Accel World

sort

Reviews

CrazyAce01's avatar By CrazyAce01 on Sep 23, 2012

Story (7.3/10)

Accel World started off with a serious bang. It couldn’t quite continue that bang through the entire 24 episodes, but it was certainly something to watch.

Accel adheres to a standard shonen formula. Initially, Haruyuki, our protagonist, is more or less a loser, besides the fact that he is pretty good at video games. He is quickly thrust into a virtual world, an act-or-die realm of shifting allegiances, furious battles, and complex history. If you've watched any anime or read any manga, you'll know that this is extremely typical stuff. It relies on this pattern to generate tension and interest, and, therefore, is stuck in that pattern, which ultimately hurts more than helps the show as a whole.

Accel has an excellent setting, premise, and a sharp, vibrant take in the science fiction realm of fiction. It pulls no punches. The plot is hard and fast, drawing the viewer in quickly. We learn about the virtual world and Haru’s growing role within it, and without pause for breath, he immediately works to start furthering his goals. It focuses on themes of friendship and teamwork while at the same time transcending them. It can be very dark, but has uplifting moments of equal magnitude. The sci-fi elements are excellent, including both the amenities of a high-tech world fifty years into a future like Ghost in the Shell and the virtual reality of .Hack. There is a depth of personality and mood that sets it apart from your run-of-the-mill shonen, and the twists and turns will keep you on your toes.

It can’t get away from the chains it made for itself, and that keeps it from getting a higher score. It put it at 7.3 for this reason. A flat 7 would go to a shonen worth watching. I’d give a 7.5 to an anime that pushed hard on the walls of its genre. Accel World sits awkwardly between those two limits. It really wants to break out of its shell, but doesn't quite make it.

I am also unsympathetic for the two episodes near the middle of the series; the show jarringly shifts from a climactic moment for what came off as near-filler. It was so horribly dissapointing that I almost dropped the series entirely. Pacing issues really set Accel back.

Animation (6.5/10)

A few years ago, I would have given this anime an 8 for animation, but the bar has been raised. Accel has pretty action scenes, but character designs are simple and you can tell which episodes were low-budget; they saved the big bucks for the big moments. You’ll enjoy the most brutal fights and the awesome explosions, but the normal parts in-between are bland.

Accel loses points here for Haruyuki’s design. I know this is a topic of debate, but we can have a relatively weak protagonist without turning him into a pinball pig. It was distracting and awkward, especially when every other character had normal proportions.

Sound (6.5/10)

I did not enjoy Haruyuki’s voice. When he wasn't whining 'Chiyu!' or 'senpai!', he was crying, and it grated.  The opening and closing themes were solid, if a tad generic. Fast-paced action and dialogue scenes both had interesting what was appropriate to get the job done well.

Characters (6/10)

This was an extremely hard portion to judge. Some characters are excellent; others, not so much.

My biggest beef lies with Haruyuki. He’s lowballed in the self-esteem category. Time and again he proves that he’s a fighter. He proves he’s got what it takes. And still, he winds up crying in the feeble position once an episode. Every time Kuroyukihime, his lover and leader, so much as patted him on the head, he was moved to tears. He is the target of affections from women that had no business giving him so much of a shred of respect, because he has no respect for himself. It was too exaggerated for me to believe; he was a rollercoaster of emotional extremes, becoming whatever the moment demanded he be.

Kuroyukihime herself is excellent, but she, too, has a low self-esteem streak that I found out of character. On top of that, she’s in love with our protagonist for no reason. This is explored, somewhat, which itself it a huge plus, but a satisfactory reason for their love is never revealed. Haruyuki certainly has his potential as a burst linker (i.e., virtual warrior), but he’s chronically pathetic in every other conceivable category. No matter how I look at it, I can’t justify her side of the relationship, and that costs serious points.

I think the best character was Takumu, Haru’s best friend. His struggle to place himself within the triangle of himself, Haru, and Chiyu was extremely well-acted. He was mature, intelligent, and was forced to confront and deal with his own personal demons with incisive precision. I was rooting for him more than Haruyuki.

The bottom line is that Accel falls into what has become a pattern in shonen. A weak character doesn’t have to be a loser. A weak character doesn’t have to be physically weak. There are problems beyond the social issues that plague high school students. There are fertile fields beyond the anime stock characters. The show's unwillingness to seek higher ground and stick to its cliches holds it back.

Overall (7/10)

While Accel has its flaws, the total package is one to be reckoned with; action and shonen fans will not be disappointed. It has an entertaining (if plot-holed) romantic thread that lends depth. The setting, filled with science fiction tidbits such as modified brains, direct mental links, and a real-world overlaid with electronic features is chock-full of imagination and personality. It was definitely worth watching.

