Ai Yori Aoshi

sort

Reviews

therik's avatar By therik on May 12, 2009

Story

The reason why certain premises are recycled and re-worked time and again without so much as a twist is a pretty simple one - you don't mess with success. After all, if you put one male character in a house with a bunch of quirky females and layer it with a simple romance plot, what can possibly go wrong? To this last question, rhetorical though it may have been, Ai Yori Aoshi provides a comprehensive - if excruciatingly overlong - answer.

Predictability will always be a calling card of the harem romance, as much a part of its makeup as colorful hair, cute girls and awkward situations. However, Ai Yori Aoshi takes this a step further, practically redefining the the concept by stretching it to breaking point. Suffice to say that if you are unable to guess how things will turn out after watching just the first episode of this series, it will be because you set your sights too high and hoped for a surprise, a shock, a bombshell or any kind of diversion from the plot's unwaveringly linear course.

This alone is not enough to render the series entirely without merit. Instead, that crucial task is delegated to the many failed attempts at comedy, sentiment or anything which would have given the anime some measure of personality. Although there are a couple of rowdy characters in the mix, Ai Yori Aoshi's humour is executed with all the enthusiasm and wit of a chartered accountant with a gun pointed at his head. The only real way to tell that a scene was supposed to be funny is the occasional sweat drops which materialise on the back of characters' heads. If this show had canned laughter, I probably wouldn't be sane enough to write this.

The anime's experiments in sentimentality are equally clumsy and ill-advised. In addition to the aforementioned predictability and the tedious characters, something which I will get onto later, the show ruins most of its emotional scenes with its incessant drive to patronise the viewer by having characters voice their thoughts and feelings in a manner more suited to an infant's puppet show than what is ostensibly a series aimed at relatively mature individuals. In one scene, for example, the heroine Aoi stares wistfully at the clock, then at the empty chair opposite her, then at the full plate of food laid out in front of the empty chair. A few seconds pass before she announces, seemingly to herself "I wonder where Kaoru has got to? He should be home by now" or something equally banal but just as bleeding obvious from the circumstances.

With all of this said, I would be doing the show an injustice if I let this review pass by without divulging the fact that occasionally - very, very occasionally, mind you - Ai Yori Aoshi delivered a moment that amused me, engaged me, or otherwise got my attention. However, watching the entire series just for these sporadic flashes of averageness would be akin to sailing the Seven Seas in search of a treasure chest containing 50p and a half-eaten digestive.


Animation

Ai Yori Aoshi's animation is unadventurous, generic and ordinary, but at least it is competent. There's nothing eye-catching or memorable and - although the characters occasionally lack detail and even correct proportions when viewed from a distance - there's nothing overwhelmingly bad about it. It's colorful but not garish and the face faults, while they might not be amusing, at least aren't annoying.

In visual terms, there is one thing which sticks out like a bear in a paddling pool. As clearly evidenced by the opening animation and a scene in the first episode, Aoi has neither pubic hair nor nipples - an omission so glaring that even the most virginal contingent of this anime's demographic cannot fail to miss it. I can only assume that this is down to some censorship or certification issues, but such an assumption hardly makes things any less unsettling or bizarre.


Sound

The incidental music is just that - incidental. Although I'm sure it's preferable to having complete silence or Vanilla Ice's Greatest Hits, there's nothing memorable or extraordinary about the background tunes. The OP fares a little better, being pleasant and almost catchy, while the ED is plain and just a touch irksome, in keeping with the series as a whole.

The voicing, on the other hand, is one of the show's few positives. Although I found one or two of the voices bordering on annoying, every single one of them fit the characters so perfectly that it feels entirely unfair to lay any blame here.


Characters

If someone said to me "You know, I'm thinking of making a haremy, romancey, slice-of-lifey comedy kinda thing", the first thing I would say to them is "well, just you make sure that the characters are interesting and likeable." Dismayingly, nobody was on hand to offer Ai Yori Aoshi's creators such sage advice or, if they were, the advice was ignored and the piece of paper it was written on shredded and tossed into a fire as soon as their back was turned. To sum up, the characters are dull and fail to engage on any level, which costs the show dearly.

