Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka

Reviews

Madoka's avatar By on Oct 1, 2011

Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka

 

Due to the large amount of bad reviews i felt i should pitch the good review in here (because i found it enjoyable) and explain why people are giving it average at best (without spoilers)

 

Why the low score? (by others)

To explain why people moan about the anime, basically the anime is presented in a love triangle type anime, though it could question if it steps into the Harem grounds as other characters seem to show affection to the main character Junichii (do consider though its a love triangle if its only 2 main characters after 1, it needs 3 or more for a Harem). The main reason for the low score is people dont like the ending, why? simple they didnt get the ending they wanted, i try not to critisize others as we all like differant things but they all say its bas because there ending wasnt shown, i admit myself i would liked the other ending to a degree (tough i didnt hate the ending, i found it was fine) i would never under rate a anime because some aspect i wanted wasnt there. So really after talking to a few who under rate it most admit the shows great untill ep10 onwards, which i found it was still good just if you dont want that other end it might be bad, now it could be me but i think its unfair to say a anime is bad because about 11%/12% of it (final episodes) wasnt the best, so realy ignore most which only under rate due to ending, if people say they didnt like it for other reasons like say they dislike plot then they are good to follow (though i found its plot enjoyable)

 

Now onto the review:

Story

(Game cover below)

The story follows a high school student (Jun/Junichi) who is also more known by his middle school nick name the Geno-killer, he apparntly had a bit of a rebelious life there and now upfollows with this nick name haunting him. It starts with him meeting a young girl being bothered by some guys, after assisting her he just wants to continue home and live normal but as luck has it shes to be the new transfer student, and it doesnt stop there either...

After joining his class she is egar to thank him propperly for assisting her but he doesnt wish to hear of it, it rises a puzzlent in class how she seems to know him upon arrival but her extended time spent around him doesnt help. After a misunderstanding the two spred apart and she goes to dislike him, but as his chances have it its been decided by there parents (behind the scenes) that she is to be his arranged future wife, how embarassing for the two. Jun is supposed to create a good opinion and view of himself as she comes to move in, but can he live up to accept a girl who set out to hate him? a girl who failed him before she met him, and a girl who hates him anyways?

The drama kicks of as she fits into normal life with jun and his sister, though she set out to hate him she comes to learn his good qualities too, the qualities only his sister and small group of friends seem able to see. The anime is full of drama and some funny scenes as he tries to make due with life with this new girl in the house, and of course though there romance isnt as sweet as some would imagine it sure holds some great plot developments. I personaily enjoyed the plot a real lot, i disagree with the many who under rate this anime just because it leads you to a misleading end, thats actually a fact i like more, i love unexpected end's or misleading ones and this one sure is out of the blue. i do however sypaphise with people on the choice, not that i hate it (i was fine with it) in this animes case i would rather seen the alternate ending choose.

 

Animation:

The animation design in the show has a nice look and feel to it, most compliment the anime highly for its beauty in scenery and character designs. There has been some good budget spenthere for sure.

Personaily i love the character designs as there very well done and look extreemly appealing.

 

Sound:

I loved the opening for the anime, the closing song changed very commonly though i felt that almost all of them was also very good, they both suite the anime quite well and personaily i enjoyed the opening sync with its video mainly and the parts where it said "that wont do" and "just choose". The soundtrack in the show is also quite well, the games soundtrack is alot more usefull though as it contains alot more songs which are great, the animes are good but there just good, nothing exceptional and sometimes you kinda feel its lacking some music or some scenes music could been done better, so its really one them things, i feel you will either like it or you wont, i liked it but i can except some might not.

 

Characters:

Well the characters as almost all will say are great, they are very unique and the differant personailties developed in the show are fun.

