Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka

sort

Reviews

Galadriel's avatar By Galadriel on Nov 3, 2009

Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka (The Hill Dyed Rose Madder)


Plot: "When Junichi 'Gene Killer' Nagase saved the beautiful and wealthy Yuuhi Katagiri from bullies one day, he had no idea that he'd actually assisted his would-be wife! For what Junichi didn't know is that he and Yuuhi's fathers decided they would be wed, and Yuuhi has arrived in his town to decide if her betrothed is good enough for the job. After a humiliating and unwanted first kiss, Yuuhi moves in with Junichi to evaluate his worth; and thus, Junichi's life is changed forever. With embarrassing situations at every turn and a bride-to-be that thinks he's uncivilized and brash, what's a guy to do?" (Site synopsis)

Story: Not much to mention in terms of story regarding this anime though. Even though the ecchi aspect is not so astonishing like it was in other anime shows such as Agent Aika, Najica Blitz Tactics or other romantic titles that uses fan-service themes it doesnt have a very stable basic story. Well here goes, the story of this anime is centered on a high school student Nagase Junichi, nicknamed by his classmates as Genokiller because of his past reputation as being one of the best fighters at his school (want to know more about his past? then better watch the anime coz i wont spoil this!). One day on his way to school he saves a beautiful girl named Katagiri Yuuhi who belongs to a very rich and influent family. But at that time he had no idea that this girl actualy is his would-be-wife (shock!). Junichi's parents decided toghether with the head of the Katagiri family to marry this two and thats why Yuuhi arrived in town to see who the heck is her future husband! LOL. Even though she didnt knew that the one who saved her was infact her future husband she gets humiliated by an unwanted first kiss who came from the same person. When she finds out that he is infact the guy that she will marry, she moves into his house to test his worth. What i damn like at this anime is that this two act like a comedy duo not only at home but especialy at school. Living toghether their relationship evolved but it also causes some problems and here i have to point at Junichi's sister. Problem with Junichi is that aside from his fiance that started to develop an interest towards him despire their daily argues his sister, which is not related by blood with him loved him from the moment she came to live with him. At that time Junichi was a mess, a true gangster feared by all his classmates and being notorious in the neighbourhood. The arriving of his sister managed to put a self control to his former ego, but an ego that was and always been unstable and the slight feeling of loneliness could pull it out once again. Yuuhi's arrival managed to turn his life that he lead until then upside donw. His sister, Minato Nagase started to become more distant and at the begining Junichi didn't realize it nor the motive. Question is who will triumph out of all this mess, his sister that harbors a weird love interest towards him, even though they are not blood related or the girl that was arranged by her family to marry Junichi. Well the only clue i will point is that this has an ending similar with the one from the first Da Capo series, infact these two shows share alot of things in common, mainly the fact that both are inspired from visual novels .This anime doesnt focus too much on Fan Service stuff but is very good in terms of comedy oscilizing from humour to melodrama as you dig deeper in the story.

Animation and Sound: Well the animation style and character designs are kinda classic even though we have an early work (2008 production) but by a studio less known TNK, best known for producing School Days, Shattered Angels and Kannazuki no Miko. We meet them in most of the animes usualy average ones (refering to animation). One thing i liked at this one, some of the female characters had weird hair style (pointing at Yuuhi, weird hair antenas present at Minato as well) but other than this nothing surprizing or something that worths comenting. To be honest at the begining i didnt payed too much atention to the sound mainly because i was more interested about other things related to story or character development. So i listened abit to the opening song and ending song, also some background sounds. What i have to say is that they arent that cool but they fit the anime environment.

Characters: Well in terms of characters this anime isnt so good also. We can speak about a character development since this is a harem type anime but taking the characters in particular only Junichi is somehow developed and described but still with many holes. Also i like the "pretending not to be pervert" type of character which characterizes Junichi. Regarding the other characters there is not too much to talk about.

Overall: As an overall this anime is nice, watchable, funny, enjoyable, with many scenes that makes you laugh but it lacks a good character/story development. But i dont care too much about this stuff because as a whole i enjoyed this anime since i am a fan of ecchi stuff more exactly of Fan Service things, everything that makes me feel entertained in other words. Fans of comedy shows will definitely enjoy this and those that are acquainted with shows like Da Capo or Kiss x Sis (not as perverted as this one though) can take a bite of this one too.

~Enjoy and Cya around~

6.5/10 story
7.5/10 animation
9/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By roriconfan on Jan 18, 2012

If there is one thing worse than harems, that is harems based on porn games. Of course, the fans of such … hm … games … will refuse the term porn games and go for something more linguistically intelligent, such as eroge, date sim or My-Dreamworld-which-is-better-than-real-life. Anyways, whatever you wanna call them, it is basically about games where you press the right options and if they are right the girls drop on four and do their thing to you. There are of course non-erotic games as well which focus solely on romance but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM. You get to screw every 2D girl in it; I checked the HCGs as, hm, material for this review. Then again the anime is based on the PS2 version, which is sex free and has different girls to interact with, but the original concept is still the habba-habba!