The male lead, Kaoru, is as faceless as most other male harem characters but I expected this. What drags the show down is that the girls are as bad, if not worse. Aoi - who would sooner clean a mansion from top to bottom in preparation for Kaoru's return than have an independent thought - is an embarrassment to her gender, and the implicit suggestion that this is the kind of girl that men would be interested in manages to insult the other half of the human race. Aoi is not alone, however. Most of the other characters are equally needy and emotionally feeble; even though several of them clearly adore the ordinary Kaoru and worship the ground on which he walks, the conflicts between them never get any more serious than a bout of face-pulling.

Only Miyabi, who has the good sense to dislike Kaoru the moment she sets eyes on him, retains some dignity and seems like an actual human being. Every other character is either on the lookout for breasts to fondle, stood next to Kaoru with their arms permanently wrapped around his waist like some kind of pathetic koala or - in Tina's case - both. It's incredibly difficult to feel sympathy for or even to like any of the protagonists, which makes the series fail on pretty much every front.


Overall

The title of the anime translates as "Bluer than Indigo", but I think a far better description would be "Beiger than Beige". The series is uninteresting, uninvolving and largely forgettable. There are many similar anime out there which are far better on every front - Love Hina being one such example. Already seen it? No matter; I'd have sooner watched it for a third time than exposed myself to this torrent of blandness and inadequacy.

2.5/10 story
6/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
2.5/10 characters
3.5/10 overall
angelsreviews's avatar By angelsreviews on Jul 14, 2013

The story line is a rather interesting version of Romeo and Juliet almost. A boy who isn’t liked because he denounced his name and a girl who wishes nothing more then to be with him even against her parents wishes. It’s a rather romantic story, and then they have to add everyone else into the mix and well, we get this. Not to say this show is bad, its just… it gets dull after a while with pretty much every trick in the book being done to keep the two apart from roommates that get in a way to time they have separated from each other and even the family problems. I’m happy it’s not a slice of life in a school (and it’s not… technically…) but it sure feels like one. I most of the time wanted to bash a couple heads together and yell ‘GET TO THE POINT!’ but yet, I have to sit through some of the slowest moving pieces until someone finally gets to a punchline and then I feel myself sitting there sometimes asking ‘how the heck did that happen and where was the fun?’ I do have to mention now that this is one of my favorites of the genre, its just does have a lot of flaws though the good points.

Ai is so adorable though her personality is a little two innocent. She seems way to matter of fact and logical. She also sounds like a broken record in that she keeps going on about becoming his wife. She feels much like a Mary Sue character in that with almost everything she does, she does well and the stuff she isn’t good at is done in a way that makes her more Moe (and now I’m thinking about Konata’s saying from Lucky Star ‘Clumsy is sexy…’) to the point where I just want to smack her. Luckily, she doesn’t go into the realm that I would want her to be attacked by one of the girls from When They Cry, but she sometimes gets close to it.

Kaoru though seems well put together or else it’s because he is around crazy people. Sometimes I even wonder if they put him in the middle of all these crazies just to show how bland he really was. There are times though that I wish he wasn’t so easily pushed into doing things he didn’t want to do or would hurt Ai if she took it the wrong way. Unfortunately, both main characters are actually less interesting then the characters around them and the story just seemed to become dull just because I wanted to learn more about the characters and it wouldn’t let me. The arrange marriage thing is hard for me to think of in the modem day sense and makes me wonder if it actually happens still. There is a lot of fan service in this and it makes me feel really sad because it really didn’t need it!

Now we go into the extras and the reason why I call them extras and not supporting characters is this… they do not support anything. They are there to tear the two main characters apart and bring comedy into what could be even more boring story plot. I think without them, I would never have been able to get into the story. Their fun antics, although annoying at times, made me smile and laugh to break up the tension of a hard core sad areas. I do believe without them, the ending would not be as heart retching as it was because it seemed to have more meaning.