One could say that the series nears the epitome of its genre. That is its strength, and its weakness.  An action flick can only go so far. Despite an admirable run to be more, it remains only moderately successful.

7.3/10 story
6.5/10 animation
6.5/10 sound
6/10 characters
7/10 overall
hajjilove's avatar By hajjilove on May 20, 2012

I am bored at the moment, haven't been watching anime so much since bleach ended along with most of the other animes that I was watching that finished around the same time.

HOWEVER...

I stumbled upon this little gem of an anime. It's an ongoing series about a teenager at school, who name is Haruyuki Arita whom I also think look like an anime Cartman from South Park...

Main hero from ACCEL WORLD

See? Cartman.. in a blue suit lol

The story is set in the future where the new generation of kids have been implanted with neural connectors on their necks. Through these connectors they are able to call one another, connect tot eh internet, send emails, and in classrooms teachers can beam the school information they need straight to the students. 

That in itself is awesome and the closest thing to it now in real life I would say are the google goggles. Hopefully as technology progresses we will get this technology...

ANYWAY!!! ...back to the story

The story follows our chubby hero and you see that he gets bullied a lot and he uses games as an escape from the real world which he hates a lot. Then one day whilst in his game he is confronted by the schools student council's vice-president and hot chick, Kuroyukihime. She gives him a new game called "Brain Burst" which is a Virtual Reality MMO game with a twist.

The program allows the user to slow down time in real life, and you learn that there are other abilities granted later BUT in order to maintain these new abilities all the people participating in the game have to fight one another to collect points. If they lose ALL their points the game uninstalls itself and you lose the ability to slow down time.

Kuroyukihime turns out to be a wanted individual within the game so she enlists the help of Haru to protect her against all other players since she thinks he's the best game player out there and has the same ideals as she does. 

So far, the story has been interesting. It's one of those anime that doesn't need fan service to get your attention. What marvels me is the technology, I am a bit of a gadget freak as well as an anime one lol I am hoping that Google goggles, although it has been getting some bad press lately about over exaggerating what the device can do, improves and advances further. Google goggles is the start on this road to having this technology of a constant Augmented Reality.

AHEM! 

The anime itself has been very interesting, we've been introduced to the idea of the leveling idea within the game and that only 6 people have reached the second to highest level and they each control a part of the game but they don't want to fight anymore because it means that 5 of them would lose all of their powers so they just rule over the other players BUT Miss vice president wants to be the first one to reach the highest level and complete the game. 

Knowing that, I want to see how badass these other characters are... and I am sure that many others would too and this is what makes it an excellent anime even tho it's not finished yet.

Overall, I would give this an 8/10

Story is great, characters are loveable, music... not so much yet. Only sucky thing! This only comes out once a week!!! >_< 

Anyway I hope you enjoyed this quick-ish review and I shall see you all next time 

Will post a link to this in the future so keep an eye out for it ! 

9/10 story
9/10 animation
7/10 sound
9/10 characters
8/10 overall
roriconfan's avatar By roriconfan on May 5, 2012

Accel World is a sci-fi / action / superpower / comedy / drama / SOMETHING that hardly tries to offer something new. All its elements have be done in the past by much more entertaining and well directed anime and thus you are offered this dull mediocrity that hardly takes itself seriously, contradicts its own themes in about 5 minutes after it begins, and wastes all its good elements for superficial entertainment.
… Yes, with that sort of description we have a blockbuster. Welcome to modern anime.
The thing that I dislike most about it is its attempt to appeal too much on videogame nerds. If you are not one, you will most likely dislike how it presents itself.

THE STAFF
- Animation is done by Sunrise, which means it will have good production values and cool robots. Overall it looks nice but hardly tries to offer something we haven’t seen before. The artwork in terms of background details and character drawings is one of the same old tired stuff we get for over a decade, while the soundtrack is completely forgettable J-pop pieces.
- Directing is done by Ohara Masakazu who also directed nothing but fan catering mediocrities, such as the Mai Hime trilogy and The Girl Who Leapt Through Space. And it also has some of the writing staff from Code Geass and Guilty Crown aiding here too, which means further bad news for the script.
- Based on the light novels of the guy who also wrote Sword Art Online, which was also adapted to anime a few months after Accel World began. It is basically the same thing, with a setting that could expand to include all sorts of metaphysical and psychological concepts regarding the meaning of life, happiness, and the like. In the hands of this ass though it still turned out to be another ecchi comedy with crappy plot and characters who don’t deserve your respect. Shows how you can’t expect anything good out of a light novel idiot who can only think of harems in videogames.