So here is the thing. Let’s say someone for any reason would want to make an anime adaptation of such a game. He sure wouldn’t do it faithfully to the storyline. Not only because it is not profitable since nobody would buy the game if it is the exact same thing. Also because you can’t make a linear story about a game with over 6 different paths. There is also the omnibus gimmick (which is dreadful) but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM.

So when it comes to adaptations, there are only two choices available. To make a few hentai OVAs with the first part of the game, or a harem series. Making many hentai OVAs or few harem episodes is NOT profitable. So Akane-iro went for the half season harem option.

The first major difference you will notice when turning a porn game to anime is that the protagonist swifts from a “hump anything female you encounter” dude, to a “please don’t touch me or I will faint” dude. Yes, he turned into that pathetic, lame, disgraceful male specimen, called an indecisive lead. Pure horror.

The rest of the girls retain most of their features from the game, which is not a hard thing to do since they are harem girls. One hairstyle, one vague character trait and one excuse to get all horny with the fail lead is all these creatures need.

The story is again just an excuse; watching the first two and the last two episodes is more than enough to get all the plot… all five lines of it. But even that makes absolutely no sense as this is a story where the lead is forced to be married to a girl that he saw for the first time in his life, getting cockteased by his own sister, and being constantly surrounded by five more blunt chicks who don’t seem to have any interest to other men but him. Plus there are scenes with military invasions and battles with huge robots and monsters which last around 30 seconds each and I swear to God I have no idea how the frakk they are all relevant to this excuse, called the story.

Yet having 4 out of 12 episodes with a somewhat plot means there is actually 1/3rd of the duration with something going on, worthy of paying attention, right? WRONG! The whole set up is completely retarded and makes no efforts to appeal to our suspension of disbelief. Out of nowhere the lead is cockteased by a dozen women who have no problem cosplaying in their own school or rushing to wash his back in the bathroom or kiss him passionately … on his penis. Did I mention his sister is the no.2 most possible sex partner?

The ending is another expected thing to notice and nerdraeg about. You see, there is this term called shipping, where some fans prefer one girl over another to end up with the lead. Having the lead choosing a girl will disappoint some of them, so the producers went again for that dreadful ending where the lead simply remains indecisive and keeps getting cockteased by all the main girls. Also, the last episode loses all logic and coherence by trying to pass as a mindfuck or a social drama around things THAT HAVE NO SERIOUSNESS!

As for all the rest of the episodes… well, guess what, the beach episode, the spa episode, the school activity episode. Things all harems copy since the dawn of time and are nothing but excuses for the girls to expose themselves and keep reminding us that they are nothing other than fapping material.

Akane-iro is a fine example of how dreadful adaptations are and how lame harems are next to the source material. It has nothing to bother in it; the humour is weak, the characters are blunt archetypes, the story is completely retarded and fillerish, and the music score completely boring and uninspiring.

The only good thing it occasionally has is the animation and the voice acting… when they are not all soft porn. The character figures are rather well drawn and the voice acting is nice. Too bad the backgrounds are weaksauce and the BGM forgettable tunes. And too bad the camera keeps making huge zoom ins to the girls’ faces or legs to distract the viewer from noticing how average anything else looks and sounds.

So there you go; another unimaginative and boring anime, made just to sell to the fans of the game or to bust the balls of the rest of us with the inability of the lead to simply go for it, and bait us to play the game just to see that (well, it did made me browse the HCGs). It is another fine example of how exploiting and retarded the genre is and how innovation was killed by them just for a few quick bucks.

BURN THE WITCH!

1/10 story
6/10 animation
6/10 sound
1/10 characters
2.5/10 overall
4EverDreamer's avatar By 4EverDreamer on Oct 30, 2009

This show could have concluded in 4 episodes. Be prepared for mostly pointless dialogue, alongside minor characters and events. Very funny at times, but I frequently found that it was supposed to be funny and yet didn't succeed. Frankly, I was bored a lot until the last three episodes when the plot actually came about. The ending is "okay" and let's just say "interesting". There wasn't much character development, but some revelations come about towards the end. I left the sound rating blank because I wasn't sure what my oppinion is about it. I guess the music was fitting for the feel of the show.

2.5/10 story
8/10 animation
?/10 sound
3/10 characters
4/10 overall
Doommuks's avatar By Doommuks on Nov 10, 2009

Ok... very first of all.... the Whole anime story was ok.... but the ending? What the hell with all that incest? Its not right, its not good.... ok its good (for pervs) (like me ^^ (the good side, the good side) but still......alright...

the anime was about a guy that is like a legend of his school in kinda bad way.. nobody hates him but everybody knows an urban legend about Geno killer witch was created by his friends, etc, etc, etc.....

So one day a new student comes too school, a girl..... and that guy, i dont know, maby misunderstood or smtah and kissed her, stole her first kiss.... So she starts to hate him, but she kinda falls in love with him..... but hates him, HATES HIM.... Oh and she is his fiance... and must live with him....

^^ end of episode 1

So the anime is good but the ending and the whlode love story with the sister... ruined everything..so

7.5/10... if you have something else to watch, dont drop this for it, but still, when you have freee time, watch this.