The artwork is so beautiful and shows a lot of detail throughout the show. The backgrounds are rich in detail for the most part but there are times that it looks rather low in contrast. The comical points are really odd looking, where most of the artwork during that time pretty much lacks. The opening is rather nice in following the sweet music for that. But seems almost like Ranma’s opening in how they made it.

The Voices are interesting, and Ai’s seems way too breathy. The English is a little off, almost like it’s a exact translation and I wish they would change it a bit. Some characters were a little creepy in voice and I was a little disappointed in that. The Japanese is alright even if it’s pretty standard for this type of show. The Japanese and English Ai sound very close to each other. It’s a little nice that way but also somewhat bothersome.

The music is so pretty for the opening and closing that I actually looked for the opening music on its own. The other background music is a little to sappy even for the happy moments and sometimes breaks the mood.

7/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
5/10 characters
7/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By roriconfan on Jan 18, 2012

NOTICE: This review extends to the sequel for this series, titled Ai Yori Aoshi – Enishi . There are hardly any differences between them and so they can easily be seen as one.

Although it begins as another ecchi comedy, Ai Yori Aoshi stands out by being more focused on romance rather than vulgar erotic humor. Something quite rare coming from a studio such J.C. Staff, infamous for its lolicons and softporns. Other than that, we have another dorky male living with several ultra sexy women and do nothing else other than making a fool out of himself. I pretty much got tired of this concept after watching Love Hina .

The director of the show is Shimoda Masami, a guy which I wouldn’t even care about if it wasn’t for his directing of Zegapain. All his other works are plain passable but, man, Zegapain rocks da world! Of course even that show had various pacing issues so I must admit that he is not a good director and this show is yet another proof of it.

STORY SECTION: 5/10 [Hentai premise, lukewarm romance.]
Analysis: Premise 1/2, Pacing 1/2, Complexity 2/2, Plausability 1/2, Conclusion 0/2

- Their families force the main two characters, a young man and a young woman, into an arranged marriage, since they were babies (Japanese people do this crap all the time). The boy has left his home in order to have freedom away from his stuck-up parents. But then the girl comes to look for him, as she really loves him. They quickly get to live together and slowly more female cast adds for support or protection…
- It sounds like a scenario for a hentai with lots of orgies, doesn’t it? Well, being a comedy, there is nothing of the sort, as the leading male is a scaredy-cat, like 99% of others like him in similar series.
- As it usually happens with long and superficial series, there is story development only in the first and the last episodes of both seasons. The rest (about 70% of the total number of episodes) are flavor to get to like the characters and laugh at their awkwardness. There is nothing much to expect in the story, the scenario development is slow and simple (especially in the second season), and the conclusion is left open (the manga that is based upon, goes further, with a better story).

ART & SOUND SECTION: 7/10 [Are you looking at the kimonos or what lies beneath them?]
Art Analysis: General Artwork 2/2, Character Figures 1/2, Backgrounds 2/2, Animation 1/2, Visual Effects 1/2
Music Analysis: Voice Acting 2/3, Music Themes 3/4, Sound Effects 2/3

The artwork is above average. It is detailed, with several attempts to show depth, perspective and warmth in the background or the atmosphere of the moment. Most kimonos are decorated with lovable pictures that make them nice to look at. Music themes are sweet pops and ballads, as long as you are accustomed to Japanese music. Character figures and voice acting were decent but not great.