The character design as said above is really nice, though i dont think this picture if great proof of that (i choose it for the odd style the student council pres has)

As mention the characters are very unique and the character development moves on in a nice flow, unfortunatly this holds exception to Minato, its not her character development is bad its just rushed, as ther seris starts she is in a major role and plays her part well, we begin to learn about her as a person and its blantly obvious she thinks high of her brother who has been shot down by his unfair nick name and the fact he has been alone so long in his life. She is the nice sister type and as she opens up shes fine but around the end she just spills the whole thing and rushes to who she really is... shame really. But most should enjoy Yuuhi's character development. The side characters are also enjoyable (espically in the ova) and play there roles well.

One thing i would like to add is the characters are all rather cute in there own way, though i never actually undertstood if Ayanakouji actuallu liked Jun or not.... i mean she sure semt serious on this "love rival" role she decided to play against Yuuhi but she semt origonally to just be doing it to toy with Yuuhi or make her admit her feelings but she gets rather carried away in the seris so im unsure what was going on there.

 

Overall:

For anyone who like anyone Love rival, Love triangle, Harem, comedy or Drama anime this should appeal to you.

The nice character design and fun plot are enjoyable constant through the seris. The cute look to che characters also help make them more appealing and alot easier to grow attached to so you can dive into the anime alot easier.

The show's use of comedy is used in a good moderation, it doesnt spoil the show by trying to hard to be fun and makes it enjoyable as a side aspect.

Constant drama throughout the show also makes it rather fun and is honestly one thing which makes it a much watch for any drama fan. The ending to the show (as mentioned in the start) can feel a disspaointment as for the choices Jun follows but being realistic i think it isnt all to bad, considering who she is to him, think of who he used to be before judging. I wont mention who it is but i honestly think its obvious, i tried to keep it out but most reviews say it anyway. Really though the endiing isnt by any means terrible.

I think the seris in all was worth the watch and deserves a much better score than some are offering it.

 

And now some pointless random oversize image of Nagomi... why? i dunno her whole purpose in the show is random and she makes me laugh xD +shes addorable :P

 

--->

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8.5/10 story
8.5/10 animation
8/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
9/10 overall
Shadow000Ninja's avatar By on Oct 8, 2010

It was a great show, lots of drama, highly suggested to drama-lovers out there. It was an OK show until maybe episode 9-10 which is when it looks like someone else started writing the storyline. I absolutly hated the ending. NO CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT WHATSOEVER! basically if the show had a better ending and was maybe 24 episodes long it would be a 9.5 but how the show abruptly stops in a strange ending just dissapointes me. I Recommend quickly starting another anime quickly after you finish it. But overall i cant say it was a TOTAL waste of time. it was still an enjoyable show. Somewhat.

8/10 story
9.5/10 animation
9.5/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
8.4/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By on Jan 18, 2012

If there is one thing worse than harems, that is harems based on porn games. Of course, the fans of such … hm … games … will refuse the term porn games and go for something more linguistically intelligent, such as eroge, date sim or My-Dreamworld-which-is-better-than-real-life. Anyways, whatever you wanna call them, it is basically about games where you press the right options and if they are right the girls drop on four and do their thing to you. There are of course non-erotic games as well which focus solely on romance but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM. You get to screw every 2D girl in it; I checked the HCGs as, hm, material for this review. Then again the anime is based on the PS2 version, which is sex free and has different girls to interact with, but the original concept is still the habba-habba!

So here is the thing. Let’s say someone for any reason would want to make an anime adaptation of such a game. He sure wouldn’t do it faithfully to the storyline. Not only because it is not profitable since nobody would buy the game if it is the exact same thing. Also because you can’t make a linear story about a game with over 6 different paths. There is also the omnibus gimmick (which is dreadful) but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM.

So when it comes to adaptations, there are only two choices available. To make a few hentai OVAs with the first part of the game, or a harem series. Making many hentai OVAs or few harem episodes is NOT profitable. So Akane-iro went for the half season harem option.

The first major difference you will notice when turning a porn game to anime is that the protagonist swifts from a “hump anything female you encounter” dude, to a “please don’t touch me or I will faint” dude. Yes, he turned into that pathetic, lame, disgraceful male specimen, called an indecisive lead. Pure horror.