SCRIPT

The story is set some decades in the future, where people are given neurolinks soon after they are born. With them they have wireless access to the internet everywhere and every time. The applications of which they use in their daily life, such as sending and receiving messages, keeping notes or looking for information without actually reading or writing anything on paper. Practically they all have a virtual world in their heads, which appears as pop-up windows in front of them and only to them. You thought seeing a guy talking to thin air because he has hands-free cell phone is weird? Wait to see a guy who seems to read and write in air too; for he sees things that aren’t really there for anyone else.

The protagonist is a dork whose life is miserable and he is ridiculed and bullied by the other students for being short and fat. For that reason he finds some comfort in an online game, where he constantly escapes from reality. All that changes when (drum roll for contrived twist) the hottest chick in school gives him entry to a fighting game, where you can accelerate a thousand times faster than normal. At that game he is to prove what he’s worth or he will be thrown out if he loses many times. The reward for the top players is to be in command of the online world, and possibly to find some sort of existentialist meaning behind its creation if you manage to reach the level cap.

All the above may sound very cool on paper but unfortunately they are presented in a most lukewarm way and thus you lose your excitement over the show very fast.

1. The setting of a wireless world, as elaborate as it seems at first, ends up being used only superficially.
- It’s there only for dressing up videogames. You hardly see them doing anything more than sending a few messages ethereally before they switch to options for playing videogames every time and every place we feel like it.
- It’s there for cheap erotic humour. For example there is the option to share private information and applications with others through short wired connections. In the hands of the makers though it became nothing more than a sleazy way for people to assume you have a girlfriend, or an excuse to drop on a girl like you are about to have sex with her.
- No elaboration is given to how they control what they say without talking. How do their inner thoughts don't mix in with what they superficially want to say? If someone has impure thought for a girl (something the hero does) how does he filter it all out when it’s close to telepathy?
- It ends up being an excuse to save money in lip sync. They just stand still without moving their mouths when they talk via linking instead of being in a cool virtual environment.
- There is absolutely no security against hacking in an otherwise hi-tech world where everybody has wireless access to it all the time. Many use the videogame to freeze normal time and cheat in school exams and sports by “checking out” the answers or the moves of the opponent. And nobody ever questions, doubts, or looks into that.
- Basic uses of technology are never used despite the hi-tech setting. Recording discussions for example. It is so easy to do it today so it will be child’s play to do it in a few decades in the future. If you can record a guy that is threatening you and you don’t do it, you are just not living in your era.

2. Information regarding exposition of setting and characters is offered through the most boring way imaginable, which is hardly acceptable with the technology they have in their hands.
- The basic methods all writers use in order to flesh out story and characters is to show them on screen if possible, or if they are being really lazy, just having a few characters sitting on a table and talking about stuff without ever showing us anything. And indeed, in this anime they are mostly talking instead of showing very fundamental and important things. It’s like they are skipping scenes and then just describing what happened in an attempt to save money.
- Not only they mostly talk but they also don’t even move their mouths! They literally sit on a table and stare at each other mute, while words are heard through telepathy or something. It may sound cool but trust me, all you see them do is stare at each other without doing anything. A frozen image with a dialogue in the background, as if this is a picture drama. Can you imagine how dull it feels to have access to technology that can easily show to someone flashbacks in the form of replaying recorded events and all you get is a picture drama? Are we really in the future or in the dark ages?
- Even in the game, they all wear helmets so you have no idea how they feel or speak. That makes them look like lifeless puppets instead of people.

3. Shitty plot twists and asspulls.
Yup; it’s Guilty Crown all over again.
- Imagine being able to reach to an epiphany without any sort of foreshadowing or deduction procedure. The fat guy magically knows the real reason the girl chose him for the game or finds out who the other stalking player is with absolutely no excuse. And that black king chick just has a hunch that by destroying the virtual world she will find the meaning of life.
- Things suddenly happen for the sake of happening like a guy you barely saw the whole show trying to kill you out of nowhere with a car but after the accident nobody cares about him. Or being thrown 6 floors down by an attack and all by accident in a room where an important person is in.
- Sudden power ups exactly when you need them, and miraculously being saved at the last second by someone else? Bring it on. Screw tactics.

4. Fillers.
Because that is what you resort to when you don’t have enough material to fill a full season. And make sure to add as much fan service as possible in those before you throw in a convenient solution on top of amnesia to make it seem like it never happened.

CAST

5. The protagonist takes the dorkness of his stereotype to a whole new level.
Instead of having a Keitaro (from Love Hina) clone for the Nth time, this one is very short and very fat. A typical show would use this body form on comic relief characters but in this case the comic relief “is” the main hero. As original as that feels, he is still a big failure of a protagonist and barely more interesting than all the rest of his brood, which has taken over most modern anime.
- He looks like a ball with eyes and a mouth, and is the only one that looks so cartoony compared to all the other characters. Even his virtual avatar is a goofy little pig. Not that he would be any better if he looked like a fashion model but he sure looks annoying right away. Furthermore he has the same voice actor as the protagonist from the most shitty Guilty Crown thus anyone who recognises his voice will hate him even more.
- He always acts scared, crying, yelling, and running away like a total pussy. He also hates reality and escapes it by playing videogames. He is always passive to everything that happens. He never takes initiative and only runs after people who force upon him their issues. That makes him even lamer. Even the videogame was forced upon him by a hot chick. Thanks for not trying to do something yourself dork. Just wait for an unrealistic harem girl to jump in your life to give you a shot at it. The only people who may like such lame attitude are those who are fat, gamers, and cry-babies. The rest will hate him right away.
- And despite all this dorkness, he has a dozen hot chicks being madly interested with him. And typically, he is crying and yelling and running around panicked. Instead of appreciating their kindness he is acting like a complete jerk or is completely oblivious to the feelings of a girl. What is so attractive in all that to make his so hot to all the girls? The answer is nothing; he is wishful thinking for all the losers out there who want a lame guy who gets all the girls without doing anything to deserve it. This also trashes the whole theme of the show, since it makes reality to feel like a stupid harem videogame when it is otherwise about a guy hating reality for being too harsh. It would be fine if he would get all the girls in a virtual game where he is doing everything right. Instead of that you get a worthless fat jerk who has his own harem for no given reason.

6. The far-fetched presentation goes on by having the person who gave him access to the game being the most beautiful girl in the school. Her motivations make absolutely no sense.
This is expected from the people who offered us porn dolls such as Inori and C.C., whose character was rewritten anyway they felt like it every 2 episodes. So once again they give us this bimbo whore, with an equally slutty uniform and a brain that is virtual. Meaning, it doesn’t really exist. I mean, damn, she can’t do the slightest thing without being an insult to common sense.
… Yes, with that sort of description we have a blockbuster. Welcome to modern anime.
- She has the hots for him because he is very good in videogames. Ok, don’t mind at all how he is crying all the time like a girl and looks like a ball with eyes.
- She wastes who knows how many months trying to be one of the top players of the game and when the rest ask for a truce she just backstabs them all and runs away because she felt like it.
- She has this hunch that if she gets to meet the secret developer of the game, the meaning of life will be revealed to her. Just because of a hunch! It’s just a videogame you dumb broad; there is nothing more to it!
- She has another hunch that another player is going to blackmail her in the game. For that reason she is running away from a guy with half her levels when she can otherwise smash him to bits. She instead uses the protagonist to go spy on who he may be instead of simply confronting the player.
- She constantly risks her well-being to protect the protagonist. Although it can be excused as being in love with him, she never seems to have enough speed or power to save both of them and just deliberately lets herself get the hit intended for the other guy.
- Later in the story she just turns to a walking wet dream by being just a bimbo in a swimsuit who doesn’t even fight anymore.

7. And then we have the other hot chick in the show, who is the typical childhood friend who has the hots for you but you don’t get it. She makes no sense either.
- She must have been born with a cat-looking tumour on her head. She never seems to take out that damn head accessory no matter where she is, what she wears, or how old she becomes.
- She is so in love with the dork hero that she ran to make his best friend her boyfriend.
- She then goes berserk after she sees him with another girl. Nice way to show how much you love someone only when he is taken away from you.
- She then acts like a complete slut to him, as if she wants to make him horny and jealous. But at the same time, she only wants him as a friend. Make up your mind bitch!
- She gets completely insane after she finds out how her love interests exploited her, and trashed her trust and feelings for them. But she forgives them immediately after they buy her some ice cream. Cheap slut!
- Later on she betrays them all for getting too high on being important to the game. She even teams up with their worst enemy for not much of a reason. Cow!
- And then double crosses even him without telling the others beforehand to better prepare them. And they just forgive her. Right…

8. And then we have the token loli of the show; an elementary kid which also makes no sense.
She organizes this really complicating, time-consuming, high-failure-probability, effort-costly plan, where she pretends to be the protagonist’s cousin, fakes his mother’s messages, and is even willing to seduce him, bathe with him, and even take his virginity. Why? Just so she can ask him to help her beat a cosmic threat in the game. DUH! What would have happened if she told all the other players that a cosmic threat is loose on the virtual world? He would agree to help her without all this retarded plan, just for the sake of protecting the virtual world.
- Later on she is revealed to have a superpower she keeps secret from everyone. Technically an asspull, since she never used it while her life was threatened but otherwise had no trouble to teach it to others when the show was in need of a power up.

CONCLUSION

- It is a complete passable mediocrity for casual viewers with minimum demands and videogame dorks who want a world where the fat idiot gets all the glory for the lulz.
- The virtual world has been presented in a far better way in shows like Ghost in the Shell, Dennou Coil, and .hack//SIGN.
- People trying to escape reality in videogames has been done far better in Welcome to the NHK and SE Lain.
- The comedy and action aspects are quite typical and dull.
Thus it is proven for the third time that the writers are incompetent jerks who never learn and never plan to do a proper show. And why would they if they will sell to thousands of tasteless newblords out there, who will be mesmerized by the completely childishly presented futuristic technology or the totally harem-like premise by sympathizing with a fat ugly useless gay protagonist?

Welcome to modern anime. The era of videogame-type of plots, time resets, amnesias, and obligatory fan service.

5/10 story
7/10 animation
6/10 sound
3/10 characters
4/10 overall
ilubsanime's avatar By ilubsanime on Mar 8, 2013

At first I thought I would never watch this anime because of the little fat B*** @$$ looking main character. BUT I LOVED SWORD ART ONLINE, so I figured I'd give it a shot.

The story was amazing. I felt like there was a lot of plot twists and little arcs that were somewhat unpredictable. Some of it was, but even when it was, I was still entertained.

All of the characters had deep relationships with each other that really showed a lot of emotion. There was a lot of trust and betrayal and I was very satisfied with pretty much all of the characters.

Overall I'd recommend to over-look the fat stupid looking main character and give this show a shot.

9.5/10 story
?/10 animation
?/10 sound
9.5/10 characters
9.5/10 overall
aznkevy's avatar By aznkevy on Dec 23, 2012

Accel World :D

Story: A little fat boy whom was bullied constantly befriends the school's most stunning girl, he learns her dark secret. She made the biggest betrayal in this game which others take too seriously, and because they have to have had this device worn since birth, 15 year olds are the oldest players in this game. She was one of the 7 kings of the game (7 top players), in order to become the strongest she had to kil the other 6 in this game. However the 7 had made an alliance, hence when she broke the alliance she became known as the biggest traitor. The fat boy's best friend had known for a while that she was the traitor and has killed her several times in game duels. The fat boy then proceeds to fight his bestfriend then confronts him about the isues between the two and another girl. In the end the 3 are together and when the school's most famous girl leaves on a school trip a new psychopathic boy whom hacked the game turns the fat boy and his little team into turmoil. The girl on the school trip learns of the incidents and helps the fat boy and their team and the hacker loses, his game is uninstalled forever from him as well as the memories of the game are deleted.

Animation: The animation was good, as expected from modern animation animes.

Sound: The sound quality is good, nothing special, nothing bad about it either though.

Characters: Characters are all good, every single one of them are good.... except for the protagonist. Worst character look I have seen for an protagonist I have seen for a quality anime! The protagonist is half if not a third of the size of the other characters in height in the real world, and he is so fat to the point where his width seems wider than his height! Its ridiculous how the protagonist's body is so pathetic. This is just my personal opinion but normally the protagonist of action/adventure genre animes should be bell built, even if they are slightly chubby or scrawny at the start they lose weight/gain muscle and then look alright, however this anime, the little fat guy is pathetic and just does not put a good image for the anime. Just think about it, the front cover of an anime CD, if we're to pick up an anime CD and look at the cover. Chances that we'd find interest in an anime with an fat little guy wheather his bare handed or equipped with some type of weaponery over an well built protagonist bare handed or holding some type of weaponery is very very slim.

Overall: The overall anime was good, just how pathetic the protagonist looked annoys me greatly.

Thanks for reading :D Hopefully my review wasn't too bad.

I watched this anime hoping it would be something somewhat as good as Sword Art Online seeing its by the same author, although the plots are generally similar, the character is a major set back and about 20 of my friends did not watch this because of the protagonist in the first episode. Don't bother watching this anime, just watch Sword Art Online and watch your other animes, this anime was more or less a bore and a waste of time compared to Sword Art Online.

7/10 story
8/10 animation
8/10 sound
4/10 characters
7/10 overall