CHARACTER SECTION: 4/10 [Why is sex such a bad thing?]
Analysis: Presence 1/2, Personality 1/2, Backdrop 1/2, Development 1/2, Catharsis 0/2

- Aoi, the woman, is the ideal Japanese archetype of a perfect housewife: Beautiful, shy, timid, great cook, cheery and still VIRGIN. For that, she is almost too good to be true. But at least she doesn’t behave like most girls in anime, as she is not an obnoxious, violent slut, after the semen of the guy she digs. If you like this kind of women, then she is adorable. If not, HER KINDNESS WILL DRIVE YOU NUTS!
- Kaoru is… typical. Modeled after the usual idiot that gets the chance to score big time but is too shy to take initiative. God, how I hate that! So, ok, he is a good guy with compassion and understanding for all. Why should something like that make him sexually incapable? Geez! He has issues with his family but I can’t say I liked him any more because of it.
- The rest of the cast is quite typical as well, consisting of mostly females modeled after sexual fetishes (maid, bodyguard, lolita) and stuck-with-tradition old people. I can’t say I liked any of them.
- The only character development there is will be the main characters expressing their true feelings for each other. WAY too little to deserve a good mark.
- Since the ending is incomplete, nothing solid exists as catharsis.

VALUE SECTION: 2/10 (Analysis: Historical Value 0/3, Rewatchability 1/3, Memorability 1/4)
Ecchi and harems are one-timers for me; without much story or character development, the second time around I just scroll it for the ecchi scenes. There is also nothing exceptional in it to deserve some value as historical important or memorable.

ENJOYMENT SECTION: 5/10 [A less extreme Love Hina.]
The relationships amongst the characters are a lot more serious and likable than those wacky ones in Hinata Inn. On the other hand, there is nothing else more special or different in it, making it half-enjoyable at best.

VERDICT: 5/10
The accused is found … GUILTY! … For pretending to be an aristocrat when in reality he is a commoner.

SUGGESTION LIST
Love Hina and Oh! My Goddess. The best harem anime around.

5/10 story
7/10 animation
7/10 sound
4/10 characters
5/10 overall
desposy's avatar By desposy on Jan 7, 2011

This anime is a flagship for the comedic/romance/drama genre.

At it's core this storyline is about the reuniting of two old friends who whilst still very young had been arranged into a marriage which soon though was interrupted by family politics. Despite the interruption Aoi's feelings for Kaoru continued and we join the story as she arrives at a Tokyo train station having left her home for the first to find the man she believes she still loves.



Early episodes form an often funny, sometimes hilarious, foundation for a far more serious and meaningful conclusion. All Characters are Introduced early and at a machine gun pace which can often leave you reeling as they all have substantial back stories of their own. To begin with all but the key characters feel a nuisance, but dependant on your own personality, some of them grow on you through the unfolding events and become a key part of the attraction of the program.



Through the intermediary episodes many seemingly small points that will later build a history of the politics that caused the separation and into a truly compelling end game are introduced. During this period all the characters,who have all basically ended up living in the same home and attending the same school, grow comfortable with their new social backdrop. Characters and relationships developing at a believable and satisfying pace suffering only rarely from this genre's tendency to string out relationship development and the clichés used to do so. The plots take the form of the day to day life of college students and the hijinks and personal moments of the group of characters.



The conclusion as mentioned before is truly compelling, it sees the anime's dramatic side come into full fruition, with the now comfortable way of live being threatened once again by the events of the past and delivers very potent messages about love,pain, forgiveness and healing made all the more profound by the characters past experiences.



All in all a solid story and a great comedic feel allow you to overlook the rare, and usually oddly tasteful, use of fan service and the fact that old “one guy many girls” scenario's are too often used. Much of the story feels fresh with only the odd unfortunate slip into plots that have been mirrored wholly in other animes. With sound and animation both staying well above acceptable, if disappointedly rarely truly brilliant, this animes true power lies in a full story and a set of characters that is well worth being pulled into. Even if this genre is not usually you cup of tea it has strong ability to keep you watching.

9/10 story
9/10 animation
6/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
ninjaknow's avatar By ninjaknow on Apr 19, 2011

great romantic anime has a some what empty storyline but great moments throughout the whole thing. fun for anyone over 14

7/10 story
9/10 animation
6/10 sound
8/10 characters
8/10 overall