The rest of the girls retain most of their features from the game, which is not a hard thing to do since they are harem girls. One hairstyle, one vague character trait and one excuse to get all horny with the fail lead is all these creatures need.

The story is again just an excuse; watching the first two and the last two episodes is more than enough to get all the plot… all five lines of it. But even that makes absolutely no sense as this is a story where the lead is forced to be married to a girl that he saw for the first time in his life, getting cockteased by his own sister, and being constantly surrounded by five more blunt chicks who don’t seem to have any interest to other men but him. Plus there are scenes with military invasions and battles with huge robots and monsters which last around 30 seconds each and I swear to God I have no idea how the frakk they are all relevant to this excuse, called the story.

Yet having 4 out of 12 episodes with a somewhat plot means there is actually 1/3rd of the duration with something going on, worthy of paying attention, right? WRONG! The whole set up is completely retarded and makes no efforts to appeal to our suspension of disbelief. Out of nowhere the lead is cockteased by a dozen women who have no problem cosplaying in their own school or rushing to wash his back in the bathroom or kiss him passionately … on his penis. Did I mention his sister is the no.2 most possible sex partner?

The ending is another expected thing to notice and nerdraeg about. You see, there is this term called shipping, where some fans prefer one girl over another to end up with the lead. Having the lead choosing a girl will disappoint some of them, so the producers went again for that dreadful ending where the lead simply remains indecisive and keeps getting cockteased by all the main girls. Also, the last episode loses all logic and coherence by trying to pass as a mindfuck or a social drama around things THAT HAVE NO SERIOUSNESS!

As for all the rest of the episodes… well, guess what, the beach episode, the spa episode, the school activity episode. Things all harems copy since the dawn of time and are nothing but excuses for the girls to expose themselves and keep reminding us that they are nothing other than fapping material.

Akane-iro is a fine example of how dreadful adaptations are and how lame harems are next to the source material. It has nothing to bother in it; the humour is weak, the characters are blunt archetypes, the story is completely retarded and fillerish, and the music score completely boring and uninspiring.

The only good thing it occasionally has is the animation and the voice acting… when they are not all soft porn. The character figures are rather well drawn and the voice acting is nice. Too bad the backgrounds are weaksauce and the BGM forgettable tunes. And too bad the camera keeps making huge zoom ins to the girls’ faces or legs to distract the viewer from noticing how average anything else looks and sounds.

So there you go; another unimaginative and boring anime, made just to sell to the fans of the game or to bust the balls of the rest of us with the inability of the lead to simply go for it, and bait us to play the game just to see that (well, it did made me browse the HCGs). It is another fine example of how exploiting and retarded the genre is and how innovation was killed by them just for a few quick bucks.

BURN THE WITCH!

1/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
1/10 characters
2.5/10 overall
KiTtiAK's avatar By on Jan 16, 2010

Akane-Iro had the potential to be a 'cute' little series, and having watched the first 11 episodes in a sitting, I found it quite enjoyable. Unfortunately theres always a 'but'... That 'but' happens to be episode 11, the 'coming about' of the plot episode as it were. It was heavily disappointing to say the least and left me wanting the last 3 hours or so of my life back. I have no desire to watch the final episode now (already know what happens), and for anyone else wanting to watch this series, (that i do recommend up to a certain point by the way) I suggest watching up to episode 10 and stopping. At which point of course you are required to make up your own ending to this cute little story, which of course, could only be better then the actual ending. *HINT* Think along the lines of cute and fuzzy, not unreasonable incest and absolute nonsensical story writing (unnecessarily thrown into and thus ruining the series for no other apparent purpose other then to showcase the writers oddness). Otherwise though, enjoy!