7.5/10 story
9/10 animation
9/10 sound
7/10 characters
8/10 overall
RedCrossRobbery's avatar By RedCrossRobbery on Oct 20, 2011

Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka. I don't believe I've ever seen such a mediocre piece of cliché anime wrap up so wonderfully. What I mean by this, is that for hosting a cast of complete stereotype characters, ecchi screwball humor, and overly melodramatic dialogue, AInSS ended on a seriously heart-warming note.

Story: 7 out of 10
The story for AInSS is peculiar, in that it is a very typical school life/harem series, but adds in numerous elements to try and stand alone. This does not work in the grand scheme of things, but does make it easier to watch.
The story begins as a brother and sister live at home together, with the sister taking care of everything to help the useless brother. The brother was a street-fighting punk, that only calmed down after she... moved there from the jungle where she and her secret agent parents kills animals for food? What? Anyway, we'll get to that later. While defending a girl against some thugs, our main character Jun ends up classmates with her.
The girl turns out to be the heiress of a giant multibillion dollar corporation, and is at the school to meet her arranged "fiancé". After an embarrassing first kiss, she decides she hates him, but has to live with him (because parents in Japan... trust... strangers...?) to decide if he's worthy.
This all plays out as you'd expect, with her slowly falling in love with him, him learning he has feelings for his sister, other girls crawling out of the woodwork to propose their love of this nobody, useless man, and add in about 8 episodes of filler. It isn't until the last 2 episodes does the series actually open up, and introduce the idea of mature, evolving characters.

SPOILER! Ending Discussion
Because it was such a great moment in the series, I have decided to talk about the ending of the series. This WILL ruin the show for you to read this, so I highly suggest skipping past if you plan on watching the series. In the end, a very mature fight breaks out between Jun, Yuuhi, and Minato. Jun has professed his love to Yuuhi, but Yuuhi feels the tension between him and Minato. It finally hits the fan when Yuuhi leaves one night to go visit her father.
In a moment of weakness, Minato crawls over next to Jun, and holds him tightly, asking him to not treat her as a sister, but as a woman, and just let her hold onto him. Yuuhi senses the tension when she gets home, and starts to ask about it, and grows infuriated when neither will talk. Thinking she's in love, but knowing something is wrong, Yuuhi grills Jun until he mentions that "nothing really happened". To Jun, there wasn't any weird cheating that went down because all he did was let his sister hug him, but to Yuuhi, it was the final straw that cleared her head and let her know that no matter how hard he tried to not love his sister, he couldn't stop.
Several fights and make-ups later, Jun stops Minato outside of school, and lets her know that he needs her back. It is a very heartwarming experience, and you feel for both characters. They love each other, but understand it is taboo, so they never physically act on the impulse. Near the end, we are given a clue that Minato might just be fostered, which is either meant to be a cliffhanger, or a heads-up to a second series that has never been announced.
I realize I have written more about the last two episodes of the series than the entire series, but that isj ust how it plays out. The last two episodes are really incredible when faced with the cliché filler the show has to offer otherwise. Incest is used as a romantic plot device, and not some uncomfortable porn. It is just a very sweet ending.

Animation: 7 out of 10
Ecchi series are so hard to rate for animation due to the fact that typically, the female anatomy is so beautifully drawn, but everything else is largely left bland. Luckily, AInSS does not fall into this category, and has a above-average job in the animation department. Whether it be explosions, romantic moments, or sitting in class, there is a constant level of decent dedication to the art. It is nothing mind-blowing, but it's enough to warrant praise.

Sound: 4 out of 10
As with most series of this nature, sound plays a mediocre role. A "safe" opening an ending song, cute voice acting, and dismissive background music,

Characters: 6 out of 10
Before I begin, allow me to first say that the only reason the characters is so high, is because of Minato, whom I would rate a 9.5 for a character. Everyone else falls into the 4-5 category. So let's start this off by talking about her.
Minato is Jun's sister, and love him very dearly, as both sister (spoiler) and lover. Due to her innocent, kind personality, she tries to hide her feelings for Jun so that he may end up with Yuuhi, whom she loves as a best friend. In the last 2 episodes, they do an excellent job showing the confusion and heartache that arises from this situation, and you truly begin to love Minato as a character.
The only other 2 characters to show any growth are Jun and Yuuhi, but both do so poorly. Jun starts off as a cool, calm dude, who then is shown to be a shy, arrogant child, and  then turns out to be a kind hearted lover, who then turns out (I'm sure you get the point now). He never actually establishes a sense of identity, and just keeps jumping from anime arch-types and never becomes an actualy character. The same goes for Yuuhi, who is either heart meltingly fractured, or showcasing an anger management issue. 

Overall: 6.5 out of 10
Overall, Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka is a quick, and easy series to watch, and worth it (only if barely) by the last 2 episodes that showcase wonderful works of love, heartache, and redemption. I highly suggest this series to fans of Shuffle!, or just somebody looking for a quick romance/comedy series.

 

 

7/10 story
7/10 animation
4/10 sound
6/10 characters
6.5/10 overall