as usual the shock factor seems to overshadow the characters, which counts as a no-no to me. Plus, Madoka Magika looks better…

SUGGESTION LIST
Elfen Lied
Narutaru
Bokurano
Battle Royale 2
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika

5/10 story
4/10 animation
5/10 sound
5/10 characters
4/10 overall
lolhammy's avatar By lolhammy on Aug 30, 2011

To be honest, I have no idea what this anime was about. I think that the best way to summarize it would be that this is a confusing story about angsty elementary schoolers who nearly die. At first, it looks like a generic, wacky anime about moe little girls who have adventures and protect their school from aliens, but it isn't. It was traumatizing, gory shit right there. You probably shouldn't watch this until you live on your own and know to cook... and then maybe you just still shouldn't watch it.

The following information contains spoilers about the whole four episodes so in case you intend to watch this (and I highly recommend you don't unless... you are into this kind of... stuff), you might not want to read the following.

The story:

It starts off with the protagonist being elected by a very cruel class, to be an alien fighter. She doesn't want to do it, but nearly everyone selects her anyway. The most likely explaination is that her whole class consists of bullies who conspired beforehand to make her do it.

The other two members of her team are a girl who is apparently brilliant at everything and whose dialogue consists of "nyaa!" and a girl who is very responsible and mature for her age, who is dead sick of doing things for other people. Lovely! They all get cute frog-like aliens to wear on their heads, that will protect them from danger.

The three of them fight aliens together, trying to not kill them in the process but instead giving them a sedative and then capturing them. Or well, I should say, the two of them, as our protagonist herself is terrified of aliens, and prefers to just make herself as small as possible when she sees one, to then burst into tears, hysterically screaming that she is afraid.

Even larger spoilers from here on: it appears that the teacher herself is the one setting out the aliens, ordering them online, to then make the elementary schoolers capture them. Apparently, there is a larger purpose behind the girls chasing monsters, but we never learn it in the entire anime. She is apparently also the one who thought it would be a great idea to give three of her students mind-controlling aliens who would go after the girls. More disturbing yet, the boys who get these aliens are hooked on them and decide to go put them on again after they are captured like the junkies they are. Lovely, teacher, lovely. And when the protagonist's protective alien is brutally killed because of this, after which she goes on an angsty killing spree which will traumatize her for life, slaughtering all aliens including the protective frog hats, the protagonist gets scolded for killing them. Lovely, teacher, lovely.

Meanwhile, the protagonist is dead scared, gains reocurring nightmares of all of the traumatic events she went through, obtains withdrawal symptoms, wants to quit school or at the very least the alien brigade, which is denied to her, her mother is not understanding at all and, even though it was clear from the very start that she was never fit to do this, her teacher does not at some point think it would be a good idea for her to quit, before, say, she becomes insane. Or depressed and suicidal.

Then the situation gets out of hand (if it had not already), by a non-ordered alien appearing on the school grounds and making use of the mentally most screwed up alien fighter girl by convincing her it is her brother dear. It causes momentarily insanity within the other two girls and the teachers, and nyaa! to attempt and murder her friends in a surreal creepy scene.

The anime ends there, but doesn't leave it at that, a highly questionable event still occurs in the credits and it doesn't look pretty.

Basically, why would you do that?

?/10 story
6/10 animation
8/10 sound
5/10 characters
4/10 overall
Niko's avatar By Niko on Feb 14, 2011

You may enjoy this series because:  It's a rather charming take on the mindf@#k genre.  Being only a four-episode OVA, the mindf@#ckery here isn't quite as intense and grim as something like Lain, but the combination of adorable character-designs and cheerful color palette with a disturbing, squirmy, "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" sort of vibe definitely makes this an unsettling and memorable work.

Our heroine is Yuri, a sixth-grade girl who has been voted as her class's representative in the school's "Alien Party" - a group of three girls given the job of capturing the aliens who occasionally appear on campus.  Yuri is a particularly bad choice for this, as she is terrified of aliens, and has a tendency to pass out and/or burst into tears in their presence... and the fact that she has to enter a vaguely creepy symbiotic relationship with a friendly alien as part of the job doesn't help much.

With this setup, and a glance at the lovable, round-faced character-designs, there's a pretty clear roadmap for how this show ought to go - with the reluctant Yuri learning to face her fears and rising to the occasion to protect her friends - but that's not how things play out.  Instead, we have a gradual unveiling that there may be a darker agenda behind the Alien Party.  And poor Yuri, instead of rising to the occasion, merely becomes more and more traumatized.  It's a pretty cool twist on expectations, with some interesting symbolic undercurrents related to puberty and changes that are forced upon us, whether we like it or not, at that age.

You may dislike this series because:  It leaves you hanging.  Given the nature of the series, I was not terribly surprised that there was no grand reveal of what was going on, and no final resolution to Yuri's situation, in particular.  The open-ended conclusion is pretty much par for the course in this type of title, but I'm sure it will bother some.

Yuri's failure to grow a spine is probably also going to irritate some.  It didn't really bother me... something about the cuteness of the character designs or the characters' relatively young age (even by anime standards) brought out my protective instincts and I was totally sympathetic to her plight, especially once the reality of what was going on behind the scenes started to become known.

Bottom Line: A "thinky" sort of title with likeable characters, adorably different character designs, and world-building that gives you just enough to creep you out, while leaving just enough to the imagination to keep your thoughts coming back to it for a while afterwards.

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
9/10 overall