?/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
?/10 characters
6/10 overall
Galadriel's avatar By on Nov 3, 2009

Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka (The Hill Dyed Rose Madder)


Plot: "When Junichi 'Gene Killer' Nagase saved the beautiful and wealthy Yuuhi Katagiri from bullies one day, he had no idea that he'd actually assisted his would-be wife! For what Junichi didn't know is that he and Yuuhi's fathers decided they would be wed, and Yuuhi has arrived in his town to decide if her betrothed is good enough for the job. After a humiliating and unwanted first kiss, Yuuhi moves in with Junichi to evaluate his worth; and thus, Junichi's life is changed forever. With embarrassing situations at every turn and a bride-to-be that thinks he's uncivilized and brash, what's a guy to do?" (Site synopsis)

Story: Not much to mention in terms of story regarding this anime though. Even though the ecchi aspect is not so astonishing like it was in other anime shows such as Agent Aika, Najica Blitz Tactics or other romantic titles that uses fan-service themes it doesnt have a very stable basic story. Well here goes, the story of this anime is centered on a high school student Nagase Junichi, nicknamed by his classmates as Genokiller because of his past reputation as being one of the best fighters at his school (want to know more about his past? then better watch the anime coz i wont spoil this!). One day on his way to school he saves a beautiful girl named Katagiri Yuuhi who belongs to a very rich and influent family. But at that time he had no idea that this girl actualy is his would-be-wife (shock!). Junichi's parents decided toghether with the head of the Katagiri family to marry this two and thats why Yuuhi arrived in town to see who the heck is her future husband! LOL. Even though she didnt knew that the one who saved her was infact her future husband she gets humiliated by an unwanted first kiss who came from the same person. When she finds out that he is infact the guy that she will marry, she moves into his house to test his worth. What i damn like at this anime is that this two act like a comedy duo not only at home but especialy at school. Living toghether their relationship evolved but it also causes some problems and here i have to point at Junichi's sister. Problem with Junichi is that aside from his fiance that started to develop an interest towards him despire their daily argues his sister, which is not related by blood with him loved him from the moment she came to live with him. At that time Junichi was a mess, a true gangster feared by all his classmates and being notorious in the neighbourhood. The arriving of his sister managed to put a self control to his former ego, but an ego that was and always been unstable and the slight feeling of loneliness could pull it out once again. Yuuhi's arrival managed to turn his life that he lead until then upside donw. His sister, Minato Nagase started to become more distant and at the begining Junichi didn't realize it nor the motive. Question is who will triumph out of all this mess, his sister that harbors a weird love interest towards him, even though they are not blood related or the girl that was arranged by her family to marry Junichi. Well the only clue i will point is that this has an ending similar with the one from the first Da Capo series, infact these two shows share alot of things in common, mainly the fact that both are inspired from visual novels .This anime doesnt focus too much on Fan Service stuff but is very good in terms of comedy oscilizing from humour to melodrama as you dig deeper in the story.

Animation and Sound: Well the animation style and character designs are kinda classic even though we have an early work (2008 production) but by a studio less known TNK, best known for producing School Days, Shattered Angels and Kannazuki no Miko. We meet them in most of the animes usualy average ones (refering to animation). One thing i liked at this one, some of the female characters had weird hair style (pointing at Yuuhi, weird hair antenas present at Minato as well) but other than this nothing surprizing or something that worths comenting. To be honest at the begining i didnt payed too much atention to the sound mainly because i was more interested about other things related to story or character development. So i listened abit to the opening song and ending song, also some background sounds. What i have to say is that they arent that cool but they fit the anime environment.

Characters: Well in terms of characters this anime isnt so good also. We can speak about a character development since this is a harem type anime but taking the characters in particular only Junichi is somehow developed and described but still with many holes. Also i like the "pretending not to be pervert" type of character which characterizes Junichi. Regarding the other characters there is not too much to talk about.

Overall: As an overall this anime is nice, watchable, funny, enjoyable, with many scenes that makes you laugh but it lacks a good character/story development. But i dont care too much about this stuff because as a whole i enjoyed this anime since i am a fan of ecchi stuff more exactly of Fan Service things, everything that makes me feel entertained in other words. Fans of comedy shows will definitely enjoy this and those that are acquainted with shows like Da Capo or Kiss x Sis (not as perverted as this one though) can take a bite of this one too.

~Enjoy and Cya around~

6.5/10 story
7.5/10 animation
9/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall